Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A beautiful day. The lighthouse anniversery was a bonus and going up to the top to see the view.
The volunteers were very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately my battery was flat on my camera so missed out on some photo opportuniities. I want to go back and stay next time for one or two nights. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave a great tour.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We highly recommend this tour - it was great being shown the island by a friendly bus driver who gave us a lot of information. For our first visit to the island this was the best way to learn about the island and the best places to go for meals, swimming, etc. It was so easy being able to access the ferry, tour bus and hop in, hop off island bus all with one ticket. Thank you.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour, our guide was David and he was great. His local knowledge of the island added to the enjoyment of the day, and all of the wineries (and the olive grove) were fantastic. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing. It was so good to see the native birds and to hear about the work that has been done to ensure this. To have a predator free island is fantastic.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent. Fantastic weather and amusing and informative driver.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fun tour. Ferry ride to island was beautiful. Bus tour was good and we enjoyed wine and pizza at the vineyard during our free time.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great way to see the island in a short amount of time

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic. Worth every cent. Will be back.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great last day of vacation. Beautiful island. Great scenery and lots of birds. Just wish I had brought my bathing suit for a swim. Highly recommend

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Except for a mishap when trying to get tickets at the fullers ferry (they didn't have our booking and had to ring the booking agent), I loved this tour. The places we stopped were fabulous, our bus driver was funny and it was a great deal!!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Recommnen taking guided tour if it is your first time. Saw a plethora of native birds. Bring togs if hot.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Mums4kids
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I have been to Tiritiri Matangi once before and it was wonderful to see how much denser the planting had become and the increase in the number of birds was good to see. The hard work put in by the volunteers and specialists has really paid off. Our volunteer guide, Chris was both knowledgable and hugely enthusiastic which made the walk a very pleasant experience. The sighting, twice, of the North Island Kokako was the icing on the cake of an already fantastic morning. I would recommend that the longer walk be done with a guide through the more established vegetation as it then helps you to know what to look out for when it comes to your own discovery time. Do remember to bring your own food and cold drinks because the shop only has tea and coffee, although this kindly free.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic trip. The guide/driver was informative and full of character. Being able to then spend as much time as I wished on the island as so many return ferries was a bonus. Also the day pass for the local buses enabled me some flexabilty to see more. Would recommend.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very nice tour. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message