Auckland is New Zealand's largest city, set between two harbors of staggering beauty. Whether your passion is America's Cup sailing or relaxed harbor cruises, exploring the wilderness or shopping, dining and culture, Auckland offers an amazing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 580 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We loved every moment of this trip, but were disappointed that we couldn't stay longer at the Green Dragon, [which was the highlight], or have breakfast [we believe there is a breakfast trip] or lunch there. While the food at the café was very nicely prepared, it was very high in carbohydrates and not really suitable for our diets; nor were we given any choice in what was ordered. Also the café lacked the atmosphere of the Green Dragon. We would have liked to have stayed longer looking round the Hobbit holes and taking pics. Re the publicity about the tour, we felt that we were not given enough information about other options that might have been available to us prior to booking. We feel that it might have been better had the Hobbit guide given us all a single talk at the beginning of the Hobbiton exploration, and then left us to wander at will, with a time constraint, of course, because we were aware that other groups were coming up behind us. This would also have allowed those who wanted to spend more time in the Green Dragon to do so. Wayne, our driver, was absolutely wonderful and great fun to listen to.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great and economic way to see the city.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The caves and Hobbiton tour were amazing. The tour guide was funny and informative.
Downsides: 1/ Picnic lunch was really a box lunch on the bus, not great and not what I expected. 2/ At the end of the evening we had to wait 30 minutes in the cold with no shelter for a bus to collect us.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Excluding the weather conditions, the areas covered in the tour were really good however the main issue here was the driver/tourist guide himself. Whilst he was very knowledgeable he obviously was suffering from a head cold which meant he kept sniffling into the microphone. Unfortunately the condition of his attire and overall looks weren't great. He kept using "cockney slang" throughout the tour which would have been an issue for those passengers from Mexico and Miami. In fact we didn't think it was necessary to keep using this slang throughout the entire tour. Being a visitor to Auckland, the last thing we expected was hearing this style of commentary. In his defence, maybe he had been called in late to take the tour around. Once again leaving the weather out of it, the areas covered in the tour were really good. Thanks

Doing what: Auckland City Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour! We got picked up from our hotel and transferred to a big bus. The driver who also doubled as a guide around Auckland was great and responsible. He briefed us before and after each stop and divided us into groups that were doing separate tours.

The Hobbiton tour and glow worm caves were fantastic, took loads of pictures! Great for our family of 4 with varying interests.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and good service

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

amazing!! The tour guides were amazing and the experience was fantastic! We have been talking about it none stop since we've returned! Defiantly going back again! Loved every minute of it!!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really very good, he explained us everything!!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The scariest and craziest thing I have ever done! I loved every minute of it. These guys are so great, I didn't think I could, but I did it!. Cannot wait to do it again!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Bridge Bungy Jump

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

All the bus drivers are very friendly and they gave us a lot of useful information.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent day in Taupo starting with a 2 hour cruise over the lake. This could have been organised a bit better but overall a beautiful cruise. Followed by a helicopter ride over the lake and down to Huka Falls - AMAZING! They did an awesome job with the jet boating, would highly recommend them in the furture!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great way to see the city waterside, especially when blessed with the wonderful weather we had on the day

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Sightseeing Cruise with Round-Trip Devonport Ferry Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great for a day out with a difference. The tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message