1. Bay of Islands   Tour the Bay of Islands on a full-day trip from Auckland. You'll see spectacular rural and coastal scenery en route, visit historic Waitangi, cruise from Paihia and have free time to enjoy the cafes, museums and shops of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful wineries, the airline crew was AWESOME! The only reason I gave 4 and not 5 stars was the wine tour guide/driver was so rushed and rushed us out the door the last two wineries. So we actually stayed at the last winery because we weren't ready to leave and still shopping, he didn't want to wait. So we caught a can to the ferry terminal later. But overall a great day!

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is one of the best things I have ever done. We took the ferry to Waiheke Island and this itself was well worth it. As promised Jake was at the terminal waiting for us. We were very lucky there was only four in our group for the day. We had a beautiful scenic drive including a photo stop to ziplines. Jake and Sarah were so competent and safety conscious we all felt very safe and comfortable attempting our first zipline. It is such good fund and very exhilarating. A little tip - very hard to concentrate on taking a video and hanging on at the same time for first timers. They do offer hire of a camera pro that fits on your helmet to film for around A39. We had a good idea of giving our camera to the other couple so they could film us and we have theirs to film them. Unfortunately we didn't think of this until after the third and final zipline. Really, really good day and we go Jake to drop us back in the little town where we found some lovely little bars and restaurants. Cannot rave enough about Jake and Sarah they were excellent guides. After the zipline you get a magnificent walk back to base through the rainforest of about 20 minutes. This alone was well worth going there. Well done Waiheke Island and Zipline!!!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Zip Lining was amazing. The wine, beer and olive oil tasting was also a fun experience. We bought some NZ olive oil because it was so delicious. Would have liked some more sweeter wine options.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this trip.
Lovely laid back walk.
I learnt so much! Our guide was friendly, knowledgable and best of all passionate about the work being done on the island.
Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The zip line trip was awesome! ! Be prepared to hike back after the last zip but not hard and guides were great! Don't forget your go pro!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A rainy day- more rain than ever seen before, but we did manage to stop to see Piha beach and walk very briefly in the rain forest.

Doing what: Best Auckland Highlights combined with Wilderness Experience Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

All I can say is that it was excellent and we're looking forward to the next one on the list - won't be long.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great tour! The wineries were excellent, everything ran smoothly, and lunch was surprisingly delicious, the only thing was I wish we had more time to browse around the properties- it felt like we were cramming it all in. The ziplining was awesome- we had a tour all to ourselves! I loved the nature walk and this was the first time I felt like I had enough zipline time!

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great - beautiful views and saw lots of birds. Got lots of wonderful pictures!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Probably my most favorite part of our whole two-week trip - and I'm not even a bird watcher! The island was beautiful - go on a sunny day! Two days before it was raining so I'd wait to book the trip until getting there. They instructed us to take our lunch in a hard plastic container so I specially brought a large Tupperware cereal container all the way from the U.S. with things packed inside but it still took up a lot of room and then a lot of people were bringing in their sandwiches in plastic bags so THAT wasn't cool! Go by the rules or don't have the rules!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The morning tour was OK, the driver could have slowed down a bit so we could get more pictures through the van windows. The afternoon tour was great, but we could have had more time and I wish we had at the Ataki Visitor Center since we were returned 20 minutes early to our departure point. I would recommend this tour with the above changes.

Doing what: Best Auckland Highlights combined with Wilderness Experience Eco-Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Morning city tour - Ok, but the jokes by the driver were a bit off-color which went unappreciated.
Afternoon beach tour - good, but needed more time at the Visitor Center to see the exhibits, etc.

Doing what: Best Auckland Highlights combined with Wilderness Experience Eco-Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The only thing that we were not happy about was an email (sent by Viator 15 hours before the trip but not checked until one hour before the trip) telling us that the service was no longer available but we could book the trip on a different day. This was not the case when we got to the ticket office!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Left on time returned on time knowledgeable guide on the walk saw most of the bird species we were looking for. Altogether a very worthwhile and interesting trip.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Friendly, safety conscious staff. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The ziplining was amazing! It was so much fun, but we were very impressed by how safety-conscious all the staff here - and they were also so friendly and helpful. The winery tours were great - we loved sampling wines outside in the vineyards, and lunch under the trees was wonderful! All in all, a great day, and one that we would definitely recommend!

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautifull Island. Would recommend this one. Especially if you're a bird fan.
The guided walk is nice if you want to know some more insights but it's slow moving. You can easily see the whole Island and brids by yourself. I'm not saying the tour is bad, just think about what you want.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed this afternoon. The staff were fabulous and very thorough - I felt very secure in jumping off.
The nature walk back to Reception was a lovely way to end the adrenaline rush of minutes before!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Do it! I am afraid of heights and I did it. Good exercise too when getting back :

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My granddaughter and I had a wonderful trip to Tiritiri Matangi. We had a great guide, Helen, who taught us such a lot about the flora and fauna on the Island. We saw so many birds and some up really close. And we met some lovely people on the ferry going over too. The whole day has created lovely memories for my granddaughter to cherish all her life.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The ecozip part was the most amazing. The staff were friendly and made sure people felt comfortable and safe. The wine tours were also quite interesting my favorite was the olive oil site.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Very comfortable trip over to the island. The guide was very knowledgeable but felt it was geared to the more experienced bird watchers rather than the casual ones.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A beautiful day. The lighthouse anniversery was a bonus and going up to the top to see the view.
The volunteers were very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately my battery was flat on my camera so missed out on some photo opportuniities. I want to go back and stay next time for one or two nights. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave a great tour.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message