Auckland is New Zealand's largest city, set between two harbors of staggering beauty. Whether your passion is America's Cup sailing or relaxed harbor cruises, exploring the wilderness or shopping, dining and culture, Auckland offers an amazing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 863 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a must see place if you are in NZ...tour guides were very informative as well.
Well done to Zack, the tour guide from Hobbiton and the Driver too..

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were only a small group, with an awesome driver who made the trip very interesting with his great knowledge and willingness to share his stories and experiences with us. The coffee stop was nice and the tour itself was just what we wanted. There were only one or two other groups and we had a wonderful time. We were first to be welcomed in the tent for lunch and had a ball. The food was out of this world and we enjoyed every moment. On the way back, the driver was quit, to allow those who wanted to sleep their time off, but he took a different route so we could see more of the country and also stopped for us to buy ice cream. This was an experience that we will not forget and if possible, will try to repeat.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Spectacular , worth every penny. I could live there.Must see .

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely marvellous.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I've been to caves and caverns in at least 4 different countries. I've caught fireflies in the rainforest. I have never been so entranced by these experiences as I was yesterday. This is, as our obviously dedicated guide said, one of the wonders of the world. I feel very fortunate to have been able experience this fragile magic! The tour was well-organized and everything went smoothly. The trip to Hobbitton was delightful, and the countryside was the epitome of serenity. And the ginger beer at the Green Dragon was the best I've ever tasted. Again, the guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So cool to see all of the hobbit holes. The Alexander farm is breathtaking and the tour guide was absolutely incredible!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Even though this was a 12 hour excursion it was great way to see New Zealand. The Caves were absolutely amazing and the tour guides really knew their tours.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great way to see the city in a short amount of time. It's also way more efficient and cost effective than cabs or other forms of public transit when you don't know where you're going and don't have time to get lost.

Doing what: Best Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Your tour guides/bus drivers were all great! Thank you!!!

Doing what: Best Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kayjay
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Interesting road trip from Auckland, guide Kevin Oats was very knowledgeable and made the long ride interesting. Short stops for each direction for a toilet break and coffee. Its an early start and back by 4pm onto Auckland. Visit to the film site was enjoyable and a beer before a light lunch. Enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour with a tasty lunch. It was lovely to see the scenery and hobbit holes. Fantastic experience if you're a fan of the books/films and even if you're not. On the way back our driver stopped for ice cream which was a nice treat.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour guide in Waitomo cave was really good and funny so I rally enjoyed his guide. The tour was good and price was the cheapest in that I was searching for this kind of tour so i was satisfied and I would recommend this company to my friends.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Easy to use, lots to see and do. Only down side of using it in the winter is the short operating times. But smaller crowds!

Doing what: Best Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour was ok. Guide as fun and had a lot of good background info about island and also trivia. Sites were ok.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

small group and first tour of the day was worth it.
however I was a bit disappointed that none of the Hobbit holes were actually furnished

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It was neat to tour the island and definitely had some great photo opportunities. Good place to go if you want to tour one of the many vineyards.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The hop on and hop off tour offers a good and economical tour around Auckland. The tour covers the whole city in one day. The drivers are friendly and knowledgeable on the history and some trivias. We stopped at the War Museum and the Sea Life. However, the 1 hour interval during winter is quite long.

Doing what: Best Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Unbelievably good, both set and set up. Took over 500 photos, got over 400 Macbook likes and had a blast.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day! Well organised with a great tour guide/driver.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing! Next time we'll do the Skyjump!! :))

Doing what: Best SkyWalk Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just wonderful! I have been staying in New Zealand for ten months and this was one of the highlights. Such a beautiful area of the world, and Dawn was a brilliant guide too!

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic! We had a wonderful afternoon on board the whale and dolphin safari boat. We didn't see whales but did see a pod of over 200 dolphins swimming under and around our boat. The dolphins herd the fish into a ball underwater and then the Gannets hundreds of them are also there feeding and dive bombing for fish. We felt like we were on a National Geographic excursion. This trip was a top highlight of our trip to Auckland. Professional staff and crew and very friendly and informative. Lots of time to take pictures and take in the wonderful scenery. A most pleasant and relaxing excursion. Viator was a great way to book.

Doing what: Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guides were very knowledgeable and friendly I had a blast! Hobbiton was fun, and the ice cream was AMAZING! Totally worth every penny!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Helicopter flight to winery and lunch at Mudbrick winery were wonderful. Weather was in our favor for helicopter ride from Auckland to the landing at the winery, but then it turned very rainy. The rain did not interfere with our outstanding lunch, but we were not able to get the views of Auckland we had hoped for on the ferry boat return to Auckland. However, that was not in your control or ours. All in all an unforgettable experience that we would recommend for anyone.

Doing what: Best Auckland Helicopter Tour and Waiheke Island Winery Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is great but during winter the bus interval is one hour and the sights close early so you don't see a lot due to time constraint.

Doing what: Best Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message