Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Tiritiri Matangi Island

Tiritiri Matangi Island is an open wildlife sanctuary devoted to the protection of local endangered species. The island is tightly controlled to keep out predators such as cats and mice, which hunt fragile bird species, including the tiny kiwi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shelley A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous day out, great cruise and very informative tour of Tiritiri Matangi. Our volunteer guide Sahrah was very knowledgeable and a excellent birder. We saw kereru, takahe, tui, bell birds, quail, kokao , saddlebacks and stich birds. We couldn't have asked for more. The free teas and coffees were a nice surprise too.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

crossy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Despite a wet morning we had a comfortable trip on the ferry to this stunning island! We were all divided up into groups those of us who opted for the guided walk. Jane, my guide, was very informative about the various birds who call Tiri Tiri Matangi their home. She is most passionate and obviously loves the Island. it was fascinating to discover which trees which are most important to certain birds. After this very interesting tour,we were invited to partake in complimentary tea/coffee in the Visitors' Centre, which was most appreciated. The volunteers are to be congratulated for giving of their time to staff the Visitors' Centre, the Shop and the guiding. After enjoying my tea and lunch bring your own, we were encouraged to find our way back to the Wharf via an alternative track. I certainly recommend this fascinating Island as a peaceful, rejuvenating jewel.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Heidi J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an amazing day. The weather was perfect, the ferry trip pleasant and the guided tour very informative and informal. We got to see nearly all of the birds that can be seen on Tiritiri Matangi as well as a few others. I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys leisurely bushwalks, birdwatching and the amazing nature of New Zealand

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic nature trip on ferry to TIRI, the walk with a knowledgable volunteer guide very good value.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Robin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The boat return boat trip was great. The staff on board were very friendly and the island guides were most informative. The island is a must for everyone interested in nature and the environment.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Lyndall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great effort has been put in to rehabilitate this island. Wonderful day out and the guided tour just added to it. Bit rough on the ferry both ways. Don't forget your seasick pills, lunch or water. Only tea and coffee available at the top of the island.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

billgould1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very knowledgeable guide took a small group of 8 people under his wing pun intended and we took a 2-3 hour walk where he identified and pointed out almost all the varieties of birds on Tiritiri Matangi Island. The tour was not rushed and time was also spend identifying key plants and trees. The ferry ride over and back was also nice, although there seemed to be more people than seats.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Gregory B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, make sure your take the guided tour but don't do the long walk because you won't have a lot of time left before going back to the boat.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Gillian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely magnificent experience great work from the friendly volunteers and Department of Conservation workers.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an outstanding adventure. Being avid birdwatchers we tried to book this tour during our last visit to Auckland, but it was fully booked. This time I booked it on line and we had a great time. Jane, our volunteer guide was amongst the best we have ever had. If you like birds, plants or trees, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Beverly K R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous trip. So well-organized and all by volunteers. We were separated into small groups for the guided walk. Our hour walk stretched to almost three because there was so much to see. And our guide was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. And the birds--oh, the birds--were up close and personal. A special trip.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! This is mostly run by volunteers so most of the ticket cost goes to keeping the island as a conservation. Bring an iPod or something for the ferry. A nice bird watching walk!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent, if you live in Auckland you should really come here at least once. The island is beautiful, lots of birds and birdsong. We did the guided tour and our guide was really informative. Great gift shop, managed to do a little shopping. If you are into photography this is a great spot, wonderful views. Geocaches too! Ferry excellent.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tiritiri is a must do when in Auckland. Our guide was very informative and helpful in identifying the numerous birds we saw while hiking around the island. All in all it was a marvelous time and money well spent.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Dronamraju K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

a magical island-visit experience..hard to forget..pure air, a special close-to-nature feeling..the guide is knowledgeable and painstaking..you gotta climb a lot, a tiring one-hour trek thru spiralling jungle track that takes you up the hill to the lighthouse at the top...and lunch there..the ferry trip is very relaxing both ways!..no food is sold on island, so you gotta stock up and feed urself there!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

flockhound

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good value for money. A pleasant walk through this preserved nature site with the opportunity to spot some of natures residents. Saw lots of different bird species thanks to the accompanying volunteer guide. The pace is set by you so there is no pressure and feeling of being hurried. We enjoyed the boat trip to the Island. Easy to catch the boat on the wharf front in Auckland. Hassle free booking, exchange your voucher from Viator for boat tickets in the ticket office on the quayside.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a terrific trip! Great birding, great scenery, great guiding, great companionship. I am only sorry that I am 6000 miles away!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellant guide great hike and lots of birds and vegetation to see.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great experience. Only negative was our volunteer lead who walked way too fast.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Ellen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A magical day. I'm not a birder, but from other reviews decided to go anyhow. It's so much more than birds. It left me with a renewed spirit of conservation and the important of protection of our planet.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Naomi W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good tour for nature lovers. A guided tour on Tiritiri is highly recommended. It provides a lot of information and helps to put things into the proper context.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Sue Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the most memorable thing I did in New Zealand. I highly recommend this trip to Tiritiri Mantangi..

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Gurdy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this trip.
Lovely laid back walk.
I learnt so much! Our guide was friendly, knowledgable and best of all passionate about the work being done on the island.
Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message