• USD ($)
  • English
For many travelers visiting from North America, Sauvignon Blanc from the region of Marlborough is synonymous with the finest of New Zealand wines. The famous white from the top of the South Island is easily the country’s most well-known varietal, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I gave this trip as a birthday present to my sister who went with her friend. They had a wonderful day and told me that the guide was great fun and really informative and the food and wine superb. I suspect that would rate it a five star experience as everything relating to their travel and the day was a very happy, seamless experience!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour provided a good sampling of the wineries (and wines!) of Waiheke. David was a great guide and very informative about the local wine industry and history. A great day out and good way to compare the fruits of the vine!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Glenn our tour leader was very personable, chatty and tried to be witty. Our visit to Mudbrick was lead by Tristan who was incredibly knowledgeable on growing the grapes, winemaking and the wines themselves. The views from the winery were spectacular and the wines were very good - the chardonnay was my favorite. Goldies served some wonderful cheeses and good wine. At the last winery Te Whau, the owner explained to us his philosophy of wine growing that is very different from the main stream, he was very passionate. The wines are of the Bordeaux style which are not to my taste, but were good. It was a great way to spend the afternoon on Valentines Day.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Wine Tasting Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic from start to finish!
Great wine and great food - beautiful location, excellent tour guide / coach driver would highly recommend!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was perfect! Tony our guide picked us up from the hotel right on time. We visited 4 wineries all wonderful and ate the best meal we had in New Zealand. We never felt rushed or pressured to buy the wines, although they were all fantastic and presented to us by experienced winery staff. It was a great day and one that I would recommend to anyone traveling to the area.

Doing what: Small-Group Kumeu Wine Country Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

OK tour, but a bit rushed. Could cut out the "wild" winery, not really a winery but a tourist trap. Lunch OK and guide interesting. Would recommend taking later ferry back and spending more time at Mudbrick winery.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A no-stress way to see Waiheke Island and sample some wines. Very friendly, informative bus driver who kept us to our timetable without detracting from the tour. All places visited were hosted by friendly and professional people. Would recommend this tour to those not wanting to organise selves.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Very nice tour- we had not been on any wine tours previously, and learned alot. One of the wineries was not open initially, so we had to go back. Note that there appears to be a presumption that a purchase will be made at each winery.

Doing what: Small-Group Kumeu Wine Country Tour from Auckland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The first vineyard Stoney ridge which we had lunch, set tables up outside due to a wedding event,it rained
and the set up was poor for eating.two very small wine tastes and then told to buy wine from bar.
The person giving the tour was hard to understand,next visit to olive factory was fine but would have
been better to stay longer at the three vineyards we visited'
The tour gives a fair example of islands vineyards but is not great value for money.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message