• USD ($)
  • English
Aucklanders swarm to Waiheke Island in summer to make the most of its stunning beaches, which are some of the safest and cleanest in the world for swimming and water sports like sea kayaking and snorkeling. Some of the best beaches include Palm ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Waiheke Island is a "must see" destination on any tour of Auckland. On this particular tour the guide (bus driver Davenport) was great fun and very informative and the food was great, eaten in the shady bower of an olive grove with views to die for. You just have to do this tour!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Waiheke Island is a "must see" destination on any tour of Auckland. On this particular tour the guide (bus driver Davenport) was great fun and very informative and the food was great, eaten in the shady bower of an olive grove with views to die for. You just have to do this tour!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great for a day out with a difference. The tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

New Zealand is beautiful! This trip was worth it! Lots of activities on the island including the zip line adventure!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The bus driver was very informative and took us to many beautiful sights on Waiheke Island. He was very helpful in showing us where we should get the bus back to the ferry after we were on our own. The ferry trip was also very enjoyable. The driver also suggested a great place for us to have some oysters. It was a great tour.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour provided a good overview of island and what to see and do. Hop on and off pass worked well and bus service was timely. Should have booked an earlier tour time so I had more time to see other areas of the island and visit a few other wineries, most closed by 4 or 5 PM. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a tremendous experience--thanks for suggesting it. I

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good and well supervised; was impressed with the safety precautions and the instructions given by the staff. Exciting and enjoyed it very much,

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was our first full day in Auckland, feeling very lost as we negotiated the busy city with our maps. Fortunately the Ferry Building was large and inside there were plenty of signs pointing to the different ferries. Good thing I asked one of the employees about my Viator booking printout - she sent me back to the Fullers Ferry office to get REAL tickets! Boarding was orderly, disembarking was mob-style with no lines for safety.

The ferry ride was quite comfortable, bumpy only with the waves of passing vessels. On Waiheke we followed the guy with the Waiheke Island Tour sign to his comfortable bus. Before he started he had us introduce ourselves by country of origin then proceeded with a running commentary of the various parts of the island. Sometimes his Australian accent was abit puzzling but we loved his sardonic comments. I wish there were more stopping points for picture-taking but the roads were narrow and hilly. We spent several hours after the tour stopping at mini-towns to shop and have lunch, riding any bus back to the Ferry. A lovely island worth visiting. Interestingly, all the buses plied designated routes, some to/from wineries - meaning there really was no need to ride the special Wine Tasting bus if one did not want to go to all the wineries

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Glenn our tour leader was very personable, chatty and tried to be witty. Our visit to Mudbrick was lead by Tristan who was incredibly knowledgeable on growing the grapes, winemaking and the wines themselves. The views from the winery were spectacular and the wines were very good - the chardonnay was my favorite. Goldies served some wonderful cheeses and good wine. At the last winery Te Whau, the owner explained to us his philosophy of wine growing that is very different from the main stream, he was very passionate. The wines are of the Bordeaux style which are not to my taste, but were good. It was a great way to spend the afternoon on Valentines Day.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour provided a good sampling of the wineries (and wines!) of Waiheke. David was a great guide and very informative about the local wine industry and history. A great day out and good way to compare the fruits of the vine!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This proved to be an excellent way to explore this beautiful island. The driver was very enthusiastic, informative and helpful. The chance to use the free hop on-hop off public bus services should not be missed, as it gives you the flexibility to visit a wider area of the island. The timings of the buses are also geared to meet specific ferries back to Auckland which is extremely useful.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I gave this trip as a birthday present to my sister who went with her friend. They had a wonderful day and told me that the guide was great fun and really informative and the food and wine superb. I suspect that would rate it a five star experience as everything relating to their travel and the day was a very happy, seamless experience!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Like it, but I thought that more info would have been provided

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

OK tour, but a bit rushed. Could cut out the "wild" winery, not really a winery but a tourist trap. Lunch OK and guide interesting. Would recommend taking later ferry back and spending more time at Mudbrick winery.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message