There are few more striking contrasts than the cultural and aesthetic differences between the hot, dirty, bustling streets of Athens and the breathtaking beauty and windswept pleasantries found on the island of Santorini. It's difficult to imagine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I loved my tour to Santorini, which is a fabulous destination! We had a good ferry trip to and from the island from Piraeus. Our hotel The Loucas, was wonderful with an incredible view...We also took an excursion to the volcano by boat and a bus tour to Akrotiri, with it's interesting ruins and to Oia fo sunset. People at the Hotel and on the day trips were most helpful and informative. We also sampled the local wine at the Santovino Winery, which has one of the great views of the caldera.I hope to go again someday... and visit more, Donna

Doing what: 3-Night Santorini Tour from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My wife and I had a great time in Santorini. Everything went smooth, we loved the Loucas hotel, it had a fantastic view and was quiet and secluded despite being right next to downtown Fira. Our tour to the volcano was great too, the hot springs were more warm than hot but how many people get to swim in the Aegean Sea.

Doing what: 3-Night Santorini Tour from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A wonderful overview of this beautiful island!

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Santorini is absolutely beautiful. The ease of not having to worry about transport was brilliant, all thanks to Viator. The accomodation was average, but did the job. Visiting Santorini is a MUST DO

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

I think that the island is beautiful and definitely worth doing but I would recommend taking more time to explore the islands as the ferry takes 8 hours to get there and with the 2 days you end up with very little time to explore all of the beauty on the island unless you are very ambitious with the time you do have and don't take time to relax.

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Santorini was beautiful. If I had to do the trip over again, I would have stayed at Santorini instead of Athens and I would have flown to see the acropolis. The boat ride was horrific, alot of people were sick. The Seajet took 7 hours not 5.5 and it was 3 hours late getting back, so its definitely not worth paying more for. There are accessible buses at the Island that run late at night. We were able to see Fira and Ouia til after sunset and we spent a magnificent day at Kalmari beach the next day.

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Hotel was great. boat trip very nice. weather was a problem but not tours fault. rate good

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Ferry was good - 7 hours both ways. Hotel nice but LOUD motorbikes all night and no food other than breakfast. Picture shows Oia which is other side of the island.

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The two hour fast ferry was not running in mid Oct. Ended up with the 9 hr journey to Santorini from Athens. Lots of port stops along the way. Arrived around 430p into Santorini. Not enough time to explore until the next day which was only a half a day before getting back on the ferry boat for the return trip to Athens, Need more time because of the travel. Suggest just taking a plane from Athens to Santorini.
Best gold shopping was Greco Gold. High quality, friendly and good value.

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our stay in Santorini itself was awesome! However, our bus trip from the docks to our hotel was a disaster! The bus driver did not properly latch the luggage compartment door which allowed it to open completely allowing the luggage to be tumbled out onto the highway as we rounded one of the very sharp turns. People started yelling stop! There were several damaged pieces of luggage, one of which belonged to my son. When the bus driver finally did pull over, the door which had opened was ripped off the side of the bus by a road sign that he hit as he pulled over. Everyone had to get off the bus, many people had to run back up the road to retrieve their luggage which was thrown to the side of the road. We all had to wait for at least an hour on the side of the road in the 90 degree plus sun and wait for another bus to pick us up and take us to our destination. Once the luggage was reloaded onto the other bus and we were back on the road we had lost over an hour and a half. Once we arrived to our hotel we were relieved that we finally made it to our destination. Day or night, Santorini is beautiful! We wished we had booked another night!

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Santorini has great views and staying there is relaxing. Our accommodation was not of the best quality or service but it was reasonably clean and comfortable considering the budget we had put into this tour. The tour to the volcano is an experience I enjoyed but not necessarily for everyone, especially those who enjoy scenery with more growth as the view can be quite bare and empty. It is advisable to wear comfortable shoes for walking on uneven grounds.

Doing what: 3-Night Santorini Tour from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was an adventure and well worth it. The ferry trip is about 7 hours (hint: from Athens to Santorini upgrade to business class and on trip back try to get a cabin). The hotel selected was very nice but away from the main area - Fira).

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

Jeffrey W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great trip. Everything went like clockwork. Picked up in Athens - Armiea Hotel by taxi - taken directedly to fast catamaran - 4 or so hours later in Santorini - met by someone at Port - taken by bus to Hotel Lucas. Included full day trip to volacano. Okay - Hotel was clean and very central at Fira. The views were the best ever - right outside our door we overlooked all the cruise ships. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance - however be prepared for heaps of stairs. We took an optional all day tour of around the island. If you take this you really need to get to the top of the island of the first day to see the sunset at Ora - otherwise it is hard to find time to get there. Pool at the hotel is fine - breakfast is a nice little starter. There is a supermarket and ATMs all close by plus (for Aussies) even a hotel that shows NRL and AFL games. Tips: When doing volcano tour you need good shoes and water - it's hard and hot. Same day the swim at thermal pool will stain any white clothing. Tips: Wine is very reasonable and good at Santorini Winery. Tips: The Fast Ferry still takes a while so be prepared for reading etc. Final tip: Your time will disappear fast at Santorini. Take advantage of great photo ops. Have a swim, dress up, have some wine and take some brillant photos at sunset. I'm sure they will make your new desktop screensaver.

Doing what: 3-Night Santorini Tour from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

If you are going to do one island tour this would be the one. Make sure you view the sunset, when you get your confirmation make sure you reconfirm the timing of the trip. We had limited time on the island because the booking was done late and the ideal boat times were sold out.

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We used a first class hotel. The staff service was excellent but the hotel location was so far from the main sightseeing spots.
That would be great if there was 3days or 4days tour as options.

Doing what: 2-Day Santorini Experience from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message