Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Chateauneuf-du-Pape

If you're even moderately familiar with wines, chances are you've heard of Chateauneuf-du-Pape. Previously considered an inferior wine, Chateauneuf-du-Pape reds are now held in high esteem and can put quite the dent in your wallet. But what comes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The afternoon vineyard tour to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, and the tastings were superb. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Avignon. My only regret was not buying any Tavel or Lirac.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide picked us up at our hotel and for this tour, it turned out, it was only the two of us and one other person. Our guide, Caroline, was very personable, knowledgeable and enjoyable. She also provided a mini-tour of Avignon as we headed out of town toward the wine country. We first went to a Tavel winery which specializes in Rose wines. We tasted three different wines - a white, a red, and a Rose. All were wonderful. The winery guide provided a lot of interesting information about the Cote-du-Rhone wine region. Very informative. After this visit, we headed to Chateauneuf-du-Pape where we went to another winery. At this winery we received a tour of the winery and the various wine aging areas. After the tour, we tasted 4 or 5 different wines - one white and the rest reds. Also very wonderful. Our winery tour guide was very entertaining and lots of fun. All in all a very enjoyable and worthwhile afternoon. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Mike C
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was cancelled, but instead we went to 2 wineries in Chateauneuf-du-Pape, which was very enjoyable

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This wasn't actually the trip we went on as we were asked if we minded changing our date to the next day. This wasn't a problem for us and we went to Orange and Chateauneuf-du-Pape instead. Our tour guide Anna was prompt and very informative. Orange was lovely, well worth a visit.The wine tasting was a good experience. We thought it was good value for money.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My husband and I loved this day trip!! Great way to see a lot of the surrounding Provence area and sights. Well planned and organized day... we saw all of our scheduled sights in leisure time. Our guide Ann was wonderful, punctual and knowledgeable. We really liked our small group setting of 8. The Orange antic Theatre and triumphal arch, Pont du Gard, Les Baux, Gordes and Roussillon were fantastic and definitely worth visiting! Loved touring and sampling at Chateauneuf du Pape winery (learned a lot too)! Fun and Special day...highly recommend Le Grand Tour!!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

This review is for the "Grand Tour" of Provence. Sites visited included Orange, Chateauneuf de Pape, Roussilon, Les Baux, Gordes, and the Pont du Garde. I was pleasantly surprised by the tour. I had found it hard to believe that so many visits to widely separated areas could be accomplished in so short a time without extremely short stays and a "rushed" feeling. That was not the case. We stopped at all the scheduled places and had ample free time at each stop to wander around, see the sights, and enjoy ourselves. Our driver/guide was very nice and informative. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

We really liked our tour to Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape. Our tour guide,Virginie, was just great! She was friendly and she answered all questions.We enjoyed the wine tasting and visting Orange. We recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour of the countryside and theatre were fantastic but the Chateauneuf du Pape was even better. The wines were great and the sommelier was not only knowledgeable but friendly and funny.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

A rushed tour, squeezing in a lot. The Antique Theater was great, the wine tasting was at Chateauneuf du Papes, which was a beautiful place by itself. The wine was disappointing but still worth the side trip. The villages visited were impressively beautiful. The time in each was very limited, so that there was little time to explore. If you want an overview of Provence, this tour will do the trick. It might leave you wanting to return for a second visit to one or two places to spend more time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Tara W
Denmark

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

This trip was short and sweet - just a quick stop in Orange at the Roman amphitheater, and a drive through the Chateauneuf-du-Pape vineyards followed by a stop at a wine cellar & shop with a quick lesson and tasting. We thought it was well timed, and of course the scenery was fantastic. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, and obviously passionate about wine.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The tour was very nice, and the guide was very gentle. The roman theater in Orange is simply fantastic: immense and very well preserved. I liked the visit to Chateauneuf du Pape, although I'd imagined we would have more contact with the cellars and the production.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message