New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 319 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This is actually a pretty extensive and enjoyable day tour that has several attractions together. Our issue was with the tour bus. The bus was not comfortable as the airconditioning/heating was not working properly. The windows were all fogged up later in the day. What was even more incredible was that the bus ran out of gas on the way back to Auckland! I consider myself well travelled and I have never been in a tour wherein the bus ran out of gas. Had it not been for the fast replacement bus that picked us up 20 minutes outside the city, it would have been a disastrous ending to an otherwise good tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well organised tour. Friendly coach driver, an enjoyable day out for all, highly recommended. The caves are a highlight of NZ.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

How to see the NZ north island in one day!

We enjoyed this whole day and time flew as we packed in so much and yet had the scenic bus rides between locations so it didn't feel like too much. Very well organized! Nice, healthy food served on board, knowledgable and friendly guide/driver. The caves, agrodome, cultural program and geothermal site provided a nice variety and balance. So glad that we took this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Well organised. Driver was comical and everyone seemed to enjoy his chat and sense if humour. Tour was extremely informative and extremely helpful dropping me off at my hotel as I was a solo traveller!! I would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Almost seem to be good deal ...but instead of several hours non-stop talking/explanation , interrupted music or TV show will be strongly advised for boring non English native tourists while riding long hour trip.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I have never seen such a organized trip. They covered so many places and with three different tour groups!! The driver, Dean also sent our luggages to our hotel so that we do not need to carry them with us. A highly recommendable tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

It was a very good trip. I enjoyed my tour guide a lot. The places we went to were very fun. I especially like rotoura

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A lot of great attractions packed into one day. Tiring but enjoyable. The cave tour was short but amazing. Agrodome sheep were adorable. Rotorua's Maori attraction was entertaining. Overall a great deal.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and very well organized so that we could cover so much in a day.
Did not make "little money spending stops" which are a waste of time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Overall, a brilliant day trip. Kenny, our driver, was very informative and witty and kept the attention of everyone on the coach. Although it seemed a slightly slow start to the day with the tour to the glow worm caves, it soon picked up pace with the sheep shearing display, sheep dog trials, hot mud geysers, Maori dancers, etc. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Well organized and well worth it if your time is limited .

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

We were not happy with the long drive and poor defined itinerary offered. We didn't really know what we were doing and the driver/tour guide never answered our questions for clarity. It seemed he was making it up as he went along. He also gave some commentary along the way that was offensive to most of the passengers. When someone is giving a tour to show people how great a site or attraction is, I feel they should avoid political or contentious statements that make the guests feel uncomfortable. Not a tour we would take now that we know what it is about nor would we recommend to a friend.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The Waitomo Caves are spectacular; the rest of the trip (mostly through charming agricultural lands) could have been seen just as easily by car or local bus and the guide seemed uninformed about the remarkable features of the landscape and native forests in the vicinity. The air conditioner was not functioning and other riders were complaining although it did not seem all that humid to us.

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The caves glow worm and their threads made for a sticky, fun time. I also enjoyed seeing the hot springs and dancers. My only complaint was I would have liked a half an hr more at the native area to enjoy the exhibits and shops. Our native guide was fabulous.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message