Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 364 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sofian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Well informed Bus Driver and tour guides. Pity that it rain, howeverI would still recommend the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Ahona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a long day but the bus driver and his commentary was incredible. It was very well organized and I was surprised by the amount of food given throughout the day! It was a wonderful day trip and I enjoyed it very much. We even got to see the geyser erupt and an authentic Maori show on their reservation. A great way to experience all things New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Luke W Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour is very well designed to put all must see attractions into a single day trip.
Especially for visitors only have a short stay in Auckland like us.
Booking through Viator website is very easy and straight forward.
All of attractions and events were well worth to see and commentary on board was a plus.
The tour operator also provides hotel pick up and drop off as well as a boxed lunch and light snack in the morning and in the evening.
After all, the experience we had was very good.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Nancy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a fabulous time. Well worth the money. Our guide was excellent, extremely knowledgable. Viator made it a very comfortable excursion.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Claire Marie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I like the flexible tours as we don't need to join the whole group. We were taken to places we were most interested to see. There were just some parts when we were running out of time so we just passed by places and didn't get off the van.

Doing what: Exciting Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Winston T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour I have with viator. Rachel the driver took care of us. Timing was good. The spots were seen in a timely manner . For a one day tour definitely worth the trip and the price.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Alfred P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was exceptional - my wife and I had a great time! The only recommendation we would make is that you give us an overall schedule of pickup and drop off times and locations. We never were left anywhere but we often didn and #39;t know specifics on the sequence logistics.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

prince.edex

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good and value for money.

Doing what: Exciting Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

ritawdurham

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Although a very long day, worth doing if you are limited on time. Trip felt a bit disorganized in beginning as we were picked up by a shuttle bus and taken to another location to get on a bus weren't directed very well on how this was going to work. Waitomo glow worms pretty amazing to see. Our visit to the Agrodome to see a sheep sheared and a dog herding sheep was absolutely awesome! Once we finally were in Rotorua to see the geysers and mud pool, we were extremely rushed. You have about one hour there and at least half of that time is getting tickets and watching a show to better understand the local Maori culture. Although the show was very nice to see, with such limited time, I would skip the show as while we were watching the show, the geyser went off which we missed. If you have time, stay a night in Rotorua.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Weili E

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We already answered your e-mail about 10 days ago. Thanks.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Paula M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I enjoyed the caves but felt a bit like i was on a conveyor belt at Roturua. I would have iked more time to see the Gyesers. In the end I walked off as i didnt want to miss the Gyesers. quite a rushed day but im glad I did it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

suanneborjo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great day, guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

Joseph V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A very interesting tour. Long day!!!! The company used had several pieces to a grand tour. And I sort of had to ride along to places that I did not purchase. That was a bit of a nusance. Would I purchase it if I knew, probably not. It could have been a much shorter day if they would have just taken me to the pieces that I purchased. So beware when booking??? Otherwise, I did enjoy what I saw.

Doing what: Exciting Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Michele M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

great tours but long day. we flew from Blenheim to Auckland to avoid a long bus ride up the north island to Rotorua, and having to spend two nights there. in retrospect we should have flown into Rotorua, spent the night , then done this tour from Rotorua and had the bus taken us to Auckland. This tour operates as a either round trip from Auckland what we did or one way from Auck to Rotorua or Rotorua to Auck same bus with pick ups and drop offs at hotels in Rotorua and Auckland. Bus also picks up in Rotorua for travel to Auckland. Great Sights, the tour company and InterIsland bus are the same company and our Great Sights driver Rachel was great and made a long drive out better with her commentary and life stories. Food on bus was good- fruit breakfast, good sandwich for lunch and another half sandwich for snack on ride home. we had a little extra time between the caves and rotorua and Rachel took us on a tour of lake front at Rotorua- was so nice to see, beautiful and made me wish we had spent one night here but only one as Rotorua is lined with tourist motels bus drops you to glow worm caves and you go right in with local guide who was also good, tour of cave-interesting and fun, then onto boat for glow worms, very cool. then off to rotorua-local guide carol? was awesome. cultural show is too long and didn't need touristy bring the men on stage and dance thing. it was hot inside so i went out and geyser was starting, everyone inside missed that and it was awesome to see it start instead of the tourist participation dance. then carol took us on short cut to geyser which was beautiful and amazing. good amount of time to enjoy it, then saw mud pools--nice and then kiwi house. unfortunately the 2 kiwis were mostly in their box but some did see one run across, i saw them on the screen but still was happy. it is a beautiful park and enjoyed it. we enjoyed the day and would recommend going even from Auck as Auck needs only half a day to see

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Rose R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The tour of the caves and roturua was fine as it was handled by the admistrators of the place.
Didnt like the bus trip because there was just too many pickups and drop offs and having to keep changing seats everytime you get on the bus. Felt a bit of a rush as the driver has to keep up with his schedules.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Hideharu E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved every moment. A great tour even if you are not a fan. So informative, loved the Bus Tour driver commentary. KIA ORA!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I realize these are tours and they are trying to get as many people through as possible. I gave it a 4 because it was an amazing experience, with 1499 strangers.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Jennifer B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Rainbow Springs was underwhelming. Our guide was nice and knowledgeable, but went too fast and didn't show us half the attraction and what it had to offer. The duck boat tour was great, but the exhaust coming from the vehicle made me nauseated and gave me a headache. Hobbiton was the best part, by far. I didn't want to leave!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Harry Saputra

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

the schedulle is too tight, I only have 5 minutes to go to souvenir store.
but the cave is amazing. It's a life time experience for me.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Patricia D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I had heard about the glow worms from a friend of mine and signed up for this tour. While I really enjoyed seeing and learning about the worms, I would have liked to have spent more time in the caves, it felt a bit rushed.

The afternoon part of this trip, Rotorua Day trip was wonderful! Our two guides were very knowledge and well versed for the history of the area!!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

George K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It was a nice escape form Auckland, but nothing spectacular.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Natalie R I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I don't know if I booked something wrong or misread but I did not expect to be completely by myself for the tour, I thought that I would be part of a tour group. Other than that the places and the sights and activities were great! I would love the same tour but with more people to meet!

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message