Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Waiheke Island

Aucklanders swarm to Waiheke Island in summer to make the most of its stunning beaches, which are some of the safest and cleanest in the world for swimming and water sports like sea kayaking and snorkeling. Some of the best beaches include Palm ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kenneth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great way to spend the day if the weather is fine. The ferry ride over was comfortable and the ferry has free wifi for those who need their fix, plus has drinks and snacks at reasonable prices. The bus tour around the island was good with some spectacular scenery on offer. We chose to hop off the bus tour at Onetangi and hit the beach followed by lunch at Charlie Farley's. We then caught the local bus back to Oneroa for a look around before catching another local bus back to the ferry terminal for the ferry back to the city. The local bus service was very easy to use and runs at reasonable intervals. As we had two 17yo girls in tow the winery tour wasn't an option, but from what we saw of the island wineries, that also appears to be a good option. Fuller's also offer dining tours from Auckland and they seem to be another good possibility. All in all a day well spent.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

PLMcG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent day on Waiheke Island with Allen, our tour guide. He lives on the island and knew everything about everybody. His creative and clever one-liners and comments were hysterical and complimented the short ride between winery visits. Lunch at Stonyridge was worth the price of the tour itself. MudBrick was also beautiful and I'm sure lunch there would have been equally good. Fantastic views, beautiful scenery and a delicious lunch we all devoured. I would not hesitate to take this tour again, and will definitely visit these two wineries again on our next visit.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

HUGH W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Horst is a great tour host - he provides lots of useful and humorous information on his tour which goes out of the way to show a more interesting side to the island.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Dawn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was excellent. Good guide. Easy to get to Island by ferry. Only downside is the booking information does not tell you to report to the Fuller's kiosk dockside to collect your ferry and tour ticket. You need to be there at least 20 minutes early so they can look up the reservation and issue the tickets. There is usually a lineup at the booth to book excursions.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our group really enjoyed the tour! Our driver, Al, did a wonderful job in narrating the Waiheke Island history, and we loved his humor! Can't wait to visit again.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Tammy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was amazing! All in our group had a lot of fun.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

PATRICIA K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great from start to finish. Very knowledgeable guide and a lovely island.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Bluey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a very enjoyable morning that ran smoothly. Beautiful scenery with the beaches and the wineries to look at. It was good value for money and we would use Viator again for further trips.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Leah B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We enjoyed the Waiheke Is.tour.. our guide was a local and very passionate about his homeland.. we visited 3 wineries and a brewery and enjoyed lunch under olive trees in the grove.. our only thing was the group size - we and #39;d prefer a small group tour next time..

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

savemy987

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The whole experience was informative and beautiful surroundings made it very enjoyable. The ferry trip was very calm as the weather was spot on. So we were very fortunate that everything was making this a wonderful experience. The bus driver was very interesting and had a lot of local knowledge. The bus air conditioning wasn't very good though which made it a bit uncomfortable. We wanted to go to the beach after the tour and the bus driver was kind enough to drop us off.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Stephen S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Fun afternoon with good tour guide. Bus leaves a lot to desire. Instructions for meeting the rour operator were not accurate as we had to search for the meeting and ticket area.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

jim s

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Lovely day on the island which was very beautiful, with a very informed bus driver.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Jody J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Well worth the trip. Lovely island away from the hustle and bustle of Auckland. You could be a hundred miles away not jjust a short ferry ride. Pete our drive was a great guide with a great sense of humour. The bus system is easy to use and great value with you ticket

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

ellentoday

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The tour is well planned, and the driver guide has done a good job.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Daniel S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was perfect for what we wanted a comprehensive overview of Waikeke Island in the limited time we had available. Arrangements were seamless apart from an early hiccup with the bus - quickly resolved and the driver was informative.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Ellen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic tour. Wonderful combination of the zipline and a walk through the safe forest between each zipline. Absolutely beautiful and informative.
I was scared of heights but did it, and I was so glad. Its very exhilerating.
Well done to the two guides Beck and Charity, they worked well as a team, very professional.
What a beautiful Island. Well worth the visit, wish I could have stayed a night or two.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Linda T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland and would highly recommend other tourists to do this tour.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Jack S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The ziplining was awesome and highly recommended - the walk back to HQ was uninformative and quite a dissapointment and then my sister in law fell and all the guide could say was oophs it's quite steep isn't it!and picked up her helmet. Didn't bother to help her or ask her if she was hurt or anything - turns out she broke both bones in her left wrist.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Roderick J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic scenery, great guide would love to do it all again. The only downfall was that we couldn't go over to the island in the morning to use our bus pass before the tour and had to leave the island straight after it finished to get to our next activity..

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

Lesley N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

What I loved about this tour apart from Waiheke itself was the ability to explore the Island at your own pace once the tour was complete using the local buses. Also the freedom to choose your return time to Auckland. This was inclusive in the cost. Waiheke is a must see place!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Robin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Everything about this tour was wonderful. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A fantastic experience!
The guides were professional, courteous, knowledgeable and very caring.
They made you feel like you were the only person in the group. The attention and care given was beyond my expectation!
Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Katherine S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A nice place to visit but just a bus ride for the most. No time to spend in one place.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Laurence D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our guide, Horst was very professional, friendly and knowledgable. Tour was thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish. Waiheke is gorgeous, would thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message