Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really great tour. All the wineries were fantastic. Our lunch was excellent. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The only thing that we were not happy about was an email (sent by Viator 15 hours before the trip but not checked until one hour before the trip) telling us that the service was no longer available but we could book the trip on a different day. This was not the case when we got to the ticket office!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Left on time returned on time knowledgeable guide on the walk saw most of the bird species we were looking for. Altogether a very worthwhile and interesting trip.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour for 3 wineries and a bonus olive oil factory. It was classy to be served wine as we stepped out of the coach, and it was even classier to be taken on a tour through the vineyard, rather than just being plonked down to swill wine. Very personable staff at the wineries, and some good vintages.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

an absolutely fantastic day and a truly amazing place. I was only in NZ for one day, but I am hooked and I want to go back and see the rest of the country. The Coromandel was one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. Our guide, Sean, was absolutely brilliant - he made the day truly memorable. He worked really hard to make sure everyone had a great day.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved everything about the day trip!

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour with knowledgeable guide and winery stops were excellent.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautifull Island. Would recommend this one. Especially if you're a bird fan.
The guided walk is nice if you want to know some more insights but it's slow moving. You can easily see the whole Island and brids by yourself. I'm not saying the tour is bad, just think about what you want.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My granddaughter and I had a wonderful trip to Tiritiri Matangi. We had a great guide, Helen, who taught us such a lot about the flora and fauna on the Island. We saw so many birds and some up really close. And we met some lovely people on the ferry going over too. The whole day has created lovely memories for my granddaughter to cherish all her life.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Very comfortable trip over to the island. The guide was very knowledgeable but felt it was geared to the more experienced bird watchers rather than the casual ones.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A beautiful day. The lighthouse anniversery was a bonus and going up to the top to see the view.
The volunteers were very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately my battery was flat on my camera so missed out on some photo opportuniities. I want to go back and stay next time for one or two nights. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave a great tour.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We highly recommend this tour - it was great being shown the island by a friendly bus driver who gave us a lot of information. For our first visit to the island this was the best way to learn about the island and the best places to go for meals, swimming, etc. It was so easy being able to access the ferry, tour bus and hop in, hop off island bus all with one ticket. Thank you.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour, our guide was David and he was great. His local knowledge of the island added to the enjoyment of the day, and all of the wineries (and the olive grove) were fantastic. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message