Orange is a town in the Provence region of France with a mainly agricultural economy. The famous town is known because the Romans left their mark there; Orange is often cited as having the most impressive Roman architecture still standing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 176 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour with an excellent guide and we would highly recommend it.. The only suggestion we would like to make is that some provision be made for a lunch break.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Our tour guide Emilie was very informative and sweet. She picked us up from the hotel and we saw Orange and the vineyards of Chateauneuf de Pape and had a very nice wine tasting at one of the wineries. I recommend this tour

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. A long and full day but well worth it. The guide knew exactly how much time to leave us at each location never too long and always had enough time. We loved everywhere we went. So hard to pick a favorite :

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and discussed any topic the group brought up. We learned all about the Roman ruins that are kept in great condition.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Guide cum driver Ms Solene was excellent.
When we left our wine purchased during the tour in the vehicle when the tour had ended.
She took the trouble to bring them to our hotel.
We appreciate it very much.
She is flexible and kind and hardworking too.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was very good. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the towns of Les Baux and Orange as well as wine tasting in Chateau Neuf du Papes. We would have liked longer in Arles and went to St Remy which we were not expecting. All in all very enjoyable.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Roman Theater in Orange is really spectacular. Wine tasting at a Chateauneuf winery was fun owing to the reputation of the area. Our guide was not as good as we expected. She sent us in to the Roman Theater in Orange and left us for 1 1/2 hrs on our own. It would have been so much better to have heard from her about the history and events. The audio guide was OK, but you can't ask it questions and you can't adapt it for the interest of those on the tour. Same thing at Chateauneuf - she could have added greatly to the tour by being there instead of leaving us.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed trip to the Theatre of Orange and the wine tasting at Chateauneuf du Pape. The wine tasting was very professionally conducted and I felt like I learnt a lot more about wines. However, these are places that are easily accessible by car, so if you are in the mood for driving, there may be no need to sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour including Roman ruins in Orange and Arles, and the unique hill top city of Les Baux. Enough free time to roam about and take in all the history.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a highlight of our trip to France. Carole was an amazing guide! She is really an historian, not simply a guide - add knowledge to great driving skills. We would HIGHLY recommend this trip!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If I were able to do this tour again, I would have done the second half where you visit the various villages in the area. My tour guide Carol wrong spelling was top drawer. She spoke English really well also. I highly recommend the second half of this day tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful host and had a great time! We had just expected to visit a more countryside-like village area, but still enjoyed walking through the small town.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lunch should be included for full-day tours.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We had a rental van which was not up to par, no vents for air conditioning in the back so it got hot. For a 10 hour trip it would be nice to have a cooler with water available. The sites were good and otherwise it was good.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour is really two separate tours stuck together. You go north, and then come back to Avignon to pick up other people before going in the opposite direction. I think this led to a lot of extra time in the van, which was unfortunate.
We got off to a really late start due to traffic, and then were delayed again when our guide figured out we had left someone in Avignon. Luckily we didnt have to go back for them, but all of these delays ended up costing us lunch time.
The first part of the tour was nice the winery tour was good, and seeing Orange was also interesting.
However, for the second part of the tour we picked up passengers who had requested Spanish. What this meant was that the tour guide would say everything in English, and then repeat herself in Spanish. This was fine while we were in the car, but was really horrible during the walking tour of Arles. We would hear a spiel about a site for a few minutes, then just stand around while it was repeated. I think it really slowed down the tour. I probably would not book tours through this company again.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour for experiencing both the Roman sites and learning about Van Gogh. Melanie was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. If you only have a short time in Provence, this tour maximizes use of your time. Each stop was definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Roman arch and ancient theater in Orange are wonderfully preserved and important to see. The theater has a very good audio guide that comes with the tour. We enjoyed the tastings at the working winery and also the visit to ruins of the Pope's old chateau. Our guide Julian was excellent, fun, helpful.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good day out with a variety of activities. Well worth the experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was awesome - visited some amazing places that are not easily accessible without a car and the guided tour of the winery was great.
Our tour guide Caroline was very informative, enthusiastic and warm, and used a lot of her own experiences and knowledge to make it very interesting. Do it!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Great tour guide was so nice and accommodating....the midevial towns were the best and I enjoyed everything except....we shouldn't have to have gone back to avignon in middle of day to pick up more people...we lost time and couldn't really have lunch..I specifically booked a tour that did not have to do this...as a result when we got to the roman acuiduct..we couldn't see anything......would not go o again because of this

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was good, and the tour guide quite helpful. I really would have preferred to have a wine tasting at several wineries in Chateauneuf du Pape, but that was not an option.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

As with many tours, there was silmply not enough time to see things in depth. Also, I wished the tour guide gave us more information about the places, the people, the monuments. Otherwise, it was enjoyable and the weather was great.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message