• USD ($)
  • English
Orange is a town in the Provence region of France with a mainly agricultural economy. The famous town is known because the Romans left their mark there; Orange is often cited as having the most impressive Roman architecture still standing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very informative tour covering some beautiful Provence towns
The ancient Roman sites were especially good to see with plenty of time to explore on your own

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Caroline was wonderful and full of information about the areas visited and more. She turned an initially rainy day into a fun adventure. We had plenty of time to explore independently.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the day trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very nice, friendly and very informative.
it was such a great memorable day. I really recommend it.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Mike C
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very interesting trip with a good guide in a small group. Well worthwhile

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

This was a very interesting experience, which covered the key historical and other areas of interest around Avignon. Our guide, Caroline, was fluent in several languages, very knowledgeable of the area and maintained our interest throughout the tour. The wine tasting was a stand out element.

Warren and Sharon, Australia

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful tour, excellent guide. We packed so much more into our day than we could have on our own, yet we still had plenty of free time to explore the places we visited at our own pace and focus on what interested us. Great value, especially if you have limited time on your trip. Whether you are interested in Van Gogh, Roman ruins, or great wine, there's something for everyone on this itinerary.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

This did not start out okay. When we arrived in Avignon the day before our tour, we asked our host from our B and B to call and confirm our pick-up at their B and B. She was told that we were not scheduled for the tour the next day (even though we had prepaid and had our voucher!). After a long conversation a tour was arranged. Over all we were not very impressed by the tour. We raced by towns while trying to look out the windows to see what we were passing. We spent way too much time wine tasting and not enough time actually seeing the villages. And if you are in the middle seat of the van you can't see much of the view as we raced by. Then a lot of time was wasted going back to Avignon in the middle to drop people off and pick up new people. This is not what we paid for. Everyone in the van should have been there for the full day tour to make the most of our time. Very disappointing! Not worth the money.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The guide, Marion, was excellent. The tour was packed with interesting sights and narrative. It was a great introduction to the sights, history and places in Province. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We (a married couple and a female friend, all about 65), did this tour in late May 2013.
The guide, Anais? was very good. The day started slowly, we went to a winery and we spent far too long there, but that's what you get when you do a tour, they try to meet everyone's interests. This time it wasn't ours. We could have spent more time in Orange, where the amazing Roman theatre is. It is one of 3 in the world, but this one is in the best condition, and is still being used for all kinds of musical events. We did a short walking tour of Arles, which was a very important Roman city, so has an amphitheatre and lots of other Roman sites, mostly ruins. Arles was one place that Van Gogh lived, so part of the tour took us to some of the sites he had painted. I liked that. We also visited a small village Les Baux de Provence, built into cliffs, now only has 22 people living there, but over 1.5 million visitors.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Elodie was a fabulous tour guide. She made sure we knew what to look at at each stop. There was a lot to see on this tour; the full day was tiring but well worth while. The scenery was out of this world! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This particular tour was not available however the booking group kindly found two other half day tours that incorporated everything we wanted to see. So much to see outside Avignon, a great place to visit. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Very nice tour. Our guide stopped at Glanum, which we thought was the highlight of the tour. They should make Glanum a headline item in the tour and allow more time there. Glanum is an ancient Roman city built on ruins of settlements from two earlier civilizations.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The tour guide was great (forgot her name). Loved the small group of 8 and the pick up at the hotel. Great sites to see - only complaint is that we did not get enough time at each spot. The tour is set up as a morning and afternoon tour. You can buy one or the other or both times. We did the whole day so we came back to Avignon to drop off the morning only people and get the afternoon only people. An afternoon couple was late and we waited half hour for them. The guide did extend the trip which was nice. Seem silly to double back to town but all in all a great day!!! Loved the Roman ruins - some of the best in Europe!!!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Too rushed. Not enough time in each of the places. Would rather spend a bit more time in each with less coverage... almost running all way through... But the Les Baux and Arles are very beautiful - a not-to-miss for any Van Gogh fan, not necc with this tour though.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The tour was great! We had been traveling by trains, and it was nice to get to some smaller towns. I really enjoyed the free time in each location to do our own thing, and well as the information provided at each stop! It was a fantastic day!! We were able to see more in one day in if we had done it on our own!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message