Highlighting 11 penal colonies out of the thousands that Britain established on the continent to throughout the 18th and 19th centuries, this series of heritage sites, declared in 2010, are spread across all across Australia. They collectively ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Both tours were very entertaining and informative. Will recommend to anyone. The Hobart Coach Tram tour was great as it gave an overview to the city which then allowed us to go to the places that interested us.
Thank you

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The Tram trip was interesting and showed far more of Hobart than we expected. The driver was knowledgeable and fun and we enjoyed the experience.
Port Arthur was also a really interesting day out. We had an initial talk by a Guide before being let loose to make our own way round the larger than anticipated site. A bit spooky in places but certainly worth a visit with lots of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a fun day and the driver was very informative and knew the history well. He was on time to collect us in a very clean small bus.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was really good, there's lots to see and are given ample time to fit it all in.

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a fantastic opportunity to experience the history of a place like Port Arthur. The tour from the moment of pickup through to delivery back to the hotel was professional and courteous. The tour driver was A being both knowledgeable and friendly.
Port Arthur itself is wonderful. So much to see and experience. If history is your thing then this is the one tour you must take

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

These tours were fantastic, very informative and relaxed..

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Had a great time, both the city tour and Port Arthur tour were great. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Great value, definitely recommend this company and tour.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Both my tours were excellent. Everything happened when it should have. THe tram tour was lovely as there were only a few of us on the bus so it felt very personal. The driver's (Kevin) knowledge was very in depth, so I learnt a lot in a short time.

The driver on the Port Arthur tour (Kim) was also very good. I like the fact that we were left to our own devices to look wherever we wanted. Hope to come back to Hobart again one day to do more sightseeing. Thank you for a lovely time.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

An excellent tour, with great tour commentary, around a lovely city. A great way to get a sense of Hobart. Port Arthur Tour was also excellent. Great commentary, plenty of time at the site to explore and understand the history. Port Arthur is a beautiful spot, contrasted with some serious and grim history. A lovely bus tour there and back, with some stops along the way at points of interest. A gret tour for those on a short time frame, or wanting to get a quick sense of what else to see in Hobart.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great way to start your visit. Good overview of things to do. Driver great

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I really enjoyed this tour, it's a great way to see Port Arthur. The bus driver was informative on the drive down and gave advice on the 'must sees' which helped to work out where to go first. Don't miss the Separate Prison and the Commandants House which have restored and give a good example the life at Port Arthur. The walking tour of the Isle of the Dead was also a great way to hear more about the convicts and their lives.

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Thanks for a great tour, we enjoyed whole day, but we just couldn't take it all in, in one day.

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver was very entertaining and informative, the tour was wonderful. Loved the views and countryside.
Well worth the money.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The Port Arthur Tour was my second visit and one highly recommended. It's a place that's very special and you feel the history and presence of 'convicts past' as you walk around the very large site. There's too much to do in one day (hence my return visit after many years). The drive from Hobart showed the effects of the Summer's bushfires and the devastation caused but nature was already re-establishing itself and many houses were in the process of being re-built. The tour was very good value and if you're interested in Social History (like myself), a 'must' to have an insight into Tasmania's past.
The Coach Tram Tour of Hobart was an extra and, although a novel experience, a bit disappointing. The tram was 'off-road' which meant having a minibus alternative, but the advantage of this is, we had access to the narrow streets of Battery Point, a significant historical part of the city. A visit to the Botanical Gardens was wonderful. Overall the tour was fine as an introduction to the sights and sounds of Hobart!

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Combines the highlights of Hobart and the history of Port Arthur and Tasmania. Tour guides were fun and gave excellent commentaries along the way. Recommend this value for money tour.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Port Arthur tour cancelled by fires.
City tour was good.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very interesting and informative

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Due to the bushfires we were unable to take our much anticipated trip to Port Arthur. However the tour organisers transferred us to another day trip at no extra cost. We were very impressed with this service.

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Delightful, informative tour. A great day.

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

DougC
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Weather was great, Tour was great!
Tasman Arch and Devil's Kitchen were worthwhile extras. Isle of the Dead tour and tales most interesting.

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

Cali
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Well worth the trip! Loved the Isle of the Dead tour though a little rushed. The only negative in the day was the bus driver's inappropriate commentary on the way down, asking us to imagine the horrible stretch marks and breasts of his ancestor after having 22 children. He also gave the wrong tickets to a couple who got off the bus. When he realised he said "Oh well, they don't speak English anyway".

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Well organise tour; friendly staff

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Fantastic tour. really loved it. The Isle of the dead was disapointing, but the rest of the settlement was very impressive.

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message