Insider's Guide to Australia

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Australia and New Zealand may be known for their wide open spaces, majestic mountains and interesting (and sometimes terrifying) wildlife, but don’t discount their softer sides. Whether you’re interested in scuba diving or fine art, jet boating or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Geoffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour, which we highly recommend and at half the price the ship charged,so great value for money

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Darrell T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour at half the price of that offered by our ship. We missed the train at Dunedin station , but were bussed through wonderful scenery to a train station in the mountains and had a great run back into Dunedin. Can recommend a pie on the train washed down with an 1812 beer. City tour most informative.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Lynette Joy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour and experience with Good Company Tours. Fantastic guided tour of Olverston house, a good amount of time to explore Diunedin itself before the highly scenic and informative afternoon city sight tour. Tour actually explored more of the district of Dunedin, than just the city. The scenery was beautiful and we were given fantastic historical information.. Would highly recommend Good Company Tours.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Jillian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Train journey a must see.
Knowledgable driver for city tour.
Well done and far better value than ship tour.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Nigel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was our 14th and best ever cruise. No one item was outstanding but food, the crew, entertainment and fellow passengers were all excellent.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, in a beautiful place to see. Dunedin was one of my favorite places in New Zealand! We missed the train thought but saw wonderful countryside on the way to catch-up.....

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Gus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely first class. We where on a cruise and we opted to take this tour as opposed to a similar tour offered by the cruise line. The cruise tour would have cost us twice the amount for basically the same tour visiting the same places.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Michelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Scenery was spectacular. Commentary was very helpful. The bus tour around some of Dunedin's sites was very informative. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour drivers very informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour drivers very informative

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Delphine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a fantastic day on the train journey. Took many pictures and met some interesting people. The train was comfortable and the hot pie for lunch was great. The tour of Dunedin was special. Our driver was very informative and gave us photo times.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Jay b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our Host was fantastic with his local knowledge

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The gorge train trip was excellent, the tour leader on the train was funny and informative. The Dunedin tour was also interesting, however there was probably a little too much emphasis on the student accommodation side to Dunedin

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Rollin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent only way to describe this tour. Seeing the scenery on the train tour is a must to appreciating the beauty of New Zealand.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Douglas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was the best city tour we have done and Olveston House was wonderful

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and myself joined the Taiera Railway Gorge Tour on 23 November 2015 and found it to be one of the most enjoyable experiences we have undertaken. The commentary throughout the trip was first class with the history of the line fully explained with many satirical comments included. The scenery was absolutely breathtaking and changed with each kilometre travelled. Even though the Tour was full there were no complaints about the service and food was sold at sensible prices. I would not hesitate to recommend this Excursion to any person we know who may be travelling to New Zealand. Congratulations to Viator for organising such a wonderful Tour.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Yun R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great Tour, Very convenient. Strongly recommended.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Denis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed the train journey followed by a city tour. Driver Richard very informative. Cost of trip about half of that offered by Celebrity ship. Will definitely use Viator again.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Jan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good railway trip, great scenery. City tour was great, very beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Graham S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A very well organised tour and covered everything promised. Also much cheaper and more extensive than that offerd on the cruise.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

flockhound

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Brilliant Tour. The viewing of Olveston House was a real insight to the way of life for the wealthy people back in history. The house is preserved in it's original condition complete with furnishings and decor. The City tour was interesting and informative. For a short time in Dunedin as a cruise visitor this trip gave a genuine feel for the place, one of the nicest ports of call. A break was built into the tour to allow time to explore the City centre should you wish to do so. Great value and efficient booking and organisation.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip to Olveston House with driver/guide Adele, who saw us settled into the house with the volunteer house guide. She then went out of her way to take us to the Botanic Gardens and collected us afterwards for a drive back to our ship. Very good service, very good company, very good value.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

franky Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent tour and the driver tried to please us and get us back to the ship on time as the train schedule was delayed.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Margaret E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip.....well worth the cost.
The train trip was amazing and the scenery was spectacular.
Loved the tour around Dunedin, and our bus driver Richard was very knowledgable on his hometown...
The best part was the cost....nearly half price to what the ship was asking for a simlar tour....
Would definitely recommend this excursion.....

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

June E D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I chose this tour over the shore excursion offered by the cruise line. There was no meal included but we got a good city tour instead for less money. The city tour commenced after the train ride which was spectacular. The landscape went from city to farmland to mountains. There was live narration to provide commentary. The coaches were comfortable and there was a cafe car with sandwiches and beverages. The cafe car accepted USD and AUD and I laughed with the attendent about tourists carrying three different currencies. Our bus driver, David, told one personal story that for me demonstrated the character of New Zealanders. All in all I would highly recommend this tour and David an ambassador for his country.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message