Orange is a town in the Provence region of France with a mainly agricultural economy. The famous town is known because the Romans left their mark there; Orange is often cited as having the most impressive Roman architecture still standing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour for experiencing both the Roman sites and learning about Van Gogh. Melanie was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. If you only have a short time in Provence, this tour maximizes use of your time. Each stop was definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Roman arch and ancient theater in Orange are wonderfully preserved and important to see. The theater has a very good audio guide that comes with the tour. We enjoyed the tastings at the working winery and also the visit to ruins of the Pope's old chateau. Our guide Julian was excellent, fun, helpful.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good day out with a variety of activities. Well worth the experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was awesome - visited some amazing places that are not easily accessible without a car and the guided tour of the winery was great.
Our tour guide Caroline was very informative, enthusiastic and warm, and used a lot of her own experiences and knowledge to make it very interesting. Do it!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Great tour guide was so nice and accommodating....the midevial towns were the best and I enjoyed everything except....we shouldn't have to have gone back to avignon in middle of day to pick up more people...we lost time and couldn't really have lunch..I specifically booked a tour that did not have to do this...as a result when we got to the roman acuiduct..we couldn't see anything......would not go o again because of this

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was good, and the tour guide quite helpful. I really would have preferred to have a wine tasting at several wineries in Chateauneuf du Pape, but that was not an option.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

As with many tours, there was silmply not enough time to see things in depth. Also, I wished the tour guide gave us more information about the places, the people, the monuments. Otherwise, it was enjoyable and the weather was great.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wine and antiquity. What a combination! We thought the tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour gave an excellent overview of the Provence region, and every town we stopped at had something different and special to offer, and our tour leader provided an excellent and informed commentary. All three key aspects of the tour were very enjoyable and time was available for us to enjoy the features of each, e.g. the Arles market, the Roman amphitheatre in Orange and the beautiful village of Les Baux de Provence.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The forum in Orange was great and the wine tasting was even better and educational.
Avignon city tour was too quick and very short.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The trip was interesting and extremely intensive. It is a pity that the minibus comes back to Avignon in the middle of the trip, for the traffic there is rather heavy. The advertisement does not explain that it is in fact a modular trip changing passengers in the middle of the day. All in all, however, the trip was highly rewarding. The short visit to the mental hospital where Van Gogh stayed during the last year of his life was especially moving.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Wow! This tour certainly packs a punch! A great day and so many wonderful sights that are discovered during the day. If you're in Avignon definitely book this tour as it is well recommended. For all the reviews that complain about getting lunch on the run and then eating it on the go then for his that was preferable as it was more important to see the sights than to waste time trying to organise lunch for a bus load of people. Some if the places were very busy so stopping to eat would have wasted too much time. Our tour guide Marie was superb, allowing just enough time to get a feel for each place visited and to wander around on your own.

As I have already said if in Avignon do this tour! A long day but a remarkable day full of amazing sights.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We really enjoyed the ancient theater in the town of Orange. The town visit to Le Baux was a disappointment since we were unable to enter the castle without paying an additional fee-the tour description included the breathtaking view from this castle. Loved the quaint village of Roussillon, but felt rushed. Pont du Garden was an amazing site. Again, not enough time to climb to view points or visit the museum. This was the second time the guide had done this tour, so, although he was friendly, he did not have much to add about the sites and should have narrated the various sites while we rode in the van. Lots of driving. We took a Viator tour when we were in Barcelona. The tour guide there was constantly giving us a commentary of the places on our tour. So, overall we were disappointed in this tour for the money we spent.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Lyle B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour. Had time to buy lunch but having something at a nice winery would have been fun,
Very comprehensive tour though.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Unbelievable all day tour of Provence. Saw so many wonderful sights in a comfortable, air-conditioned van with 6 other people. Our driver was knowledgeable and personable. A great trip!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour and included more than I anticipated. The towns and sights were interesting and gorgeous. The guide was informative and dropped us off at the entrances to limit the amount of walking and time. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a fantastic experience. Our tour guide picked us up exactly at the time we were told. Selene was extremely professional yet very friendly and accomodating. She was very versed on the subject matter and answered all of our questions. Our day could not have turned out better. Lastly, after we left the vineyard where the wine tasting took place (probably half way back to our apt.) my husband realized that he had left his jacket with his camera behind. With the consent of the other person on our tour the guide called the vineyard to make sure that someone was still there and returned to pick up my husband's stuff. I think that she certainly went out of her way to accommodate us. Again, I would recommend Viator to friends and family based on several experiences of using their services from tours to pick up service to the airport. We will continue to use Viator in the future without hesitation.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful day - lots of driving in a mini van but we visited wonderful picturesque locations. It was also the first wine tour I've ever done where a sommelier instructed you on how to drink and taste wine properly. The guide was very accommodating and knowledgeable. I do think that it would be advisable to build in an opportunity to eat lunch at one of the many quaint little restaurants in Rousillon rather than trying to grab something on the run. Because we travelled so far, it sometimes felt like we had to dash into a village and then dash back to be on time to board the van. The Pont du Gard was awe inspiring! So glad I saw it. Some time could have been taken away from the visit to the amphitheatre in Orange to allow more time in other locations. The amphitheatre is wonderful but it was a fairly lengthy stop because we followed the audio tape. If the guide did the tour herself, this might expedite things somewhat. Loved this tour however as it took you to places that are difficult to reach on your own and yet are considered some of the most beautiful villages in France.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We wish there had been less time in Arles and a lit more time in Les Baux. We felt cheated that we only had an hour there. Our guide was very good and took a little extra time at the end to take some ohotos of Avignon from across the river. It was a very nice day.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We covered a huge amount of territory in one day - probably a little too much. We would have liked to spend more time in the little hillside villages. The only way to do that would be to divide the tour into 2 long half days. But other than that it was quite thorough and enjoyable. We certainly got our moneys worth!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed our tour very much. Our guide Audrey was friendly and very well informed. She answered our questions and her knowledge of the area made our experience all the better.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Wonderful opportunity to see some special places. Orange theater really spectacular. Spending time with videos in galleries behind bought it alive. Loved Le Baux and would have liked more time there. Arles a great place to wander. A bit irritated that commercial arrangements with chocolate factory and wine tasting drove the schedule. Knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

It would have been a great tour if not for the less than competent tour guide who complained about the lack of road signs at the beginning of the tour and predictably, he lost his way. We spent one hour making a detour! He was more interested to talk to the group members sitting in front in the van about their other tour experiences rather than explaining the sights on our itinerary. We did not even know his name as he did not introduce himself. Very disappointing and a waste of money.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very informative tour covering some beautiful Provence towns
The ancient Roman sites were especially good to see with plenty of time to explore on your own

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message