Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 240 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Isobel M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Good way to get from Bay of Islands to Auckland

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Davjo
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent value for the price considering admissions to the various sites as well as snacks and lunch provided. An extremely knowledgeable bus driver guide (kenny) provided excellent commentary throughout the trip. The Glow worm caves were a beautiful experience. A long day but well worth it!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

There were 3 main things I wanted to see in New Zealand and this tour covered them _ Waitomo Caves, Rotorua and Hobbiton. I hadn’t done a tour like this where bus loads of people kept splitting up and getting on new buses for different tours. Although my wife and I had 7 different buses it all went smoothly. A bit of time is lost waiting and changing buses but I am not sure if this could be done better.
We loved the tours of Waitomo Caves, Rotorua and Hobbiton. We also had a “duck” tour which went right into the lakes at Rotorua. The Maori village and hangi feast, spouting geysers at Te Puia, Kiwi birds at Rainbow Springs and even a sheep show at the Agrodome. The accommodation at the Millennium Hotel was very comfortable, although prepare yourself for the smell of sulphur.
I couldn’t imagine how I could have organised this myself in the time frame. I strongly recommend this tour to anybody visiting New Zealand.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was a very long day but we did get to see a lot. Tour guide was funny and gave us a lot of info. He made sure to give us plenty of time at each location. Only setback was that the lunch provided did not taste good at all.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An incredible experience! Our two guides, Sam and Rich, couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. All the equipment was in good condition and the caves were spectacular. Exploring the cave system was fantastic and the glow worms were truly beautiful. A wonderful trip - thanks all! Chris and Sarah, UK.

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The logistics could be improved. The person who came on board the coach to tell us that tour tickets were essential but when told we didn't have them, she answered rudely: I don't have yours. She didn't offer to solve the problem for us, although she did give us the tickets later.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour by Kenny the driver was well managed. He was nice and polite and also demonstrated knowledge of NZ. We had a great time in Waitomo and in Rotorua's Agrodome, Maori cultural experience, the geysers/mudpool.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed this trip a lot! The guides were great. The sights were interesting. The food was tasty. This was a long trip, so having a comfortable bus (with on board bathroom) was appreciated by all. It rained quite a bit. The young man at the Agrodome was awesome. In the pouring rain he and his dog put on a great sheep "herding" demonstration. In fact all personnel put in extra effort. Despite the rain we had a great time!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Bus driver/guide sas very good and professional. The itinerary was great . The visit to growwarm cave and farm were amazing. We enjoyed thoroughly. One slight imperfection, two friends of us had their reservation incorrectly processed and almost could not make the tour if not for two no show.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everything was as promised and our tourguide was very informative.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great Package. I could not have coordinated a better trip for a two day period. Everyone was nice and the connections between attractions and vehicles were well organized. I would highly recommend this tour package to anyone who love to enjoy the North Island of New Zealand.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing tour! Expensive but worth every penny!
I wish we could have stayed at the Maori Arts and Crafts Institute longer.
Our bus drive Reese (I think that was his name) was really informative and knowledgable.
He really tried to tailor the trip based on the needs of the tour group.
People were asking him all sorts of questions about New Zealand, even random questions about housing, history, and gas prices, and knew the answers to all of them! It blew my mind. No question was off limits.
He definitely made the trip made the long journey more interesting.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. There is a lot of events on the day however you will not get bored.
The weather was raining for the day trip however it did not stop a great day. The Waitomo Caves was excellent and Rotorua geysers produced a show. The Agrodome was a nice break seeing some NZ sheep.
The only small issue was that there was different people arriving from other stops on to the bus as it is an intercity route.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The sites visited were very good. But I took a taxi to the meeting point and had to stand in the cold waiting for the bus. The food was good, but freezing cold. It brought on an attack of bronchitis. I didn't expect Auckland to be so much colder than Sydney.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message