For many travelers visiting from North America, Sauvignon Blanc from the region of Marlborough is synonymous with the finest of New Zealand wines. The famous white from the top of the South Island is easily the country’s most well-known varietal, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely stunning tour, scenery and service. Only disappointment was the lunch at one of the wineries. I think a better lunch could be provided for the money paid for the tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour, our guide was David and he was great. His local knowledge of the island added to the enjoyment of the day, and all of the wineries (and the olive grove) were fantastic. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing! I loved the three wineries we visited and our tour guide was a delight. I would highly recommend this wine tour especially if they would be fortunate enough to have our tour guide. I appreciated that he had vast knowledge of all the wines, wineries and waiheke sights.
Thank you for putting together such an amazing tour

Regards
Mandi

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

One of the best wine tours I've been on in such a beautiful place. The only criticism I have would be that the last winery wasn't good for people with mobility issues. You'll definitely want to spend more time on Waiheke Island after the tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My girlfriend and I recently went on this tour and what an amazing day it was! One of the best experiences of my life. Everything ran smoothly from start to finish. You can get the ferry earlier if you want to, we got the 11am ferry and got fantastic views of auckland skyline as we sped off to waiheke. All of the vineyards were beautiful and the wines were all great and normally reasonably expensive. Additional wines with lunch were at a reduced $5 as well.
The all day bus pass is great too, we stayed on the island for dinner and got the bus back for a later ferry which worked out well. Highlight of the day was the view at the top of mudbrick vineyard with horses grazing next to us and a glass of wine in hand. An all round well organised tour with a friendly knowledgable tour guide, Tracy.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was probably the highlight of our trip. Fabulous wines, friendly staff and people in town. The olive oil stop was amazing as well. One good idea that we took advantage of, get your tickets early, and you can go to the island a few hours before the tour starts and have some breakfast on the island and see the town a bit before the tour starts.

Made for a very memorable day, highly recommended.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I gave this trip as a birthday present to my sister who went with her friend. They had a wonderful day and told me that the guide was great fun and really informative and the food and wine superb. I suspect that would rate it a five star experience as everything relating to their travel and the day was a very happy, seamless experience!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour provided a good sampling of the wineries (and wines!) of Waiheke. David was a great guide and very informative about the local wine industry and history. A great day out and good way to compare the fruits of the vine!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Glenn our tour leader was very personable, chatty and tried to be witty. Our visit to Mudbrick was lead by Tristan who was incredibly knowledgeable on growing the grapes, winemaking and the wines themselves. The views from the winery were spectacular and the wines were very good - the chardonnay was my favorite. Goldies served some wonderful cheeses and good wine. At the last winery Te Whau, the owner explained to us his philosophy of wine growing that is very different from the main stream, he was very passionate. The wines are of the Bordeaux style which are not to my taste, but were good. It was a great way to spend the afternoon on Valentines Day.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic from start to finish!
Great wine and great food - beautiful location, excellent tour guide / coach driver would highly recommend!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was perfect! Tony our guide picked us up from the hotel right on time. We visited 4 wineries all wonderful and ate the best meal we had in New Zealand. We never felt rushed or pressured to buy the wines, although they were all fantastic and presented to us by experienced winery staff. It was a great day and one that I would recommend to anyone traveling to the area.

Doing what: Small-Group Kumeu Wine Country Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I enjoyed this tour overall but it was a bit rushed at times. I have been to Waiheke many years ago, love the island and wanted to visit the wineries this time. Slight delay at the ferry as my voucher did not have a tour booking no. so they had to search for it on the computer. The driver / guide was friendly and knowledgeable and it was good that he showed us sights around the Island as well as visiting the wineries. Lunch at Stonyridge in the olive grove was good but I was disappointed that we only got 2 tastings there and no reds. I enjoyed the olive place, but was not so impressed with Wild on Waiheke. I do not drink beer so was disappointed with that venue. Mudbrick was the best - lovely venue, we tasted some reds, walked through the vines to the hilltop and I would have liked more time there. Overall I expected more wine tastings and time at each vineyard. Wines for purchase were very expensive too. I stayed on in the town for a short while but there was little to do as it was after 4.00pm and places were closing.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Well done. Enjoyed the wine tour and the lunch was wonderful and in a beautiful setting. Would have liked more time at the end to explore but otherwise, very nice.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Only complaint is too rushed to enjoy last stop which is the nicest. The could skip the Wild winery with the beer and rum. Other three stops nice.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour itself was nice and there were informative guides at each winery. Lunch was great and definitely more substantial than a 'light' lunch! However it may have been helpful to explain that the ferry across is with everyone else, and that we had to go up to the ticketing office with the voucher.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message