Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Auckland Museum and Institute (War Memorial Museum)

Perched on top of a dormant volcano, the Auckland War Memorial Museum is one of New Zealand’s finest museums. The Museum is the place to explore Maori and Pacific Island history with the largest collection of artifacts in the world, including ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 451 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

great tour bus. it was the best of all the hop on hop off bus tours we were on. very good information on all the sites in multiple languages. buses ran often so that you could get off and on without any concern about thinking that you might not get another bus or would have to wait long.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Lco323

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Hop On Hop Off bus tour is an essential tool if you want to explore Auckland on your own. Be aware though that unlike in Europe, there is only one bus for either line red or blue that is continuously going around in a loop and it comes at the stop every 30 minutes. That said, you need to time your visits or you'll be spending a lot of time waiting. I felt that we weren't able to visit all places that we wanted because it was raining that day. My tip would be for you to get the 2-day pass because that way, you save money and you're not too pressed for time either. Plenty of sights to see out there!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robert T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

very good organizing skills

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Cristelle Z

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Buses were convenient. Drivers were helpful. The Auckland aquarium was fantastic.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Wallace B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was fine and hit all the highpoints. We spent so much time at the National Museum that we did not really get much use of our fare. It turned out to be cheaper by a bout .50 to just buy the ticket on the bus and not pay in advance through Viator.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Wallace B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was fine and hit all the highpoints. We spent so much time at the National Museum that we did not really get much use of our fare. It turned out to be cheaper by a bout .50 to just buy the ticket on the bus and not pay in advance through Viator.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

David C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

locations were great just needed the bus to be available a little longer in the day 3.30pm last bus on the blue route was a little short 6pm finish would have been better

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way of seeing Auckland. Buses on time, commentary excellent.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

kaye n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour bus drivers were excellent, thoroughly enjoyed the scenery and the places of interest pointed out. Very well done!!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good way to see the city and experience what Auckland has to offer

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

JUDITH C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I took the 2 day pass and it was well worth the money. The first day I just took both loops and got acclimated because I was just in from a long flight. On the second day I went to the places that interested me the most and really did have a good chance to see a lot of the sprawling city.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robin P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Did the loop more than once but definitely found one day sufficient!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Catherine A W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

An excellent way to see the city and surrounding areas. The two different bus routes meeting at the Auckland Museum works well as you have time to visit and then join the other segment of the tour and then on the return trip swap back to return to the CBD.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

dspencer441

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Enjoyable and traveled through much of the best points in the city.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Omotayo I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

unfortunately the information on the voucher was different than what the tour offered. We waited over an hour at the bus stop per Bus driver this is normal but the voucher states the bus comes every 30 min.. we ended up having to catch the last bus since it said on the voucher it ends at 5pm, but the pus driver told us the 330 bus was the last one. WE did not even get to see more than 5-6 land marks and we were told it was over. I was very disappointed with this as if the information on the voucher was correct, I would have been able to plan the trip better, Vs wasting my time waiting on the bus. Please update the information that accompanies the voucher for future users. THanks.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed seeing highlights of auckland with informative guide and bus driver.

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Patricia A O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great way to see the city and get an overview of what to visit.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Hubbert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Good overview of the city.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Lynette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Two intersecting routes, great way to see Auckland. Viatour was 15 cheaper per person than purchasing ticket at the dock or on the bus.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very organized way to tour Auckland for the day we had post cruise. Handout provided with commentary on each stop, plus times the bus stopped there was helpful and made our sightseeing very efficient to take both the Red and Blue line tour loops.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We hopped off the bus at four stops and never had to wait long for the next bus. Especially enjoyed the botanical gardens.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Always a great way to get to know a new city and this was no exception. Buses were very frequent and ran to timetable. Great value for money.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Starr L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed Auckland sights very much. Great way to see a lot of the area.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Lorraine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great way to see the city on our three day visit pre-cruise. Also for cruise passengers, it would be very convenient to access right from the cruise terminal, just steps to the Ferry Building. Highly recommend the Auckland Museum.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

rajoej9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We spent 2 days on this tour and enjoyed the flexability.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message