• USD ($)
  • English

Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was probably the highlight of our trip. Fabulous wines, friendly staff and people in town. The olive oil stop was amazing as well. One good idea that we took advantage of, get your tickets early, and you can go to the island a few hours before the tour starts and have some breakfast on the island and see the town a bit before the tour starts.

Made for a very memorable day, highly recommended.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Waiheke Island is a "must see" destination on any tour of Auckland. On this particular tour the guide (bus driver Davenport) was great fun and very informative and the food was great, eaten in the shady bower of an olive grove with views to die for. You just have to do this tour!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Waiheke Island is a "must see" destination on any tour of Auckland. On this particular tour the guide (bus driver Davenport) was great fun and very informative and the food was great, eaten in the shady bower of an olive grove with views to die for. You just have to do this tour!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great for a day out with a difference. The tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

New Zealand is beautiful! This trip was worth it! Lots of activities on the island including the zip line adventure!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The bus driver was very informative and took us to many beautiful sights on Waiheke Island. He was very helpful in showing us where we should get the bus back to the ferry after we were on our own. The ferry trip was also very enjoyable. The driver also suggested a great place for us to have some oysters. It was a great tour.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour provided a good overview of island and what to see and do. Hop on and off pass worked well and bus service was timely. Should have booked an earlier tour time so I had more time to see other areas of the island and visit a few other wineries, most closed by 4 or 5 PM. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Not normally one to give out five star ratings, but this trip was absolutely incredible for me. Wonderful, rare birds all over the island, which is its own secluded paradise. I couldn't believe how dense the forest was, it was like being in a fantasy movie when walking the trails. The ferry ride out was nice, offering many sights in the Auckland harbor.

The guides and volunteers were also fantastic. Fiona was extremely pleasant and very knowledgeable about the island and its history. The other volunteers at the shop were quite friendly and nice to chat with.

Value wise, there is nothing out there close to comparable to this day trip, and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a tremendous experience--thanks for suggesting it. I

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This has to be the highlight of our trip. I have never seen so many different birds, and the experience of walking through the forrest with all of the calls ringing in my head was surreal.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was our first full day in Auckland, feeling very lost as we negotiated the busy city with our maps. Fortunately the Ferry Building was large and inside there were plenty of signs pointing to the different ferries. Good thing I asked one of the employees about my Viator booking printout - she sent me back to the Fullers Ferry office to get REAL tickets! Boarding was orderly, disembarking was mob-style with no lines for safety.

The ferry ride was quite comfortable, bumpy only with the waves of passing vessels. On Waiheke we followed the guy with the Waiheke Island Tour sign to his comfortable bus. Before he started he had us introduce ourselves by country of origin then proceeded with a running commentary of the various parts of the island. Sometimes his Australian accent was abit puzzling but we loved his sardonic comments. I wish there were more stopping points for picture-taking but the roads were narrow and hilly. We spent several hours after the tour stopping at mini-towns to shop and have lunch, riding any bus back to the Ferry. A lovely island worth visiting. Interestingly, all the buses plied designated routes, some to/from wineries - meaning there really was no need to ride the special Wine Tasting bus if one did not want to go to all the wineries

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour provided a good sampling of the wineries (and wines!) of Waiheke. David was a great guide and very informative about the local wine industry and history. A great day out and good way to compare the fruits of the vine!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This proved to be an excellent way to explore this beautiful island. The driver was very enthusiastic, informative and helpful. The chance to use the free hop on-hop off public bus services should not be missed, as it gives you the flexibility to visit a wider area of the island. The timings of the buses are also geared to meet specific ferries back to Auckland which is extremely useful.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I gave this trip as a birthday present to my sister who went with her friend. They had a wonderful day and told me that the guide was great fun and really informative and the food and wine superb. I suspect that would rate it a five star experience as everything relating to their travel and the day was a very happy, seamless experience!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Like it, but I thought that more info would have been provided

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message