Les Baux-de-Provence is a charming town in the Provence region, and whose name refers to its location: in Provençal, a baou is a rocky spur. Baux-de-Provence has a fantastic position amidst the Alpilles mountains, and is considered to be one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 430 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour with an excellent guide and we would highly recommend it.. The only suggestion we would like to make is that some provision be made for a lunch break.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent tour, run by Provence Reservations. Anne, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and went out of her way to make sure we got the most of the day. It was a long day, and we covered around 20km, and about 6 main stops, with sufficient time in each. The Cloitre St Paul asylum where Van Gogh stayed was a worthwhile addition to the tour - it was amazing to see the actual scenes Van Gogh painted!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

really fun...and long day! I wish we had more time to swim at Pont Du Gard. The tour guide gives a little history on each place and basically just lets you roam around for a while. Nice!

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

With only one free day available on our Paris trip, this tour is worth the time and cost if you want to see a bit of Provence. Up early and nearly 6 hours going and coming on the comfortable, high-speed train, but you get to see quite a bit in a short time in Avignon and the surrounding area. We were very pleased.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

cw
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide first of all. The tour covered a lot of places and would recommend if this is your first visit to the area and want a bit of overview of things for future visits. Will definitely book again from the tour company and the guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Daniel was an excellent guide and driver. The villages were more than we had expected. The variety of experiences was fantastic. A group lunch in Asolo was the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were only spending 3 nights in Avignon. The day trip was exactly what we need to have a taster of Provence. We went to a few villages 'and other sites. We felt like we did and saw a lot in one day, but we didn't feel rushed. Our guide was very friendly and good.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was an interesting tour however I was disappointed that I did not see any lavender fields. The brochure and description/photos of the tour gave you the impression that you would.

This year the lavender fields were harvested early so I do understand that. However, my understanding is that they really didn't have many, if any, lavender fields in the areas that this tour covers. This was a little disappointing but it was still great to see Avignon, the Popes Palace, the Pont du Gard, etc.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. A long and full day but well worth it. The guide knew exactly how much time to leave us at each location never too long and always had enough time. We loved everywhere we went. So hard to pick a favorite :

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I took this half-day tour with 8 others in a mini-bus. Our driver and guide, Marc was very informative about Provence and chatted about it on our way to three sites: Pont du Gard, and the delightful villages of Gordes and Les Baux de Provence. For me the highlight was Pont du Gard which I have wanted to see for a long time, built by the Romans as part of the aqueduct serving Nimes. The two villages contrast each other and were memorable. Sufficient time was allowed for us to explore each of the sites and Marc gave us good advice regarding what to see as we independently explored the sites. Our tour was on a Monday so it omitted the village of Rousillon, which was a pity, but I only had the Monday free in Avignon. There is around 1 hour driving between each of the sites but this time was used by Marc to impart knowledge of Provence and to answer questions. This was a good tour, considering the time limit of half a day. The tour left me feeling hungry to see more of Provence, and a full-day tour might have been better if I had had the time but at least I did get the flavour of the place and had a good time. Marc advised us that private tours can be taken and these can be tailored around the wishes of the clients - not a bad idea.
Visited June 2015

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was long but absolutely wonderful. It covered places that we couldn't get to without a car. Thank you to Carol who was very informative and delightful company. We would not hesitate to recommend this tour. Provence is truly spectacular.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

this tour was a full on day that exceeded our expectations. good value for money and gave us a full appreciation of the Provence area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour for people who only have half day to explore Provence.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and discussed any topic the group brought up. We learned all about the Roman ruins that are kept in great condition.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Guide cum driver Ms Solene was excellent.
When we left our wine purchased during the tour in the vehicle when the tour had ended.
She took the trouble to bring them to our hotel.
We appreciate it very much.
She is flexible and kind and hardworking too.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was very good. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the towns of Les Baux and Orange as well as wine tasting in Chateau Neuf du Papes. We would have liked longer in Arles and went to St Remy which we were not expecting. All in all very enjoyable.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

If your interested in Van Gogh then this is a great trip.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a very good tour of the top sites in the area, the aqueduct was breathtaking. And the time atLes Bauxite, Nimes, and Uzes was about right. However, two complaints about the tour guide: her focus on two passengers in the front of the van answering there many questions off- line versus the group in the van and her apparent unawareness of the need for nature breaks on a very hot day when water consumption is needed. I found my own stops of necessity.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Tour guide pick up wrong person n we hv waited for 30 minutes under 35degree weather, making waste of time on the tour n so rush for everything. Tour guide should verify with voucher instead of pick up any person he saw on the point.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Guide/Driver was not very flexible.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Terrible driver Emily from Provence Reservation. First she was late which she blamed her colleague. Then she came with wrong equipment so she blamed her company. The tour started an hour late. She didn't control the time at each stop. Instead, she chose not to drop everyone off at hotels in the end.

Doing what: Best Saint Remy, Les Baux and Pont du Gard Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

lovely tour, lovely guide julien, highly recommended - even to those who don't like tours, like me!

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Julien, our guide was superb!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was exactly what I was looking for; transport, a little local info and time to explore independently.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message