Rotorua and the sacred waters of the Bay of Plenty lie just 230km (140 miles) southeast of Auckland in New Zealand’s North Island. This famously lively geothermal hot spot abounds with spurting geysers, steaming hot springs and bubbling mud pools. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 348 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

suanneborjo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great day, guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Cave Tubing at Waitomo Caves

Hideharu E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved every moment. A great tour even if you are not a fan. So informative, loved the Bus Tour driver commentary. KIA ORA!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I realize these are tours and they are trying to get as many people through as possible. I gave it a 4 because it was an amazing experience, with 1499 strangers.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Jennifer B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Rainbow Springs was underwhelming. Our guide was nice and knowledgeable, but went too fast and didn't show us half the attraction and what it had to offer. The duck boat tour was great, but the exhaust coming from the vehicle made me nauseated and gave me a headache. Hobbiton was the best part, by far. I didn't want to leave!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Harry Saputra

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

the schedulle is too tight, I only have 5 minutes to go to souvenir store.
but the cave is amazing. It's a life time experience for me.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Patricia D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I had heard about the glow worms from a friend of mine and signed up for this tour. While I really enjoyed seeing and learning about the worms, I would have liked to have spent more time in the caves, it felt a bit rushed.

The afternoon part of this trip, Rotorua Day trip was wonderful! Our two guides were very knowledge and well versed for the history of the area!!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

George K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It was a nice escape form Auckland, but nothing spectacular.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Natalie R I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I don't know if I booked something wrong or misread but I did not expect to be completely by myself for the tour, I thought that I would be part of a tour group. Other than that the places and the sights and activities were great! I would love the same tour but with more people to meet!

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

Ms D M J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Overall, the trip was a very good experience. There was a lot packed into the two days. I enjoyed all the trip activities - it was good to go along and try everything, and I rather liked swapping around buses. There were lots of friendly people on the buses including the drivers and the same people would appear at different times and places, like old friends! If you don't have a lot of time, or your own transport, this is a great way to get around. The caves were rather crowded at first, but I was surprised at the extent of the caves - and the quiet boat ride was lovely. Rotorua was fascinating. The Duck Tour was fun and I got to see the lakes around Rotorua. The Maori village was a good combination of factual information and fun, and our driver to and fro the village had a fine singing voice. He also did the actions to the songs - I've never been on a coach before where I've cried with laughter! If you're a Hobbit/Lord of the Rings fan, you'll adore Hobbiton. It was amazing! My sister is totally jealous.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Mae F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Pick up from hotel as arranged and off we went. Driver provided commentary which made journey more interesting. Wait at caves was short and our guide took us off on our tour of the caves. The guide was informative and all too quickly our time in the silence of the caves was over. Next was the Agrodome where once again we were entertained by our guide, first in the Sherri got sheep then in our tourlf the farm animals. Finally Rotorua and the well oiled combination of our driver and guide soon saw us inside and on our way to the Haka. This was entertaining and again the commentary hit the right level. Once outside it was off to see the geothermal features and they did not disappoint, even the geyser erupted for us. I thought this was all there was to see but no in a specially adapted building there were kiwis, as this was my final trip in NZ it was a very fitting finale.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Louise G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a delightful experience where we got to see amazing caves, cave wetas and the local scenery all with extra information provided by our tour guide Ross who had amazing knowledge of all the flora, fauna and geology and history.
There were crazy queues up the road for other cave tours but this was more intimate and brilliant.
Go it's great fun.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The caves were magical. The glow worms were amazing. Watching the sheep shearing was a new experience and Rptorua was fascinating. We saw our very first live rendition of the Haka which is better than seeing it on TV.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Alicia Estela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I liked a lot that tour. However I think it was be better if time to watch show had been shorter and time to see geiser had been longer.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Zanna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Отличная организация тура и отличный гид.

Doing what: Exciting Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Juan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Perfect, Great, Excellent.
Will never forget this trip, me, my wife and daughters had a great and happy day.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great full day tour. Ian was a great driver.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Kerrie

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great for those with limited time in the North Island, packs a lot of activities in a short amount of time. However, I felt a little rushed - not much time to buy souvenirs. Couldn't fully enjoy some of the activities as much as if I'd driven myself and organised my own similar trip over an extra day. Stay an extra day in Rotorua if possible to enjoy more.

Nice to not have to worry about getting lost or driving in a foreign country. They don't pick up at the hotel we stayed in prior to tour Ascotia off Queen, Auckland, but picked us up in the next street instead at 6:45am so make sure you organise brekky by then. Itinerary is delivered to hotel the night prior email, and each day you have the same bus for about 6 hours of activities/travel, toilet onboard tiny but functional then local transfers by each attraction. Transfers were well organised, friendly drivers, tours ran smoothly and on time, except for the last bus from Matamata to Auckland about 1/2 hour later. They forgot to put us on the list for transfer from auckland bus depot to near our hotel, but driver took us anyway.

The bus boxed lunch was filling - chicken/cheese/jam/lettuce roll, apple, small juice box, blueberry muffin and a cheesecake tub. After the caves and arriving in Rotorua, the free time to explore Rotorua described was only an hour and a half to check in, and not enough time to do anything else but walk to the water and have a snack/photos, seeing as you have to be prepared to be picked up for your next activities 15 minutes before the stated pick up time.

All activities are quality attractions. Liked the Mitai Maori Village concert/dinner better than I thought I would, nice dinner. Hobbiton tour lasts only 1.5 hours for a group of 30 to all have pics and a free drink in the green dragon, no time to appreciate the detail. Couldn't see the geyser erupt as we had only an hour at Te Puia, just missed it.

Ibis hotel stay average, view of carpark, clean and tidy, hot brekky included.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Kyle J

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Eshan J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Sights were interesting but tour was rushed because too many activities were packed into one day Waitomo, farm visit and Rotorua. We were told from the start that we were not allowed to shop in gift shops because the was time not time allotted for it. We missed half of our farm trip the tour portion because we were delayed by 15 minutes, even though the tour pre-purchased our tickets for the farm tour. Better to rent a car and visit sights at your own pace.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message