Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The weather wasn't the best, which was a shame ,but that is always in no ones control,
Tracey tour driver had a very good sense of humor and the places we visited and the history was very interesting indeed, well worth it.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

One of the best wine tours I've been on in such a beautiful place. The only criticism I have would be that the last winery wasn't good for people with mobility issues. You'll definitely want to spend more time on Waiheke Island after the tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was excellent! I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Leonard F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Good educational trip. Got to see most of the birds and to understand the immense efforts that have been undertaken to restore this island to its naturalised state

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Great tour. Would have been better if it had left on schedule. Three people missing so we waited 35 min for next ferry the result way to rushed at wineries . Missing three never showed

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Great tour. Would have been better if it had left on schedule. Three people missing so we waited 35 min for next ferry the result way to rushed at wineries . Missing three never showed

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

There were literally only 6 wine tastings out of our whole day there. When we pay for a wine tasting tour, we would expect a little more tastings than just 6. There was no time to make purchases either. I would not recommend this tour to anyone wanting to go wine tasting.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our driver, Tracy, was knowledgeable and entertaining. The tour was good, but some of the vintners were a little windy - as well as the weather. Near the end of the tour, the weather went from so-so to unbearably windy. No fault of the tour, but adjustments weren't made to compensate for it - in other words, the hosts at the winery should have moved everyone inside. We could neither hear nor enjoy those segments while battling a ferocious wind. As a first-time user of Viator, I would recommend them, although, the information that I had was not explicit enough to know exactly what to do when we arrived. Nonetheless, it was a credible tour company, and I would use them again.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

For the time frame giving it was well done. Bus driver was funny and knowledgeable, telling us great tidbits of info along the way. The tour felt rushed overall though... I would still recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

No guide at the Auckland Port.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I nearly missed my boat - At first I was given a voucher which I didn't know was the ticket. Then at the time of boarding I was told that the ticket was not a ticket. I had to go back and queue at the Fullers ticket counter to convert the paper ticket to a proper ticket. At the counter you Fuller staff was staring at the screen for a long 5 minutes before producing my card-ticket. I showed the staff the words on your voucher which said "This voucher is a ticket" and they said it was wrong and should not have said that on the voucher. Meanwhile, the boat nearly left without us and we couldn't get the window seat which we would have got had we been allowed in initially when were at the front of the boarding line. . Hope next time we can get clearer instructions

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Enjoyed this tour and we had a great time tasting the different wines and lunch was quite yummy as well!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

AMANDA E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

What a lovely day this was! Tracey our guide was an absolute treasure - very happy to share her stories and answer any questions and funny too! The scenery here was amazing. The lunch was in a lovely spot and really enjoyed each of the wineries where the tastings were very generous. Now a big fan of proper ginger beer! Particularly liked the visit to the olive oil farm.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message