New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 478 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shelley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a fun experience! Our guides were great...a little chilly towards the end....but such a great experience! I would not recommend for someone who can't swim though.

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Long journey but comfortable and the driver was great. The treaty ground talk was especially interesting the guide explained the history really well.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Sotheary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to and from the Bay of Islands was a long ride, but it was definitely worth it. This place is so beautiful and definitely a must see. I would recommend the tour that includes overnight stay because there is so much to do in this area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour for nature lovers and as such I would call this an eco tour Our group turned out to be small just me and my wife. Our guide Tony was phenomenal, and very knowledgable. He knew the local flora and fauna in and out. The whole Coromandel Peninsula was stunning. Its one of the most beautiful places in the world. Our trip included an visit to rain forest where we hiked to a few 2000 yr old native Kauri trees. Along the way Tony kept us entertained by talking about a variety of subjects like nature, history, people of NZ etc. Lunch was @ a beautiful restaurant near hot water beach. Lunch was delicious and fresh. Hot water beach is unique in the fact that it has hot water spring on the beach. Its unique and has to be experienced. Overall this trip is highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Harry Saputra

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

the schedulle is too tight, I only have 5 minutes to go to souvenir store.
but the cave is amazing. It's a life time experience for me.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Patricia D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I had heard about the glow worms from a friend of mine and signed up for this tour. While I really enjoyed seeing and learning about the worms, I would have liked to have spent more time in the caves, it felt a bit rushed.

The afternoon part of this trip, Rotorua Day trip was wonderful! Our two guides were very knowledge and well versed for the history of the area!!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Vikram N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good tour and nice way to spend a day

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Anne I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was great experience! It needed a bit courage and pretty good health :

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Mae F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Pick up from hotel as arranged and off we went. Driver provided commentary which made journey more interesting. Wait at caves was short and our guide took us off on our tour of the caves. The guide was informative and all too quickly our time in the silence of the caves was over. Next was the Agrodome where once again we were entertained by our guide, first in the Sherri got sheep then in our tourlf the farm animals. Finally Rotorua and the well oiled combination of our driver and guide soon saw us inside and on our way to the Haka. This was entertaining and again the commentary hit the right level. Once outside it was off to see the geothermal features and they did not disappoint, even the geyser erupted for us. I thought this was all there was to see but no in a specially adapted building there were kiwis, as this was my final trip in NZ it was a very fitting finale.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Louise G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a delightful experience where we got to see amazing caves, cave wetas and the local scenery all with extra information provided by our tour guide Ross who had amazing knowledge of all the flora, fauna and geology and history.
There were crazy queues up the road for other cave tours but this was more intimate and brilliant.
Go it's great fun.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Andy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great day out to see some breathtaking scenery

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The caves were magical. The glow worms were amazing. Watching the sheep shearing was a new experience and Rptorua was fascinating. We saw our very first live rendition of the Haka which is better than seeing it on TV.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Bentley O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time!

Doing what: Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour

Alicia Estela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I liked a lot that tour. However I think it was be better if time to watch show had been shorter and time to see geiser had been longer.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was a great day next time would stay overnight sightseeing was rushed

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Juan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Perfect, Great, Excellent.
Will never forget this trip, me, my wife and daughters had a great and happy day.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great full day tour. Ian was a great driver.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great full day tour of this wonderful area. Bay of Islands is a must see destination in New Zealand.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Claude I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It's a long bus ride 4 hrs from Auckland to Bay of Islands, but well worth it. If you want to see some of New Zealand's countryside--the green rolling hills, the deep blue lakes, the herds of fat sheep and dairy cows--this is an excellent choice. Bay of Islands is a stunningly beautiful area. The Waitangi Treaty Grounds are pristine and lovely. It is easy to see why they each decided to settle there. The ferry to Russell, once the Hell Hole of the Pacific was a sunny 10-minute ride across sparkling waters to a sleepy little holiday town. No pirates left. Rachel, our guide, was super organized, very informative, and gave us a good overview of the area and New Zealand in general. A great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Kyle J

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Debra F

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

There was alot of miscommunication regarding our pick up and drop off at the agreed upon location. The driver was good, the tour was all good. Enjoyed the day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message