Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Auckland Museum and Institute (War Memorial Museum)

Perched on top of a dormant volcano, the Auckland War Memorial Museum is one of New Zealand’s finest museums. The Museum is the place to explore Maori and Pacific Island history with the largest collection of artifacts in the world, including ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 401 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lois M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great all round journey thank you

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Lisa I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very well organized and really appreciated the commentary along on the way. Directions were clear. We did this in Melbourne and it wasn't half as well managed.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Aparjeet N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Helpful drivers. You don and #39;t need 2 days to do Auckland and #39;s main tourist spots. Chose what you want to see depending on your interests. The pass covers both red and blue lines. They connect(you change) at the Museum. Spend the extra time doing some boat trips or bungee jumps etc.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Dennis D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very good way to see the city and determine site you want to visit for a longer period of time.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Diana R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Tour was very good but the tour company needs to take into consideration where we were located and that we were not familiar with the area and choose a closer meeting point.

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

raymond b M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

good tour but over crowded

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

suzieqq

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Not enough stops on the tour, plus the limited run of buses

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

cait

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very much enjoyed this HoHo trip - great stopping points - great buses and conductor who was helpful when asked questions and even offering some options. Well worth it!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ritageter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A Museum was interesting .Maori Cultural Performance was according to expected.
Very good experience.

Doing what: Auckland Museum Entry Ticket including Maori Cultural Performance

mai.shihah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Though it shower and I and #39;m prepared for it. Managed to capture half of the 14 highlights..?

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kenneth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent orientation to the city.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kenneth A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We only had a fairly short time to use this tour but it gave us a wonderful overview of Auckland.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Margie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Sadly, it was raining during the tour but my brother and I had a blast at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium. Rains stopped at Auckland Museum and so we had great pictures there. Great way to tour Auckland!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Colin E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Informative and comfortable except for the shunt in the back of the bus by another bus.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sharon C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The bus service was good. Though very crowded, so think they could have put more services on. Would we do it again?.. Probably not...

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jeffrey K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The bus does 2 different loops which intersect at the Museum. We did both loops which took us all around the city. It was pretty typical of hop on hop off buses. The problem was it stops running at around 4 pm or so and our ship didn't land until noon. So we had little time to hop on and off.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Carol B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

An ok tour to see most of Auckland.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Stephen J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

We arrived in Auckland on the Dawn Princess at the same time as the Voyager of the Seas so there were more than 5000 cruise tourists in port on one day. The Hop on Hop off bus was woefully underprepared for this. We took more than 40 minutes to board the bus at the first stop. By the time we boarded, the queue behind us was much longer than when we had joined it, so those clients would have had an even longer wait than we did. The lots more buses are coming did not arrive. Passengers were not able to join the bus at subsequent stops as the buses were already full. After spending time at Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium we rejoined the bus, but some of our party were disinclined to leave again in fear that we would be spending our day in very long queues standing at bus stops in the rain. The extremely long queue at the Museum justified this fear so we skipped the blue circuit entirely and continued on to Skytower where we left the bus and continued our sightseeing on foot. The theory of the Hop on Hop off bus is good, but in practice without enough buses to allow people to actually hop on and off it is a very inefficient way to see Auckland. In our particular case it just ended up being expensive transport to the aquarium. I'm sure someone should have known there were 2 ships due in port and more buses should have been ready early in the day. If passengers had been able to easily get onto buses at the beginning they would have been more inclined to get off again at the various stops and the whole procedure would have run much more smoothly.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Frank Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very good arrangement for the buses, and good sight-seeing for a short time.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Best way to see Auckland

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

tlcsouth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A great way to get in the highlights of Auckland, especially the Parnell Rose garden and Mt. Eden

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Shirley m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great way to see the sights. We did get off the bus a few times, my grand children loved the Museum as I did, the Tower was fun to visit. The buses came very regularly and gave a great description of Auckland. well worth the money and time to do this. I Would do it again if I return to NZ.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Karl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a great way to see a city and make notes as to what we would like to see in the 3 days we had.
As we had a 3 day pass we were able to us the bus to get to the sights we planed to visit every day. Great value for money.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I just want to say that it was a great service and our driver " Jon" was terrific. Very informative, easy to understand, helpful and made our Auckland experience great. Great overview. I would highly ricommind this sirvice to vasators to Auckland! ( my best kiwi accent)

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Edith V

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

I love the tour. But, I was hoping for an open air transport.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message