Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 276 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely breathtaking and amazing. Our driver Tom was very friendly and knowledgable. The lunch box was delicious. The site was one of the world wonders. I will defintely recommend this tour to everyone. I swear that I will bring my family to New Zealand and take the same tour again. Worth it and you will enjoy it. Thank you Tom and the company.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It's a long day and not the cheapest tour but well worth it! The caves are very impressive, the geysers at Rotorua are simply staggering and the Agrodome was fantastic fun. It really is a fabulous day out! We took food and drink with us but you really don't need to - just take a camera and a good book for the coach ride.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is the most wonderful day out! The Waitomo Caves with the gloworms was a very surreal experience. Much better than I ever expected. Adequate lunch and afternoon tea is provided. Rotorua was great to see and we were very lucky that the geysers were all at their finest on our day. The thermal reserve was very special as my husband was picked to be the honorary chief for the day. A really good day well worth it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The caves were incredible. The glowworms illuminated the cave area. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was very well organised and coordinated. We had a very good time. It would be next to impossible for us to this on our own over 2 days. It was basically a snapshot of the North. We will definitely come back to visit these sites in more details. At least we now know what to expect.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very professional, driver was lovely

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

I had an amazing trip except the Rotorua tour/Maori culture experience/dinner. I wasn't able to join the tour due to the unreceipt of travel pack at the start of the tour. please provide e-itineraries so that we have a high level ideas especially multi day tour that involve multi travel agency

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour great! Driver less so. Along with description of sites kept a commentary of his political views. Also berated us as a group for taking extra minutes to see geyser flow. We were all adults and paying customers and did not need to be scolded like children

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The caves were very nice, and the trip to Rotorua was awesome. The cultural experience in Rotorua was so beautiful. the only down side was that when our tour guide in the caves got the first part of our group into the boat and took them into the glowworm cave, the rest of the group was left behind by ourselves in a dim, dark cave, until our guide finished the first boat group and returned to us. I think they should either take smaller groups, or have 2 guides with the group.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide, interesting but underwhelming experience. Worth seeing, but not the best thing you'll see in NZ

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It was very good .. agrodome visit was the high light for me

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Everything was flawlessly organised and it was so easy having it all done for us. All we had to do was go along and enjoy ourselves. Would highly recommend doing this tour!!! It was absolutely fantastic!!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful day with a great guide, Kenny. What a perfect way to get to see many of the must-see sights in a limited time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very enjoyable. Covered all the highlights with adequate time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good informative driver, had a good time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The highlight of this day was the caves. It was amazing in the cavern on the boat. The animal farm was fun. The trip to the geysers was good to see also. It was a long day but worth it. Our bus driver really made the day for us too, he was very entertaining. We had a delicious lunch and snack late afternoon.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Did 7 different events in two days. All excellent. Room at Ibis was excellent. Drivers were excellent. Great coordination between tours.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Kevin Davis
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a long day - almost 13.5 hours but includes trip to Maori Village and glow worm caves which were well worth the trip. Visit to sheet farm unimpressiv but proably a rquired NZ esperience to see sheep showrn.
Tought 13.5 ride with meals provide on the goal. I would suggest bringing own sandwich unless you like NZ good. Tired after long bus ride but worth the effort and glad we did it

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This could not have been better! The tour guide, the sights included, the food provided were all top notch. We highly recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message