• USD ($)
  • English
The Waitomo Caves are undoubtedly—and justifiably—one of the most popular attractions on the North Island. In addition to millions of stalactites which drip from the ceiling in a fascinating display of color, imagine a subterranean river which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Waitomo Caves were awesome! Amazing really. A must do.
Hobbiton was also nice. Beautiful country. The bus ride alone was interesting.
They should have coordinated travel from Hobbiton back to Auckland better. Waited outside without shelter for the bus in cold weather for 40 minutes.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An absolutely wonderful day. Waitomo Caves were beautiful. But, truthfully, the Hobbiton Movie Set was the highlight of the day. The site is spectacular and much better than expected. The guides were great! Well worth spending the day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a fantastic tour, action packed and really interesting. Everything went smoothly - all the pickups and transfers - and the guides were great. The duck tour was exceptional and the glowworms at Waitomo put on quite a show!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Simply amazing! Waitomo Caves are surreal, mostly due to the Glowworms. It's a must see!

Hobbiton is also nice, and since I am a fan of the movies, I enjoyed my self in the set. The charm of the place though will make it fun for everyone, including people who didn't see the movies.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour covered most major attractions on Bay of Islands. We were amazed by the spectacular views of the Waitomo glow-worm cave and the geysers at Te Puia. There was a lot of fun in close encounters with the sheep and many other animals in Agrodome. The tour was made all the more enjoyable and safe by our very experienced guide-cum-driver.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

ABSOLUTELY A MUST SEE !!!!!
Waitomo Caves was stunning ! Fabulous tour through the cave with excellent tour guide ! Extremely educational for all ages ...

"Hobbiton" an experience you will never forget !!! See the movie set in its natural setting in the mountains.... quaint and well groomed landscaped! Fantastic for taking a million fotos !!!! Ending with a visit to a lodge for free beverage and food is fantastic if so desired. I bought snack that was delicious. Highly recommend this trip !!!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

a long drive. however the coach is very comfy so no problem at all. the driver is very good, non-stop commentary except on return journey when most people have gone to sleep.
the waitomo caves is spectacular, been to the glow worm cave in australlia good coast. the waitomo caves have a lot more glow worms, and the boat ride is awesome.
The farm is ok but is more of a show piece, not the authentic farm we expect. but ok, another experience.
the maori village is fun too. the hot spring jet is ok too.
the whole trip is very nicely organised.
The Rotorua area is worth for a longer stay with the hotels with spas, the cable car and luge ride down. next time will spend more time in that area.
will recommend for those who do not drive around NZ

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The Waitomo caves were beautiful and awe inspiring, loved the boat ride, the glow worms made it all look so otherworldly. Hobbiton was wonderful, the tour guide was fun and full of interesting facts. We got a lot of photos at the hobbit houses and The Green Dragon pub. The scenery was spectacular

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

From the pick up from the hotel until the end of the day it was an excellent tour. The driver is very knowledgeable about the area. The highlight of the tour were the Waitomo caves, the Rotorua with the welcome presentation and the bubbling mud and eruption.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

ayelaa
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This trip is absolutely amazing. It's great for a quick day tour. The guide was excellent. Very knowledgable and constantly interacting with his travellers. Although, i was a bit disappointed with the Waitomo Caves tour. It is such a beautiful place and for such a short tour, and a 5 minute boat road, it's money value isn't really worth it. All in all, i loved this trip. Thanks for the experience!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Excellent! We had a great time. The staff were fantastic. I only wish I had more time to explore the Caves and Rotorua. Waitomo Caves should be on everyone's must visit list when they come to New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Mridula C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

My daughter and I had an absolutely fantastic time on our tour from Auckland to Rotorua! The bus tour driver, who was so friendly and courteous, was so informative throughout the trip and we learned so much about New Zealand, the residents and their lifestyle. The Waitomo Caves were beautiful with all its stalactites and stalagmites and we had such a fascinating time on the boat looking up at the hundreds of tiny glowworms. Our next stop was The Agrodome and we had an absolutely superb time there. Our tour guide was so handsome and so nice and friendly and he allowed me to hold and cuddle a sheep which was really lovely! The animals were so cute and friendly and our tour guide gave us pellets so that we were also able to feed the animals which was such a delight. Our tour guide then showed us a wonderful demonstration of sheep rounding and sheep shearing and told us many interesting facts about the animals. I could have spent the whole day there amongst the animals and in the beautiful New Zealand countryside! We ended our day at Te Puia where we enjoyed the cultural songs and dance of the Maori people. We also visited the Pohutu Geysers which were amazing to see! The meals that we got served on our tour were really delicious. I really miss the New Zealand countryside...it was beautiful to see as we relaxed in our comfortable chairs on the Coach. In all, it was an absolutely fantastic day trip and my daughter and I enjoyed every minute of it. We are back in Mebourne now, but we took heaps of photos and have many lasting memories. We hope to return to New Zealand some day :)

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Once in a life time experience to visit to Waitomo caves and visit to Rotorua is awesome. Strongly recommend for this visit and very nice experience with experience guided tour.

Love this tour

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

ZAMROAD M
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The trip covers the main attraction of Waitomo Caves and the Rotorua geyser. We were most impressed with the service from the supplier and the knowledge and commentaries of our driver cum guide Steve throughout the journey. Highly recommended for first time visitors with lesser time to move around the country on your own.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was an incredible experience. However, contrary to the description on Viator.com, we did not get a chance to milk a cow. Te Puia was fascinating, with its mud pits and geysers and Maori ceremony. And the stop at the Hobbiton sign in Matamata was a treat. The drive was very scenic, and the driver/tour guide was very informative. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants a sample of what New Zealand has to offer. My only suggestion: I noticed that some of the people who boarded our bus in Auckland got off at the Waitomo Caves and did not continue with us. The driver said that they were going to stay overnight, so they could do the Black Water tubing, which is something I would really have loved to do. It would be nice if that kind of package were available - bus from Auckland to Waitomo, overnight there, and then pick up the next day's bus for the rest of the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message