Auckland is New Zealand's largest city, set between two harbors of staggering beauty. Whether your passion is America's Cup sailing or relaxed harbor cruises, exploring the wilderness or shopping, dining and culture, Auckland offers an amazing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

they did not go because it was too Windy. For crying our loud it is an America's Cup Sailboat that works with the wind. It cannot be too windy for this boat.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Carol S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour and our guide was very knowledgeable and funny too.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

exactly as advertised. and a little off the beaten path.

Doing what: Rangitoto Island Tour from Auckland

Ellen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Staff was friendly. The zip line was awesome

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way of seeing Auckland. Buses on time, commentary excellent.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sheyuk D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is really a good tour to go on, driver is professional and entertaining and well organized.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Sharron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

AMAZING, great to do in a small group with engaged guide and being early on set. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

lharrison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent. We were well looked after and an experience to remember

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Harry Saputra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

my tour leader Alex is really good. He is very enthusiastic and knowledgeable.
Hobbiton is a wonderful place, I will come back someday.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Roderick V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to Hobbiton is informative and entertaining. Our driver, Damian, is quite knowledgeable about the history of New Zealand and about the local area. We enjoyed visiting Hobbiton in costumes as the Lord of the Rings characters and really immersed ourselves in the experience. The food at the Green Dragon Inn is great and quite hearty. I recommend the tour for everyone and Tolkien fans would really love it.
The Waitomo cave is quite an experience too. My son sang the theme song for the Hobbit inside the cave 'cathedral' and the sound was mesmerizing. In the boat ride, you can see thousands of glow worms like blue christmas LED lights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Karan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing time, beautiful scenery everything about the trip was fab. The zip lining is just wow, well worth going

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

jennie k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent weather for the trip to Hobbiton and caves! Hobbiton was even better in person than online pics! Food was great. Highly recommend both dispite the driver could not drop us off at the hotel due to traffic. If you are not a Hobbit fan, you will be after this tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Dria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hobbiton was amazing. It was so beautiful and a once in a lifetime experience walking through the sets. The lunch provided was very filling. We had a super friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

As first time bungee jumpers this was a great first outing. The staff was great and reassuring and made us feel secure the entire time. Would definitely do again.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Bridge Bungy Jump

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must for any Lord of the Rings fan. Even in not so great weather we had a spectacular day. Waitomo Caves was surreal.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

kaye n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour bus drivers were excellent, thoroughly enjoyed the scenery and the places of interest pointed out. Very well done!!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had perfect weather but the bus ride was long. Total time in bus about 7 hrs.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Alex J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! A lot of good information and some nice places to stop. Definitely recommended if you only have half a day or day too see as much of the island as possible :

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Rellim001 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful day out. The tour driver was knowledgeable. Plenty of time, and quite easy, to visit some wineries using your all day bus pass.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This would be a must do sort of trip if you are in Auckland. Our Tour Guide Damien was one of a kind. The tour itself was awesome made awesomer by our guide Damien. Hobbiton is a couple hours drive from Auckland. During the drive Damien went over the history of NZ, its settlers, its relation with natives, the local flora and fauna, the impact of settlers on NZ, its flora, fauna and most importantly what it is to be a Kiwi. We learnt a lot about NZ in this trip. The Hobitton @ MataMata was a sight for the eyes. It was an experience not to be forgotten especially for Fans of Lord of Rings. Really Awesome and spectacular. Our Guide Beth @ Hobitton was also amazing and gave lots of interesting facts about the movie and sets. Totally worth it

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour for nature lovers and as such I would call this an eco tour Our group turned out to be small just me and my wife. Our guide Tony was phenomenal, and very knowledgable. He knew the local flora and fauna in and out. The whole Coromandel Peninsula was stunning. Its one of the most beautiful places in the world. Our trip included an visit to rain forest where we hiked to a few 2000 yr old native Kauri trees. Along the way Tony kept us entertained by talking about a variety of subjects like nature, history, people of NZ etc. Lunch was @ a beautiful restaurant near hot water beach. Lunch was delicious and fresh. Hot water beach is unique in the fact that it has hot water spring on the beach. Its unique and has to be experienced. Overall this trip is highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good way to see the city and experience what Auckland has to offer

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

d4fwilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

For the price this tour is exceptional value. We used our free ferry ticket to go to Devonport for a segway tour and the harbour cruise was a nice way to spend the afternoon. The waterways are magnificent, Auckland has huge expanses of harbour, the water is so clean, the surroundings very pretty. Well worthwhile.

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Sightseeing Cruise with Round-Trip Devonport Ferry Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message