The Waitomo Caves are undoubtedly—and justifiably—one of the most popular attractions on the North Island. In addition to millions of stalactites which drip from the ceiling in a fascinating display of color, imagine a subterranean river which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was AMAZING!! I enjoyed it so so very much. Our tour guide Damian was the absolute best tour guide I have ever had. He was so informative, helping and way fun! If you've ever had him as your tour guide then you know what I'm talking about. Thank you for the amazing experience, he made the tour that much better. Hobbiton is AWESOME and so fun! The Waitomo caves were beautiful, would do this tour over again.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Janna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had such an amazing time on this tour. Our bus driver - Damien - was so passionate about New Zealand and the attractions we visited. Made the transit time much more enjoyable, so much so, that it was difficult to sleep because the information was so interesting. Hobbiton and the lunch was superb. Waitomo Caves was so beautiful. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Shannon Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour Guide/Bus Driver Damien was a wealth of knowledge but also ensured everyone got their pictures taken when at the Hobbiton Gift Shop. This is a long day and I think the order of going to Hobbiton first then Waitomo Caves was the best option. Lunch was included and it was amazing! I would highly recommend everyone this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Chen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a woderful trip with the amazing waitomo caves and beautiful ! My friends and I were enjoyed this trip! Besides,the guide is very enthusiastic and the driver is very patient and conscientious during the trip. It is a really worth going!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Dino H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

An excellent and thoroughly enjoyable day tour even for people who haven't seen any of the Hobbit/Lord of the Rings movies or don't know anything about glowworms. I have never been fond of sci-fi or fantasy movies like the Hobbit series, but I went on this tour after a friend recommended it. I'm so glad I went, and my girlfriend says the same thing.

The bus ride, with entertaining and informative driver Damian, was very pleasant. I usually sleep when bus drivers start talking, but Damian had me interested the whole time because he talked about the country and the people and the history instead of just rattling off boring statistics like most other drivers do.

The Hobbiton scenery is amazing! It's real, but it's so beautiful it looks like a movie. Even if you don't care at all about Hobbit movies, like me, go and check it out. There's no other place like it in the world, I bet. You'll get some fantastic photographs sure to make all your Facebook and Instagram buddies jealous, guaranteed. And the lunch at the end of the Hobbiton tour was an outstanding all-you-can-eat buffet, with all sorts of high-quality breads, meats, fish and veggies. I stuffed my face until I couldn't even squeeze in dessert, that's how good the lunch was.

The boat ride in the glowworm caves was much shorter than I expected, but that was fine. It came at the end of the day, after the Hobbiton tour, and was appropriate in its length. Don't book the glowworm caves as a separate activity or tour because it fits in comfortably at the end of this tour.

Overall, this Hobbiton/Waitomo glowworm caves tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Andrew N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I'm not a big Lord of the Rings fan, but visiting the Hobbiton movie set was still worth it. The scenery was beautiful and what you experienced here will last you a lifetime.

The Waitomo cave tour was pretty short 30-40min, but that might be a good thing if you're not that interested in rock formations. I definitely enjoyed the 10 minute-ish boat ride while looking up to see the glow worms. It was peaceful, relaxing, and mesmerizing all at the same time.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Teresa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This day trip outside of Auckland is wonderful! Our driver, Dameon, was extremely knowledgeable and knew a vast amount of New Zealand's history. He kept our interest piqued during the 2.5 hour drive down to Waitomo.

The caves are wondrous. Being immersed in the dark silence whilst viewing the glowworms is an amazing feeling. Just know you'll only have about 10-minutes of viewing time in the cave.

Following that, Hobbinton was a lot of fun. If you're a fan of the books and/or movies, this retreat will not let you down. The local guides are fanatical about the stories and give you a lot of background information on the making of the films. Ending the day in the Green Dragon and having a pint was the best way to finish the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

gchasebc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a great tour and the Hobitton Movie Set was more than I expected when it was booked but everything I hoped it would be. Waitomo Caves were fascinating followed by a great meal.The tour bus driver from Auckland to the movie set was absolutely full of valuable information about New Zealand in general and the people. We greatly appreciated his commentary and pleasant way. The bus driver from the movie set to Rotorua kept us guessing and chuckling with his fantasy tales.
A great tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Robert T Green G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A full day tour packed with activities. Our informative driver kept us entertained and organized for the various sub-tours enroute. Waitomo Caves were magical as we silently floated in a small boat with a miriad of tiny lights from the glow worms above our heads. We also enjoyed the sheep shearing and herding demo at the farm and the traditional Maori songs and dances at Rotorua. The three snacks/meals onboard were fresh and of high quality.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

FuroraCeltica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Trip has good parts and parts for improvement and I'd stress I really enjoyed this trip. On the good side, you see Hobbiton in all its glory, and your guide gives you stories about which parts of Hobbiton appear in which of the LOTR/Hobbit films. For a fan of LOTR, you will never forget the visit! You have plenty of photo opportunities by Hobbit holes and even get a complimentary drink of beer in the Green Dragon pub, with the beer there being unique to Hobbiton. The Waitomo caves are a genuinely pleasant experience, and being surrounded by thousands of glow worms is very charming. In terms of what could be improved, you only get 15 minutes in the Green Dragon pub, so you don't have time to order warm food from the bar. Maybe slightly longer 30 mins? would be better. I also think that you should go to Hobbiton first, as by late afternoon the shadows of the sun can fall on Hobbiton's buildings in such a way as to impact on photographs. In the Waitomo caves you are in a dark tunnel anyway so it shouldn't matter what time of day you go at. So in short if I could offer two slight improvements, it would be a organisers should go to Hobbiton first b slightly more time in the Green Dragon pub.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

cookiemonster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Waitomo Caves are well worth seeing, just beautiful. We loved the Agrodome, and seeing the geysers at Rotorua finished the day off nicely. Well organised tour and commentary and food that was provided was great. Well worth it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Sheri O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour around 600 km of panoramic views of New Zealand North Island countryside on your way to both the Waitomo caves and the Hobbiton Movie Set. WELL worth the trip!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Barbara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The waitomo caves and Hobbiton are definitely unique places to see while in New Zealand. The trip was well-organized, communication from the touring company was excellent, and timetables were met. It was a fun trip for us on our first trip to New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

JENNIFER K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is the most wonderful day out! The Waitomo Caves with the gloworms was a very surreal experience. Much better than I ever expected. Adequate lunch and afternoon tea is provided. Rotorua was great to see and we were very lucky that the geysers were all at their finest on our day. The thermal reserve was very special as my husband was picked to be the honorary chief for the day. A really good day well worth it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Alyssa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Damond was the best tour guide ever- he shared interesting stories, was considerate about stopping, and was such a nice guy. The Hobbiton was amazing, and something truly spectacular to see, plus the ice cream for purchase on site was amazing. Also, the free beer during the tour was so delicious! The Waitomo Caves were neat, but not as spectacular as I was expecting- other tours probably show more of the glow worms. I was still glad we made it a stop on our trip though, it was in a beautiful area.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Shirls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome trip! It's a long drive to the Waitomo Caves from Auckland, and sadly, no photography is allowed in the caves, even if you turned off your flash, but it is just so amazing to see! I was expecting to see only specks of light, but the glow worms really illuminate the otherwise pitch-black caves and it's almost magical!

Lunch at the Waitomo Caves wasn't fantastic though. Just a buffet with a small spread made up mostly of mediocre salads.

The Hobbiton Tour was awesome -- definitely one of my favorite spots of my NZ vacation. The Hobbiton guide was super friendly and shared so many interesting stories and tidbits, and the free beverage at the Green Dragon Inn was a nice way to end the tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Apollonia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really great day tour if you wanted to fit in waitomo and Hobbiton!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

There were 3 main things I wanted to see in New Zealand and this tour covered them _ Waitomo Caves, Rotorua and Hobbiton. I hadn’t done a tour like this where bus loads of people kept splitting up and getting on new buses for different tours. Although my wife and I had 7 different buses it all went smoothly. A bit of time is lost waiting and changing buses but I am not sure if this could be done better.
We loved the tours of Waitomo Caves, Rotorua and Hobbiton. We also had a “duck” tour which went right into the lakes at Rotorua. The Maori village and hangi feast, spouting geysers at Te Puia, Kiwi birds at Rainbow Springs and even a sheep show at the Agrodome. The accommodation at the Millennium Hotel was very comfortable, although prepare yourself for the smell of sulphur.
I couldn’t imagine how I could have organised this myself in the time frame. I strongly recommend this tour to anybody visiting New Zealand.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Lillie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour to Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton. The bus driver was very informative. We had been in New Zealand for 10 days and learned a lot about the country from listening to his monologue. Good lunch at the Waitomo Caves.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic day. I booked this in advance, directly with via Viator, leaving from Auckland on the 5th November. We traveled from the UK to go on a Holland America cruise, which also did these trips, but we saved over $364 by doing this on our own, compared to the ship prices for both of these events. We were well looked after by our bus driver John, who was both entertaining and knowledgeable during our drive. The Waitomo Caves were absolutely stunning, where we got a lovely lunch, then on to Hobbiton. Our guide there, Kess, was full of snippets, but the atmosphere far exceeded my expectations. All of this ended with drinks in the Green Dragon. What an experience and great beer. It was a long day, with a lot of driving involved, but one that I will not forget. Well done Viator for everything. Hotel pickup, snacks on the bus, lunch and an entertaining driver. First class! Both of these places are worth the time taken to visit them.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Leanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Me and my 2 teenage sons really enjoyed this tour even though it is a very long day and just under 600klms travelled. Waitomo was very cool and would be worth spending a bit more time there to explore the other caves. Hobbiton was amazing and sooo gorgeous, it made it all worth while. I loved it, especially finishing off with a drink in the Green Dragon. We would definitely recommend this tour or maybe if you have more time do each separately.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

M Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Waitomo Caves were awesome! Amazing really. A must do.
Hobbiton was also nice. Beautiful country. The bus ride alone was interesting.
They should have coordinated travel from Hobbiton back to Auckland better. Waited outside without shelter for the bus in cold weather for 40 minutes.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Nathaniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An absolutely wonderful day. Waitomo Caves were beautiful. But, truthfully, the Hobbiton Movie Set was the highlight of the day. The site is spectacular and much better than expected. The guides were great! Well worth spending the day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Tamsin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a fantastic tour, action packed and really interesting. Everything went smoothly - all the pickups and transfers - and the guides were great. The duck tour was exceptional and the glowworms at Waitomo put on quite a show!

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Shaun C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Simply amazing! Waitomo Caves are surreal, mostly due to the Glowworms. It's a must see!

Hobbiton is also nice, and since I am a fan of the movies, I enjoyed my self in the set. The charm of the place though will make it fun for everyone, including people who didn't see the movies.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message