Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour was fantastic! Waiheke island was beautiful!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent well organized tour. Professionally managed but lots of fun and laughs. As a NZ Gold Card hHolder though, I wasn't told that I didn't have to pay for the ferry from Auckland to Waiheke. Staff at the terminal had to inform me. But it was good value anyway.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A very enjoyable day that allows you to get a feel for the island aboard the bus and also spend time at 2 wineries, a microbrewery and an olive oil plant. There is also the option to stay on the island longer at the end of the tour which is handy. Only hitch was that the tour operator wanted a printed Viator voucher when I went to redeem the tickets at the ferry dock when it specifically says e-voucher is accepted, so just watch for that as it did cause a bit of an argument and delay, but sorted in the end. Overall would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My girlfriend and I recently went on this tour and what an amazing day it was! One of the best experiences of my life. Everything ran smoothly from start to finish. You can get the ferry earlier if you want to, we got the 11am ferry and got fantastic views of auckland skyline as we sped off to waiheke. All of the vineyards were beautiful and the wines were all great and normally reasonably expensive. Additional wines with lunch were at a reduced $5 as well.
The all day bus pass is great too, we stayed on the island for dinner and got the bus back for a later ferry which worked out well. Highlight of the day was the view at the top of mudbrick vineyard with horses grazing next to us and a glass of wine in hand. An all round well organised tour with a friendly knowledgable tour guide, Tracy.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great time! Driver was hilarious and knowledgable!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice way to see Auckland. Not very many discounts on the wine, but nice experience.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was probably the highlight of our trip. Fabulous wines, friendly staff and people in town. The olive oil stop was amazing as well. One good idea that we took advantage of, get your tickets early, and you can go to the island a few hours before the tour starts and have some breakfast on the island and see the town a bit before the tour starts.

Made for a very memorable day, highly recommended.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Incredible Experience. Tour Guide/Driver was fantastic. Miserable weather but our group made the most of the day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Waiheke Island is a "must see" destination on any tour of Auckland. On this particular tour the guide (bus driver Davenport) was great fun and very informative and the food was great, eaten in the shady bower of an olive grove with views to die for. You just have to do this tour!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Waiheke Island is a "must see" destination on any tour of Auckland. On this particular tour the guide (bus driver Davenport) was great fun and very informative and the food was great, eaten in the shady bower of an olive grove with views to die for. You just have to do this tour!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great for a day out with a difference. The tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

New Zealand is beautiful! This trip was worth it! Lots of activities on the island including the zip line adventure!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The bus driver was very informative and took us to many beautiful sights on Waiheke Island. He was very helpful in showing us where we should get the bus back to the ferry after we were on our own. The ferry trip was also very enjoyable. The driver also suggested a great place for us to have some oysters. It was a great tour.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour provided a good overview of island and what to see and do. Hop on and off pass worked well and bus service was timely. Should have booked an earlier tour time so I had more time to see other areas of the island and visit a few other wineries, most closed by 4 or 5 PM. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Not normally one to give out five star ratings, but this trip was absolutely incredible for me. Wonderful, rare birds all over the island, which is its own secluded paradise. I couldn't believe how dense the forest was, it was like being in a fantasy movie when walking the trails. The ferry ride out was nice, offering many sights in the Auckland harbor.

The guides and volunteers were also fantastic. Fiona was extremely pleasant and very knowledgeable about the island and its history. The other volunteers at the shop were quite friendly and nice to chat with.

Value wise, there is nothing out there close to comparable to this day trip, and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message