Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 244 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shelley A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous day out, great cruise and very informative tour of Tiritiri Matangi. Our volunteer guide Sahrah was very knowledgeable and a excellent birder. We saw kereru, takahe, tui, bell birds, quail, kokao , saddlebacks and stich birds. We couldn't have asked for more. The free teas and coffees were a nice surprise too.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend the food and wine tasting. It makes for a great day trip from Auckland. The ferry ride was scenic and fun. The wineries were superb as was the olive oil vineyard we sampled. The lunch and wine at Stoney Ridge was delicious. The view of Auckland from the hilltop at Mud Brick was incredible. We stayed on the island after the tour and had a late afternoon snack at The Oyster Inn enjoying the seaside view from the open veranda on the second floor while sampling some of the island wines. What a way to end the day. We then walked back from the town to the ferry following the island trails through the bush. Wonderful day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

pteach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Beautiful island. The tour guide and hosts at the wineries were very friendly and informative. Food, wine and beer was great.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jeanette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceeded our expectations. Great day out, lovely boat trip across Auckland Harbour, Excellent lunch and wines. Our hosts at each winery were infirmative and entertaining. Comfortable coach and good driver to transport us around.
It would have been good to be informed that we had to go to the ticket office to collect our tickets and make your own way across to the island where you are met.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

jillmjackson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour, the Island is beautiful, and the wineries were fabulous!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Alex J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! A lot of good information and some nice places to stop. Definitely recommended if you only have half a day or day too see as much of the island as possible :

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

mary d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour...absolutely brilliant! The wineries we visited were excellent, the olive oil tasting was quite enjoyable, and the lunch was good as well. Our tour guide, David, was exceptional. He made the tour so much fun and he was extremely friendly and informative. We could not have had a better person leading our tour. Having the tour end at Mudbrick Winery, with those spectacular views...it just capped off the day and tour beautifully. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Rellim001 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful day out. The tour driver was knowledgeable. Plenty of time, and quite easy, to visit some wineries using your all day bus pass.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour for nature lovers and as such I would call this an eco tour Our group turned out to be small just me and my wife. Our guide Tony was phenomenal, and very knowledgable. He knew the local flora and fauna in and out. The whole Coromandel Peninsula was stunning. Its one of the most beautiful places in the world. Our trip included an visit to rain forest where we hiked to a few 2000 yr old native Kauri trees. Along the way Tony kept us entertained by talking about a variety of subjects like nature, history, people of NZ etc. Lunch was @ a beautiful restaurant near hot water beach. Lunch was delicious and fresh. Hot water beach is unique in the fact that it has hot water spring on the beach. Its unique and has to be experienced. Overall this trip is highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Laura H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyable day. We went to a good mix of vine yards. The tour was just long enough and a really good price. Our tour guide was very good, very relaxed and friendly and knew a lot about the island. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Strenuous tour for those unbable to was up hills
Loved the island and wine taste was delightful

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Lyndall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great effort has been put in to rehabilitate this island. Wonderful day out and the guided tour just added to it. Bit rough on the ferry both ways. Don't forget your seasick pills, lunch or water. Only tea and coffee available at the top of the island.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Robin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The boat return boat trip was great. The staff on board were very friendly and the island guides were most informative. The island is a must for everyone interested in nature and the environment.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Susan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent value. The tour was conveniently located. Our tour driver, Pete, was informative and entertaining. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Samantha N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a fantastic day and our tour guide was brilliant.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Don M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great day! The ferry ride allows you great views of Auckland, the lunch was very good, and the wineries were terrific.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic nature trip on ferry to TIRI, the walk with a knowledgable volunteer guide very good value.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Heidi J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an amazing day. The weather was perfect, the ferry trip pleasant and the guided tour very informative and informal. We got to see nearly all of the birds that can be seen on Tiritiri Matangi as well as a few others. I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys leisurely bushwalks, birdwatching and the amazing nature of New Zealand

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

crossy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Despite a wet morning we had a comfortable trip on the ferry to this stunning island! We were all divided up into groups those of us who opted for the guided walk. Jane, my guide, was very informative about the various birds who call Tiri Tiri Matangi their home. She is most passionate and obviously loves the Island. it was fascinating to discover which trees which are most important to certain birds. After this very interesting tour,we were invited to partake in complimentary tea/coffee in the Visitors' Centre, which was most appreciated. The volunteers are to be congratulated for giving of their time to staff the Visitors' Centre, the Shop and the guiding. After enjoying my tea and lunch bring your own, we were encouraged to find our way back to the Wharf via an alternative track. I certainly recommend this fascinating Island as a peaceful, rejuvenating jewel.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

KC5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guy was very funny and we got a good sense of the island without having much time. I wish we could have stayed on the island longer. Great tour for a day trip!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Auckland put on perfect weather for our visit to Waiheke Island. It was a quick 45 minute ferry ride and we were met at the dock by Dave, a bright and enthusiastic driver/guide. We visited Stonyridge Vineyard where we tasted two reds and enjoyed lunch under the olive trees. Lunch was a nice chicken quiche, salad and glass of wine. We visited Rangihoua, an award winning olive grower and then Wild on Waiheke where we tasted a red, a pale ale and a ginger beer. Our last stop was at the scenic Mudbrick Vineyards where we taste three wines. Walked up the hill to enjoy spectacular views. We were dropped back at the ferry just after 4pm. A great day and highly recommended.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message