New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 329 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A marvellous experience. Dennis, our driver, was a great source of information and commentary and kept a great watch over us during the whole day. The Waitangi Treaty grounds gave us a great insight -and in my case an introduction -into Maori history and culture and our tour guides and the people on the grounds were some of the nicest, sweetest, kindest, most gentle and friendly people I've ever come across in my travels anywhere. Our private bus tour in Russell was great -our driver was funny, informative and very helpful and even went out of his way to allow me to see some of the local wildlife up close. The town itself clearly has a lot of history and heritage and is a worthwhile visit. It was a long journey from Auckland but well worth the visit and I could not recommend it highly enough

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A must do for anyone with an adventurous spirit. Loved our tour guides. They were instructional, patient, and had a great personality.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip with good commentary on the way

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The trip was great. We stopped halfway through both ways for coffee/toilet breaks. The bus driver was good and the tours included were great. Our included lunch was also very nice and quite substantial.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Over priced incomplete tour, we never got to tour the bay of islands, go to the Waitangi treaty grounds, did not have a tour of the Waitangi treaty house or go to the Maori meeting house to see a Waka war Canoe, we spent 4 hours in a bus to be dropped at a ferry terminal and told to go that way, when we got to the ferry we asked the lovely ferry driver about our pre paid lunch,he ran back to retrieve it for us, we were then ferried to the island of Russell with a paper bag containing our lunch and left there for the duration of our trip, we were expecting to actually see some islands during a cruise,$500 out of pocket and I still don't know. "The Bay of Islands" complete waste of money and very misleading

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a full on day which was brilliant. Seen so much of the countryside on the journey and Reece our tour guide was fantastic. Both the caves and Rotorua were great to see. Especially enjoyed the Maori welcome in Rotorua. Lunch which was supplied was yummy, as were the snacks we had.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well organised, great lunch, excellent tour guide/driver! Thankyou!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Amazing :)
Just a little bit expensive

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very thorough tour of the area. We went to the caves, then the farm, and then to the springs. Lunch and a snack were provided. The tour takes all day, just fyi

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This is actually a pretty extensive and enjoyable day tour that has several attractions together. Our issue was with the tour bus. The bus was not comfortable as the airconditioning/heating was not working properly. The windows were all fogged up later in the day. What was even more incredible was that the bus ran out of gas on the way back to Auckland! I consider myself well travelled and I have never been in a tour wherein the bus ran out of gas. Had it not been for the fast replacement bus that picked us up 20 minutes outside the city, it would have been a disastrous ending to an otherwise good tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well organised tour. Friendly coach driver, an enjoyable day out for all, highly recommended. The caves are a highlight of NZ.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

How to see the NZ north island in one day!

We enjoyed this whole day and time flew as we packed in so much and yet had the scenic bus rides between locations so it didn't feel like too much. Very well organized! Nice, healthy food served on board, knowledgable and friendly guide/driver. The caves, agrodome, cultural program and geothermal site provided a nice variety and balance. So glad that we took this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Well organised. Driver was comical and everyone seemed to enjoy his chat and sense if humour. Tour was extremely informative and extremely helpful dropping me off at my hotel as I was a solo traveller!! I would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message