1. Bay of Islands   Tour the Bay of Islands on a full-day trip from Auckland. You'll see spectacular rural and coastal scenery en route, visit historic Waitangi, cruise from Paihia and have free time to enjoy the cafes, museums and shops of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ritawdurham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome!! Get to marina early enough to find your tickets as several booths are closed early am. Zip line staff fantastic and eco walk very enjoyable. Wine tasting bus driver fantastic. Enjoyed hanging out in town after to enjoy some of the local fare fish and chips take out right off of the beach not far from town.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Monica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing! Did the guided walk and it was spectacular.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Merlyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was raining on the day we went, not a hard rain but an annoying drizzling rain, but we zip lined any way. It was fantastic! There are two lines running in tandem so you can race each other. We rented a gro pro and it was a good investment because then we could actually see the scenery we zoomed across. The last line is particularly fast....and steep...thrilling! After the zip line, we do a bush walk, up and down the mountain to get back to base. It was a bit challenging because of the mud, but under the canapy the forest was magical. Definitely wear good trekking shoes.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

scott p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you have limited time in Auckland, this is the one tour you should consider it give you an overview of ALL of Auckland not just the city as Auckland stretches coast to coast.

Doing what: Auckland Highlights combined with Wilderness Experience Eco-Tour

Amber B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing! I loved the three zip lines. So much fun! And tour guides picked us up from the shops instead of the ferry station, which made it very convenient for us to see other parts of the island, too.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

scott m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was excellent. It was out first time to Auckland and this was a great way to see the best in the city. Our tour guide was insightful and provided great information. We especially liked tasting a little of New Zealand. We highly recommend it!

Doing what: Auckland City and West Coast Full Day Tour

Denise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience all in all. Fantastic views. The ziplining was easy to do also for a beginner and the guides were very helpful. It all felt very safe. Walking back up was definitely the harder part :-
The afternoon was also nice, although visiting four different places was perhaps a bit too much given the time available - it felt like we had to rush from one place to another all the time. All the arrangements incl. taking the ferry from/to Auckland worked very smoothly. I warmly recommend having dinner on Waiheke after the tour ends - very easy to take a later ferry back to Auckland!

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Brittany D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour was a lot of fun! They picked us up at the ferry making it very easy to get to the sight. We then got started quickly with the ziplines which were great. My only complaint is there are only 3 so it's a pretty short ziplining trip. The walk back was beautiful.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Leanne D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Waiheke island was really beautiful... Great views from the zipline. The tour guides were so friendly and helpful. I am scared of hieghts but I wasnt scared once up there.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Jill L

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

First part of the day, the ziplining, was 5 stars all the way. The people at EcoZip were professional, fun and safety conscious.The ziplines were fun and the views were amazing. The zip lines are perfect for beginning zip liners because there are 3 separate lines that work up from beginning to thrilling. I will say, though, that if you're an adrenaline junkie looking for something that will give you a scare, this may not be it.
The wine tour and lunch was only so-so. Lunch was quiche, a little salad and a few pieces of cheese. You had to pay extra to have wine with lunch. The wineries were fine, and the views were beautiful, but the tour needed to be an hour longer. There wasn't time to taste much wine and definitely not enough time to taste enough wine to want to buy some. The afternoon was just lackluster.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Ellen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Staff was friendly. The zip line was awesome

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Shelley A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous day out, great cruise and very informative tour of Tiritiri Matangi. Our volunteer guide Sahrah was very knowledgeable and a excellent birder. We saw kereru, takahe, tui, bell birds, quail, kokao , saddlebacks and stich birds. We couldn't have asked for more. The free teas and coffees were a nice surprise too.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this packaged tour to Waiheke Island. It gave me something to do alone while my friends had to work. Favorite part was by far the zip lining with EcoZip's team. Those guys were awesome. Wish I could have zip lined with them all day and night. It's addictive! Our tour guide and bus driver around the island was terrific and hilarious.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

Maura R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable day.Guides both morning and afternoon knowledgeable and helpfull.Really enjoyed the whole experience and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Auckland Highlights combined with Wilderness Experience Eco-Tour

lharrison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent. We were well looked after and an experience to remember

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Karan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing time, beautiful scenery everything about the trip was fab. The zip lining is just wow, well worth going

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Patricia D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This Auckland Highlights part of this tour was disappointing! The guy that drove us around the city was a bit dry and very much into pointing out areas of the city where he lived during college. At times it seemed awkward when we got out of the van to look at things when there was not much to look at.

The afternoon Wilderness Experience was wonderful. The guide was very knowledgeable and made things interesting along the way. She was able to give us a true insight into the areas we traveled and what we were seeing.

Doing what: Auckland Highlights combined with Wilderness Experience Eco-Tour

Lyndall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great effort has been put in to rehabilitate this island. Wonderful day out and the guided tour just added to it. Bit rough on the ferry both ways. Don't forget your seasick pills, lunch or water. Only tea and coffee available at the top of the island.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Robin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The boat return boat trip was great. The staff on board were very friendly and the island guides were most informative. The island is a must for everyone interested in nature and the environment.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Penny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was great! Wonderful communication to my questions. Small group. They were very concerned about our safety first and then our fun. The lines are fast - meaning it takes more time to get ready than the actually zipping but very much worth it. They tell you what goes down must go up - and so it is. We had a nice walk up.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic nature trip on ferry to TIRI, the walk with a knowledgable volunteer guide very good value.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Heidi J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an amazing day. The weather was perfect, the ferry trip pleasant and the guided tour very informative and informal. We got to see nearly all of the birds that can be seen on Tiritiri Matangi as well as a few others. I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys leisurely bushwalks, birdwatching and the amazing nature of New Zealand

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Mika K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Had a great time. It was great that the Zip line had three stages so the fun lasted longer. We had great food and tasted some nice wines at the wineries. Particularly loved the last winery Mudbrick and could have stayed an extra hour there. Hindsight as our return ticket with the ferry allowed us to catch any ferry back until 11PM that night and the local bus was included int eh ticket we should have planned to stay until late once the tour finished.

Doing what: The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch

crossy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Despite a wet morning we had a comfortable trip on the ferry to this stunning island! We were all divided up into groups those of us who opted for the guided walk. Jane, my guide, was very informative about the various birds who call Tiri Tiri Matangi their home. She is most passionate and obviously loves the Island. it was fascinating to discover which trees which are most important to certain birds. After this very interesting tour,we were invited to partake in complimentary tea/coffee in the Visitors' Centre, which was most appreciated. The volunteers are to be congratulated for giving of their time to staff the Visitors' Centre, the Shop and the guiding. After enjoying my tea and lunch bring your own, we were encouraged to find our way back to the Wharf via an alternative track. I certainly recommend this fascinating Island as a peaceful, rejuvenating jewel.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message