Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Baux de Provence

Les Baux-de-Provence is a charming town in the Provence region, and whose name refers to its location: in Provençal, a baou is a rocky spur. Baux-de-Provence has a fantastic position amidst the Alpilles mountains, and is considered to be one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 482 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Walters2468

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very pleasant and informative guide. Excellent experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Merle E V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very well done and informative.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sylvain gave us a wonderful taste of this fantastic area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Alexander L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

3 interesting and different villages, Rousillion, Gordes and Le Baux but maybe cut the time down at each to 30 mins which would give an extra half an hour at the Pont du Gard as we did not have enough time to see the exhibition which looked very interesting.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Denise M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The pick-up at the hotel was on time and our guide, Melanie, was lovely. She was very knowledgeable but did not spend the entire time talking, giving us time to enjoy the countryside as we drove from town to town. I loved seeing all the places we went, but would have liked a little more time exploring. Of course, that would mean cutting out one of the stops. Hard choices!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Sunshine P United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely recommended if you want a day to get just a taste of the South of France. From Paris, to the train station, to Avignon, the guides were knowledgeable and helpful. We would have liked to spent more of the sites the walled city of Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Pont du Gard but we expected to be on a tight schedule since it was only a day. But even just the experience of riding the high speed TGV was also a highlight for us - less than a three hour ride to such beautiful sites. Only means we will visit again for a longer trip because there is just so much to see an experience.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

chapter.4

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Was disappointed that the company did not have other people interested in this tour. They kindly transferred my booking to the Luberon and Lavender Museum tour. The hilltop towns of Gordes and Roussillon were beautiful and worth the visit.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Fernando

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Got to see at least two medieval cities, most interesting.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall an excellent tour. Marc was very knowledgeable about Provence and we learned a lot about the region. We were with a nice group which helped make the day very enjoyable. Marc arrived on time, the vehicle was comfortable we were not in back seat though, we got back on time and Marc's English was excellent.
Comments:
Felt a little rushed during day and would have liked more time in a couple of places.
There was one cliuent on a half day tour, the rest of us were full day. Therefore had to return to starting point which may have been the reason we were short on time. Suggest having tour with people who have same schedule.
For a!most 300 kind of expected lunch would have been provided or at least some beverages.
in spite of these comments would highly recommend tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great pace! Great sites! Great guide(Julien). My only recommendation would be to swap the lavender museum for a wine tasting or cheese tasting. This tour was exactly what I was looking for. I only had 36 hours in Provence and with work, didn and #39;t have time to research a trip. A taste of Provence.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots to see and very enjoyable. Good site choice. Friendly, upbeat tour guide, Violet.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Evelyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very good and our guide was great. This tour gave the background of the areas. I t allowed me to see more and would be better able to choose one or two spots to revisit.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was essentially transportation with information along the drive. Cedric was a great guide and we enjoyed his talks. We had enough time to explore and the winery was fantastic -and tasty

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Violette was knowledgeable friendly and flexible. As we were the only guests in the afternoon she was able to make some changes to eliminate attractions we had already seen, thus increasing our overall enjoyment.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Sandra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We learned so much history and loved seeing the scenery that inspired Van Gogh. It was a busy day that did not leave a lot of time to fully explore each town. But overall, well worth it.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Joan H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our tour, as the amount to see seemed just about right. Yet, did not need to spend so much time at the Lavender museum and store. Violette was a nice tour guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Violet was wonderful, competent, and informative. We would highly recommend this tour especially if you are not traveling with a car.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Emanuel gave us an amazing Grand tour of Provance. His knowledge of the places he took us and the surrounding areas was excellent. The weather was beautiful which added to the experience. Overall it was an enjoyable day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see places outside Avignon.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Gina Huang Taiwan

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Winter is very cold and the store are closed, it's not interesting.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Justin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Pick up was on time. I had a lovely afternoon driving around the Avignon countryside. Great for a snap shot of the country side if you are time constrained.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was wonderfully handled - my tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message