Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 231 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed this trip a lot! The guides were great. The sights were interesting. The food was tasty. This was a long trip, so having a comfortable bus (with on board bathroom) was appreciated by all. It rained quite a bit. The young man at the Agrodome was awesome. In the pouring rain he and his dog put on a great sheep "herding" demonstration. In fact all personnel put in extra effort. Despite the rain we had a great time!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Bus driver/guide sas very good and professional. The itinerary was great . The visit to growwarm cave and farm were amazing. We enjoyed thoroughly. One slight imperfection, two friends of us had their reservation incorrectly processed and almost could not make the tour if not for two no show.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everything was as promised and our tourguide was very informative.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great Package. I could not have coordinated a better trip for a two day period. Everyone was nice and the connections between attractions and vehicles were well organized. I would highly recommend this tour package to anyone who love to enjoy the North Island of New Zealand.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. There is a lot of events on the day however you will not get bored.
The weather was raining for the day trip however it did not stop a great day. The Waitomo Caves was excellent and Rotorua geysers produced a show. The Agrodome was a nice break seeing some NZ sheep.
The only small issue was that there was different people arriving from other stops on to the bus as it is an intercity route.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The sites visited were very good. But I took a taxi to the meeting point and had to stand in the cold waiting for the bus. The food was good, but freezing cold. It brought on an attack of bronchitis. I didn't expect Auckland to be so much colder than Sydney.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Michael C
United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Since it was our first and maybe last trip to Auckland, we figured we would take this tour and check it off our bucket list. The downside is the three hour bus drive and the scenery was about the same, sheep/cows grazing the pastures. On the way home we had a small incident on the bus, seemed like a passenger fainted, scared the lights out of us, but thankfully she turned out OK. The highlight was probably seeing the glowworms in the dark caves. My only complaint would be that the guide wasn't the nicest and the boat tour was too short. Would I do it again, No, but at least we can say we went there once.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I really enjoyed the trip. Excellent tour guide and driver. Thanks.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Lot of activies and attractions packed into two days. Facing multiple local operators looked first a little confusing but at end of day worked very well.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Jason W
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Glow worms and geysers tour was wonderful. Preferred some alternatives to the farm visit.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip. We would not have been able to fit so many activities into such a short trip if we did this on our own.

Due to traffic, we arrived in Rotorua about 30 minutes after our scheduled arrival time. When we told bus driver we were to be picked up at hotel for Duck bus/boat 10 minutes before we would actually arrive at hotel, he arranged to drop us off at pick up point so we would make tour. He then dropped our luggage off at the hotel so we didn't have to worry about a thing.

From that point on the tour was timed well, allowing enough time at each place, but no waste of time. I don't think we could have fit one more thing into our schedule, and felt like we really got to see a lot of the area in a short time.

Very easy and well organized.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip with good commentary on the way

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a full on day which was brilliant. Seen so much of the countryside on the journey and Reece our tour guide was fantastic. Both the caves and Rotorua were great to see. Especially enjoyed the Maori welcome in Rotorua. Lunch which was supplied was yummy, as were the snacks we had.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message