Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Waitemata Harbour

Waitmata Harbor, often referred to as Auckland Harbor, is one of two beautiful harbors surrounding Auckland. Its name refers to 'obsidian glass' in Maori language and its spectacular waters are said to sparkle like the dark volcanic glass that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 219 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had the best day / evening with theses guys. Fantastic sailing, lots of laughs, the crew were terrific. Recommend it 10/10

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a fantastic sail - the staff were great and made us feel very safe, but at the same time my sailboat-loving husband had a thrilling ride with great speed and views of the harbor. And anyone who wanted got a turn at the helm!

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Katharina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My husband and I had the greatest time. The weather was perfect. The crew were very enthusiastic and attentive, and made sure we all participated in the cruise. We were lucky enough to have only a few people on board so got to experience actually sailing the boat! Would do it again for sure! Quote from my husband friggin awesome experience...loved it.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

dod

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The wine trip tonwahieke island was the highlight

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Louise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to spend our first afternoon in NZ. Weather was perfect which helped!! Our crew Ali and Alex were friendly and shared interesting info about the harbour and surrounding areas. Everyone had the opportunity of hoisting sails and driving the boat, Very highly recommended.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Coffee Cruise

Inder S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

extremely good

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great trip. We had great views of the Auckland shore, skyline.and surrounding islands from out on the water. The staff crew were professional, friendly, and fun. They encouraged passengers to be part of the team no experience necessary. Interested passengers were allowed to take one of the two wheels. Above all, it was a real thrill to be on the open water in a racing boat at full sail including a massive jinnaker. A memorable day. Don't miss the exhibit on America's Cup Racing at the adjacent Auckland Maritime Museum- admission included as of this writing.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the America's Cup Sailing experience. We have this type of ocean racing sailing in our family with our son and have a good background about what it is and what to expect. We felt that due to the good crew and their eagerness to perform combined with a good day with adequate winds they did provide us with a full range of the thrill of ocean racing including sailing down wind under the amazing spinnaker. It was a happy time for us as it seemed to most of those fortunate to be on this cruise. They provided great and a wide variety of harbor views with commentary including going under the harbor bridge with our mast almost hitting the structure. Well done and highly recommended!

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

richardgravells

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Standard city tour, very informative, good information passed across.

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Teresa C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The dinner harbour cruise is a lovely way to see the sunset over this beautiful city. Dinner is serviced by the crew and is provided by a local restaurant on the wharf. Dinner is decent. But be sure to bring cash if you'd like beer or wine with your meal.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Louise M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Wonderful night out sailing for the first time. Small group which was lovely. Food was good. the crew was friendly and knowledgeable. defo worth doing when you visit Auckland or to celebrate something special.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

DR AJ W

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The sailing and the cruising bits are worth it, and the views spectacular, but the food is a let-down. If only the menus were not as over-the-top in their description of what would be on offer, one's expectations would have aligned better with the pretty ordinary food that was actually served. They're doing themselves a disservice by promising too much in that respect. And much clearer and more specific directions are needed on where the meeting point is the Viaduct Harbour is pretty big, and no-one we asked at establishments - some as close to 50 metres from the kiosk knew where either that, or the Snapdragon Bar was.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Graham S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We found our driver very informative, he took the time to explain the history of Auckland in detail and answer any questions we had about the town and New Zealand in general.

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

derek v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

poor food, cold, undercooked and very average .dinner was not served in a bay it was in a marina!!
actual time trying to sail was very poor and only just met the sailing criteria
overall experience VERY UNDERWELMED
Only gave 1 star as 0 stars was not an option

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Brett M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

macottone

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The weather was cold, the food just okay. The city at night was beautiful.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Tony N

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent. Friendly and knowledgeable driver guide. A good tour of the outlying parts of the city I'd probably not have seen under my own steam

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Paula G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Boat and crew first rate. Unfortunately not so with the wind on our tour day. They have added a motor to the boat so we did get a tour of the harbor under power. The company provides a return voucher when low wind conditions exist. Would have been a great ride but in the end Mother Nature does as she damn well pleases.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

David E

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

the tour guide and tour were great, but the bus did not have a functional air conditioner. it was very uncomfortable while in the bus.

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Carol

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Tour was ok, but a very limited time to explore! Museum and cultural show is good!

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Deborah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great scenery, informative crew. Great dinner!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Jade K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Amazing as never been on a yacht beforw staff friendly and food delish!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

jdgizmo

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

wish they had picked us up but it was nice and relaxing- going out further than the bridge area would have been fun- no wind so kind of hard to sail!!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message