Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Baux de Provence

Les Baux-de-Provence is a charming town in the Provence region, and whose name refers to its location: in Provençal, a baou is a rocky spur. Baux-de-Provence has a fantastic position amidst the Alpilles mountains, and is considered to be one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 503 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roger C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great afternoon in Provence-all the villages were interesting and we had some free time in each one. The highlight was the Pont du Gard an amazing engineering feat! Our guide, Remy, was terrific and our small group of 8 meant we weren't waiting around for people at each stop

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Shu L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My tour was amazing and I highly recommend this tour to everyone looking to see the French countryside. I was travelling alone and did not want to rent a car so this small tour was a perfect way to see St Remy, Les Baux, Pont du Gard, the Lavender Museum, Roussillon, and Gordes. Bring a lunch with you if you do not want to buy lunch at one of the stops. Would recommend bringing a lunch and maybe picnic for a bit at the Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an interesting day and we visited some fantastic French villages. The guide Marc was very knowledgeable, on time and really was a lot of fun

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an interesting day and we visited some fantastic French villages. The guide Marc was very knowledgeable, on time and really was a lot of fun

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

tauloonh New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

we had an excellent day and saw many beautiful towns that truly reflect what Provence is. The guide/driver Phillipe Hendricks is superb. Very interesting chap that makes the long day very exciting. Highly recommended for those who wants to experience what Provence can offer.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day was perfect.... The drive was delightful, our guide was knowledgable, friendly, and engaging. His obvious love of the country and the art of Van Gogh, made the trip that much more meaningful.

Doing what: Saint Remy, Les Baux and Pont du Gard Small Group Day Trip

Alice Shiqing H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We skipped Notre Dame since this was so easy to access and before this trip, we had already being there twice. Cassis is a very lovely village. I would strongly recommend to go this place. The boat ride to Calanques was fabulous experience. This is the high light of this tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

CuppyFox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was totally worth it! Without a car it would have taken a week to see all the places we did in one day. I loved the wine-tasting at Chateauneuf-de-Pape, Pont du Gard, and the village of Rouissillon. Our guide Phillipe was great, he was knowledgable and kept the energy going!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Pamela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My guide, Julian was professional, knowledgeable and made the trip greatly enjoyable. All attractions of the area were explained in detail. I had all the time needed to experience the vinyards and olive oil production. He was flexible with some extra time we visited the weekly farmers market.

Doing what: Les Baux de Provence Tour from Avignon: Provencal Wine and Olive Oil

Michael S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This ended up being the high light of our 3 week trip.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

hebigs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed our day with Maude. She was a great guide and knew so much about the area. It was nice to leave the driving and parking! into the several villages we visited to someone else! This way we could just focus on discovering. The only downside is that there was very little time in Gordes for lunch 45 minutes is not long enough and we probably would have preferred to skip Les Baux de Provence as it is very touristic.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Lindaandmilan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our day tour of the Roman viaduct and three hill towns. We were especially pleased with your tour guide, Jeremy, who went out of his way to accommodate us, even calling in to allow us to be transported back to our hotel in Arles. The only unforeseen glitch was a two hour delay due to an accident on the main highway. We enjoyed every minute of the time, even the waiting in traffic.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Pamela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fantastic tour! Emilie was a wonderful tour guide! She was extremely knowledgeable and was so nice! All sites were awesome and I loved the village visits - Les Baux, Gordes, and Roussillon. Top rate day. I want to go back to Provence! We picked a perfect tour.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Anna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great! The time is just nice for all the destinations listed. Emmanuel is very informative too. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Katherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Because we had only 3 days in Avignon, we signed up for this tour. I had wanted to see all these places and had originally planned to rent a car and drive to them. I am very glad we took the tour instead. We could never have found, much less driven to, all these places by ourselves. Especially for this price. They are all beautiful. My friend said she could have done with one less, but which one? They were all amazing places I was so glad to see. The partner group, Provence tours arranged the tours by language, and our guide Violette was superbly informative and friendly while keeping us on track for the day. We had a nice Mercedes 8 passenger van that was a comfortable ride with air conditioning. Bring snacks and water. No time allowed for a sit down meal. We stopped for sandwiches at one point. It was a 12 hour day, but I would do it again.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Philomena K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip was excellent. We especially enjoyed the stop at Gordes. It is such a beautiful and picturesque village. Pont du Gard was amazing. It is such an engineering feat. Our guide, Emilie, was very good. She interspersed knowledgeable tidbits throughout the drive. We would definitely use your group again.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Gerard L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our Tour Guide, Adeline, please excuse the spelling was very good and informative. Her driving was smooth and steady so no one ended up sick. The tour section of Arles is something I would have liked longer, but that is easily said when I know nothing of the city. We loved Les Baux and the chance to wander. This is such a beautiful town. The crown of the tour was the hospital where Van Gogh stayed. I expected something almost morbid, but it was quite the opposite. I would not liked to have been a customer of the hospital, but the colours and scenery were fabulous. Being able to be where Vincent himself was just blew me away. This was a very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

DUNG TRI D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide is very nice and give us a lot of interest info relevant to the places that we visit

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

SinGwanNatalie L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We love the ancient theatre of Orange and the wine tasting tour at Chateauneuf du Pape, but the stay in Gordes and Les Baux-de-Povence could be shorter and save some time for the Port du Gard.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

velobuff

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

While we did go to many sites in Provence on the all day tour, the trip seemed rushed, especially in the afternoon when we barely had 30 minutes to walk from where we parked, get gelato, see the town for a few minutes, and then rush back. We were always behind and it was clear that it was our guide's first week on the job as we got lost a little. Lunch was confusing because the guide thought we brought lunch with us to eat in the van. Instead of this trip, I'd recommend splitting it up into 2 all-day trips so you actually remember where you went. With that said, some of the small towns have nothing in them except the main sites and then the same touristy shops, glace, and other shops that are in every other town so maybe that's why we only spent a few mins in the smaller towns.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Walters2468

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very pleasant and informative guide. Excellent experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Merle E V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very well done and informative.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sylvain gave us a wonderful taste of this fantastic area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Alexander L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

3 interesting and different villages, Rousillion, Gordes and Le Baux but maybe cut the time down at each to 30 mins which would give an extra half an hour at the Pont du Gard as we did not have enough time to see the exhibition which looked very interesting.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message