Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Waitemata Harbour

Waitmata Harbor, often referred to as Auckland Harbor, is one of two beautiful harbors surrounding Auckland. Its name refers to 'obsidian glass' in Maori language and its spectacular waters are said to sparkle like the dark volcanic glass that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 235 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Siew W C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

An enjoyable cruise of Auckland Harbour in the evening. Good photo/video opportunities of the city skyline and harbour. Food/drink were OK. Crew were friendly and provided good commentary.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

they did not go because it was too Windy. For crying our loud it is an America's Cup Sailboat that works with the wind. It cannot be too windy for this boat.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

george

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Nice cruise but too crowded. Great view of the city at night.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

great trip out on the harbour !!!

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed seeing highlights of auckland with informative guide and bus driver.

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly enjoyable cruise around Harbor dinner was delicious

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Judy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic! Great sailing - we all actually helped on deck and got to take a turn at the wheel. If you like sailing, you will not be disappointed. You will be on a HIGH just thinking back on the experience.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

anil k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

outstanding experience great staff no hustling for tips

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

wayt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If you want to give your shoulders and rump a good workout, volunteer to be a grinder work the sail winches. The match racing is a lot of funcaptain was great, scenery was amazing, and it's a thrill to race fast and hard, especially when you win!

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Kyle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The opportunity to participate as crew member and learn some basics of sailing was rewarding. The crew was knowledge, entertaining and courtesy. Highly recommended!

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Lesley v

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

A great experience even though the weather was overcast and rainy. The food was nothing fantastic but did not detract from the cruise.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Don E

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Missed the wind by a day, but enjoyed the time on the water and seeing the city from a different vantage point. The company did give us vouchers for a return trip that don't expire, a nice touch.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

VICKY A R

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The crew was great and unlike other dinner cruises we have experienced, this one involved a little high speed sailing after dinner. The dinner was marginal, at best

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

john w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Lovely evening on the water. Friendly fun crew and the food was excellent. Everyone had an opportunity of taking the wheel. Would highly recommend the experience to all.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

2016 NZ Dan and ...  United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great 2 and one half hour tour of Auckland harbor aboard smaller sailing ship. Crew of three was very attentive and served an enjoyable meal.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Diana R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Tour was very good but the tour company needs to take into consideration where we were located and that we were not familiar with the area and choose a closer meeting point.

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had the best day / evening with theses guys. Fantastic sailing, lots of laughs, the crew were terrific. Recommend it 10/10

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Dinner Cruise

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a fantastic sail - the staff were great and made us feel very safe, but at the same time my sailboat-loving husband had a thrilling ride with great speed and views of the harbor. And anyone who wanted got a turn at the helm!

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Katharina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My husband and I had the greatest time. The weather was perfect. The crew were very enthusiastic and attentive, and made sure we all participated in the cruise. We were lucky enough to have only a few people on board so got to experience actually sailing the boat! Would do it again for sure! Quote from my husband friggin awesome experience...loved it.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

dod

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The wine trip tonwahieke island was the highlight

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Louise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to spend our first afternoon in NZ. Weather was perfect which helped!! Our crew Ali and Alex were friendly and shared interesting info about the harbour and surrounding areas. Everyone had the opportunity of hoisting sails and driving the boat, Very highly recommended.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Coffee Cruise

Inder S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

extremely good

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great trip. We had great views of the Auckland shore, skyline.and surrounding islands from out on the water. The staff crew were professional, friendly, and fun. They encouraged passengers to be part of the team no experience necessary. Interested passengers were allowed to take one of the two wheels. Above all, it was a real thrill to be on the open water in a racing boat at full sail including a massive jinnaker. A memorable day. Don't miss the exhibit on America's Cup Racing at the adjacent Auckland Maritime Museum- admission included as of this writing.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the America's Cup Sailing experience. We have this type of ocean racing sailing in our family with our son and have a good background about what it is and what to expect. We felt that due to the good crew and their eagerness to perform combined with a good day with adequate winds they did provide us with a full range of the thrill of ocean racing including sailing down wind under the amazing spinnaker. It was a happy time for us as it seemed to most of those fortunate to be on this cruise. They provided great and a wide variety of harbor views with commentary including going under the harbor bridge with our mast almost hitting the structure. Well done and highly recommended!

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

richardgravells

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Standard city tour, very informative, good information passed across.

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message