For many travelers visiting from North America, Sauvignon Blanc from the region of Marlborough is synonymous with the finest of New Zealand wines. The famous white from the top of the South Island is easily the country’s most well-known varietal, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

PLMcG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent day on Waiheke Island with Allen, our tour guide. He lives on the island and knew everything about everybody. His creative and clever one-liners and comments were hysterical and complimented the short ride between winery visits. Lunch at Stonyridge was worth the price of the tour itself. MudBrick was also beautiful and I'm sure lunch there would have been equally good. Fantastic views, beautiful scenery and a delicious lunch we all devoured. I would not hesitate to take this tour again, and will definitely visit these two wineries again on our next visit.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Brooke S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Throughly enjoyed the two wineries. The honey stop was also terrific, great for gifts! The pottery wasn't a highlight, but was good to stretch the legs. The knowledge of our guide was wonderful and greatly appreciated. The chocolate shop was a real highlight, make sure you save room to enjoy some truly delicious treats.
The pick of the day was the sculpture park, lots of fresh-air and the diversity in the art was inspiring. Really something for everyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Matakana Coast Food and Wine Tour from Auckland

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a wonderful guide, wonderful day. Everything was on time and well chosen and organized. My only complaint has to do with the wineries themselves and not the tours: spend less time yapping and let guests have more time to taste and BUY. We ran out of time at a couple places because of overly-long sales pitches.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Andy1968

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This wine tasting tour was one of the best tours we did on our entire trip. The bus driver was a 20 yr native of the island and extremely well informed about every part of it. The 3 wineries we visited all greeted our bus when we arrived with glasses of wine ready to serve and a special presentation about the winery for our tour group. The lunch at Stonyridge was excellent and right on time. David, the tour driver and guide even arranged for us to stop at the Annual Oyster Festival as an extra bonus and still kept everything efficient and running on time! All was very well done and we highly recommend this for a fun day and beautiful sites to see on Waiheke.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

carowan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour! Thoroughly enjoyed the wine tasting, especially at Ransom Wines. Dave, my tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Highlights was the lunch at Brick Bay and the visit to see the Kauri tree.... Worth every penny!

Doing what: Small-Group Matakana Coast Food and Wine Tour from Auckland

Josie1054

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Perfect in every way! Very comfy coach, upbeat, hilarious, informative driver, outstanding wineries, delicious olive oil stop, scenery out of this world....just wasn't long enough!!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Alaina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! Our tour guide was amazing! The wine, food, and olive out was great! The lunch that we had was delicious!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

CHRISTINE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Interesting and magnificiant landscapes, good wines ;) and an very original birthday cake :D

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

Peter N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Friendly, fun and informative bus driver and vineyard staff. Good selection of vineyards and excellent wine and beers. Great Experience,

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Nancy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour with knowledgeable guide and winery stops were excellent.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

R C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour for 3 wineries and a bonus olive oil factory. It was classy to be served wine as we stepped out of the coach, and it was even classier to be taken on a tour through the vineyard, rather than just being plonked down to swill wine. Very personable staff at the wineries, and some good vintages.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

bankerbabe50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really great tour. All the wineries were fantastic. Our lunch was excellent. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Neil R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely stunning tour, scenery and service. Only disappointment was the lunch at one of the wineries. I think a better lunch could be provided for the money paid for the tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour, our guide was David and he was great. His local knowledge of the island added to the enjoyment of the day, and all of the wineries (and the olive grove) were fantastic. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Mandale S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing! I loved the three wineries we visited and our tour guide was a delight. I would highly recommend this wine tour especially if they would be fortunate enough to have our tour guide. I appreciated that he had vast knowledge of all the wines, wineries and waiheke sights.
Thank you for putting together such an amazing tour

Regards
Mandi

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

One of the best wine tours I've been on in such a beautiful place. The only criticism I have would be that the last winery wasn't good for people with mobility issues. You'll definitely want to spend more time on Waiheke Island after the tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Bradley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My girlfriend and I recently went on this tour and what an amazing day it was! One of the best experiences of my life. Everything ran smoothly from start to finish. You can get the ferry earlier if you want to, we got the 11am ferry and got fantastic views of auckland skyline as we sped off to waiheke. All of the vineyards were beautiful and the wines were all great and normally reasonably expensive. Additional wines with lunch were at a reduced $5 as well.
The all day bus pass is great too, we stayed on the island for dinner and got the bus back for a later ferry which worked out well. Highlight of the day was the view at the top of mudbrick vineyard with horses grazing next to us and a glass of wine in hand. An all round well organised tour with a friendly knowledgable tour guide, Tracy.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was probably the highlight of our trip. Fabulous wines, friendly staff and people in town. The olive oil stop was amazing as well. One good idea that we took advantage of, get your tickets early, and you can go to the island a few hours before the tour starts and have some breakfast on the island and see the town a bit before the tour starts.

Made for a very memorable day, highly recommended.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Johan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I gave this trip as a birthday present to my sister who went with her friend. They had a wonderful day and told me that the guide was great fun and really informative and the food and wine superb. I suspect that would rate it a five star experience as everything relating to their travel and the day was a very happy, seamless experience!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour provided a good sampling of the wineries (and wines!) of Waiheke. David was a great guide and very informative about the local wine industry and history. A great day out and good way to compare the fruits of the vine!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Cindy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Glenn our tour leader was very personable, chatty and tried to be witty. Our visit to Mudbrick was lead by Tristan who was incredibly knowledgeable on growing the grapes, winemaking and the wines themselves. The views from the winery were spectacular and the wines were very good - the chardonnay was my favorite. Goldies served some wonderful cheeses and good wine. At the last winery Te Whau, the owner explained to us his philosophy of wine growing that is very different from the main stream, he was very passionate. The wines are of the Bordeaux style which are not to my taste, but were good. It was a great way to spend the afternoon on Valentines Day.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

kate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic from start to finish!
Great wine and great food - beautiful location, excellent tour guide / coach driver would highly recommend!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Leah B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We enjoyed the Waiheke Is.tour.. our guide was a local and very passionate about his homeland.. we visited 3 wineries and a brewery and enjoyed lunch under olive trees in the grove.. our only thing was the group size - we and #39;d prefer a small group tour next time..

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Kari J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a great tour. We really enjoyed getting out of the city and seeing the sights. Our favorite had to be Brick Bay Winery! The area is so beautiful and the lunch was amazing. Some of the best food we had while in New Zealand. As if on cue during lunch a flock of sheep came down the mountainside. Chocolate Brown was a high point as well. This was a small group tour but we were the only ones that day so we were able to move somewhat at our own pace which was nice. John our guide was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Matakana Coast Food and Wine Tour from Auckland

Rebecca C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

What a fantastic experience! The weather was amazing, the food and wine delicious and the whole tour ran smoothly. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in a great day out of Auckland

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message