Aucklanders swarm to Waiheke Island in summer to make the most of its stunning beaches, which are some of the safest and cleanest in the world for swimming and water sports like sea kayaking and snorkeling. Some of the best beaches include Palm ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 142 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Waiheke Island is a must to see and is a little piece of paradise in Auckland waters. The bus trip was a good way to see the island as we were short on time and the bus is also large enough and comfortable with great commentary from the driver who has lived on the island for many years. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour. Guide was very entertaining. Thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of all venues and lunch was lovely. Highly recommend this tour. Good value!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Panda was a friendly and interesting guide with an amazing knowledge of the Island. Waiheke Island is a beautiful place and this was a convenient way to get around and learn a bit about it.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Friendly, fun and informative bus driver and vineyard staff. Good selection of vineyards and excellent wine and beers. Great Experience,

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful Island, nice tour with a fantastic kind driver.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is one of the best things I have ever done. We took the ferry to Waiheke Island and this itself was well worth it. As promised Jake was at the terminal waiting for us. We were very lucky there was only four in our group for the day. We had a beautiful scenic drive including a photo stop to ziplines. Jake and Sarah were so competent and safety conscious we all felt very safe and comfortable attempting our first zipline. It is such good fund and very exhilarating. A little tip - very hard to concentrate on taking a video and hanging on at the same time for first timers. They do offer hire of a camera pro that fits on your helmet to film for around A39. We had a good idea of giving our camera to the other couple so they could film us and we have theirs to film them. Unfortunately we didn't think of this until after the third and final zipline. Really, really good day and we go Jake to drop us back in the little town where we found some lovely little bars and restaurants. Cannot rave enough about Jake and Sarah they were excellent guides. After the zipline you get a magnificent walk back to base through the rainforest of about 20 minutes. This alone was well worth going there. Well done Waiheke Island and Zipline!!!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Interesting and magnificiant landscapes, good wines ;) and an very original birthday cake :D

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Zip Lining was amazing. The wine, beer and olive oil tasting was also a fun experience. We bought some NZ olive oil because it was so delicious. Would have liked some more sweeter wine options.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved it! the day was beautiful, the drinks were good, and the scenery was fantastic!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! Our tour guide was amazing! The wine, food, and olive out was great! The lunch that we had was delicious!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Basically it introduces one to the island but it would be even better if a short wine tasting session is included as travelling around on hop on hop off is too time consuming.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed it very much. I did not realise how big Waiheke island is. I went again with my niece and we had a nice long walk on the island and took a longer bus ride on the island.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Although the weather was not great we enjoyed our trip to Waiheke Island. We had pre-booked the tour and had no difficulty finding or getting our tickets at the terminal in Auckland. The boat trip was pleasant, left on time and arrived on time. We were met at the wharf and boarded an old rattler for a one and a half hour tour which took us to all the most interesting places. The driver was a character and gave us a good commentary. There were several photo opportunities and time for coffee and toilet stops. We later had plenty of time to explore the township of Ostend and have a relaxed lunch before catching the ferry back to the mainland.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great tour! The wineries were excellent, everything ran smoothly, and lunch was surprisingly delicious, the only thing was I wish we had more time to browse around the properties- it felt like we were cramming it all in. The ziplining was awesome- we had a tour all to ourselves! I loved the nature walk and this was the first time I felt like I had enough zipline time!

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Id give 5 stars for the island, it is the most wonderful place. The ferry service was clean and well run but the process of submitting the Viator voucher was very difficult with the staff having no idea how to redeem them. The bus tour coach had certainly seen better days and we were very happy to get off half way and get the standard bus back. Fantastic place though and highly recommended to visit, I would just do it as an independent trip next time

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The day was rainy. The driver three times said he was going to stop up the way a bit and then - DIDN'T. That was very disappointing since I missed several picture opportunities! I mentioned that to him more than once and he just changed the subject. I would NOT recommend that you spend the money on this trip. In addition, the city bus driver - Allan - was VERY rude. Don't these people realize that they are a representative of their country? Allan has gone well past the time at which he should quit this job!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Wouldn't recommend it. Didn't see much to make it worth my while. Should have stayed in bed that day! Bus driver who took us back to the ferry - name of Allen - was rude to several people!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

the 1/2 submarine boat did not have air conditioning for 1/2 the time and it was claustrophobic , hot and awful. The man who was to tells us about the fish went up on deck and never came back. It was awful.
The other stuff was ok.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really great tour. All the wineries were fantastic. Our lunch was excellent. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Friendly, safety conscious staff. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The ziplining was amazing! It was so much fun, but we were very impressed by how safety-conscious all the staff here - and they were also so friendly and helpful. The winery tours were great - we loved sampling wines outside in the vineyards, and lunch under the trees was wonderful! All in all, a great day, and one that we would definitely recommend!

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour for 3 wineries and a bonus olive oil factory. It was classy to be served wine as we stepped out of the coach, and it was even classier to be taken on a tour through the vineyard, rather than just being plonked down to swill wine. Very personable staff at the wineries, and some good vintages.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour with knowledgeable guide and winery stops were excellent.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message