New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 396 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great trip! The only thing I would suggest is putting far less mayo on the vegetarian sandwiches. Other than that, it was perfect! And our driver, Kenny, was AMAZING and I am so thankful he was able to guide us throug this experience.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely breathtaking and amazing. Our driver Tom was very friendly and knowledgable. The lunch box was delicious. The site was one of the world wonders. I will defintely recommend this tour to everyone. I swear that I will bring my family to New Zealand and take the same tour again. Worth it and you will enjoy it. Thank you Tom and the company.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's a long day and not the cheapest tour but well worth it! The caves are very impressive, the geysers at Rotorua are simply staggering and the Agrodome was fantastic fun. It really is a fabulous day out! We took food and drink with us but you really don't need to - just take a camera and a good book for the coach ride.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is the most wonderful day out! The Waitomo Caves with the gloworms was a very surreal experience. Much better than I ever expected. Adequate lunch and afternoon tea is provided. Rotorua was great to see and we were very lucky that the geysers were all at their finest on our day. The thermal reserve was very special as my husband was picked to be the honorary chief for the day. A really good day well worth it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The caves were incredible. The glowworms illuminated the cave area. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We very much liked our Bay of Islands tour and will recommend it to others. Thank you, Pete of California

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The coach captain was excellent. His commentary enroute was most informative. We went on the ferry to Russell and did not travel on the launch to view orcas and see the hole in the rock. The mini bus on Russell was quite interesting - the driver commentary was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If I knew about the dark water experience I would have done that one insteadwet suit and walking through the cave. Still amazing and incredibly interesting.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very professional, driver was lovely

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic day. Informative guide. Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour great! Driver less so. Along with description of sites kept a commentary of his political views. Also berated us as a group for taking extra minutes to see geyser flow. We were all adults and paying customers and did not need to be scolded like children

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The caves were very nice, and the trip to Rotorua was awesome. The cultural experience in Rotorua was so beautiful. the only down side was that when our tour guide in the caves got the first part of our group into the boat and took them into the glowworm cave, the rest of the group was left behind by ourselves in a dim, dark cave, until our guide finished the first boat group and returned to us. I think they should either take smaller groups, or have 2 guides with the group.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Most of the time is travelling, but the guide/driver was superb,....and once there, location is truly stunning

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide, interesting but underwhelming experience. Worth seeing, but not the best thing you'll see in NZ

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It was very good .. agrodome visit was the high light for me

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful day with a great guide, Kenny. What a perfect way to get to see many of the must-see sights in a limited time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very enjoyable. Covered all the highlights with adequate time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

an absolutely fantastic day and a truly amazing place. I was only in NZ for one day, but I am hooked and I want to go back and see the rest of the country. The Coromandel was one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. Our guide, Sean, was absolutely brilliant - he made the day truly memorable. He worked really hard to make sure everyone had a great day.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved everything about the day trip!

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good informative driver, had a good time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The highlight of this day was the caves. It was amazing in the cavern on the boat. The animal farm was fun. The trip to the geysers was good to see also. It was a long day but worth it. Our bus driver really made the day for us too, he was very entertaining. We had a delicious lunch and snack late afternoon.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Recommend overnight stay. When you have a chance at Russell, you can stay for another hour before coming back at 4pm. The beaches are great and not that crowded, wish I had done an overnighter to explore Russell a bit more.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message