Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 320 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Neil P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

2 words - just do it! Trust me you won't regret it :

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

alison m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really nice, action packed, interesting extremely well organized trip! I believe our driver/guides name was Ian. Ian was wonderful!! I was surprised that he had the responsibility of driving the bus and providing such interesting information on our tour but he did everything beautifully. I would highly recommend this trip. Next time I would spend at least 1 night in Rotorua.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Dennis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Trip was very enjoyable, caves were amazing. we enjoyed everything about the trip. The driver/guide was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

grandma2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A very long day but well worth it. The caves and glow worms were amazing, the Agradome was informative and interesting, and the Maori center with geysers was entertains. The trip was well organized with good food and wifi on the bus.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

suellis31

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The caves and Agrodome were definitely worthwhile and enjoyable. We would have liked more time in Rotorua - even 20 minutes extra would give people more time to enjoy the hot pools without feeling rushed to get back to the bus on time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

suzieqq

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour and day out of Auckland

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

andromeda610

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

My daughter and I were booked on the Waitamo/Rotura day trip from Auckland. What would have been a fine day with visits to attractive destinations was spoiled by the very brash attitude of our rude driver. We did not have a problem with him directly, but it was upsetting to witness his noxious attitude towards other passengers. Specifically, he directed his aggravation towards foreign speaking passengers. In a business that caters to tourists, this is unacceptable.
Following are the three instances that we witnessed:
He made use of his microphone to broadcasted the message to the entire bus, but speaking directly to the couple sitting right behind him, to STOP TALKING to each other because the foreign language distracted him in his commentary. The gentleman explained to the driver that he needed to translate to his wife, but the driver responded with a rude wave of his hand that if they wanted to keep talking they should move to the back of the bus.
Frankly, I have been on many tours and that has never been an issue with guides. Furthermore, if this driver/guide is limited by this issue, then that line of seats should be properly labeled for English speakers only, and not have people moved to the back of the bus. Everyone else who spoke English was allowed to speak around him. The couple remained quiet for a while, but after they resumed their conversation the driver announced on the microphone that he would not continue his commentary b/c of the rude couple.
I witnessed how a young French speaking college girl tried, in her best English, to ask the driver where she could place her luggage. The driver, without a word and visibly aggravated, rudely grabbed her small bag and threw it in the trunk.
there was another older gentleman that was told off for trying to make a quick run to the restroom at an unauthorized time.
The driver finally toned down his attitude after somebody told him he was so rude he was only fit to drive cattle.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Toni C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour for the whole family, our youngest being 14. Our guides Kyle and Nat were very informative and funny and helpful. The cave and glow worms were amazing. Great experience!!

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

deannakempen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was outstanding. It is a wonderful way to see and experience New Zealand in a short amount of time.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

mai.shihah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wish that the transit in Taupo Lake was longer...10 minutes was like touch and go...and should not be listed as highlight of the tour...

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

June L H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tour was very good and interesting. Guide spoke too quickly. I am English and had a hard time following so felt sorry for foreigners on bus.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Sheila M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Too rushed. We weren't allowed to see all of the Rotorua hot springs because the guide said there was not enough time allocated.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Geraldine D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We are so happy we booked this tour. It was a very, very long day. We would not have been able to see all we did without this tour. We had a wonderful bus driver who narrated about the areas we traveled through. He was very knowledgeable and informative and enjoyable. We were given fruit when we got on the bus, then a lunch and a sandwich for dinner. All was delicious. The Caves were very interesting. It had rained so the boat ride was cut in half. The Glow Worms are amazing. It was cold so bring a jacket. It was very fast. Next we went to the Agrodome. This was very entertaining. Seeing the guy sheer the sheep was unbelievable. Also we were taken around the farm in a transportation vehicle and saw other animals. We were able to feed sheep. They came right up to you. Next we went to Rotorua. We saw a Maori dance presentation. It was just ok. There was a lot to see in this place but since the time at each attraction is limited, we were pushed through quickly. At this location, we also saw the Geothermal geysers. We only had 10 minutes to walk through due to the limited time, and it was not enough time. It was nice to see but too quickly. This tour let us see so much and was much more affordable to see everything.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jade I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Bus driver was amazing. Taught us so much along the trip and made the bus ride a lot more enjoyable. The caves were amazing,and we were able to get dropped off at Rotorua!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Michael S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Pay careful attention to the description. This is a tour of Footwhistle Cave, not the more famous Waitomo Cave. You'll have to climb down and then back up about 100 steps so skip this one if you've got mobility or stamina problems. Overall, a nice tour though, with plenty of glowworms on display.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

ymdbs_88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was amazing! Though it was a long trip yet it was worth it because we got to go to a lot of different places. The food they served was delicious too! The tour guide/driver was very knowledgeable, funny and entertaining!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Don H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Managed to packed a full day of fun. Awesome trip.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

deannakempen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a truly great experience. The guides were knowledgeable and the experience was wonderful. Any first timer should do this to get an overview. I am already planning an other trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting, and full on day

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Geoff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful tour, thanks in large part to our incredible driver and guide, Tom Stuart of The Road Trip! Tom was expert at helping us to see and appreciate the spectacular natural beauty of New Zealnd and we are so glad we were able to travel the country with him. North Island has a lot to offer and we loved every minute of it!

Doing what: Private Tour: 8-Day North Island Tour from Auckland Including Rotorua and Wellington

Trudy S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Awesome experience. Great tour guides. Just wish we could have had at least 20 minutes in the gift shop.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

lindsaceto

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Not being able to take pictures in the caves is a bummer but it was still absolutely amazing to see such beautiful caves and the unforgettable glow worms!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Irene A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was everything it promised. The driver/tour guide did a great job of keeping us informed and the food provided was more than adequate. The scenery was beautiful, the agrodome a bit of educational fun, the caves really interesting, and both the Maori cultural show and the geysers spectacular. So why rate it 4 stars. We really could have done with more time to appreciate the Maori village and its surroundings. I know we had to keep to a schedule but even ten more minutes would have made all the difference. However I would still say not to be missed

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Marlene F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip altho long. Bus comfortable and caves fun. would recommend,

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

zorro

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This tour was great. The Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve was amazing, and the Agrodome farm was a lot of fun and exceeded our expectations. The Waitomo caves tour was just OK. Besides the short boat ride to see the glow worms, the caves have very few formations and just cannot compare to caves such as Luray Caverns in Virginia, USA., but overall this tour was great and covered over 600 Kilometers round trip.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message