Orange is a town in the Provence region of France with a mainly agricultural economy. The famous town is known because the Romans left their mark there; Orange is often cited as having the most impressive Roman architecture still standing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 186 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Yana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There was a splendid tour, rather informative, and at the same time relaxing and very well organized. How was it possible to visit so many fantastic places within the single day so many impressions, emotions and memories. Thanks to the excellent guide Julien our multinational group was feeling nothing but comfort and relaxing in this trip. Julien is the true professional, ready to answer any question, with very friendly and attentive attitude to each person in his group. I am really thankful to Viator and to Julien for this Grand Day in Provence, - such tours can be definitely strongly recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Giuseppe P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed every aspect of the tour, but it involved a lot of travelling. It became a very long day. It may be better spread over two days with adequate time for a lunch break in one of the pituresque villages.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a very comprehensive tour. The guide was excellent and had great knowledge of the area. We really enjoyed it. We highly recommend it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Tracey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a memorable day trip, covering many places I could not have done myself. Our guide Violette was knowledgeable and helpful, showing several points with handheld illustrations.
I would recommend this trip, especially from September onward as public transport to Les Baux stops.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Darlene H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We saw a lot, but had too little time in the villages.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Claude L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour with an excellent guide and we would highly recommend it.. The only suggestion we would like to make is that some provision be made for a lunch break.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

cw United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide first of all. The tour covered a lot of places and would recommend if this is your first visit to the area and want a bit of overview of things for future visits. Will definitely book again from the tour company and the guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Idham R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Wish we had more time in Orange. Also never got to the chocolate maker's shop or workshop in the end.

Doing what: Full-day small group tour to Avignon, Pont du Gard, Orange and Chateauneuf du pape wine tour from Marseille

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Our tour guide Emilie was very informative and sweet. She picked us up from the hotel and we saw Orange and the vineyards of Chateauneuf de Pape and had a very nice wine tasting at one of the wineries. I recommend this tour

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Shirley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. A long and full day but well worth it. The guide knew exactly how much time to leave us at each location never too long and always had enough time. We loved everywhere we went. So hard to pick a favorite :

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Olga B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and discussed any topic the group brought up. We learned all about the Roman ruins that are kept in great condition.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Koon Sang L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Guide cum driver Ms Solene was excellent.
When we left our wine purchased during the tour in the vehicle when the tour had ended.
She took the trouble to bring them to our hotel.
We appreciate it very much.
She is flexible and kind and hardworking too.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Calum B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was very good. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the towns of Les Baux and Orange as well as wine tasting in Chateau Neuf du Papes. We would have liked longer in Arles and went to St Remy which we were not expecting. All in all very enjoyable.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

ELIZABETH S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Roman Theater in Orange is really spectacular. Wine tasting at a Chateauneuf winery was fun owing to the reputation of the area. Our guide was not as good as we expected. She sent us in to the Roman Theater in Orange and left us for 1 1/2 hrs on our own. It would have been so much better to have heard from her about the history and events. The audio guide was OK, but you can't ask it questions and you can't adapt it for the interest of those on the tour. Same thing at Chateauneuf - she could have added greatly to the tour by being there instead of leaving us.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Joanne T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed trip to the Theatre of Orange and the wine tasting at Chateauneuf du Pape. The wine tasting was very professionally conducted and I felt like I learnt a lot more about wines. However, these are places that are easily accessible by car, so if you are in the mood for driving, there may be no need to sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour including Roman ruins in Orange and Arles, and the unique hill top city of Les Baux. Enough free time to roam about and take in all the history.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Vic G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a highlight of our trip to France. Carole was an amazing guide! She is really an historian, not simply a guide - add knowledge to great driving skills. We would HIGHLY recommend this trip!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Maria

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If I were able to do this tour again, I would have done the second half where you visit the various villages in the area. My tour guide Carol wrong spelling was top drawer. She spoke English really well also. I highly recommend the second half of this day tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Kathy C S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful host and had a great time! We had just expected to visit a more countryside-like village area, but still enjoyed walking through the small town.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Caroline W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lunch should be included for full-day tours.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

David M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We had a rental van which was not up to par, no vents for air conditioning in the back so it got hot. For a 10 hour trip it would be nice to have a cooler with water available. The sites were good and otherwise it was good.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message