Auckland is New Zealand's largest city, set between two harbors of staggering beauty. Whether your passion is America's Cup sailing or relaxed harbor cruises, exploring the wilderness or shopping, dining and culture, Auckland offers an amazing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 830 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was really good! We were happy being able to go around Auckland and seeing the main sights at our leisure. The 2 routes gave us more options and the drivers were so polite and friendly!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It's a nice island, nice tour with a fantastic and knowledgeable driver.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Auckland hop on hop off was awesome, I got off the cruise ship and just around the corner was able to hop on the bus, it takes you to all places that matter and the bus drivers we had were very knowledgeable about Auckland which really help all up I would highly recommend this tour great.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was David, he was WONDERFUL! He treated us like we were his family that he was taking on a tour! He wasn't pushy, he allowed us a chance to souvenir shop, he was lovely!! As we drove along he told us all he knew about the towns and cities we went through. He gave excellent suggestions of other things to do. Gave us the option to be dropped off at a different location than our hotel, since it was in the same area. HE was the one who made that tour super enjoyable. Would do any other tour as long as he was the guide!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Waiheke Island is a must to see and is a little piece of paradise in Auckland waters. The bus trip was a good way to see the island as we were short on time and the bus is also large enough and comfortable with great commentary from the driver who has lived on the island for many years. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Love the small group. Guide was excellent. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Panda was a friendly and interesting guide with an amazing knowledge of the Island. Waiheke Island is a beautiful place and this was a convenient way to get around and learn a bit about it.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

comfy coach, helpful guides, and a great little lunch box

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Waimato caves were simply amazing! To see the glow worms inside the dark caves felt like looking at the universe with million stars. It was truly incredible! The next leg of the tour was Hobbiton movie set in the McDonald farm, which is privately owned. Our guide Paul was a wealth of knowledge. The Hobbiton is preserved beautifully and is very picturesque. The only downside was the way the tour is designed. We had to travel to a farmshow expo place and then had to piggyback to Hobbiton,making a long day longer.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful Island, nice tour with a fantastic kind driver.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. We had Damion as our tour guide and he was friendly and very informative about the different places we visited.

Doing what: Auckland City Highlights Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative and flexible with the hop on and hop off feature...should be in the list of things to do in Auckland

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing experience, would definitely recommend to anyone.
We did the rafting at the end of May, and even though it was cold we were fine. We had wet suits and thermals and I didn't jump into the water so I was dry. Plus the exercise itself keeps you warm. They also provided us with hot chocolate midway through the trip - so lovely to drift along the river and sip hot chocolate. We were also taken to a hot pool afterwards and were provided with soup when we returned to base. So don't get put off by cold weather - the river itself apparently doesn't vary much in temperature throughout the year! Great for beginners and kids, and even my partner whose done rafting before had a great time!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is one of the best things I have ever done. We took the ferry to Waiheke Island and this itself was well worth it. As promised Jake was at the terminal waiting for us. We were very lucky there was only four in our group for the day. We had a beautiful scenic drive including a photo stop to ziplines. Jake and Sarah were so competent and safety conscious we all felt very safe and comfortable attempting our first zipline. It is such good fund and very exhilarating. A little tip - very hard to concentrate on taking a video and hanging on at the same time for first timers. They do offer hire of a camera pro that fits on your helmet to film for around A39. We had a good idea of giving our camera to the other couple so they could film us and we have theirs to film them. Unfortunately we didn't think of this until after the third and final zipline. Really, really good day and we go Jake to drop us back in the little town where we found some lovely little bars and restaurants. Cannot rave enough about Jake and Sarah they were excellent guides. After the zipline you get a magnificent walk back to base through the rainforest of about 20 minutes. This alone was well worth going there. Well done Waiheke Island and Zipline!!!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Magnificent day out. I was not over excited before doing this tour, but I was so wrong. This is such an enjoyable tour. Hobbiton is a magical place and you would never tire of viewing all these little places, complete with wheelbarrows, gardens, clothes lines with tiny clothes on and many more things to make this place come alive. Nice touch was the ale in the Green Dragon Inn and the lunch was delicious. On the way home we stopped for an ice cream and for A2 you got the biggest, tastiest ice cream we have ever had. About fifty flavours to choose from. All in all a really wonderful tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The waitomo caves and Hobbiton are definitely unique places to see while in New Zealand. The trip was well-organized, communication from the touring company was excellent, and timetables were met. It was a fun trip for us on our first trip to New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour around 600 km of panoramic views of New Zealand North Island countryside on your way to both the Waitomo caves and the Hobbiton Movie Set. WELL worth the trip!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. This was a full day.The only negative was waiting for our bus back to Auckland in the cold.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour! Every part about this day trip was great.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an awesome day! Alexander our driver and guide was lovely, he was very chatty and gave us lots of information about New Zealand on our journey to Hobbiton. He kept us well entertained. We had a young lady called Meredith who took us on the tour of Hobbiton and again she was lovely, very friendly and informative. We loved Hobbiton and felt that it had been set up really well. I give this tour a big thumbs up and would recommend it to anyone! Thanks guys for a very memorable day

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even though it rained, it was a wonderful tour. Loved Hobbiton and the caves are amazing even though the guide in the cave was not very good.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Auckland Harbor Bridge Bungy Jump was fantastic! My 17 year old son did the jump and loved it and the rest of us were able to go up to the pod as spectators so we didn't miss out. Spectator price is $20 but coupons available in many discount books. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Auckland Harbour Bridge Bungy Jump

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message