Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely marvellous.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the most memorable thing I did in New Zealand. I highly recommend this trip to Tiritiri Mantangi..

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

had a great time , met new friends that will last a life time

Doing what: Best Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour was ok. Guide as fun and had a lot of good background info about island and also trivia. Sites were ok.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was neat to tour the island and definitely had some great photo opportunities. Good place to go if you want to tour one of the many vineyards.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just wonderful! I have been staying in New Zealand for ten months and this was one of the highlights. Such a beautiful area of the world, and Dawn was a brilliant guide too!

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Helicopter flight to winery and lunch at Mudbrick winery were wonderful. Weather was in our favor for helicopter ride from Auckland to the landing at the winery, but then it turned very rainy. The rain did not interfere with our outstanding lunch, but we were not able to get the views of Auckland we had hoped for on the ferry boat return to Auckland. However, that was not in your control or ours. All in all an unforgettable experience that we would recommend for anyone.

Doing what: Best Auckland Helicopter Tour and Waiheke Island Winery Lunch

wilcox
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had the best experience on this trip. Captain Mike and crew were outstanding! We also had the best time with other visitors. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It's a nice island, nice tour with a fantastic and knowledgeable driver.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour itself was fantastic! However it didn't say that our tour guide was meeting us AT the island, rather than BEFORE boarding the ferry in Auckland. This needed to be clearer.

Doing what: Best Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Not bad, vineyards were tiny and wines were average. Not a great day but fun nevertheless.

Doing what: Best Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Waiheke Island is a must to see and is a little piece of paradise in Auckland waters. The bus trip was a good way to see the island as we were short on time and the bus is also large enough and comfortable with great commentary from the driver who has lived on the island for many years. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour. Guide was very entertaining. Thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of all venues and lunch was lovely. Highly recommend this tour. Good value!

Doing what: Best Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Panda was a friendly and interesting guide with an amazing knowledge of the Island. Waiheke Island is a beautiful place and this was a convenient way to get around and learn a bit about it.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Friendly, fun and informative bus driver and vineyard staff. Good selection of vineyards and excellent wine and beers. Great Experience,

Doing what: Best Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful Island, nice tour with a fantastic kind driver.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved it! the day was beautiful, the drinks were good, and the scenery was fantastic!

Doing what: Best Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! Our tour guide was amazing! The wine, food, and olive out was great! The lunch that we had was delicious!

Doing what: Best Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this trip.
Lovely laid back walk.
I learnt so much! Our guide was friendly, knowledgable and best of all passionate about the work being done on the island.
Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Basically it introduces one to the island but it would be even better if a short wine tasting session is included as travelling around on hop on hop off is too time consuming.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed it very much. I did not realise how big Waiheke island is. I went again with my niece and we had a nice long walk on the island and took a longer bus ride on the island.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Although the weather was not great we enjoyed our trip to Waiheke Island. We had pre-booked the tour and had no difficulty finding or getting our tickets at the terminal in Auckland. The boat trip was pleasant, left on time and arrived on time. We were met at the wharf and boarded an old rattler for a one and a half hour tour which took us to all the most interesting places. The driver was a character and gave us a good commentary. There were several photo opportunities and time for coffee and toilet stops. We later had plenty of time to explore the township of Ostend and have a relaxed lunch before catching the ferry back to the mainland.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

All I can say is that it was excellent and we're looking forward to the next one on the list - won't be long.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message