Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It's a nice island, nice tour with a fantastic and knowledgeable driver.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Waiheke Island is a must to see and is a little piece of paradise in Auckland waters. The bus trip was a good way to see the island as we were short on time and the bus is also large enough and comfortable with great commentary from the driver who has lived on the island for many years. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour. Guide was very entertaining. Thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of all venues and lunch was lovely. Highly recommend this tour. Good value!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Panda was a friendly and interesting guide with an amazing knowledge of the Island. Waiheke Island is a beautiful place and this was a convenient way to get around and learn a bit about it.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Friendly, fun and informative bus driver and vineyard staff. Good selection of vineyards and excellent wine and beers. Great Experience,

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful Island, nice tour with a fantastic kind driver.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved it! the day was beautiful, the drinks were good, and the scenery was fantastic!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! Our tour guide was amazing! The wine, food, and olive out was great! The lunch that we had was delicious!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this trip.
Lovely laid back walk.
I learnt so much! Our guide was friendly, knowledgable and best of all passionate about the work being done on the island.
Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Basically it introduces one to the island but it would be even better if a short wine tasting session is included as travelling around on hop on hop off is too time consuming.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed it very much. I did not realise how big Waiheke island is. I went again with my niece and we had a nice long walk on the island and took a longer bus ride on the island.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Although the weather was not great we enjoyed our trip to Waiheke Island. We had pre-booked the tour and had no difficulty finding or getting our tickets at the terminal in Auckland. The boat trip was pleasant, left on time and arrived on time. We were met at the wharf and boarded an old rattler for a one and a half hour tour which took us to all the most interesting places. The driver was a character and gave us a good commentary. There were several photo opportunities and time for coffee and toilet stops. We later had plenty of time to explore the township of Ostend and have a relaxed lunch before catching the ferry back to the mainland.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

All I can say is that it was excellent and we're looking forward to the next one on the list - won't be long.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic day. Informative guide. Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great - beautiful views and saw lots of birds. Got lots of wonderful pictures!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Probably my most favorite part of our whole two-week trip - and I'm not even a bird watcher! The island was beautiful - go on a sunny day! Two days before it was raining so I'd wait to book the trip until getting there. They instructed us to take our lunch in a hard plastic container so I specially brought a large Tupperware cereal container all the way from the U.S. with things packed inside but it still took up a lot of room and then a lot of people were bringing in their sandwiches in plastic bags so THAT wasn't cool! Go by the rules or don't have the rules!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Id give 5 stars for the island, it is the most wonderful place. The ferry service was clean and well run but the process of submitting the Viator voucher was very difficult with the staff having no idea how to redeem them. The bus tour coach had certainly seen better days and we were very happy to get off half way and get the standard bus back. Fantastic place though and highly recommended to visit, I would just do it as an independent trip next time

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The day was rainy. The driver three times said he was going to stop up the way a bit and then - DIDN'T. That was very disappointing since I missed several picture opportunities! I mentioned that to him more than once and he just changed the subject. I would NOT recommend that you spend the money on this trip. In addition, the city bus driver - Allan - was VERY rude. Don't these people realize that they are a representative of their country? Allan has gone well past the time at which he should quit this job!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Wouldn't recommend it. Didn't see much to make it worth my while. Should have stayed in bed that day! Bus driver who took us back to the ferry - name of Allen - was rude to several people!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

the 1/2 submarine boat did not have air conditioning for 1/2 the time and it was claustrophobic , hot and awful. The man who was to tells us about the fish went up on deck and never came back. It was awful.
The other stuff was ok.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really great tour. All the wineries were fantastic. Our lunch was excellent. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The only thing that we were not happy about was an email (sent by Viator 15 hours before the trip but not checked until one hour before the trip) telling us that the service was no longer available but we could book the trip on a different day. This was not the case when we got to the ticket office!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Left on time returned on time knowledgeable guide on the walk saw most of the bird species we were looking for. Altogether a very worthwhile and interesting trip.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message