• USD ($)
  • English
When you stand at the precipice of the precariously perched Gordes in Provence and look into the valley below, you'll see a road leading away towards Apt. See it? That road is thousands of years old, built by the Romans. So in case the town itself ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Far exceeded my expectations. Marie our charming guide was a safe driver and full of information on the various locations we visited. Sunday Antique markets L'Isle sur le Sorgue. At Musee Lavande it was very interesting to learn about planting, harvest and production and lovely products to buy. Roussillon, Gordes and Les Baux all wonderful towns to explore. I would highly recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I loved this tour! It was raining in the morning, but we still had a great time. Our tour guide was fun, upbeat and so knowledgeable! We even made an extra stop at an olive oil mill for tasting. The lavender museum as well as the beautiful towns of St Remy, Gordes, Roussillon, Les Baux and the Roman aqueduct, Pont du Gard, were all fascinating. It couldn't have been more perfect - just the right mixture of free time and guided tour!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a very good time. Wish we had more time in Roussillon and Gordes...

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had an excellent time with this tour on 10 September 2013. Our guide, Julian (not sure about the exact spelling of his name), made it all worth while. He was prompt, informative, and accommodating in the schedule and the sites we visited in order to insure we got the most of our experience. We especially wanted to maximize out visit to Gordes in order to visit the market day there, and he helped us to do so. He helped us to learn all about the surrounding Avignon area and was especially good at pointing out the "sites" and providing background. We truly enjoyed this and would recommend any other customers to particularly request Julian. Thanks, Julian.

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: Luberon Villages and Lavender Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We were looking to see several hilltop villages in the Avignon area and decided on this tour. We took the tour that took us to Roussillion, Gordes, Les Baux de Provence and the Pont du Gard. As usual with these types of trips, there is never enough time at any one place. But, the great advantage is that one gets to see many places without trying to navigate back roads by yourself. We were able to see these 3 amazing villages and spectacular bridge in the space of one afternoon. These places are located to the east, south and west of Avignon but we did not feel that we were in the vehicle very long between stops and the tour was well paced. Our tour guide was fabulous as she identified a number of points of interest along our journey. Pick up and drop off were at locations close and convenient to our hotel. We certainly felt it was a good investment of our time. We also felt that the cost was very reasonable considering what it would have cost to rent a car for a day plus the added cost of petrol and mileage charges (let alone the driving and navigating). If you are interested in seeing a number of locations in a short period of time, we would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A day that could have been a disaster turned out OK. I had booked an afternoon tour of Provence that started in Avignon. I knew if i took the 10h14 train from Montpellier,where i was spending the month of July, I'd arrive in plenty of time for the 13h pickup. Turned out there was a bit of malveillance (lit: malevolence) on the train route and the 10h14 train was cancelled. I called Viator just to let them know that I wouldn't be there and, as i expected, they said they couldn't refund my money as it was a same-day cancellation but suggested i find out if the railway was providing an alternate (e.g., bus) transport to Avignon.Ii went back to the train station where I found out the 12h14 train to Avignon was on the schedule but it wouldn't arrive until 20 minutes after the 13h00 pickup time for the tour. Another call to Viator and, after a short time on hold, they offered to re-book me on another tour with a 14h00 pickup time. a shorter tour, which undoubtedly cost less money, but i was very pleased with some pretty excellent customer service.Tthey didn't have to do that and I didn't even have to ask for it.

The later tour didn't stop in Roussillon or Gordes, but included les Baux and Pont du Gard. The guide was very well-informed and spoke excellent English. I would highly recommend either tour. (I've been on the earlier one in previous years.)

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My husband and I loved this day trip!! Great way to see a lot of the surrounding Provence area and sights. Well planned and organized day... we saw all of our scheduled sights in leisure time. Our guide Ann was wonderful, punctual and knowledgeable. We really liked our small group setting of 8. The Orange antic Theatre and triumphal arch, Pont du Gard, Les Baux, Gordes and Roussillon were fantastic and definitely worth visiting! Loved touring and sampling at Chateauneuf du Pape winery (learned a lot too)! Fun and Special day...highly recommend Le Grand Tour!!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This tour was an excellent choice for us as we had limited time in Avignon. Even if we had had a car we would not have been able to see so much ,and parking would have been a problem. Our guide was very helpful and knowledgable and we had enough time at each site. For us the high lights were the Pont du Garde and the Roman
theatre in Orange.
However, it was a long day and in Gordes we settled for a beer instead of a tour of the village.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

There was a lot packed into a half day on this tour but it was wonderful. I highly recommend the Roussignol and Gordes add-on. The small number of people in the mini-van is much better than a bus tour and the van can go places that are impossible in a bus. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Another fantastic tour. Pretty long and tiring (especially for the tour guide, I would say!) as it stretched approximately 10.5 hours. It was very comprehensive and it gave us a chance to see the important parts of the region. The coliseum and aqueduct were awesome. The villages of Gordes, Rosillon and Les Baux were quaint and unique in their own way (I may have seen them during the Lavender tour. I forget). The only negative is that it was very hot so we had to seek the shade whenever we stopped at a site. All in all, an excellent way to get acquainted with Provence. Our guide, Selene, was accommodating with our request to stop by a lavender field and a sunflower field for some photos. It was difficult though to hear her speak on the microphone, so I missed quite a bit of explanation along the way. This continued even when I pointed out the deficiency to the guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Fabulous tour. I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but the lavender fields were gorgeous. The driver knew exactly where to go in random provencial fields. The trips to Roussillion and Gordes were amazing- something I wouldn't have done on my own...and would've regreted not doing!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

A lovely half day trip with our guide whose English commentary was informative and clear and communicated with a sense of fun. She engaged with all 8 travellers from UK, Belgium, China, Australia and New Zealand. We were 2 weeks too early to see lavender in bloom but the Lavender museum was interesting. The villages of Rousillon and Gordes were delightful and as picturesque as advertised. We had a 45 minutes in each to explore. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Lavender and Villages in Provence Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was an excellent experience from our prompt pick up at our Hotel In Avignon to our return. Our guide, Anais, was super! I learned so much from her about Avignon, Provence and the towns (Roussellin, Gordes, St. Remy, Baux-de-Provence) we visited and, the Lavendar Museum! We were given many opportunities for photos and time to walk around and take in the beauty all around us. (Thank you again, Anais for these happy memories!) Again, this tour is highly recommended! Do include it on your itinerary.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

This review is for the "Grand Tour" of Provence. Sites visited included Orange, Chateauneuf de Pape, Roussilon, Les Baux, Gordes, and the Pont du Garde. I was pleasantly surprised by the tour. I had found it hard to believe that so many visits to widely separated areas could be accomplished in so short a time without extremely short stays and a "rushed" feeling. That was not the case. We stopped at all the scheduled places and had ample free time at each stop to wander around, see the sights, and enjoy ourselves. Our driver/guide was very nice and informative. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Our tour of Provence took place just before we returned home to the US after a 9-day large group tour of Switzerland with another company. We were exhausted by the end, although we had a great trip. After a couple of days to unwind in Lyon, we traveled to Avignon and had one day to ourselves. Then, we took the day-long tour of Provence. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed the small group experience very much. Instead of riding in a large bus, we traveled in a mini-van around the countryside, visiting small villages and seeing several sites. Our tour guide did a nice job of telling us about the area as she drove, then dropped us off to do some sightseeing on our own. Our only regret was during the lunch stop when we sat down in a small outdoor cafe and the language barrier kept us from adequately explaining that we did not have an unlimited amount of time for lunch. After about 20-25 minutes, we only had been able to order a drink and had not yet placed our food order, so we paid and then walked down the street to find a quick sandwich before getting back in the mini-van. The street market in Gordes and the Lavender Museum were my favorites. My husband particularly enjoyed the Pont du Gard. It was a great way to end our vacation!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message