Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 224 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I really enjoyed the trip. Excellent tour guide and driver. Thanks.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Lot of activies and attractions packed into two days. Facing multiple local operators looked first a little confusing but at end of day worked very well.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Jason W
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Glow worms and geysers tour was wonderful. Preferred some alternatives to the farm visit.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip. We would not have been able to fit so many activities into such a short trip if we did this on our own.

Due to traffic, we arrived in Rotorua about 30 minutes after our scheduled arrival time. When we told bus driver we were to be picked up at hotel for Duck bus/boat 10 minutes before we would actually arrive at hotel, he arranged to drop us off at pick up point so we would make tour. He then dropped our luggage off at the hotel so we didn't have to worry about a thing.

From that point on the tour was timed well, allowing enough time at each place, but no waste of time. I don't think we could have fit one more thing into our schedule, and felt like we really got to see a lot of the area in a short time.

Very easy and well organized.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip with good commentary on the way

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a full on day which was brilliant. Seen so much of the countryside on the journey and Reece our tour guide was fantastic. Both the caves and Rotorua were great to see. Especially enjoyed the Maori welcome in Rotorua. Lunch which was supplied was yummy, as were the snacks we had.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well organised, great lunch, excellent tour guide/driver! Thankyou!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Amazing :)
Just a little bit expensive

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very thorough tour of the area. We went to the caves, then the farm, and then to the springs. Lunch and a snack were provided. The tour takes all day, just fyi

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This is actually a pretty extensive and enjoyable day tour that has several attractions together. Our issue was with the tour bus. The bus was not comfortable as the airconditioning/heating was not working properly. The windows were all fogged up later in the day. What was even more incredible was that the bus ran out of gas on the way back to Auckland! I consider myself well travelled and I have never been in a tour wherein the bus ran out of gas. Had it not been for the fast replacement bus that picked us up 20 minutes outside the city, it would have been a disastrous ending to an otherwise good tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well organised tour. Friendly coach driver, an enjoyable day out for all, highly recommended. The caves are a highlight of NZ.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message