• USD ($)
  • English
The Waitomo Caves offer an exciting underworld experience in New Zealand. There are a variety of activities to partake in and the fascinating cave system with its geological wonders and fantastic creatures to explore. Climb through the long ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Waitomo Caves were awesome! Amazing really. A must do.
Hobbiton was also nice. Beautiful country. The bus ride alone was interesting.
They should have coordinated travel from Hobbiton back to Auckland better. Waited outside without shelter for the bus in cold weather for 40 minutes.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An absolutely wonderful day. Waitomo Caves were beautiful. But, truthfully, the Hobbiton Movie Set was the highlight of the day. The site is spectacular and much better than expected. The guides were great! Well worth spending the day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The caves glow worm and their threads made for a sticky, fun time. I also enjoyed seeing the hot springs and dancers. My only complaint was I would have liked a half an hr more at the native area to enjoy the exhibits and shops. Our native guide was fabulous.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The glow worm caves were absolutely magical and Hobbiton has become one of my funnest travel experiences! I'm a big fan of the movies, must see for any other fans out there!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very good tour of two must-see attractions. The Glowworm caves were amazing and a unique experience (note that pictures cannot be taken in the caves because of people using flash). Hobbiton was also great and worth a visit whether you have seen the movies or not.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a fantastic tour, action packed and really interesting. Everything went smoothly - all the pickups and transfers - and the guides were great. The duck tour was exceptional and the glowworms at Waitomo put on quite a show!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Simply amazing! Waitomo Caves are surreal, mostly due to the Glowworms. It's a must see!

Hobbiton is also nice, and since I am a fan of the movies, I enjoyed my self in the set. The charm of the place though will make it fun for everyone, including people who didn't see the movies.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

ABSOLUTELY A MUST SEE !!!!!
Waitomo Caves was stunning ! Fabulous tour through the cave with excellent tour guide ! Extremely educational for all ages ...

"Hobbiton" an experience you will never forget !!! See the movie set in its natural setting in the mountains.... quaint and well groomed landscaped! Fantastic for taking a million fotos !!!! Ending with a visit to a lodge for free beverage and food is fantastic if so desired. I bought snack that was delicious. Highly recommend this trip !!!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was amazing. All suited up with wetsuits, the water was cold. Fantastic staff, great jumping from waterfalls, floating in the dark looking up at the glow worms. Recommend it highly.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I loved the tour:)
Waitomo Glowworm is the place you cant miss if you have an opportunity to go to Aucland/Rotorua.
I highly recommend this tour all tourists

Doing what: Rotorua to Auckland via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was an awesome day! Hobbiton was great and the glow worm cave was amazing. I definitely recommend this tour. The only downside was there was a lot of bus changing and it was not always immediately clear where you needed to be. Despite that, both bus drivers were amusing and incredibly informative about New Zealand and LOTR trivia.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

a long drive. however the coach is very comfy so no problem at all. the driver is very good, non-stop commentary except on return journey when most people have gone to sleep.
the waitomo caves is spectacular, been to the glow worm cave in australlia good coast. the waitomo caves have a lot more glow worms, and the boat ride is awesome.
The farm is ok but is more of a show piece, not the authentic farm we expect. but ok, another experience.
the maori village is fun too. the hot spring jet is ok too.
the whole trip is very nicely organised.
The Rotorua area is worth for a longer stay with the hotels with spas, the cable car and luge ride down. next time will spend more time in that area.
will recommend for those who do not drive around NZ

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We very much enjoyed this trip and would recommend it to others who want to see the glow worm caves and visit the shire and need to be able to do so in a one day trip from Auckland. Yes, we spent a lot of time on a bus. But that is what we expected, and our bus driver/tour guide did a great job keeping us informed about what we were seeing and about what the plans for each stop. If people have the time, there are many other things to see and do in the Rotorua area and perhaps an overnight tour might work better for them. We only had one day available following the completion of a cruise from Sydney to Auckland, and this tour worked perfectly for us!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was an excellent tour. The day was very long, but we covered a lot of ground all of the stops were well done.
In particular, the Glow Worm caves were exceptional. At one point there were about 20 tourists in a boat in the dark cave and all of us were completely spellbound looking at the glow worms which resembled a night sky which was fully of constellations of stars.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Loved this tour. Glowworm caves not to be missed. Driver was a wealth of information

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message