• USD ($)
  • English

Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a tremendous experience--thanks for suggesting it. I

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This has to be the highlight of our trip. I have never seen so many different birds, and the experience of walking through the forrest with all of the calls ringing in my head was surreal.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was our first full day in Auckland, feeling very lost as we negotiated the busy city with our maps. Fortunately the Ferry Building was large and inside there were plenty of signs pointing to the different ferries. Good thing I asked one of the employees about my Viator booking printout - she sent me back to the Fullers Ferry office to get REAL tickets! Boarding was orderly, disembarking was mob-style with no lines for safety.

The ferry ride was quite comfortable, bumpy only with the waves of passing vessels. On Waiheke we followed the guy with the Waiheke Island Tour sign to his comfortable bus. Before he started he had us introduce ourselves by country of origin then proceeded with a running commentary of the various parts of the island. Sometimes his Australian accent was abit puzzling but we loved his sardonic comments. I wish there were more stopping points for picture-taking but the roads were narrow and hilly. We spent several hours after the tour stopping at mini-towns to shop and have lunch, riding any bus back to the Ferry. A lovely island worth visiting. Interestingly, all the buses plied designated routes, some to/from wineries - meaning there really was no need to ride the special Wine Tasting bus if one did not want to go to all the wineries

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour provided a good sampling of the wineries (and wines!) of Waiheke. David was a great guide and very informative about the local wine industry and history. A great day out and good way to compare the fruits of the vine!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This proved to be an excellent way to explore this beautiful island. The driver was very enthusiastic, informative and helpful. The chance to use the free hop on-hop off public bus services should not be missed, as it gives you the flexibility to visit a wider area of the island. The timings of the buses are also geared to meet specific ferries back to Auckland which is extremely useful.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I gave this trip as a birthday present to my sister who went with her friend. They had a wonderful day and told me that the guide was great fun and really informative and the food and wine superb. I suspect that would rate it a five star experience as everything relating to their travel and the day was a very happy, seamless experience!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Like it, but I thought that more info would have been provided

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

OK tour, but a bit rushed. Could cut out the "wild" winery, not really a winery but a tourist trap. Lunch OK and guide interesting. Would recommend taking later ferry back and spending more time at Mudbrick winery.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a highlight of my New Zealand holiday. The ferry trip was lovely. On arrival we were divided into groups and given a choice of two walks to the lighthouse and lunch. There were a lot of people there but more than enough volunteer guides, so each group was small. I was with six other people and we were all impressed with our guide Kathryn and her knowledge of the island's birdlife. After lunch (you take your own) five of us did the alternative walk back to the wharf, which was just as lovely as the first walk. Even though we didn't have a guide we recognised the birds we saw and heard. Hobbs Beach is a lovely spot and my only regret was I didn't take something to swim in.
We had plenty of time on the island but next time I'd stay there overnight.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great Tour! Our guide was excellent a true ambassador for his island and his country! This was truly a day well spent.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A no-stress way to see Waiheke Island and sample some wines. Very friendly, informative bus driver who kept us to our timetable without detracting from the tour. All places visited were hosted by friendly and professional people. Would recommend this tour to those not wanting to organise selves.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The first vineyard Stoney ridge which we had lunch, set tables up outside due to a wedding event,it rained
and the set up was poor for eating.two very small wine tastes and then told to buy wine from bar.
The person giving the tour was hard to understand,next visit to olive factory was fine but would have
been better to stay longer at the three vineyards we visited'
The tour gives a fair example of islands vineyards but is not great value for money.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic from start to finish!
Great wine and great food - beautiful location, excellent tour guide / coach driver would highly recommend!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent trip. Driver very knowledgeable. Very enjoyable day and very good value for money

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message