About 12 million people visit Athens every year to clamber around Europe’s most famous classical ruins at the Acropolis and discover the city’s world-class museums. These cultural havens work to relate the history of our oldest democracy from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Out tour was wonderful! Dafne, our guide was the best. She was very knowledgeable and made our tour very enjoyable!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My family and I had a great time in Athens! Our guide, an archaeologist, historian and thespian, was extremely knowledgeable and presented information at the museum that would have been difficult to discern on our own. The museum tour set the stage for the early evening Acropolis visit which occurred at a perfect time of day, not too hot. The meal at the selected restaurant was a great way to end the evening as we all talked about the great things we experienced earlier in the day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

You can't visit Athens without visiting the Acropolis, and you shouldn't miss the New Acropolis Museum, which is very well done. Doing those things with the Vaitor guide made it all the more rewarding, as she was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We were a little skeptical about the post-tour dinner, but we were wrong! Great restaurant with a fabulous view of the Acropolis and a waitstaff and menu that did not make you feel like you were a tourist, just like you happened to be dining on wonderful food next to one of the world's great archeological treasures.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was excellent and her knowledge was tremendous. We went right to the museum then up to the Acropolis, then on to dinner with a rooftop view of the Acropolis lite up at night as we ate a traditional dinner. I just wished she could of joined us for dinner so we could of learned more about the city.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great. Our tour guide Mariza was WONDERFUL! She made sure we were ok, and even with a bit of rain she was able to continue the tour with great energy. Thanks Mariza, you made this tour very, very special for both of us. We will never forget you and the amazing experience you provided to us. JP and MP

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

One of the best tours we have ever experienced. The tour guide was great! Could answer all our questions and took as much time as we desired to explain everything. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good the guide knew her stuff, was very informative,she gauged the tour just right,the tour was not suitable unless a person is active owing to the climbing of the steps.well worth doing to find out about the history of AthensThe dinner was ok,the food and service good but the toilets smelt.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Benaki Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Marissa, was very delightful and knowledgable. Touring Acropolis/Museum with a graduate archeologist was incredible good fortune! This tour was the BEST six hours of our 14 day trip. We will use Viator everywhere based on this experience. Well done!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our Acropolis of Athens tour was a everything we could have asked for with the unexpected "extra" of our delightful guide, Maritzia (spelling?). It is hard to absorb all the history of the Acropolis, but Maritzia gave us a thread of continuity with her insightful presentation. She then made connections from what we had seen on the hill to what was exhibited in the museum. As there were only four of us, we felt like favored relatives who had come to visit as she commandeered a taxi to take us to our delicious Greek dinner. I whole heartedly endorse this tour for anyone who wants to both tour the
Acropolis and have a special evening enjoying Greek hospitality.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thankis (spelling?) provided us with an excellent experience with history, mythology and current life in Greece. He adapted the our to allow for warm coffee in the Acropolis Museum as the weather was unseasonably cold-very appreciated.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Viator contracted Athens Walks for our tour and it was among the best tours we have ever experienced! Our tour guide was like a walking encyclopedia who knew everything about the Acropolis Museum, the history of Athens and Greece, and was so well versed that we didn't want the tour to end. The Acropolis Museum in and of itself is one of the best archaeological and art museums combined and it is designed in the most creative way. A must see when in Athens.
Our tour was also supposed to include the actual Acropolis, but the workers were on strike that day and the site was closed. Kostas at Athens Walks diligently tried to contact me beforehand to let me know and offer an alternative, but my phone was not working.
Kostas, of Athens Walks, made sure I was reimbursed the portion of the Acropolis admission, and was very apologetic, even though this was entirely out of his control. He insisted on treating to drinks at a local cafe and also invited us on a Food Tour of Athens he was running the following morning, at NO CHARGE.

The dinner portion of the tour was adequate but unnecessary. Frankly I prefer to choose my own restaurant, and there was a tiny bit of confusion once at the restaurant because our guide was no longer with us.

All in all this tour was phenomenal. We were very lucky that Viator booked ours through Athens Walks because we got the best possible guide ever!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very good and informative I learned about Greek history.. Recommend this visit more then acropolis itself.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I really enjoyed this tour for its ability to put the Parthenon and other temples of the Acropolis into context, with the Acropolis Museum as a great complement. Our guide and archaeology expert Thanasis had all kinds of interesting stories and facts about Ancient Athens to tell us as we walked around the museum. He was great at going beyond the descriptions already at the museum, providing us with more in-depth information. The museum sets the scene for going to the Acropolis itself, which we visited just before sunset. It was a bit cooler at that time of day (although still very warm!) and the light was really nice, especially for taking photos of the temples with Athens sprawled out below. Dinner was at a restaurant very near the Acropolis -- it was a short walk -- and the food (traditional Greek) was excellent. I know if I had done the museum and the Acropolis on my own, I wouldn't have nearly the knowledge of Ancient Athens that I have now, after seeing it with an expert guide.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message