Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Baux de Provence

Les Baux-de-Provence is a charming town in the Provence region, and whose name refers to its location: in Provençal, a baou is a rocky spur. Baux-de-Provence has a fantastic position amidst the Alpilles mountains, and is considered to be one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 463 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Justin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Pick up was on time. I had a lovely afternoon driving around the Avignon countryside. Great for a snap shot of the country side if you are time constrained.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was wonderfully handled - my tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Yana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There was a splendid tour, rather informative, and at the same time relaxing and very well organized. How was it possible to visit so many fantastic places within the single day so many impressions, emotions and memories. Thanks to the excellent guide Julien our multinational group was feeling nothing but comfort and relaxing in this trip. Julien is the true professional, ready to answer any question, with very friendly and attentive attitude to each person in his group. I am really thankful to Viator and to Julien for this Grand Day in Provence, - such tours can be definitely strongly recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

cdavies

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We thought the tour was quite good. The one improvement that could be made, is to have the stops guided by the driver. We had Carole who was incredibly knowledgable. She gave us lots of background information while driving but it would have been better while actually touring the sites.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

EDUARDO B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

A nice trip, but I'd suggest to make it different. I think it should start by visiting Nimes and Uzes Nimes is one of the most charming cities I've ever been to, and to finish in the olive and wine tasting. The tasting was good, but at 9 o clock in the morning, it was a little bit weird

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, just pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard when it was too dark to see properly

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Wiiliam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We did the Lavender tour that included a tour of the lavender museum and side trips to Gordes and Rousilon. Small coach and just eight of us made it great. Excellent tour guide who was right on time and very engaging. We did the Papal Palace on our own, which is a must see.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Independent City Tour

A M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I highly recommend this tour. It gives a great overview of the area and the visit to the olive and wine farms were great. What a wonderful surprise was the visit to
Baux de Provence, breathtaking views of Provence. Our tour guide was right on time and made the tour very pleasant. Thank you.

Doing what: Les Baux de Provence Tour from Avignon: Provencal Wine and Olive Oil

Mary Jane B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Marc made our full day tour very personal with his knowledge and personality. He was very flexible in accommodating our interests. We enjoyed each of the towns: Arles, Les Baux-en-Provence and St Remy and he provided us with fascinating information about the importance of each. There were only four of us on this tour, which permitted a most enjoyable time. At each stop, Marc gave us information, then let us explore on our own during very reasonable timeframes.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Mary Jane B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Marc made our full day tour very personal with his knowledge and personality. He was very flexible in accommodating our interests. We enjoyed each of the towns: Arles, Les Baux-en-Provence and St Remy and he provided us with fascinating information about the importance of each. There were only four of us on this tour, which permitted a most enjoyable time. At each stop, Marc gave us information, then let us explore on our own during very reasonable timeframes.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Nina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was amazing. I met amazing people and my tour guide Melanie was extrotinary. Her smile and personality made the day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Went to beautiful sights in Provence while staying in Avignon. The tour was the highlight.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Bronwyn f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fabulous itinerary. My only suggestion would be to make it a full day tour with more time especially at the castle. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Giuseppe P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed every aspect of the tour, but it involved a lot of travelling. It became a very long day. It may be better spread over two days with adequate time for a lunch break in one of the pituresque villages.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Giovanna G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

We enjoyed the trip, but felt rushed. The driver/guide was great. Would have preferred to skip the lavender museum and spend more time in Gordes. We expected to be out all day, but ended up being combined with others who had only booked half day excursions which meant going back to Avignon for drop off/pick up at noon and grabbing a quick lunch to eat in the car rather than a relaxed lunch in Les Baux as per the itinerary write-up. We were not advised in advance or given an opportunity to change our dates. This was very disappointing!!! The places visited were fantastic - customer service on the part of the tour operator very poor!!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Darren N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to experience Provence in a day!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Philip D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent, well paced and good range of stops.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

GLORY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was excellent and enjoyed it very much,we visited many beautiful small towns, Julien our tour guide and driver is very knowledgeable about the places we visited and even gave us tips about local food still waiting for his grandmother lamb recipe though :. I would have like to see the hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed. than the visit to the lavender museum, one of the lady with us could not go in because she has allergic to perfumes, so she had to wait for us outside. My favourite are Roussillon and the dry-stone village of Gordes, our last stop was in Pont du Gard bridge which is just fantastic and in perfect time. We also visited and enjoyed a little shopping in the market. I highly recommend this tour. We also took the lavender tour with this company and was happy with their service.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

petered2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great day with our guide Renault. He gave us lots of information, we had enough time in each stop to enjoy ourselves and the scenery was fantastic. The wine testing was informative and tasty, even if the wine was a bit expensive to buy.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a very comprehensive tour. The guide was excellent and had great knowledge of the area. We really enjoyed it. We highly recommend it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Visits to beautiful French villages were very enjoyable.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message