New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 350 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Isobel M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Good way to get from Bay of Islands to Auckland

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Davjo
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Davjo
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Beautiful day out!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent value for the price considering admissions to the various sites as well as snacks and lunch provided. An extremely knowledgeable bus driver guide (kenny) provided excellent commentary throughout the trip. The Glow worm caves were a beautiful experience. A long day but well worth it!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was a very long day but we did get to see a lot. Tour guide was funny and gave us a lot of info. He made sure to give us plenty of time at each location. Only setback was that the lunch provided did not taste good at all.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Aris
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Good tour of Coromandel and Cathedral cave. Spent more time driving than expected.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An incredible experience! Our two guides, Sam and Rich, couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. All the equipment was in good condition and the caves were spectacular. Exploring the cave system was fantastic and the glow worms were truly beautiful. A wonderful trip - thanks all! Chris and Sarah, UK.

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The logistics could be improved. The person who came on board the coach to tell us that tour tickets were essential but when told we didn't have them, she answered rudely: I don't have yours. She didn't offer to solve the problem for us, although she did give us the tickets later.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour by Kenny the driver was well managed. He was nice and polite and also demonstrated knowledge of NZ. We had a great time in Waitomo and in Rotorua's Agrodome, Maori cultural experience, the geysers/mudpool.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed this trip a lot! The guides were great. The sights were interesting. The food was tasty. This was a long trip, so having a comfortable bus (with on board bathroom) was appreciated by all. It rained quite a bit. The young man at the Agrodome was awesome. In the pouring rain he and his dog put on a great sheep "herding" demonstration. In fact all personnel put in extra effort. Despite the rain we had a great time!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Bus driver/guide sas very good and professional. The itinerary was great . The visit to growwarm cave and farm were amazing. We enjoyed thoroughly. One slight imperfection, two friends of us had their reservation incorrectly processed and almost could not make the tour if not for two no show.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great trip - well looked after by guides and good fun - be aware that you will not be able to bring cameras or go pros etc as the guides take photos and sell them but they are not too expensive ($30) and you do get a professional promotional video as part of the package.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everything was as promised and our tourguide was very informative.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing tour! Expensive but worth every penny!
I wish we could have stayed at the Maori Arts and Crafts Institute longer.
Our bus drive Reese (I think that was his name) was really informative and knowledgable.
He really tried to tailor the trip based on the needs of the tour group.
People were asking him all sorts of questions about New Zealand, even random questions about housing, history, and gas prices, and knew the answers to all of them! It blew my mind. No question was off limits.
He definitely made the trip made the long journey more interesting.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. There is a lot of events on the day however you will not get bored.
The weather was raining for the day trip however it did not stop a great day. The Waitomo Caves was excellent and Rotorua geysers produced a show. The Agrodome was a nice break seeing some NZ sheep.
The only small issue was that there was different people arriving from other stops on to the bus as it is an intercity route.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message