Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Waiheke Island

Aucklanders swarm to Waiheke Island in summer to make the most of its stunning beaches, which are some of the safest and cleanest in the world for swimming and water sports like sea kayaking and snorkeling. Some of the best beaches include Palm ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 254 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ellen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Staff was friendly. The zip line was awesome

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend the food and wine tasting. It makes for a great day trip from Auckland. The ferry ride was scenic and fun. The wineries were superb as was the olive oil vineyard we sampled. The lunch and wine at Stoney Ridge was delicious. The view of Auckland from the hilltop at Mud Brick was incredible. We stayed on the island after the tour and had a late afternoon snack at The Oyster Inn enjoying the seaside view from the open veranda on the second floor while sampling some of the island wines. What a way to end the day. We then walked back from the town to the ferry following the island trails through the bush. Wonderful day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this packaged tour to Waiheke Island. It gave me something to do alone while my friends had to work. Favorite part was by far the zip lining with EcoZip's team. Those guys were awesome. Wish I could have zip lined with them all day and night. It's addictive! Our tour guide and bus driver around the island was terrific and hilarious.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

pteach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Beautiful island. The tour guide and hosts at the wineries were very friendly and informative. Food, wine and beer was great.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

lharrison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent. We were well looked after and an experience to remember

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Jeanette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceeded our expectations. Great day out, lovely boat trip across Auckland Harbour, Excellent lunch and wines. Our hosts at each winery were infirmative and entertaining. Comfortable coach and good driver to transport us around.
It would have been good to be informed that we had to go to the ticket office to collect our tickets and make your own way across to the island where you are met.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Karan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing time, beautiful scenery everything about the trip was fab. The zip lining is just wow, well worth going

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

jillmjackson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour, the Island is beautiful, and the wineries were fabulous!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Alex J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! A lot of good information and some nice places to stop. Definitely recommended if you only have half a day or day too see as much of the island as possible :

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

mary d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour...absolutely brilliant! The wineries we visited were excellent, the olive oil tasting was quite enjoyable, and the lunch was good as well. Our tour guide, David, was exceptional. He made the tour so much fun and he was extremely friendly and informative. We could not have had a better person leading our tour. Having the tour end at Mudbrick Winery, with those spectacular views...it just capped off the day and tour beautifully. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Rellim001 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful day out. The tour driver was knowledgeable. Plenty of time, and quite easy, to visit some wineries using your all day bus pass.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Laura H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyable day. We went to a good mix of vine yards. The tour was just long enough and a really good price. Our tour guide was very good, very relaxed and friendly and knew a lot about the island. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Strenuous tour for those unbable to was up hills
Loved the island and wine taste was delightful

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Susan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent value. The tour was conveniently located. Our tour driver, Pete, was informative and entertaining. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Penny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was great! Wonderful communication to my questions. Small group. They were very concerned about our safety first and then our fun. The lines are fast - meaning it takes more time to get ready than the actually zipping but very much worth it. They tell you what goes down must go up - and so it is. We had a nice walk up.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Samantha N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a fantastic day and our tour guide was brilliant.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Don M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great day! The ferry ride allows you great views of Auckland, the lunch was very good, and the wineries were terrific.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Mika K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Had a great time. It was great that the Zip line had three stages so the fun lasted longer. We had great food and tasted some nice wines at the wineries. Particularly loved the last winery Mudbrick and could have stayed an extra hour there. Hindsight as our return ticket with the ferry allowed us to catch any ferry back until 11PM that night and the local bus was included int eh ticket we should have planned to stay until late once the tour finished.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

KC5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guy was very funny and we got a good sense of the island without having much time. I wish we could have stayed on the island longer. Great tour for a day trip!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Auckland put on perfect weather for our visit to Waiheke Island. It was a quick 45 minute ferry ride and we were met at the dock by Dave, a bright and enthusiastic driver/guide. We visited Stonyridge Vineyard where we tasted two reds and enjoyed lunch under the olive trees. Lunch was a nice chicken quiche, salad and glass of wine. We visited Rangihoua, an award winning olive grower and then Wild on Waiheke where we tasted a red, a pale ale and a ginger beer. Our last stop was at the scenic Mudbrick Vineyards where we taste three wines. Walked up the hill to enjoy spectacular views. We were dropped back at the ferry just after 4pm. A great day and highly recommended.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well organized. The boat trip was quick, about 35 minutes. The wind on the water is chilly during late March - dress warmly.. The coach tour also went very well - the driver was native to the island and very knowledgeable and courteous. The cafe where we stopped was not prepared to serve most dishes within our time limit of 30 minutes. We tried to order the seafood chowder, but it was not ready at 11:45 am. Not the fault of the tour company, but they may wish to find another stop.

PM

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

HIGHLY recommend this tour! This was one of our favorite things we did in New Zealand. Zip lining was super fun and the staff was great. The wine tasting was delicious and had a great lunch

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message