Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 265 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide, interesting but underwhelming experience. Worth seeing, but not the best thing you'll see in NZ

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It was very good .. agrodome visit was the high light for me

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Everything was flawlessly organised and it was so easy having it all done for us. All we had to do was go along and enjoy ourselves. Would highly recommend doing this tour!!! It was absolutely fantastic!!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful day with a great guide, Kenny. What a perfect way to get to see many of the must-see sights in a limited time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very enjoyable. Covered all the highlights with adequate time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good informative driver, had a good time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The highlight of this day was the caves. It was amazing in the cavern on the boat. The animal farm was fun. The trip to the geysers was good to see also. It was a long day but worth it. Our bus driver really made the day for us too, he was very entertaining. We had a delicious lunch and snack late afternoon.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Did 7 different events in two days. All excellent. Room at Ibis was excellent. Drivers were excellent. Great coordination between tours.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Kevin Davis
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a long day - almost 13.5 hours but includes trip to Maori Village and glow worm caves which were well worth the trip. Visit to sheet farm unimpressiv but proably a rquired NZ esperience to see sheep showrn.
Tought 13.5 ride with meals provide on the goal. I would suggest bringing own sandwich unless you like NZ good. Tired after long bus ride but worth the effort and glad we did it

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This could not have been better! The tour guide, the sights included, the food provided were all top notch. We highly recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great day! Every person was very friendly. Tim our bus driver was funny and knowledgable. I would recommend this to anyone

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was wonderful. I enjoyed the duck boat and the glow worm caves. My wife thoroughly enjoyed Hobbiton, and the Tamaki village was a lot of fun. I definitely recommend this for anyone visiting New Zealand for the first time.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The Waitomo Caves were great. The Rotorua cultural show was not very good. We had a show on our ship that was much better. It is a long bus ride, so bring some reading material, etc. for the trip back.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The caves were amazing and a once in a lifetime event. The farm and the Rotorua were nice to see along with the drive thru the country side giving one a opportunity to see miles of New Zealand in a day.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Overall, it was a good experience. For a first-time experience and exposure to the north island, it was worth it. I could not have scheduled as much as they did for two days. The Maori concert/feast is a must do!! Tamiki tribe is the one I experienced and it was wonderful! Enjoy!!
Only thing else would be to create an adrenaline tour of bungee/bridge/tower jumping experience!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Everything ran smoothly. The bus driver was humorous, knowledgeable, put in little tidbits about himself in that had cooked sweet corn night before for dinner. Always polite, friendly. At first I wasn't interested in the Agridome (I live in SF) but was surprised how fun it was and interesting.liked
It

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a very good tour where we saw lots and did lots as well. The trip was long though even though the bus was comfortable. The agrodome was amazing.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Much of it was much too touristy for my taste, especially the Maurie dinner. I also prefer smaller group tours.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Isobel M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Good way to get from Bay of Islands to Auckland

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

Davjo
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent value for the price considering admissions to the various sites as well as snacks and lunch provided. An extremely knowledgeable bus driver guide (kenny) provided excellent commentary throughout the trip. The Glow worm caves were a beautiful experience. A long day but well worth it!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message