Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 287 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was amazing! The glow worm caves were magical! Visiting the farm and feeding the animals was a wonderful experience and the geyser in rotorua was a sight to see!

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great 2 day tour filled with many things to see and do. Prior to the trip we received an itinerary for the two days with times of each activity. highky recommend the tour. Wished the Waitomo caves was longer, no opportunities to take pictures inside the cave. Other than that an overall great tour

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The driver, Dennis, gave a great interpretation of NZ past and present. This is a great one day trip if you a little amount of time in NZ.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The driver was excellent. He was really on target with managing the trip and getting everyone where they needed to go. He had lots of cool details about all the towns we passed through with regards to arts, cultures, and natural features. The meals and refreshments were very good. The locations proved to be a lot of fun. The glow caves are stunning, with the cave being amazing in and of itself beyond just the glow worms. I loved the Maori welcoming reception, and the geyser was stunning.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Waitomo Caves are well worth seeing, just beautiful. We loved the Agrodome, and seeing the geysers at Rotorua finished the day off nicely. Well organised tour and commentary and food that was provided was great. Well worth it.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great trip! The only thing I would suggest is putting far less mayo on the vegetarian sandwiches. Other than that, it was perfect! And our driver, Kenny, was AMAZING and I am so thankful he was able to guide us throug this experience.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour itself was very fun. It's very eye opening. Rotoura is a muse see. Stay at the Millenium and you will be able to view the lake and walk to the Polynesian Spa. However, the portion of the transportation to Hobbiton and from Hobbiton to Auckland was very confusing. No communication on when the bus will be arriving. It's not very fun to stand in the dark in the 40's temperature with the luggage and not knowing when the bus will be coming. The bus actually came about one hour after we have been dropped off by the Hobbiton shuttle. The tour company can at least gave us that information so we can head to a nearby cafe instead of waiting by the bus stop.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic! Very long day, however i think its best to get it all done at once because all these attractions are relatively near each other. So for eg, if you decided to do the Waitomo caves one day then Rotorua another day you would be driving on the same road so best all in one day!

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour included a trip to the Waitomo caves, the Agrodrom, and Te Puia, which included a welcome ceremony. All the inclusions were great and well worth their value but the group size was too big. The large group size required a large bus with poor air conditioning and heating, which caused a lot of people to get car sick. I think the trip would have been better if the group size was smaller. The size also seemed to limit time, which was unfortunate in the end when the geyser began and we had to leave.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Awful, horrible, I wish I could give this zero stars!!! The driver was beyond obnoxious and talked literally for 5 hours pretty much non stop on the bus PA system. I had a headache all day and couldn't even enjoy the caves!! My friend did this tour the next day, and she also said it was terrible.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely breathtaking and amazing. Our driver Tom was very friendly and knowledgable. The lunch box was delicious. The site was one of the world wonders. I will defintely recommend this tour to everyone. I swear that I will bring my family to New Zealand and take the same tour again. Worth it and you will enjoy it. Thank you Tom and the company.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's a long day and not the cheapest tour but well worth it! The caves are very impressive, the geysers at Rotorua are simply staggering and the Agrodome was fantastic fun. It really is a fabulous day out! We took food and drink with us but you really don't need to - just take a camera and a good book for the coach ride.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is the most wonderful day out! The Waitomo Caves with the gloworms was a very surreal experience. Much better than I ever expected. Adequate lunch and afternoon tea is provided. Rotorua was great to see and we were very lucky that the geysers were all at their finest on our day. The thermal reserve was very special as my husband was picked to be the honorary chief for the day. A really good day well worth it.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The caves were incredible. The glowworms illuminated the cave area. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was very well organised and coordinated. We had a very good time. It would be next to impossible for us to this on our own over 2 days. It was basically a snapshot of the North. We will definitely come back to visit these sites in more details. At least we now know what to expect.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very professional, driver was lovely

Doing what: Best Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

I had an amazing trip except the Rotorua tour/Maori culture experience/dinner. I wasn't able to join the tour due to the unreceipt of travel pack at the start of the tour. please provide e-itineraries so that we have a high level ideas especially multi day tour that involve multi travel agency

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour great! Driver less so. Along with description of sites kept a commentary of his political views. Also berated us as a group for taking extra minutes to see geyser flow. We were all adults and paying customers and did not need to be scolded like children

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The caves were very nice, and the trip to Rotorua was awesome. The cultural experience in Rotorua was so beautiful. the only down side was that when our tour guide in the caves got the first part of our group into the boat and took them into the glowworm cave, the rest of the group was left behind by ourselves in a dim, dark cave, until our guide finished the first boat group and returned to us. I think they should either take smaller groups, or have 2 guides with the group.

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide, interesting but underwhelming experience. Worth seeing, but not the best thing you'll see in NZ

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It was very good .. agrodome visit was the high light for me

Doing what: Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message