New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 363 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Steve was a super guide, very informative and knowledgeable. very good views and i would like to stay one more day if i have time.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Kevin Davis
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I had a wonderful bus driver/guide on the 1st day who was very informative about the sights we were passing. On the 2nd day I had a private tour with a local driver who followed the pre-planned route and also was able to add his own personal touch since he was a local resident. It was a friendly and fun trip!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great day! Every person was very friendly. Tim our bus driver was funny and knowledgable. I would recommend this to anyone

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The Waitomo Caves were great. The Rotorua cultural show was not very good. We had a show on our ship that was much better. It is a long bus ride, so bring some reading material, etc. for the trip back.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The caves were amazing and a once in a lifetime event. The farm and the Rotorua were nice to see along with the drive thru the country side giving one a opportunity to see miles of New Zealand in a day.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Everything ran smoothly. The bus driver was humorous, knowledgeable, put in little tidbits about himself in that had cooked sweet corn night before for dinner. Always polite, friendly. At first I wasn't interested in the Agridome (I live in SF) but was surprised how fun it was and interesting.liked
It

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Plan to spend a lot of time in the van with twists and hairpin turns along the shoreline road. There were a few occasions where we experienced more of the local entertainment/events like the Bricker's train ride in the mountains complete with his art complex there.
The beach hot "tub" event was not to be due to "the high tides". It seems the van does not reach the beach until it is too late to experience the warm/hot spring fed beach area. Other than the train ride and a few quick photo stops, it was disappointing. A tiresome day.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Plan to spend a lot of time in the van with twists and hairpin turns along the shoreline road. There were a few occasions where we experienced more of the local entertainment/events like the Bricker's train ride in the mountains complete with his art complex there.
The beach hot "tub" event was not to be due to "the high tides". It seems the van does not reach the beach until it is too late to experience the warm/hot spring fed beach area. Other than the train ride and a few quick photo stops, it was disappointing. A tiresome day.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

Unfortunately the taxi did not pick us up from the Hotel and when we ordered another Taxi by the time we got there the bus had gone. Both of us were so disappointed as we were both looking forward to the trip to the Bay of Islands. Perhaps next time when we are in New Zealand.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Isobel M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Good way to get from Bay of Islands to Auckland

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Davjo
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Davjo
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Beautiful day out!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent value for the price considering admissions to the various sites as well as snacks and lunch provided. An extremely knowledgeable bus driver guide (kenny) provided excellent commentary throughout the trip. The Glow worm caves were a beautiful experience. A long day but well worth it!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was a very long day but we did get to see a lot. Tour guide was funny and gave us a lot of info. He made sure to give us plenty of time at each location. Only setback was that the lunch provided did not taste good at all.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message