Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Tiritiri Matangi Island

Tiritiri Matangi Island is an open wildlife sanctuary devoted to the protection of local endangered species. The island is tightly controlled to keep out predators such as cats and mice, which hunt fragile bird species, including the tiny kiwi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an outstanding adventure. Being avid birdwatchers we tried to book this tour during our last visit to Auckland, but it was fully booked. This time I booked it on line and we had a great time. Jane, our volunteer guide was amongst the best we have ever had. If you like birds, plants or trees, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Gillian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely magnificent experience great work from the friendly volunteers and Department of Conservation workers.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an outstanding adventure. Being avid birdwatchers we tried to book this tour during our last visit to Auckland, but it was fully booked. This time I booked it on line and we had a great time. Jane, our volunteer guide was amongst the best we have ever had. If you like birds, plants or trees, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Beverly K R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous trip. So well-organized and all by volunteers. We were separated into small groups for the guided walk. Our hour walk stretched to almost three because there was so much to see. And our guide was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. And the birds--oh, the birds--were up close and personal. A special trip.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! This is mostly run by volunteers so most of the ticket cost goes to keeping the island as a conservation. Bring an iPod or something for the ferry. A nice bird watching walk!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent, if you live in Auckland you should really come here at least once. The island is beautiful, lots of birds and birdsong. We did the guided tour and our guide was really informative. Great gift shop, managed to do a little shopping. If you are into photography this is a great spot, wonderful views. Geocaches too! Ferry excellent.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tiritiri is a must do when in Auckland. Our guide was very informative and helpful in identifying the numerous birds we saw while hiking around the island. All in all it was a marvelous time and money well spent.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Dronamraju K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

a magical island-visit experience..hard to forget..pure air, a special close-to-nature feeling..the guide is knowledgeable and painstaking..you gotta climb a lot, a tiring one-hour trek thru spiralling jungle track that takes you up the hill to the lighthouse at the top...and lunch there..the ferry trip is very relaxing both ways!..no food is sold on island, so you gotta stock up and feed urself there!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

flockhound

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good value for money. A pleasant walk through this preserved nature site with the opportunity to spot some of natures residents. Saw lots of different bird species thanks to the accompanying volunteer guide. The pace is set by you so there is no pressure and feeling of being hurried. We enjoyed the boat trip to the Island. Easy to catch the boat on the wharf front in Auckland. Hassle free booking, exchange your voucher from Viator for boat tickets in the ticket office on the quayside.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a terrific trip! Great birding, great scenery, great guiding, great companionship. I am only sorry that I am 6000 miles away!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellant guide great hike and lots of birds and vegetation to see.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great experience. Only negative was our volunteer lead who walked way too fast.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Ellen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A magical day. I'm not a birder, but from other reviews decided to go anyhow. It's so much more than birds. It left me with a renewed spirit of conservation and the important of protection of our planet.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Naomi W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good tour for nature lovers. A guided tour on Tiritiri is highly recommended. It provides a lot of information and helps to put things into the proper context.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Sue Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the most memorable thing I did in New Zealand. I highly recommend this trip to Tiritiri Mantangi..

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Gurdy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this trip.
Lovely laid back walk.
I learnt so much! Our guide was friendly, knowledgable and best of all passionate about the work being done on the island.
Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Janice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great - beautiful views and saw lots of birds. Got lots of wonderful pictures!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Janice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Probably my most favorite part of our whole two-week trip - and I'm not even a bird watcher! The island was beautiful - go on a sunny day! Two days before it was raining so I'd wait to book the trip until getting there. They instructed us to take our lunch in a hard plastic container so I specially brought a large Tupperware cereal container all the way from the U.S. with things packed inside but it still took up a lot of room and then a lot of people were bringing in their sandwiches in plastic bags so THAT wasn't cool! Go by the rules or don't have the rules!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Lynette G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

All I can say is that it was excellent and we're looking forward to the next one on the list - won't be long.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

mike.gordon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautifull Island. Would recommend this one. Especially if you're a bird fan.
The guided walk is nice if you want to know some more insights but it's slow moving. You can easily see the whole Island and brids by yourself. I'm not saying the tour is bad, just think about what you want.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Joni B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My granddaughter and I had a wonderful trip to Tiritiri Matangi. We had a great guide, Helen, who taught us such a lot about the flora and fauna on the Island. We saw so many birds and some up really close. And we met some lovely people on the ferry going over too. The whole day has created lovely memories for my granddaughter to cherish all her life.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Left on time returned on time knowledgeable guide on the walk saw most of the bird species we were looking for. Altogether a very worthwhile and interesting trip.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Ray H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The only thing that we were not happy about was an email (sent by Viator 15 hours before the trip but not checked until one hour before the trip) telling us that the service was no longer available but we could book the trip on a different day. This was not the case when we got to the ticket office!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

great day trip. had a private guide. took photos of many birds

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message