Auckland is New Zealand's largest city, set between two harbors of staggering beauty. Whether your passion is America's Cup sailing or relaxed harbor cruises, exploring the wilderness or shopping, dining and culture, Auckland offers an amazing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Merlyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was raining on the day we went, not a hard rain but an annoying drizzling rain, but we zip lined any way. It was fantastic! There are two lines running in tandem so you can race each other. We rented a gro pro and it was a good investment because then we could actually see the scenery we zoomed across. The last line is particularly fast....and steep...thrilling! After the zip line, we do a bush walk, up and down the mountain to get back to base. It was a bit challenging because of the mud, but under the canapy the forest was magical. Definitely wear good trekking shoes.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

suanneborjo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great day, guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

Trossi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fabulous and really well organised! I was travelling alone but still had a great time and met some great people. Our tour operator was very knowledgeable and the day flowed well. Best part was Hobbiton and the lunch at The Green Dragon Inn, which was amazing, and the lunch was well catered and delicious. Overall I would highly recommend this day tour to all travellers!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Amber B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing! I loved the three zip lines. So much fun! And tour guides picked us up from the shops instead of the ferry station, which made it very convenient for us to see other parts of the island, too.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

marla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The attention to detail was incredible. The lunch was top notch. We enjoyed the experience.
The Waitomo caves were amazing.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Don D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The bus was on time despite the Auckland rush hour traffic - a good start. The tour was brilliant, the young lady guide was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and brought the place to life. The after tour ale and dinner were most welcome and enjoyable. A thoroughly good day out.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Cathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

great tour bus. it was the best of all the hop on hop off bus tours we were on. very good information on all the sites in multiple languages. buses ran often so that you could get off and on without any concern about thinking that you might not get another bus or would have to wait long.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robert T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

very good organizing skills

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Cristelle Z

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Buses were convenient. Drivers were helpful. The Auckland aquarium was fantastic.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Brittany D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour was a lot of fun! They picked us up at the ferry making it very easy to get to the sight. We then got started quickly with the ziplines which were great. My only complaint is there are only 3 so it's a pretty short ziplining trip. The walk back was beautiful.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Wanatat C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great service but it and #39;s too rush tour. But it and #39;s good to have a free round trip ticket to Devoport ☺

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Sightseeing Cruise with Round-Trip Devonport Ferry Ticket

Leanne D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Waiheke island was really beautiful... Great views from the zipline. The tour guides were so friendly and helpful. I am scared of hieghts but I wasnt scared once up there.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Wallace B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was fine and hit all the highpoints. We spent so much time at the National Museum that we did not really get much use of our fare. It turned out to be cheaper by a bout .50 to just buy the ticket on the bus and not pay in advance through Viator.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Wallace B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was fine and hit all the highpoints. We spent so much time at the National Museum that we did not really get much use of our fare. It turned out to be cheaper by a bout .50 to just buy the ticket on the bus and not pay in advance through Viator.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

David C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

locations were great just needed the bus to be available a little longer in the day 3.30pm last bus on the blue route was a little short 6pm finish would have been better

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

RICHARD A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This rating is strictly for the packaging of this tour. You're essentially paying for three components: 1 a tour of the Hobbiton movie sets, conducted by an employee of the park, 2 a tour of the Waitomo glow-worm caves, also conducted by one of the site's employees, and 3 the bus transport 3.5 hours each way required to get you to these two attractions and back to Auckland. For us the Hobbiton visit was easily FIVE stars: a good guide, lots of interesting detail about the movie sets, and glorious New Zealand scenery! The Waitomo visit was also fine -- three or four stars, depending on your interest in the subject. We had a good guide great-granddaugher of one of the Maori explorers of the cave, and the five minutes or so in the boat in the actual glow-worm cavern was unforgettable. But the bus transport, as organized by Great Sights, was AWFUL. The luxury coach they advertise had roof panels that rattled like hail on a tin roof, both the seat belts in our row were broken, and the driver / guide talked non-stop about the most tedious, political, irrelevant things ... twenty minutes on the detailed life of Pharlap the race horse, offensive jokes about marriage, his personal political commentary on fluoride in the water and NZ taxes, and on and on and on and on.... The feeder van that picked us up at the hotel had a surly and uncommunicative driver who said not one word about what we were doing. When we arrived at the Sky Terminal, we found the departure time was NOT what was printed on our voucher or confirmed by Great Sights rep over the telephone and a Great Sights person sent us at first to the wrong bus. Just terrible organization and management overall. Our recommendation: absolutely go see Hobbiton, see Waitomo if it interests you -- but DO NOT use Viator/Great Sights for the trip! Find someone else to take you there.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

James W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Been on a few Ducks Singapore, Ketchikan, Seattle and they ALL had lively Drivers and Narrators with music playing and really got everyone involved. Unfortunately the Auckland Duck lacked the WOW factor and was a little lame. The route was OK, it was the experience that was flat. Sorry

Doing what: Auckland Duck Tour

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

they did not go because it was too Windy. For crying our loud it is an America's Cup Sailboat that works with the wind. It cannot be too windy for this boat.

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour

Carol S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour and our guide was very knowledgeable and funny too.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

exactly as advertised. and a little off the beaten path.

Doing what: Rangitoto Island Tour from Auckland

Ellen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Staff was friendly. The zip line was awesome

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way of seeing Auckland. Buses on time, commentary excellent.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sheyuk D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is really a good tour to go on, driver is professional and entertaining and well organized.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Sharron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

AMAZING, great to do in a small group with engaged guide and being early on set. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message