New Zealand might be part of Polynesia, but don’t be fooled into thinking it’s tropical. New Zealand can become legitimately cold during the winter months of May-September, and the South Island gets so chilly and receives enough snow that the skiing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Recommend overnight stay. When you have a chance at Russell, you can stay for another hour before coming back at 4pm. The beaches are great and not that crowded, wish I had done an overnighter to explore Russell a bit more.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Recommend overnight stay. When you have a chance at Russell, you can stay for another hour before coming back at 4pm. The beaches are great and not that crowded, wish I had done an overnighter to explore Russell a bit more.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Recommend overnight stay. When you have a chance at Russell, you can stay for another hour before coming back at 4pm. The beaches are great and not that crowded, wish I had done an overnighter to explore Russell a bit more.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Recommend overnight stay. When you have a chance at Russell, you can stay for another hour before coming back at 4pm. The beaches are great and not that crowded, wish I had done an overnighter to explore Russell a bit more.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our experience was good and our coach driver Kenny gave us such an informative commentary for the 2-3 hour drive up to the Bay of Islands. We got to see a lot in a short amount of time we were up there. If you would like to explore the area more, then I would suggest choose the option where you can stay there overnight. For us the only thing we would change is to choose the lunch option for all the shuttling around we did, we didn't have a chance to grab lunch until after 3pm.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I had a wonderful bus driver/guide on the 1st day who was very informative about the sights we were passing. On the 2nd day I had a private tour with a local driver who followed the pre-planned route and also was able to add his own personal touch since he was a local resident. It was a friendly and fun trip!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Steve was a super guide, very informative and knowledgeable. very good views and i would like to stay one more day if i have time.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Davjo
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Beautiful day out!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A marvellous experience. Dennis, our driver, was a great source of information and commentary and kept a great watch over us during the whole day. The Waitangi Treaty grounds gave us a great insight -and in my case an introduction -into Maori history and culture and our tour guides and the people on the grounds were some of the nicest, sweetest, kindest, most gentle and friendly people I've ever come across in my travels anywhere. Our private bus tour in Russell was great -our driver was funny, informative and very helpful and even went out of his way to allow me to see some of the local wildlife up close. The town itself clearly has a lot of history and heritage and is a worthwhile visit. It was a long journey from Auckland but well worth the visit and I could not recommend it highly enough

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable. Well organised even provided picnic lunch for the cruise to Russell Island. Driver excellent. Very informative. Thank you.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

It was a brilliant tour and the driver was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Dono
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Most enjoyable. prompt pick-up and getaway. Extremely informative coach driver. The trip to the Bay was absolutely breath taking with scenery... as was the Bay and Russell itself. The little mini tour of Russell and the short ferry trip was enjoyable. Recommend taking in this part of the world. It would be however better to stay overnight, albeit you can get your fix from the one day trip which basically presents you to everything... long day but, 13 hours... pretty knocked up when you get back (age condition dependent). Greg and Claire mature couple, East Fremantle WA Australia

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Louis S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The drive up to the Bay of Islands is about 3 hours however 2 stops are suitable. The actual Bay of Islands is very beautiful and the tour of the Treaty grounds and the mini bus tour of Russell were excellent.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message