• USD ($)
  • English
Orange is a town in the Provence region of France with a mainly agricultural economy. The famous town is known because the Romans left their mark there; Orange is often cited as having the most impressive Roman architecture still standing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a fantastic experience. Our tour guide picked us up exactly at the time we were told. Selene was extremely professional yet very friendly and accomodating. She was very versed on the subject matter and answered all of our questions. Our day could not have turned out better. Lastly, after we left the vineyard where the wine tasting took place (probably half way back to our apt.) my husband realized that he had left his jacket with his camera behind. With the consent of the other person on our tour the guide called the vineyard to make sure that someone was still there and returned to pick up my husband's stuff. I think that she certainly went out of her way to accommodate us. Again, I would recommend Viator to friends and family based on several experiences of using their services from tours to pick up service to the airport. We will continue to use Viator in the future without hesitation.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We wish there had been less time in Arles and a lit more time in Les Baux. We felt cheated that we only had an hour there. Our guide was very good and took a little extra time at the end to take some ohotos of Avignon from across the river. It was a very nice day.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Wonderful opportunity to see some special places. Orange theater really spectacular. Spending time with videos in galleries behind bought it alive. Loved Le Baux and would have liked more time there. Arles a great place to wander. A bit irritated that commercial arrangements with chocolate factory and wine tasting drove the schedule. Knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

It would have been a great tour if not for the less than competent tour guide who complained about the lack of road signs at the beginning of the tour and predictably, he lost his way. We spent one hour making a detour! He was more interested to talk to the group members sitting in front in the van about their other tour experiences rather than explaining the sights on our itinerary. We did not even know his name as he did not introduce himself. Very disappointing and a waste of money.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very informative tour covering some beautiful Provence towns
The ancient Roman sites were especially good to see with plenty of time to explore on your own

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Caroline was wonderful and full of information about the areas visited and more. She turned an initially rainy day into a fun adventure. We had plenty of time to explore independently.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the day trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very nice, friendly and very informative.
it was such a great memorable day. I really recommend it.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Mike C
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very interesting trip with a good guide in a small group. Well worthwhile

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

This was a very interesting experience, which covered the key historical and other areas of interest around Avignon. Our guide, Caroline, was fluent in several languages, very knowledgeable of the area and maintained our interest throughout the tour. The wine tasting was a stand out element.

Warren and Sharon, Australia

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful tour, excellent guide. We packed so much more into our day than we could have on our own, yet we still had plenty of free time to explore the places we visited at our own pace and focus on what interested us. Great value, especially if you have limited time on your trip. Whether you are interested in Van Gogh, Roman ruins, or great wine, there's something for everyone on this itinerary.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

This did not start out okay. When we arrived in Avignon the day before our tour, we asked our host from our B and B to call and confirm our pick-up at their B and B. She was told that we were not scheduled for the tour the next day (even though we had prepaid and had our voucher!). After a long conversation a tour was arranged. Over all we were not very impressed by the tour. We raced by towns while trying to look out the windows to see what we were passing. We spent way too much time wine tasting and not enough time actually seeing the villages. And if you are in the middle seat of the van you can't see much of the view as we raced by. Then a lot of time was wasted going back to Avignon in the middle to drop people off and pick up new people. This is not what we paid for. Everyone in the van should have been there for the full day tour to make the most of our time. Very disappointing! Not worth the money.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The guide, Marion, was excellent. The tour was packed with interesting sights and narrative. It was a great introduction to the sights, history and places in Province. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We (a married couple and a female friend, all about 65), did this tour in late May 2013.
The guide, Anais? was very good. The day started slowly, we went to a winery and we spent far too long there, but that's what you get when you do a tour, they try to meet everyone's interests. This time it wasn't ours. We could have spent more time in Orange, where the amazing Roman theatre is. It is one of 3 in the world, but this one is in the best condition, and is still being used for all kinds of musical events. We did a short walking tour of Arles, which was a very important Roman city, so has an amphitheatre and lots of other Roman sites, mostly ruins. Arles was one place that Van Gogh lived, so part of the tour took us to some of the sites he had painted. I liked that. We also visited a small village Les Baux de Provence, built into cliffs, now only has 22 people living there, but over 1.5 million visitors.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Elodie was a fabulous tour guide. She made sure we knew what to look at at each stop. There was a lot to see on this tour; the full day was tiring but well worth while. The scenery was out of this world! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This particular tour was not available however the booking group kindly found two other half day tours that incorporated everything we wanted to see. So much to see outside Avignon, a great place to visit. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message