New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 497 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sofian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Well informed Bus Driver and tour guides. Pity that it rain, howeverI would still recommend the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Ahona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a long day but the bus driver and his commentary was incredible. It was very well organized and I was surprised by the amount of food given throughout the day! It was a wonderful day trip and I enjoyed it very much. We even got to see the geyser erupt and an authentic Maori show on their reservation. A great way to experience all things New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Luke W Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour is very well designed to put all must see attractions into a single day trip.
Especially for visitors only have a short stay in Auckland like us.
Booking through Viator website is very easy and straight forward.
All of attractions and events were well worth to see and commentary on board was a plus.
The tour operator also provides hotel pick up and drop off as well as a boxed lunch and light snack in the morning and in the evening.
After all, the experience we had was very good.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Nancy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a fabulous time. Well worth the money. Our guide was excellent, extremely knowledgable. Viator made it a very comfortable excursion.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Winston T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour I have with viator. Rachel the driver took care of us. Timing was good. The spots were seen in a timely manner . For a one day tour definitely worth the trip and the price.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Adrienne R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Having just completed a 10 day tour of the Southern Island and part of the Northern Island, finishing in Auckland, we regreted we hadn't continued our tour up to the Bay of Islands, so we were delighted to find this tour. it was a long bus tour with an early start 7.30am but was very scenic and included a tea stop and comfort break. The included visit to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds was very educational and the traditional Maori meeting house was beautiful.. Then we got the ferry across to Russell, an early European settlement where we had a very nice tour of the island followed by a swim and picnic lunch. We had some delicious ice-cream from one of the local creameries before getting the ferry back to Paihia for the return bus home. It was a long day out but very worth it. We arrived back into Auckland around 8pm.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Thi Thu Huong H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The driver was very knowledgeable and helpful. The cave with glowworms was also amazing but I wish they would have given more time for boating and looking for some souvenirs from the shop.

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

ritawdurham

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Although a very long day, worth doing if you are limited on time. Trip felt a bit disorganized in beginning as we were picked up by a shuttle bus and taken to another location to get on a bus weren't directed very well on how this was going to work. Waitomo glow worms pretty amazing to see. Our visit to the Agrodome to see a sheep sheared and a dog herding sheep was absolutely awesome! Once we finally were in Rotorua to see the geysers and mud pool, we were extremely rushed. You have about one hour there and at least half of that time is getting tickets and watching a show to better understand the local Maori culture. Although the show was very nice to see, with such limited time, I would skip the show as while we were watching the show, the geyser went off which we missed. If you have time, stay a night in Rotorua.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Weili E

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We already answered your e-mail about 10 days ago. Thanks.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Paula M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I enjoyed the caves but felt a bit like i was on a conveyor belt at Roturua. I would have iked more time to see the Gyesers. In the end I walked off as i didnt want to miss the Gyesers. quite a rushed day but im glad I did it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

dotherring

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

It was a good tour, but if you have the time, I would recommend spending more than a day in Coromandel because there is so much to see and do. Warren was a very good guide, but it was just a long time spent in the van.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

suanneborjo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great day, guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

Nancy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was such a unique adventure experience, I am not sure you can do this anywhere else. The guides were very safe, informative and funny.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Blackpool89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely fantastic, guides were great and loads of fun. Pictures were well worth buying and not extortionate as with some other places. Highlight of our 2 month trip!

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Michele M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

great tours but long day. we flew from Blenheim to Auckland to avoid a long bus ride up the north island to Rotorua, and having to spend two nights there. in retrospect we should have flown into Rotorua, spent the night , then done this tour from Rotorua and had the bus taken us to Auckland. This tour operates as a either round trip from Auckland what we did or one way from Auck to Rotorua or Rotorua to Auck same bus with pick ups and drop offs at hotels in Rotorua and Auckland. Bus also picks up in Rotorua for travel to Auckland. Great Sights, the tour company and InterIsland bus are the same company and our Great Sights driver Rachel was great and made a long drive out better with her commentary and life stories. Food on bus was good- fruit breakfast, good sandwich for lunch and another half sandwich for snack on ride home. we had a little extra time between the caves and rotorua and Rachel took us on a tour of lake front at Rotorua- was so nice to see, beautiful and made me wish we had spent one night here but only one as Rotorua is lined with tourist motels bus drops you to glow worm caves and you go right in with local guide who was also good, tour of cave-interesting and fun, then onto boat for glow worms, very cool. then off to rotorua-local guide carol? was awesome. cultural show is too long and didn't need touristy bring the men on stage and dance thing. it was hot inside so i went out and geyser was starting, everyone inside missed that and it was awesome to see it start instead of the tourist participation dance. then carol took us on short cut to geyser which was beautiful and amazing. good amount of time to enjoy it, then saw mud pools--nice and then kiwi house. unfortunately the 2 kiwis were mostly in their box but some did see one run across, i saw them on the screen but still was happy. it is a beautiful park and enjoyed it. we enjoyed the day and would recommend going even from Auck as Auck needs only half a day to see

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Rose R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The tour of the caves and roturua was fine as it was handled by the admistrators of the place.
Didnt like the bus trip because there was just too many pickups and drop offs and having to keep changing seats everytime you get on the bus. Felt a bit of a rush as the driver has to keep up with his schedules.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Shelley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a fun experience! Our guides were great...a little chilly towards the end....but such a great experience! I would not recommend for someone who can't swim though.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Long journey but comfortable and the driver was great. The treaty ground talk was especially interesting the guide explained the history really well.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Sotheary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to and from the Bay of Islands was a long ride, but it was definitely worth it. This place is so beautiful and definitely a must see. I would recommend the tour that includes overnight stay because there is so much to do in this area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour for nature lovers and as such I would call this an eco tour Our group turned out to be small just me and my wife. Our guide Tony was phenomenal, and very knowledgable. He knew the local flora and fauna in and out. The whole Coromandel Peninsula was stunning. Its one of the most beautiful places in the world. Our trip included an visit to rain forest where we hiked to a few 2000 yr old native Kauri trees. Along the way Tony kept us entertained by talking about a variety of subjects like nature, history, people of NZ etc. Lunch was @ a beautiful restaurant near hot water beach. Lunch was delicious and fresh. Hot water beach is unique in the fact that it has hot water spring on the beach. Its unique and has to be experienced. Overall this trip is highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Harry Saputra

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

the schedulle is too tight, I only have 5 minutes to go to souvenir store.
but the cave is amazing. It's a life time experience for me.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Patricia D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I had heard about the glow worms from a friend of mine and signed up for this tour. While I really enjoyed seeing and learning about the worms, I would have liked to have spent more time in the caves, it felt a bit rushed.

The afternoon part of this trip, Rotorua Day trip was wonderful! Our two guides were very knowledge and well versed for the history of the area!!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message