New Zealand is simply gorgeous. Lush rainforest, coastal walks, island cruises, snowfields, glowworm caves and bubbling mud – there's plenty to enjoy on a short trip from Auckland! Drive to the dunes at Cape Reinga, where Maori spirits depart for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 406 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was amazing! The glow worm caves were magical! Visiting the farm and feeding the animals was a wonderful experience and the geyser in rotorua was a sight to see!

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A long way from Auckland but well worth it.The tour of the caves is stunning and so like a starry starry Night. The guide was excellent and it is nice that the caves are still a family business.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Just wonderful! I have been staying in New Zealand for ten months and this was one of the highlights. Such a beautiful area of the world, and Dawn was a brilliant guide too!

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The driver, Dennis, gave a great interpretation of NZ past and present. This is a great one day trip if you a little amount of time in NZ.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The driver was excellent. He was really on target with managing the trip and getting everyone where they needed to go. He had lots of cool details about all the towns we passed through with regards to arts, cultures, and natural features. The meals and refreshments were very good. The locations proved to be a lot of fun. The glow caves are stunning, with the cave being amazing in and of itself beyond just the glow worms. I loved the Maori welcoming reception, and the geyser was stunning.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Waitomo Caves are well worth seeing, just beautiful. We loved the Agrodome, and seeing the geysers at Rotorua finished the day off nicely. Well organised tour and commentary and food that was provided was great. Well worth it.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great trip! The only thing I would suggest is putting far less mayo on the vegetarian sandwiches. Other than that, it was perfect! And our driver, Kenny, was AMAZING and I am so thankful he was able to guide us throug this experience.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic! Very long day, however i think its best to get it all done at once because all these attractions are relatively near each other. So for eg, if you decided to do the Waitomo caves one day then Rotorua another day you would be driving on the same road so best all in one day!

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour included a trip to the Waitomo caves, the Agrodrom, and Te Puia, which included a welcome ceremony. All the inclusions were great and well worth their value but the group size was too big. The large group size required a large bus with poor air conditioning and heating, which caused a lot of people to get car sick. I think the trip would have been better if the group size was smaller. The size also seemed to limit time, which was unfortunate in the end when the geyser began and we had to leave.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Awful, horrible, I wish I could give this zero stars!!! The driver was beyond obnoxious and talked literally for 5 hours pretty much non stop on the bus PA system. I had a headache all day and couldn't even enjoy the caves!! My friend did this tour the next day, and she also said it was terrible.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely breathtaking and amazing. Our driver Tom was very friendly and knowledgable. The lunch box was delicious. The site was one of the world wonders. I will defintely recommend this tour to everyone. I swear that I will bring my family to New Zealand and take the same tour again. Worth it and you will enjoy it. Thank you Tom and the company.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's a long day and not the cheapest tour but well worth it! The caves are very impressive, the geysers at Rotorua are simply staggering and the Agrodome was fantastic fun. It really is a fabulous day out! We took food and drink with us but you really don't need to - just take a camera and a good book for the coach ride.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is the most wonderful day out! The Waitomo Caves with the gloworms was a very surreal experience. Much better than I ever expected. Adequate lunch and afternoon tea is provided. Rotorua was great to see and we were very lucky that the geysers were all at their finest on our day. The thermal reserve was very special as my husband was picked to be the honorary chief for the day. A really good day well worth it.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The caves were incredible. The glowworms illuminated the cave area. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We very much liked our Bay of Islands tour and will recommend it to others. Thank you, Pete of California

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The coach captain was excellent. His commentary enroute was most informative. We went on the ferry to Russell and did not travel on the launch to view orcas and see the hole in the rock. The mini bus on Russell was quite interesting - the driver commentary was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If I knew about the dark water experience I would have done that one insteadwet suit and walking through the cave. Still amazing and incredibly interesting.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very professional, driver was lovely

Doing what: Best Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic day. Informative guide. Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour great! Driver less so. Along with description of sites kept a commentary of his political views. Also berated us as a group for taking extra minutes to see geyser flow. We were all adults and paying customers and did not need to be scolded like children

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The caves were very nice, and the trip to Rotorua was awesome. The cultural experience in Rotorua was so beautiful. the only down side was that when our tour guide in the caves got the first part of our group into the boat and took them into the glowworm cave, the rest of the group was left behind by ourselves in a dim, dark cave, until our guide finished the first boat group and returned to us. I think they should either take smaller groups, or have 2 guides with the group.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message