New Zealand might be part of Polynesia, but don’t be fooled into thinking it’s tropical. New Zealand can become legitimately cold during the winter months of May-September, and the South Island gets so chilly and receives enough snow that the skiing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A marvellous experience. Dennis, our driver, was a great source of information and commentary and kept a great watch over us during the whole day. The Waitangi Treaty grounds gave us a great insight -and in my case an introduction -into Maori history and culture and our tour guides and the people on the grounds were some of the nicest, sweetest, kindest, most gentle and friendly people I've ever come across in my travels anywhere. Our private bus tour in Russell was great -our driver was funny, informative and very helpful and even went out of his way to allow me to see some of the local wildlife up close. The town itself clearly has a lot of history and heritage and is a worthwhile visit. It was a long journey from Auckland but well worth the visit and I could not recommend it highly enough

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable. Well organised even provided picnic lunch for the cruise to Russell Island. Driver excellent. Very informative. Thank you.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

It was a brilliant tour and the driver was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Dono
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Most enjoyable. prompt pick-up and getaway. Extremely informative coach driver. The trip to the Bay was absolutely breath taking with scenery... as was the Bay and Russell itself. The little mini tour of Russell and the short ferry trip was enjoyable. Recommend taking in this part of the world. It would be however better to stay overnight, albeit you can get your fix from the one day trip which basically presents you to everything... long day but, 13 hours... pretty knocked up when you get back (age condition dependent). Greg and Claire mature couple, East Fremantle WA Australia

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Louis S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The drive up to the Bay of Islands is about 3 hours however 2 stops are suitable. The actual Bay of Islands is very beautiful and the tour of the Treaty grounds and the mini bus tour of Russell were excellent.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We enjoyed an excellent trip to the Bay of Islands - wish we could have spent longer there. The arrangements worked extremely well although we would have liked more tome at the Treaty Grounds - the difficulty in coordinating different tours on the same trip meant that some of our party had to get back to the wharf to start another activity.
The driver was excellent and provided a really good commentary on the journey. All in all we had a great time - the only drawback was the boneshaker of a coach.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The by of islands is beautiful. The tour manages to cover a lot in a short space of time.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Wonderful from start to finish driver needs congratulating on his knowledge and his wonderful way of imparting this. Enjoyed it imensley.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The tour driver / guide, Erin made this trip for me. He was a terrific driver, four hours each way to Bay of Islands, and all the while he was able to fill us with interesting facts about New Zealand, in excellent English that could be understood by everyone, no matter where they were from. I was extremely grateful for that. Many of us wished we could have had more time at Russell, but the one hour tour of the community allowed us to see more than we would have if we had been left on our own to explore. There was so much to see, but the distance we traveled allowed only limited time wherever we stopped. Some people stopped to stay for a day or two. I especially enjoyed the view of the landscape on the long bus trip.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The trip was excellent showing amazing scenery and giving an opportunity to see several very important historical sites. My only issue is that we were told to board the 3:00 ferry to return when we could have taken the 3:30 as the bus did not leave until 4:30.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The bay of islands is a must do tour, the waitangi treaty grounds was really interesting and the views were great, russell was a quiet little town also which we both enjoyed going to, it was an amazing experience :)

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour, wouldn't have missed it. First time in N.Z. and the sights were just fabulous.
The tour guide was great and there were plenty of great places to photograph.
Lyn - Australia

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent trip and the coach driver was really informative and friendly - thank you!!!!p>Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message