A verdant archipelago blessed with sun-soaked beaches and turquoise waters teeming with exotic marine life, the Bay of Islands is among New Zealand’s most idyllic destinations. The collection of 144 islands is dotted around the northeastern coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A marvellous experience. Dennis, our driver, was a great source of information and commentary and kept a great watch over us during the whole day. The Waitangi Treaty grounds gave us a great insight -and in my case an introduction -into Maori history and culture and our tour guides and the people on the grounds were some of the nicest, sweetest, kindest, most gentle and friendly people I've ever come across in my travels anywhere. Our private bus tour in Russell was great -our driver was funny, informative and very helpful and even went out of his way to allow me to see some of the local wildlife up close. The town itself clearly has a lot of history and heritage and is a worthwhile visit. It was a long journey from Auckland but well worth the visit and I could not recommend it highly enough

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

V. Good if u dont have much time. We had a week in total for all NZ - flew to Auckland on Sun, had the evening, then next day, with this 5 day tour starting on Tues-Sat. It basically takes you around the northern half of the north isl. and covers it all pretty well. Day1- Leave city in a coach, drive over the bridge and begin journey to beautiful Paihia - see nice countryside on way with a cpl stops here and there. It is narrated and I enjoyed this trip. The cruise was very fun. We didn't get to see all sights due to weather, but we did see alot more that normally isn't included. We also didn't see dolphins, so they gave us a another trip for free with no expiry date. The choppy water made the cruise really fun - for me anyways. After the cruise, you get taken to your hotel room. We chose Superior accom, and the rooms were nice, although the hotels were a little away from main areas, then again not really that far though - we walked. I had nothing to complain of. Day2- Long bus drive to the northernmost tip of NZ, and when you get there not really too much to see/do. There's a little lighthouse, and U can see where 2 oceans meet. it was good, but then worth the drive?? The trip back was where it paid off - instead of the same route back, the bus actually takes you onto the 90 mile beach and drives through the water. On the way you get to stop at giant skysrcaper sized sand dunes and boogie board down them. Really fun and weird driving in a bus through water. Buffet lunch provided was not buffet - fish and chips. Day3- Really long drive back to Auckland, Really long drive to Rotorua. Full day. Enough said. Day4- Rotorua is awesome and my favorite place on this journey. So many things to do. Caves were incredible. Glowworms were cool. Afternoon off to wander the town was welcome. We skipped Maori dance. Day5 - Geysers fantastic, all shows fantastic, Hobbiton cool and lame - way too many people to enjoy it properly. Will be back to PaiHia and Rotorua for sure. Very fun!

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable. Well organised even provided picnic lunch for the cruise to Russell Island. Driver excellent. Very informative. Thank you.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Everything went very smoothly and according to schedule. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and fun. It was a dream come true to see Hobbiton and the tours were incredible. I definitely recommend going on this trip!

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Outstanding tour. Highly recommended. Coach driver gave great description of the sights.

Doing what: Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise departs Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

It was a brilliant tour and the driver was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Dono
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Most enjoyable. prompt pick-up and getaway. Extremely informative coach driver. The trip to the Bay was absolutely breath taking with scenery... as was the Bay and Russell itself. The little mini tour of Russell and the short ferry trip was enjoyable. Recommend taking in this part of the world. It would be however better to stay overnight, albeit you can get your fix from the one day trip which basically presents you to everything... long day but, 13 hours... pretty knocked up when you get back (age condition dependent). Greg and Claire mature couple, East Fremantle WA Australia

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Louis S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The drive up to the Bay of Islands is about 3 hours however 2 stops are suitable. The actual Bay of Islands is very beautiful and the tour of the Treaty grounds and the mini bus tour of Russell were excellent.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Shuttle pick up from Auckland hotel and return was very efficient and did not involve coach going to every hotel in city. Hotel in Bay of Islands was good, nice pool, friendly staff and easy walk to restaurants and ferries. Delivery and collection of luggage to hotel worked extremely well.
Tours were all excellent.Loved the trip to Cape Reinga and 90 mile beach. Driver/guide was excellent and spent time showing party how to board down the dunes safely. Boat trip to Hole in the Rock and Russell Town were very enjoyable and we loved seeing so many Dolphins.
Excellent value and well worth doing. Many thanks.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We enjoyed an excellent trip to the Bay of Islands - wish we could have spent longer there. The arrangements worked extremely well although we would have liked more tome at the Treaty Grounds - the difficulty in coordinating different tours on the same trip meant that some of our party had to get back to the wharf to start another activity.
The driver was excellent and provided a really good commentary on the journey. All in all we had a great time - the only drawback was the boneshaker of a coach.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The by of islands is beautiful. The tour manages to cover a lot in a short space of time.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Wonderful from start to finish driver needs congratulating on his knowledge and his wonderful way of imparting this. Enjoyed it imensley.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The tour driver / guide, Erin made this trip for me. He was a terrific driver, four hours each way to Bay of Islands, and all the while he was able to fill us with interesting facts about New Zealand, in excellent English that could be understood by everyone, no matter where they were from. I was extremely grateful for that. Many of us wished we could have had more time at Russell, but the one hour tour of the community allowed us to see more than we would have if we had been left on our own to explore. There was so much to see, but the distance we traveled allowed only limited time wherever we stopped. Some people stopped to stay for a day or two. I especially enjoyed the view of the landscape on the long bus trip.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message