New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 443 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

suellis31

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The caves and Agrodome were definitely worthwhile and enjoyable. We would have liked more time in Rotorua - even 20 minutes extra would give people more time to enjoy the hot pools without feeling rushed to get back to the bus on time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

suzieqq

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour and day out of Auckland

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

mail

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The bus was modern and comfortable and the driver excellent but this trip entailed a long drive to Pahia - itself hardly an attractive location. The tour of the Waitangi treaty grounds was interesting but our guide needs serious coaching in presentation skills. The ferry ride to Russell was enjoyable but there's little, if anything, to do in the town other than wait for the return ferry. To make the long drive worthwhile it's best to arrange a boat trip around the bay.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

BEVERLEY A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Best fun ever - would do this one again and again and again...

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Barbara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was very nice and courteous. The restaurant Hot Waves Cafe we had lunch was marvellous as well.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Toni C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour for the whole family, our youngest being 14. Our guides Kyle and Nat were very informative and funny and helpful. The cave and glow worms were amazing. Great experience!!

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

June D Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip, just two of us with 2 guides simon and ola...who went out of their way to ensure we had a special experience. Black Abyss is an incredible tour - the free climb out through the waterfalls was intense - would highly recommend

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

June L H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tour was very good and interesting. Guide spoke too quickly. I am English and had a hard time following so felt sorry for foreigners on bus.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Sheila M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Too rushed. We weren't allowed to see all of the Rotorua hot springs because the guide said there was not enough time allocated.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Geraldine D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We are so happy we booked this tour. It was a very, very long day. We would not have been able to see all we did without this tour. We had a wonderful bus driver who narrated about the areas we traveled through. He was very knowledgeable and informative and enjoyable. We were given fruit when we got on the bus, then a lunch and a sandwich for dinner. All was delicious. The Caves were very interesting. It had rained so the boat ride was cut in half. The Glow Worms are amazing. It was cold so bring a jacket. It was very fast. Next we went to the Agrodome. This was very entertaining. Seeing the guy sheer the sheep was unbelievable. Also we were taken around the farm in a transportation vehicle and saw other animals. We were able to feed sheep. They came right up to you. Next we went to Rotorua. We saw a Maori dance presentation. It was just ok. There was a lot to see in this place but since the time at each attraction is limited, we were pushed through quickly. At this location, we also saw the Geothermal geysers. We only had 10 minutes to walk through due to the limited time, and it was not enough time. It was nice to see but too quickly. This tour let us see so much and was much more affordable to see everything.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Catherine A C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was cold, dark and awesome fun. We are so glad we did it.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Sam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent trip, really enjoyed this. See the glo worms that arent really worms at all, as we found out. Be prepared for the chilly water though! :

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Jade I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Bus driver was amazing. Taught us so much along the trip and made the bus ride a lot more enjoyable. The caves were amazing,and we were able to get dropped off at Rotorua!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Michael S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Pay careful attention to the description. This is a tour of Footwhistle Cave, not the more famous Waitomo Cave. You'll have to climb down and then back up about 100 steps so skip this one if you've got mobility or stamina problems. Overall, a nice tour though, with plenty of glowworms on display.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This day trip was excellent. The bus was very comfortable. The driver was excellent, the scenery was amazing. We really enjoyed the trip around Russell and the driver was very informative. My friend loved her trip in the helicopter. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Rachel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I was glad I did the five-hour option but I was tired and ready for my soup by the end! It was really magical - entertaining and well informed guides helped us feel safe throughout.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

WILLIAM W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable day but no time allowed to eat our lunch

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

ymdbs_88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was amazing! Though it was a long trip yet it was worth it because we got to go to a lot of different places. The food they served was delicious too! The tour guide/driver was very knowledgeable, funny and entertaining!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Mikolaj M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good and informative tour. Nicely planned, so you do not have to rush and run all the time. Quite amazing views.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Lenleb47 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Don H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Managed to packed a full day of fun. Awesome trip.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting, and full on day

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Geoff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful tour, thanks in large part to our incredible driver and guide, Tom Stuart of The Road Trip! Tom was expert at helping us to see and appreciate the spectacular natural beauty of New Zealnd and we are so glad we were able to travel the country with him. North Island has a lot to offer and we loved every minute of it!

Doing what: Private Tour: 8-Day North Island Tour from Auckland Including Rotorua and Wellington

Trudy S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Awesome experience. Great tour guides. Just wish we could have had at least 20 minutes in the gift shop.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message