About 12 million people visit Athens every year to clamber around Europe’s most famous classical ruins at the Acropolis and discover the city’s world-class museums. These cultural havens work to relate the history of our oldest democracy from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Arie v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent and very informative tour of the fabulous Acropolis Museum!!
highly recommended in a beautiful, clean building, with great view of the Acropolis!
great value for money, incl entry ticket.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Derek M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Aristotle was fantastic. Courteous, knowledgeable, and great with questions. This was a fantastic walking tour and highly recommended. The new Acropolis Museum is absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

davidjciardi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

best tour of Greece

awesome tour guide!!!!

best knowledge!!!!

highly recommend I loved it so much Id do it again on my next trip

I went back the next day by myself just to appreciate such history

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Jun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the best tours my wife and I have been on. I actually didn't realize that it was a private tour. I was expecting a small group of 4-6 but it was just the two of us with a wonderful guide, Thanakis. He's not just an archaeologist but a history professor at Geogetown. For something so significant and so rich with history, it's amazingly easy and affordable to visit the Acropolis and other archaeological sites in Athens. To make a visit to the Acropolis as special as it should be, visit it with a historian or an archaeologist. The insight, history, mythology, and rich information they can share will help you truly appreciate not only the ancient Greeks but the excruciatingly difficult work that goes into restoring the structures. I felt sorry for the majority of tourists who climbed the Acropolis just to take a selfie. It's so much more than that. I also suggest you visit the Acropolis museum AFTER you visit the Acropolis. They complement and enrich each other nicely. And a good guide can tell you the significance of the museum's architecture as well. This tour includes dinner and a bottle of wine at a nearby restaurant. The restaurant we went to was listed in 36 hours. Well done viator!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really great museum and we had a great and knowledgable guide. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Would highly recommend it to everyone and you really do want to skip the lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating since we arrived on the wrong day for the tour and she went out of her way to include us in the group for the day we arrived.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Stewart G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our visit to Athens. Our tour guide met us at our hotel and during a short walk to our first stop she gave us the itinerary she had arranged in advance. Our tour was set up by the tour guide so we would visit the New Acropolis Museum before we climbed to the Acropolis. This allowed us to learn about the Acropolis prior to actually visiting the site. Our tour guide was extremely informative with dates, history, and information we had never before knew existed about the Acropolis. We finished our tour with a quiet dinner at a Athens restaurant where the food was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Natasha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Was fabulous! Our guide Despina was just wonderful. So knowledgeable and passionate. Dinner was great too. Loved this special part of the world.
5/5

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Genia's Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was GREAT!!! Could not have been happier with this experience. My husband and I were the only tourist for the time that we scheduled, so we had her undivided attention. She was knowledgable about the museum and Acropolis. Would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Beth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful guide,
Evangelos, who escorted us through the New Acropolis Museum. He was very knowledgable and made sure to talk to all tour members. He shared fascinating insights into Greek culture, especially the swirling controversy surrounding ownership of Greek antiquities. Excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Had the best tour guide ever very informative and the nicest person

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

DIDIER P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

the guide was very nice. the restaurant as well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Rodney N F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an exciting day I was concerned for my wife as she has problems with her knee and walking but we were able to make it to the top of the Acropolis although it was very windy and cold that day just unbelievable this is a and it is must for anyone visiting Athens, then onto the New Acropolis Museum with our guide who was so informative and understanding of our silly questions, there are a great deal of things to see here it is a pity that you are not allow to take photos throughout the museum but that means we may have to go back. The Greek Dinner was spectacular full 3 course à la carte type meal and in a great location so good that we went back the next evening. We would recommend this to all those interested in seeing a part of Athens, from the old to the new.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent: Despina was an extraordinary tour guide. One of the best tour guides that we have had in 20 years. The Acropolis/Parthenon is a must for any visitor to Athens. The museum is world class and is and should be an integral part of this tour.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Bernadette d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was great, different from other tours we did while we were in Greece. The visit to the Benaki Museum was like no other!

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Benaki Museum

stephanie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

a personalized tour with a lovely and knowledgeable guide. marissa brought history to life in an engaging manner (complete with mini-quizes!) that made for a wonderful afternoon. dinner was delicious with the best baklava i've ever had hands down!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Lesley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. It's set up for small groups and in our case there was just the 2 of us. It's lead by a qualified archeologist/ historian and the information provided and the ability to discuss, explore and understand is fantastic. We spent as much time as we needed at the acropolis then the museum.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Keren B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were in Athens for the day only Our tour guide was fantastic she was very informative and had time to discuss everything we wanted to know would recommend this tour to anyone. Thanks for a great time. Ken and Keren Barker

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

ANTHONY A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

excellent and our guide was unbelievable source of information.. very very good totally would recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Saw so much in 4 days. Corinth Canal, Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi, Thermopylae, Meteora. Katherina our tour guide did an outstanding job explaining to us the significance of what we were seeing at each site. We had a small amount of time at each location to explore. We opted for First Class Accomodations and they were good. Porters at each hotel did a great job unloading and loading our suitcases. So glad we did the 4-day trip to see Meteora. There was a lot of walking around on this tour and we had some older and physically challenged people - they hung in there for most of the tours but sometimes they had to wait while we climbed further. Several museums to visit at Epidaurus, Olympia, and Delphi. This 4 day tour gave us a much broader perspective and exposure to Greece beyond our stay in Athens.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Nicholas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour! The guide was very informative and knowledgable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Myron M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My family and I had a great time in Athens! Our guide, an archaeologist, historian and thespian, was extremely knowledgeable and presented information at the museum that would have been difficult to discern on our own. The museum tour set the stage for the early evening Acropolis visit which occurred at a perfect time of day, not too hot. The meal at the selected restaurant was a great way to end the evening as we all talked about the great things we experienced earlier in the day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

You can't visit Athens without visiting the Acropolis, and you shouldn't miss the New Acropolis Museum, which is very well done. Doing those things with the Vaitor guide made it all the more rewarding, as she was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We were a little skeptical about the post-tour dinner, but we were wrong! Great restaurant with a fabulous view of the Acropolis and a waitstaff and menu that did not make you feel like you were a tourist, just like you happened to be dining on wonderful food next to one of the world's great archeological treasures.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Russ USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was excellent and her knowledge was tremendous. We went right to the museum then up to the Acropolis, then on to dinner with a rooftop view of the Acropolis lite up at night as we ate a traditional dinner. I just wished she could of joined us for dinner so we could of learned more about the city.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message