Orange is a town in the Provence region of France with a mainly agricultural economy. The famous town is known because the Romans left their mark there; Orange is often cited as having the most impressive Roman architecture still standing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 193 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Walters2468

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very pleasant and informative guide. Excellent experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Merle E V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very well done and informative.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Denise M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The pick-up at the hotel was on time and our guide, Melanie, was lovely. She was very knowledgeable but did not spend the entire time talking, giving us time to enjoy the countryside as we drove from town to town. I loved seeing all the places we went, but would have liked a little more time exploring. Of course, that would mean cutting out one of the stops. Hard choices!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall an excellent tour. Marc was very knowledgeable about Provence and we learned a lot about the region. We were with a nice group which helped make the day very enjoyable. Marc arrived on time, the vehicle was comfortable we were not in back seat though, we got back on time and Marc's English was excellent.
Comments:
Felt a little rushed during day and would have liked more time in a couple of places.
There was one cliuent on a half day tour, the rest of us were full day. Therefore had to return to starting point which may have been the reason we were short on time. Suggest having tour with people who have same schedule.
For a!most 300 kind of expected lunch would have been provided or at least some beverages.
in spite of these comments would highly recommend tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots to see and very enjoyable. Good site choice. Friendly, upbeat tour guide, Violet.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was completely as advertised. We had the right amount of time in Orange and the wine tour was great for a first-time wine tasting. It was a relaxing afternoon but we also saw a great deal. Our guide was very knowledgeable both about the items on the tour and more generally in answering our questions about the Avignon area. She used perfect English and also was very patient in letting us practice our French.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Emanuel gave us an amazing Grand tour of Provance. His knowledge of the places he took us and the surrounding areas was excellent. The weather was beautiful which added to the experience. Overall it was an enjoyable day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see places outside Avignon.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Yana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There was a splendid tour, rather informative, and at the same time relaxing and very well organized. How was it possible to visit so many fantastic places within the single day so many impressions, emotions and memories. Thanks to the excellent guide Julien our multinational group was feeling nothing but comfort and relaxing in this trip. Julien is the true professional, ready to answer any question, with very friendly and attentive attitude to each person in his group. I am really thankful to Viator and to Julien for this Grand Day in Provence, - such tours can be definitely strongly recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Giuseppe P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed every aspect of the tour, but it involved a lot of travelling. It became a very long day. It may be better spread over two days with adequate time for a lunch break in one of the pituresque villages.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a very comprehensive tour. The guide was excellent and had great knowledge of the area. We really enjoyed it. We highly recommend it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Tracey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a memorable day trip, covering many places I could not have done myself. Our guide Violette was knowledgeable and helpful, showing several points with handheld illustrations.
I would recommend this trip, especially from September onward as public transport to Les Baux stops.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Darlene H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We saw a lot, but had too little time in the villages.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Claude L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour with an excellent guide and we would highly recommend it.. The only suggestion we would like to make is that some provision be made for a lunch break.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

cw United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide first of all. The tour covered a lot of places and would recommend if this is your first visit to the area and want a bit of overview of things for future visits. Will definitely book again from the tour company and the guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Idham R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Wish we had more time in Orange. Also never got to the chocolate maker's shop or workshop in the end.

Doing what: Full-day small group tour to Avignon, Pont du Gard, Orange and Chateauneuf du pape wine tour from Marseille

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Our tour guide Emilie was very informative and sweet. She picked us up from the hotel and we saw Orange and the vineyards of Chateauneuf de Pape and had a very nice wine tasting at one of the wineries. I recommend this tour

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Shirley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. A long and full day but well worth it. The guide knew exactly how much time to leave us at each location never too long and always had enough time. We loved everywhere we went. So hard to pick a favorite :

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Olga B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and discussed any topic the group brought up. We learned all about the Roman ruins that are kept in great condition.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Koon Sang L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Guide cum driver Ms Solene was excellent.
When we left our wine purchased during the tour in the vehicle when the tour had ended.
She took the trouble to bring them to our hotel.
We appreciate it very much.
She is flexible and kind and hardworking too.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Calum B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was very good. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the towns of Les Baux and Orange as well as wine tasting in Chateau Neuf du Papes. We would have liked longer in Arles and went to St Remy which we were not expecting. All in all very enjoyable.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

ELIZABETH S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Roman Theater in Orange is really spectacular. Wine tasting at a Chateauneuf winery was fun owing to the reputation of the area. Our guide was not as good as we expected. She sent us in to the Roman Theater in Orange and left us for 1 1/2 hrs on our own. It would have been so much better to have heard from her about the history and events. The audio guide was OK, but you can't ask it questions and you can't adapt it for the interest of those on the tour. Same thing at Chateauneuf - she could have added greatly to the tour by being there instead of leaving us.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Joanne T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed trip to the Theatre of Orange and the wine tasting at Chateauneuf du Pape. The wine tasting was very professionally conducted and I felt like I learnt a lot more about wines. However, these are places that are easily accessible by car, so if you are in the mood for driving, there may be no need to sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message