Auckland is New Zealand's largest city, set between two harbors of staggering beauty. Whether your passion is America's Cup sailing or relaxed harbor cruises, exploring the wilderness or shopping, dining and culture, Auckland offers an amazing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 630 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great way to get an overview of Auckland. Very impressed with the friendly and courteous drivers. We loved the city . People were really happy to give you directions and were proud of their city. Looking forward to coming back for a longer visit! Bob and Peggy Lang. Canada.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everything about this trip was incredible. The guide was knowledgeable and interesting. It exceeding our expectations. I would recommend this trip for anyone who loves nature and wants to see the west coast near Auckland.

Doing what: Coast and Rainforest Walk Eco-Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Both the caves and the movie set were awesome - wouldn't have been the same without the great commentary by very friendly guide/driver Damien. Also, when the bus broke down on the way back he handled it like a pro. Kudos!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The process of booking and then actually going on the your was really easy, the tour guides were really friendly and informative and provided for an amazing day!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It's a great tour, but only if you are a true
Tolkien fan and believer of Middle Earth. Then you come away appreciating not only Tolkien's masterpiece but also Peter Jackson's vision and pride in New Zealand. Otherwise, you'll view it as just another movie set. I also appreciated the driver's running commentary on Auckland history and important sites as we drove along the lovely countryside.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour to Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton. The bus driver was very informative. We had been in New Zealand for 10 days and learned a lot about the country from listening to his monologue. Good lunch at the Waitomo Caves.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

All-in-all, the Hop-On/Hop-Off Bus Tour throughout Auckland managed to hit all the high points of this lovely city. In particular, the several stops made during the journey were well worthwhile in particular the city's Cathedral. And there were no long waits for the next bus to arrive. The "canned" commentary was well scripted and pertinent. Would definitely recommend this tour for anyone visiting Auckland and would even consider doing it over again if/when visiting again....

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome tour with our tour guide Daniel ☺️

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic day. I booked this in advance, directly with via Viator, leaving from Auckland on the 5th November. We traveled from the UK to go on a Holland America cruise, which also did these trips, but we saved over $364 by doing this on our own, compared to the ship prices for both of these events. We were well looked after by our bus driver John, who was both entertaining and knowledgeable during our drive. The Waitomo Caves were absolutely stunning, where we got a lovely lunch, then on to Hobbiton. Our guide there, Kess, was full of snippets, but the atmosphere far exceeded my expectations. All of this ended with drinks in the Green Dragon. What an experience and great beer. It was a long day, with a lot of driving involved, but one that I will not forget. Well done Viator for everything. Hotel pickup, snacks on the bus, lunch and an entertaining driver. First class! Both of these places are worth the time taken to visit them.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Perfect! Our guides were great, timing was perfect and it could not have been better. The small group size was good too since it allowed us to move around pretty freely on the set without tripping over each other. Can't wait till I'm in New Zealand again to do another tour with you!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were lucky that it was a bright sunny day, excellent for pictures. We were served a hot lunch, which I appreciated. I was picked up from my hotel and the driver was very helpful.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed the scenic journey from Auckland to Rotorua.The commentary was informative and entertaining.Waitomo Cave was interesting, Hobbiton was surreal!Big thanks to Randall!When I dropped off at Rotorua isite, I forgotten my luggage, he drove back to pass it to me!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Only had a day in Auckland and this was the best way to see the most of the city. It rained so we spent most of the day at the Auckland Museum but I liked riding the bus around both the circuits and hearing the commentary of the other stops. The only problem we had is the bus runs earlier then the scheduled time so when we came out of the museum the bus had left so we had to wait an hour for the next one. It came about 10 minutes early. Overall very good.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Both tours was a magical experience.
But the meals provided needed a little bit more improvement.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

No guide at the Auckland Port.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message