Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

lovely few hours sightseeing good trip on ferry and coach tour

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Price is well worth it. You get a ride to the island, a ride around the island all day, get to see the best sites, and a ride back to Auckland whenever you want. Would recommend.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great conservation project. Great explanations of plants and birds....along with continuing conservation accomplishments. Were told that groups were usually 8-10....very large number of visitors on our day...with not enough volunteers to lead a group that large. So our group was too large to hear/see everything. But still enjoyed the experience. Difficult to see some of the birds....but got a few lifers.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Aris
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Good tour of Coromandel and Cathedral cave. Spent more time driving than expected.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Nice ferry ride to Waiheke Island! The bus tour was nice, the driver was friendly and made good conversation. We got a lot of information about real estate and real estate prices on the island, which was a bit odd.
Waiheke has two nice little towns to look around a bit or go for a bite, it's very well organized thatyou can take all the others buses on the island if you decide to get off somewhere. We had a good day!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Our bus left 30 mins. Late after arriving on the island. We expected to get a full tasting at each winery, but received a total of six wine samples combined between all three wineries. Then we were given the option to PURCHASE more tastings! We had already paid more than $100 each for the tour. Bad

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We had an extra day in Auckland while awaiting our cruise and decided to take a side trip to Waiheke Island.
The island is beautiful and boat ride over pleasant.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The weather wasn't the best, which was a shame ,but that is always in no ones control,
Tracey tour driver had a very good sense of humor and the places we visited and the history was very interesting indeed, well worth it.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

One of the best wine tours I've been on in such a beautiful place. The only criticism I have would be that the last winery wasn't good for people with mobility issues. You'll definitely want to spend more time on Waiheke Island after the tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was excellent! I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Leonard F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Good educational trip. Got to see most of the birds and to understand the immense efforts that have been undertaken to restore this island to its naturalised state

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Great tour. Would have been better if it had left on schedule. Three people missing so we waited 35 min for next ferry the result way to rushed at wineries . Missing three never showed

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

There were literally only 6 wine tastings out of our whole day there. When we pay for a wine tasting tour, we would expect a little more tastings than just 6. There was no time to make purchases either. I would not recommend this tour to anyone wanting to go wine tasting.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message