Although Nimes is in the Languedoc Region, its close proximity to Provence's Avignon make it a natural day trip destination – particularly if you're following the trail of Roman history that is so prevalent in the South of France. And what a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of our best trips.

The fascinating village of Les Baux perched on a steep mountain side was a highlight, fully supported by the wine and olive oil producers we visited.

In the afternoon, the Roman and mediaeval remains of Nimes were well worth visiting, though I found the Arena a bit underwhelming. The well-preserved mediaval town of Uzès was fascinating to explore. A pity the Pont du Gard was right at the end, when we we were somewhat weary - but it was nevertheless a real highlight.

Excellent driver.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour to Nimes,Uves and Pont du Gard. Our guide who was very good and very knowledgable picked us up at our hotel and provided information about the countryside as well as the sites. Travelled in a van for 8 but only 4 of us that trip,very comfortable.
The tour was brought forward 1/2 hour on account of the short November afternoon.This was a good move- it meant we were just in time to see the Pont du Gard from both sides of the river before the light faded.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, guide was great, and did a brilliant job, particularly considering she had to drive the mini bus as well as be a tour guide. Very knowledgeable and professional. Enjoyed the entire trip, the Amphitheatre at Nimes, The Maison Carree temple, the walk around the charming town of Uzes, but the highlight of the tour for me was the aqueduct Pont Du Gard at the end of the trip, awesome! Would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was incredible. The roman arena in nimes is in very good condition. You could imagine all the things that happened there. Then we wento to Uzes a very charming town and the last stop was Point du Gard which was beautiful and serene. Julien was a very good guide. Don't miss it !!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We (a married couple and a female friend, all about 65), did this tour in late May 2013.
I recommend this tour highly. The guide, Veronica? was excellent!
It is hard to believe that some of the sites we saw today are over 2000 years old. The Roman amphitheatre at Nimes is the best preserved Roman amphitheatre in the world, where they shot the movie Gladiator. The weekend just gone was a long weekend and they had their version of the running of the bulls. Then we saw the most impressive building, the Maison Carree, a Roman temple, a huge rectangular building with columns at the front. Then we went on to the pleasant historic town of Uzes, where we had time for a short stroll. The best was to come, the aqueduct the Pont Du Gard. This is an amazing arched structure stretching over the river Gardon. One of the wonders of the ancient world, it was built in 1st century A.D. and is still in good condition.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Marion was a great guide. The amphitheater in Nimes was built a few decades after Rome's and seemed a bit of an afterthought if you've been through the later. The Pont du Gard Roman bridge, though, was stunning, especially in the late afternoon sun, situated over a beautifully blue river in acres of park with the towers of a medieval town in the distance.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The tour was fantastic. It was at times a little fast paced particularly at the Ampitheatre in Nimes however this was needed to be at Pont du Gard at sunset which was magical. Our guide was easygoing and very helpful with any question we asked. We loved it!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Great tour! Although a short afternoon tour, we were able to spend time at the Arena in Nimes. The highlight was viewing the Pont du Gard near sunset. Because of the lighting, I was agble to take some great photos. The short time in Uzes allowed a comparison of the scale of Medieval France with that in Roman times. The tour guide was absolutely great with an excellent sense of humor and a great knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Avignon was fabulous,the tour of Nimes, Pont gaurd and Uzes was a fantastic experience would never have seen all the fantastic sites without a tour.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Wonderful tour, not to be missed. In Nimes and Uzes, fantastic tour guide, very knowledgeable. Pont du Gard is not to be missed. Thank you for a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was quite interesting. The arena in Nimes is a sight to see, not only for the structure but for its history. I was disappointed not to see the 'Square House'. I thought it was included. Uzes is delightful and our guide was a pleasure to have.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our guide Emily was great! She had a lot of information about the local area as well as general french history. I felt humbled when she informed me that the town of Nimes has had tourists coming to see the roman sites here, since the 1500's. Great day
Cheers Chris and Lisa

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We called the morning of the tour which started at 2:00 pm to confirm and tell them we had changed hotels. We were told to go to the square Horloge and wait in front of the Bank of France building at 1:45. We did not get picked up until 2:45 one hour waiting in the hot sun because the company did not tell the driver we had changed hotels. He had a cell phone so I don't know what the problem was. The tour is too rushed. We only had 45 min in Nimes and 45 in Uzes. The tour would be better all day.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Again, our driver/guide was delightful but we only visited two of the three places listed in the promotion material. We went to Uzes and the Pont du Gard, but not to Nimes. However, the tour was still enjoyable and our driver was very knoweagable.

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: In the Footsteps of the Romans

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Pros: Comfortable car; small group; friendly guide.
Cons: Felt rushed at the stops, especially at Nimes. If Uzes had been eliminated--not really a Roman place and seemingly nothing more that a tourist venue--we would have had more time at Nimes and Pont du Gard. The guide should do a little more reading on the sights and history of the Provence area.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I took a Viator trip in Egypt where the guide was with us full time, participating in the tour. In this tour, the guide primarily drove us to the sites and dropped us off. I would have liked more commentary. Pickup was on time and I was glad I was not driving. That was the value to us. We were disappointed that Nimes was having a festival and we were taken to Arles instead, as we had booked another tour that included Arles on another day.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The guided tour was not guided. When we arrived to the arena of Nimes the driver simply gave us the tickets and told us to take an audioguide, to listen to the story! I could do it by myself!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very disappointing, operator was running very late so we guess that is why we did not get to see everything we thought we paid for.
Nimes amphitheater - yes, Maison Carree temple and Augustuss Gate - no
Unesco-protected Pont du Gard aqueduct -yes
Palaces, cathedral and tower in the nearby town of Uzes - only from a distance, once close to the town we got caught in traffic so were dropped at edge of time to walk the streets, with no map, or guide we did not find the cathedral, tower or palace.
We felt sort changed.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Fran
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

With all the Viator tours we took in France prior to reaching Provence, the English speaking guides were most professional and stayed with us the whole time, explaining each feature of the particular attraction. However, we were very surprised and disappointed that the Roman sites tour was not the same. The guide on this tour was really just a bus driver. We were left to go to the Nimes amphitheatre by ourselves and had to use the audio guide. We had to rush back as we were given less than an hour to be back at the bus, which was nowhere near enough time at this site.. We were so looking forward to this Roman sites tour but it was a real let down. The rest of the tour included the aquaduct but no other Roman sites. After this, we were dropped off at a couple of towns with a map and left to walk about aimlessly, not knowing the points of interest as no explanation was given. On another tour we went on the next day to Gordes and Rousillon, our guide pointed out Roman sites along the way, although this wasn't part of that particular tour. This made us feel even more cranky that the Roman sites tour didn't include these attractions, instead of tourist towns, the historical interest of which was not explained to us. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this tour.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

We were very disappointed in this trip. In Nimes we were given tickets to the Ampitheatre. We were told to be back at the bus in 75 minutes. We didn't even see Augustus' gate or the Castellum. We drove by Maison Carree without even slowing down. We sped through the ampitheatre so we could go see Maison Carre but it was a race to the finish. We were dropped off in Uzes without even a map. We didn't even know what we should go see as we didn't bring our travel books. We expected the guide to give us all of the info. We were too nervous we'd get lost to really explore as we only had 45 minutes. Pont du Gard was amazing but again we were just dropped off without even a brochure. The staircase to the second level had closed an hour before we got there which was disappointing. The advantage of this tour is you are driven to the Pont du Gard as it isn't the easiest place to get to via public transportation. This tour is basically just a driver with some commentary as you drive from place to place.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message