About 12 million people visit Athens every year to clamber around Europe’s most famous classical ruins at the Acropolis and discover the city’s world-class museums. These cultural havens work to relate the history of our oldest democracy from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Todd R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love, love, love this tour! Our guide was Greek and and an archeologist, so his knowledge of the history of Greece was very impressive. We went through the New Acropolis Museum first, which let the crowds and heat die down at the Acropolis. We spent about 2 hours touring the Museum. Once we got to the Acropolis, the crowds had thinned, and our guide took some really cool photos of us with the city and Parthenon. The dinner was EXCELLENT! One of the best we had during our time in Greece. This tour is worth the extra money if you're interested in history and want a real conversation with your guide, instead of someone just talking at you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

jlyristis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An unforgettable experience. Both guides were above and beyond excellence in presenting the history of the Acropolis and artifacts at the museum. 5 stars all the way. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Daniel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Definitely a must do for the Acropolis!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Theresa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour ever. Our guide was amazing and knowledgeable. Will only do private tours in the future. Really worth the extra 's.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

sergio m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was absolutely amazing. Knowledgeable and took the time to explain things thoroughly. We moved at a quite reasonable pace and he tailored the entire tour to our specifications. This was a private tour. Totally worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

singinggeorgia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The museum was great. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and didn't miss a trick.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Txyingyang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Stravos is very passionate and detailed, he clearly enjoys sharing his knowledge and love of the Acropolis with the tour group. For those of us who like history and details, it was a great tour. I give this tour 5 stars because I am the one giving the review. My wife, who doesn't like as much detail, would probably have given only 4 stars because she said it was too much. If you like all the historical info like me, definitely try to get Stravos as your guide. Stravos...if you read this review, I would suggest that you ask the group before beginning the tour as to how much detail they would desire so you could adjust as needed.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

lrtrinidad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Nik did a great job explaining the history of the acropolos, and i feel the tour was well worth the price. Nik did such a great job people not part of the tour were very attentive to Nik's explaining all of the history.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

lrtrinidad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Nik did a great job explaining the history of the acropolos, and i feel the tour was well worth the price. Nik did such a great job people not part of the tour were very attentive to Nik's explaining all of the history.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Daniel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

100 would do this again! We are very interested in learning about the history and culture where we travel and we really couldn't have been happier with this! Unfortunately we were so mesmerized and enthralled with our guide and what we were doing that we completely forgot his name by the time we got back to our hotel, this is my only regret. Not only was our guide Greek and a knowledgeable archeology professor, he also had an interest in theatre and acting. So he was probably the most perfect person to give this tour with his mix of skills and background. He had great pride and insight on all things Greek, a wealth of knowledge about archeology, art, Mythology and Greek History and a way of presenting information with a bit of poetry and/or the dramatic. He spoke excellent English, as most of the Greeks we met did, and all we wished was to have more time. If you do not enjoy learning or listening or art and history then this tour is not at all for you. The meal afterwards was enjoyable and we were grateful, especially as this was our first day, to be taken around one on one and have everything taken care of. This tour was perhaps the highlight of our trip, the bar was set very high on the first day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

ANNE T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Another must to go and see - our guide was very knowledgeable and informative with brilliant English!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked our tour while in Athens after realizing we'd like a little more information to know what we were looking at and the history behind it. Our tour guide Hermes was amazing, he did not disappoint! We actually ended up with a private tour of the Acropolis museum where he was very attentive and patient with our 10 year old son. It was very I formative and a great way to spend the day.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Edward P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour and guide was excellent...

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

nigelmelville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was outstanding.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Arie v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent and very informative tour of the fabulous Acropolis Museum!!
highly recommended in a beautiful, clean building, with great view of the Acropolis!
great value for money, incl entry ticket.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Derek M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Aristotle was fantastic. Courteous, knowledgeable, and great with questions. This was a fantastic walking tour and highly recommended. The new Acropolis Museum is absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

davidjciardi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

best tour of Greece

awesome tour guide!!!!

best knowledge!!!!

highly recommend I loved it so much Id do it again on my next trip

I went back the next day by myself just to appreciate such history

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Jun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the best tours my wife and I have been on. I actually didn't realize that it was a private tour. I was expecting a small group of 4-6 but it was just the two of us with a wonderful guide, Thanakis. He's not just an archaeologist but a history professor at Geogetown. For something so significant and so rich with history, it's amazingly easy and affordable to visit the Acropolis and other archaeological sites in Athens. To make a visit to the Acropolis as special as it should be, visit it with a historian or an archaeologist. The insight, history, mythology, and rich information they can share will help you truly appreciate not only the ancient Greeks but the excruciatingly difficult work that goes into restoring the structures. I felt sorry for the majority of tourists who climbed the Acropolis just to take a selfie. It's so much more than that. I also suggest you visit the Acropolis museum AFTER you visit the Acropolis. They complement and enrich each other nicely. And a good guide can tell you the significance of the museum's architecture as well. This tour includes dinner and a bottle of wine at a nearby restaurant. The restaurant we went to was listed in 36 hours. Well done viator!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really great museum and we had a great and knowledgable guide. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Would highly recommend it to everyone and you really do want to skip the lines!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating since we arrived on the wrong day for the tour and she went out of her way to include us in the group for the day we arrived.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Stewart G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our visit to Athens. Our tour guide met us at our hotel and during a short walk to our first stop she gave us the itinerary she had arranged in advance. Our tour was set up by the tour guide so we would visit the New Acropolis Museum before we climbed to the Acropolis. This allowed us to learn about the Acropolis prior to actually visiting the site. Our tour guide was extremely informative with dates, history, and information we had never before knew existed about the Acropolis. We finished our tour with a quiet dinner at a Athens restaurant where the food was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Natasha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Was fabulous! Our guide Despina was just wonderful. So knowledgeable and passionate. Dinner was great too. Loved this special part of the world.
5/5

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Genia's Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was GREAT!!! Could not have been happier with this experience. My husband and I were the only tourist for the time that we scheduled, so we had her undivided attention. She was knowledgable about the museum and Acropolis. Would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Beth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful guide,
Evangelos, who escorted us through the New Acropolis Museum. He was very knowledgable and made sure to talk to all tour members. He shared fascinating insights into Greek culture, especially the swirling controversy surrounding ownership of Greek antiquities. Excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message