Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 196 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an outstanding adventure. Being avid birdwatchers we tried to book this tour during our last visit to Auckland, but it was fully booked. This time I booked it on line and we had a great time. Jane, our volunteer guide was amongst the best we have ever had. If you like birds, plants or trees, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Kenneth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great way to spend the day if the weather is fine. The ferry ride over was comfortable and the ferry has free wifi for those who need their fix, plus has drinks and snacks at reasonable prices. The bus tour around the island was good with some spectacular scenery on offer. We chose to hop off the bus tour at Onetangi and hit the beach followed by lunch at Charlie Farley's. We then caught the local bus back to Oneroa for a look around before catching another local bus back to the ferry terminal for the ferry back to the city. The local bus service was very easy to use and runs at reasonable intervals. As we had two 17yo girls in tow the winery tour wasn't an option, but from what we saw of the island wineries, that also appears to be a good option. Fuller's also offer dining tours from Auckland and they seem to be another good possibility. All in all a day well spent.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

PLMcG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent day on Waiheke Island with Allen, our tour guide. He lives on the island and knew everything about everybody. His creative and clever one-liners and comments were hysterical and complimented the short ride between winery visits. Lunch at Stonyridge was worth the price of the tour itself. MudBrick was also beautiful and I'm sure lunch there would have been equally good. Fantastic views, beautiful scenery and a delicious lunch we all devoured. I would not hesitate to take this tour again, and will definitely visit these two wineries again on our next visit.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

HUGH W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Horst is a great tour host - he provides lots of useful and humorous information on his tour which goes out of the way to show a more interesting side to the island.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Dawn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was excellent. Good guide. Easy to get to Island by ferry. Only downside is the booking information does not tell you to report to the Fuller's kiosk dockside to collect your ferry and tour ticket. You need to be there at least 20 minutes early so they can look up the reservation and issue the tickets. There is usually a lineup at the booth to book excursions.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our group really enjoyed the tour! Our driver, Al, did a wonderful job in narrating the Waiheke Island history, and we loved his humor! Can't wait to visit again.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

andromeda610

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Most wonderful guide and very relaxing day. Treck down to Cathedral Cove is a must, albeit a bit strenuous.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Leah B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We enjoyed the Waiheke Is.tour.. our guide was a local and very passionate about his homeland.. we visited 3 wineries and a brewery and enjoyed lunch under olive trees in the grove.. our only thing was the group size - we and #39;d prefer a small group tour next time..

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

savemy987

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The whole experience was informative and beautiful surroundings made it very enjoyable. The ferry trip was very calm as the weather was spot on. So we were very fortunate that everything was making this a wonderful experience. The bus driver was very interesting and had a lot of local knowledge. The bus air conditioning wasn't very good though which made it a bit uncomfortable. We wanted to go to the beach after the tour and the bus driver was kind enough to drop us off.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Stephen S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Fun afternoon with good tour guide. Bus leaves a lot to desire. Instructions for meeting the rour operator were not accurate as we had to search for the meeting and ticket area.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Michael H

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Beautiful, but you must be completely into birds and plants of which you're see a minimal amount.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Daniel S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was perfect for what we wanted a comprehensive overview of Waikeke Island in the limited time we had available. Arrangements were seamless apart from an early hiccup with the bus - quickly resolved and the driver was informative.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! This is mostly run by volunteers so most of the ticket cost goes to keeping the island as a conservation. Bring an iPod or something for the ferry. A nice bird watching walk!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Barbara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was very nice and courteous. The restaurant Hot Waves Cafe we had lunch was marvellous as well.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Beverly K R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous trip. So well-organized and all by volunteers. We were separated into small groups for the guided walk. Our hour walk stretched to almost three because there was so much to see. And our guide was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. And the birds--oh, the birds--were up close and personal. A special trip.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an outstanding adventure. Being avid birdwatchers we tried to book this tour during our last visit to Auckland, but it was fully booked. This time I booked it on line and we had a great time. Jane, our volunteer guide was amongst the best we have ever had. If you like birds, plants or trees, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Gillian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely magnificent experience great work from the friendly volunteers and Department of Conservation workers.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Linda T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland and would highly recommend other tourists to do this tour.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Lesley N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

What I loved about this tour apart from Waiheke itself was the ability to explore the Island at your own pace once the tour was complete using the local buses. Also the freedom to choose your return time to Auckland. This was inclusive in the cost. Waiheke is a must see place!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Robin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Everything about this tour was wonderful. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

flockhound

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good value for money. A pleasant walk through this preserved nature site with the opportunity to spot some of natures residents. Saw lots of different bird species thanks to the accompanying volunteer guide. The pace is set by you so there is no pressure and feeling of being hurried. We enjoyed the boat trip to the Island. Easy to catch the boat on the wharf front in Auckland. Hassle free booking, exchange your voucher from Viator for boat tickets in the ticket office on the quayside.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Dronamraju K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

a magical island-visit experience..hard to forget..pure air, a special close-to-nature feeling..the guide is knowledgeable and painstaking..you gotta climb a lot, a tiring one-hour trek thru spiralling jungle track that takes you up the hill to the lighthouse at the top...and lunch there..the ferry trip is very relaxing both ways!..no food is sold on island, so you gotta stock up and feed urself there!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tiritiri is a must do when in Auckland. Our guide was very informative and helpful in identifying the numerous birds we saw while hiking around the island. All in all it was a marvelous time and money well spent.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent, if you live in Auckland you should really come here at least once. The island is beautiful, lots of birds and birdsong. We did the guided tour and our guide was really informative. Great gift shop, managed to do a little shopping. If you are into photography this is a great spot, wonderful views. Geocaches too! Ferry excellent.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message