Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Waiheke Island

Aucklanders swarm to Waiheke Island in summer to make the most of its stunning beaches, which are some of the safest and cleanest in the world for swimming and water sports like sea kayaking and snorkeling. Some of the best beaches include Palm ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 268 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ritawdurham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome!! Get to marina early enough to find your tickets as several booths are closed early am. Zip line staff fantastic and eco walk very enjoyable. Wine tasting bus driver fantastic. Enjoyed hanging out in town after to enjoy some of the local fare fish and chips take out right off of the beach not far from town.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Sandee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The ferry and bus tour around the island were great with options to be dropped off anywhere and picked up later. I would like to have been dropped off for wine tasting but it was raining so I chose to stay on the bus.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Kirstin E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great and the guide was very funny and informed, however it felt very rushed as one of the wineries was having a wedding so we finished early.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Suellen W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent. Amazing lunch at Stonyridge Vineyard. Wild on Waiheke was superb!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Coralie v

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was a nice trip, but.... it was very rushed, I think it would have been nice to have a little longer at each place to have the time to drink a glass of wine at leisure. The people that did purchase a glass tended to end up either leaving it or skulling it.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Merlyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was raining on the day we went, not a hard rain but an annoying drizzling rain, but we zip lined any way. It was fantastic! There are two lines running in tandem so you can race each other. We rented a gro pro and it was a good investment because then we could actually see the scenery we zoomed across. The last line is particularly fast....and steep...thrilling! After the zip line, we do a bush walk, up and down the mountain to get back to base. It was a bit challenging because of the mud, but under the canapy the forest was magical. Definitely wear good trekking shoes.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Amber B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing! I loved the three zip lines. So much fun! And tour guides picked us up from the shops instead of the ferry station, which made it very convenient for us to see other parts of the island, too.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A special city friendly, great hotel and wonderful food. Great side trips

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Denise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience all in all. Fantastic views. The ziplining was easy to do also for a beginner and the guides were very helpful. It all felt very safe. Walking back up was definitely the harder part :-
The afternoon was also nice, although visiting four different places was perhaps a bit too much given the time available - it felt like we had to rush from one place to another all the time. All the arrangements incl. taking the ferry from/to Auckland worked very smoothly. I warmly recommend having dinner on Waiheke after the tour ends - very easy to take a later ferry back to Auckland!

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Brittany D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour was a lot of fun! They picked us up at the ferry making it very easy to get to the sight. We then got started quickly with the ziplines which were great. My only complaint is there are only 3 so it's a pretty short ziplining trip. The walk back was beautiful.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Leanne D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Waiheke island was really beautiful... Great views from the zipline. The tour guides were so friendly and helpful. I am scared of hieghts but I wasnt scared once up there.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Jill L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

First part of the day, the ziplining, was 5 stars all the way. The people at EcoZip were professional, fun and safety conscious.The ziplines were fun and the views were amazing. The zip lines are perfect for beginning zip liners because there are 3 separate lines that work up from beginning to thrilling. I will say, though, that if you're an adrenaline junkie looking for something that will give you a scare, this may not be it.
The wine tour and lunch was only so-so. Lunch was quiche, a little salad and a few pieces of cheese. You had to pay extra to have wine with lunch. The wineries were fine, and the views were beautiful, but the tour needed to be an hour longer. There wasn't time to taste much wine and definitely not enough time to taste enough wine to want to buy some. The afternoon was just lackluster.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Taryn C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I will start off and say that our guide and driver, David, was great - entertaining and knowledgeable. However, the tour was listed as 'food and wine tasting'. A title like that makes you assume you will have a variety of both food and wine, but that was not the case. We were given lunch at our first winery, which was nice, but that was the only food we had. Olive oil tastings during the tour doesn't qualify for me as food tasting.

As for the 'wine tastings', we had 6 tastings of wine. We have done several wine tastings around the world and never have we had such a small sampling of wine. At our first winery, Stonyridge we were given two tastings before lunch. At our second winery, Wild on Waiheke, we were given ONE sample of wine! That winery happened to brew beer and they provided 2 beer samples and a non-alcoholic ginger beer. We love craft beer and had actually done a beer tour the previous day, but we signed up for a WINE tour. The last winery, Mudbrick, was the best of the three and also had the best wines, but we were still only given 3 varieties of wine.

While at Mudbrick, we noticed that you could try 5 wines 3 of which we had for just 10 NZD 7 USD. If you can get 5 tastings for this price, what did our money actually go to? At each winery we were given the option to buy more samples, but this should be part of a wine tour in the first place, but there also wasn't very much time at each winery if you did want to buy more wine.

If you want to actually taste a variety of wines, I would recommend a different tour or take the ferry yourself to Waiheke and take the bus, a cab, or rent bikes to get to the wineries. All-in-all a big disappointment.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Ellen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Staff was friendly. The zip line was awesome

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend the food and wine tasting. It makes for a great day trip from Auckland. The ferry ride was scenic and fun. The wineries were superb as was the olive oil vineyard we sampled. The lunch and wine at Stoney Ridge was delicious. The view of Auckland from the hilltop at Mud Brick was incredible. We stayed on the island after the tour and had a late afternoon snack at The Oyster Inn enjoying the seaside view from the open veranda on the second floor while sampling some of the island wines. What a way to end the day. We then walked back from the town to the ferry following the island trails through the bush. Wonderful day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this packaged tour to Waiheke Island. It gave me something to do alone while my friends had to work. Favorite part was by far the zip lining with EcoZip's team. Those guys were awesome. Wish I could have zip lined with them all day and night. It's addictive! Our tour guide and bus driver around the island was terrific and hilarious.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

pteach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Beautiful island. The tour guide and hosts at the wineries were very friendly and informative. Food, wine and beer was great.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

lharrison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent. We were well looked after and an experience to remember

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Jeanette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceeded our expectations. Great day out, lovely boat trip across Auckland Harbour, Excellent lunch and wines. Our hosts at each winery were infirmative and entertaining. Comfortable coach and good driver to transport us around.
It would have been good to be informed that we had to go to the ticket office to collect our tickets and make your own way across to the island where you are met.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Karan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing time, beautiful scenery everything about the trip was fab. The zip lining is just wow, well worth going

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

jillmjackson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour, the Island is beautiful, and the wineries were fabulous!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Alex J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! A lot of good information and some nice places to stop. Definitely recommended if you only have half a day or day too see as much of the island as possible :

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

mary d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour...absolutely brilliant! The wineries we visited were excellent, the olive oil tasting was quite enjoyable, and the lunch was good as well. Our tour guide, David, was exceptional. He made the tour so much fun and he was extremely friendly and informative. We could not have had a better person leading our tour. Having the tour end at Mudbrick Winery, with those spectacular views...it just capped off the day and tour beautifully. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message