1. Bay of Islands   Tour the Bay of Islands on a full-day trip from Auckland. You'll see spectacular rural and coastal scenery en route, visit historic Waitangi, cruise from Paihia and have free time to enjoy the cafes, museums and shops of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an outstanding adventure. Being avid birdwatchers we tried to book this tour during our last visit to Auckland, but it was fully booked. This time I booked it on line and we had a great time. Jane, our volunteer guide was amongst the best we have ever had. If you like birds, plants or trees, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Eric S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Driver and tour guide Lauren was excellent. She is very knowledgeable and personable. Her tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Auckland City and West Coast Full Day Tour

Tammy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was amazing! All in our group had a lot of fun.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Michael H

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Beautiful, but you must be completely into birds and plants of which you're see a minimal amount.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! This is mostly run by volunteers so most of the ticket cost goes to keeping the island as a conservation. Bring an iPod or something for the ferry. A nice bird watching walk!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Steven Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour guide and sights..very educational..

Doing what: Auckland Highlights combined with Wilderness Experience Eco-Tour

Beverly K R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous trip. So well-organized and all by volunteers. We were separated into small groups for the guided walk. Our hour walk stretched to almost three because there was so much to see. And our guide was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. And the birds--oh, the birds--were up close and personal. A special trip.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Michael O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Outstanding tour. Kirsty was the best guide ever. Service was great all around. Expensive but well worth it!

Doing what: Auckland City and West Coast Full Day Tour

larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an outstanding adventure. Being avid birdwatchers we tried to book this tour during our last visit to Auckland, but it was fully booked. This time I booked it on line and we had a great time. Jane, our volunteer guide was amongst the best we have ever had. If you like birds, plants or trees, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Gillian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely magnificent experience great work from the friendly volunteers and Department of Conservation workers.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Ellen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic tour. Wonderful combination of the zipline and a walk through the safe forest between each zipline. Absolutely beautiful and informative.
I was scared of heights but did it, and I was so glad. Its very exhilerating.
Well done to the two guides Beck and Charity, they worked well as a team, very professional.
What a beautiful Island. Well worth the visit, wish I could have stayed a night or two.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Jack S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The ziplining was awesome and highly recommended - the walk back to HQ was uninformative and quite a dissapointment and then my sister in law fell and all the guide could say was oophs it's quite steep isn't it!and picked up her helmet. Didn't bother to help her or ask her if she was hurt or anything - turns out she broke both bones in her left wrist.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Emer W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very entertaining tour guides, the hike in the afternoon was the highlight of this tour for me. Good variety of activities - we saw parts of Auckland that wouldn't otherwise have been accessible to us without a car. The small coach size was also a bonus.

Doing what: Auckland Highlights combined with Wilderness Experience Eco-Tour

flockhound

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good value for money. A pleasant walk through this preserved nature site with the opportunity to spot some of natures residents. Saw lots of different bird species thanks to the accompanying volunteer guide. The pace is set by you so there is no pressure and feeling of being hurried. We enjoyed the boat trip to the Island. Easy to catch the boat on the wharf front in Auckland. Hassle free booking, exchange your voucher from Viator for boat tickets in the ticket office on the quayside.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Dronamraju K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

a magical island-visit experience..hard to forget..pure air, a special close-to-nature feeling..the guide is knowledgeable and painstaking..you gotta climb a lot, a tiring one-hour trek thru spiralling jungle track that takes you up the hill to the lighthouse at the top...and lunch there..the ferry trip is very relaxing both ways!..no food is sold on island, so you gotta stock up and feed urself there!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Kirsten L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was an very interestin tour and a very good guide. He told us a lot.

Doing what: Auckland City and West Coast Full Day Tour

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tiritiri is a must do when in Auckland. Our guide was very informative and helpful in identifying the numerous birds we saw while hiking around the island. All in all it was a marvelous time and money well spent.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent, if you live in Auckland you should really come here at least once. The island is beautiful, lots of birds and birdsong. We did the guided tour and our guide was really informative. Great gift shop, managed to do a little shopping. If you are into photography this is a great spot, wonderful views. Geocaches too! Ferry excellent.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Shawn A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We had a great hike and a fantastic guide that knew the area very well and who volunteered her time to help the forest rangers in protecting New Zealand's native birds and plant life. The Island was beautiful and worth seeing. We had a great lunch with those in our tour.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Gitta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I had a great time. The guys were fun and very informative about the wildlife in the bush.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great experience. Only negative was our volunteer lead who walked way too fast.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a terrific trip! Great birding, great scenery, great guiding, great companionship. I am only sorry that I am 6000 miles away!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellant guide great hike and lots of birds and vegetation to see.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message