Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Tiritiri Matangi Island

Tiritiri Matangi Island is an open wildlife sanctuary devoted to the protection of local endangered species. The island is tightly controlled to keep out predators such as cats and mice, which hunt fragile bird species, including the tiny kiwi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

great day trip. had a private guide. took photos of many birds

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

great day trip. had a private guide. took photos of many birds

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing. It was so good to see the native birds and to hear about the work that has been done to ensure this. To have a predator free island is fantastic.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Recommnen taking guided tour if it is your first time. Saw a plethora of native birds. Bring togs if hot.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Mums4kids
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I have been to Tiritiri Matangi once before and it was wonderful to see how much denser the planting had become and the increase in the number of birds was good to see. The hard work put in by the volunteers and specialists has really paid off. Our volunteer guide, Chris was both knowledgable and hugely enthusiastic which made the walk a very pleasant experience. The sighting, twice, of the North Island Kokako was the icing on the cake of an already fantastic morning. I would recommend that the longer walk be done with a guide through the more established vegetation as it then helps you to know what to look out for when it comes to your own discovery time. Do remember to bring your own food and cold drinks because the shop only has tea and coffee, although this kindly free.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great last day of vacation. Beautiful island. Great scenery and lots of birds. Just wish I had brought my bathing suit for a swim. Highly recommend

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A beautiful day. The lighthouse anniversery was a bonus and going up to the top to see the view.
The volunteers were very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately my battery was flat on my camera so missed out on some photo opportuniities. I want to go back and stay next time for one or two nights. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave a great tour.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Leonard F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Good educational trip. Got to see most of the birds and to understand the immense efforts that have been undertaken to restore this island to its naturalised state

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable of the flora and fauna on this island. The tour was a nice leisurely pace with plenty of photography opportunities and time to stop and ask questions.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Not normally one to give out five star ratings, but this trip was absolutely incredible for me. Wonderful, rare birds all over the island, which is its own secluded paradise. I couldn't believe how dense the forest was, it was like being in a fantasy movie when walking the trails. The ferry ride out was nice, offering many sights in the Auckland harbor.

The guides and volunteers were also fantastic. Fiona was extremely pleasant and very knowledgeable about the island and its history. The other volunteers at the shop were quite friendly and nice to chat with.

Value wise, there is nothing out there close to comparable to this day trip, and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This has to be the highlight of our trip. I have never seen so many different birds, and the experience of walking through the forrest with all of the calls ringing in my head was surreal.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a highlight of my New Zealand holiday. The ferry trip was lovely. On arrival we were divided into groups and given a choice of two walks to the lighthouse and lunch. There were a lot of people there but more than enough volunteer guides, so each group was small. I was with six other people and we were all impressed with our guide Kathryn and her knowledge of the island's birdlife. After lunch (you take your own) five of us did the alternative walk back to the wharf, which was just as lovely as the first walk. Even though we didn't have a guide we recognised the birds we saw and heard. Hobbs Beach is a lovely spot and my only regret was I didn't take something to swim in.
We had plenty of time on the island but next time I'd stay there overnight.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great island tour and and the guide walk a very nice experience .

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was a wonderful island! Our tour guide had so many people with her that I could rarely hear her comments but a guided tour is necessary in order to easily identify the bird species if one is not used to bird watching.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message