Orange is a town in the Provence region of France with a mainly agricultural economy. The famous town is known because the Romans left their mark there; Orange is often cited as having the most impressive Roman architecture still standing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lyle B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour. Had time to buy lunch but having something at a nice winery would have been fun,
Very comprehensive tour though.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Unbelievable all day tour of Provence. Saw so many wonderful sights in a comfortable, air-conditioned van with 6 other people. Our driver was knowledgeable and personable. A great trip!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour and included more than I anticipated. The towns and sights were interesting and gorgeous. The guide was informative and dropped us off at the entrances to limit the amount of walking and time. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a fantastic experience. Our tour guide picked us up exactly at the time we were told. Selene was extremely professional yet very friendly and accomodating. She was very versed on the subject matter and answered all of our questions. Our day could not have turned out better. Lastly, after we left the vineyard where the wine tasting took place (probably half way back to our apt.) my husband realized that he had left his jacket with his camera behind. With the consent of the other person on our tour the guide called the vineyard to make sure that someone was still there and returned to pick up my husband's stuff. I think that she certainly went out of her way to accommodate us. Again, I would recommend Viator to friends and family based on several experiences of using their services from tours to pick up service to the airport. We will continue to use Viator in the future without hesitation.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful day - lots of driving in a mini van but we visited wonderful picturesque locations. It was also the first wine tour I've ever done where a sommelier instructed you on how to drink and taste wine properly. The guide was very accommodating and knowledgeable. I do think that it would be advisable to build in an opportunity to eat lunch at one of the many quaint little restaurants in Rousillon rather than trying to grab something on the run. Because we travelled so far, it sometimes felt like we had to dash into a village and then dash back to be on time to board the van. The Pont du Gard was awe inspiring! So glad I saw it. Some time could have been taken away from the visit to the amphitheatre in Orange to allow more time in other locations. The amphitheatre is wonderful but it was a fairly lengthy stop because we followed the audio tape. If the guide did the tour herself, this might expedite things somewhat. Loved this tour however as it took you to places that are difficult to reach on your own and yet are considered some of the most beautiful villages in France.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We wish there had been less time in Arles and a lit more time in Les Baux. We felt cheated that we only had an hour there. Our guide was very good and took a little extra time at the end to take some ohotos of Avignon from across the river. It was a very nice day.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We covered a huge amount of territory in one day - probably a little too much. We would have liked to spend more time in the little hillside villages. The only way to do that would be to divide the tour into 2 long half days. But other than that it was quite thorough and enjoyable. We certainly got our moneys worth!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed our tour very much. Our guide Audrey was friendly and very well informed. She answered our questions and her knowledge of the area made our experience all the better.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Wonderful opportunity to see some special places. Orange theater really spectacular. Spending time with videos in galleries behind bought it alive. Loved Le Baux and would have liked more time there. Arles a great place to wander. A bit irritated that commercial arrangements with chocolate factory and wine tasting drove the schedule. Knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

It would have been a great tour if not for the less than competent tour guide who complained about the lack of road signs at the beginning of the tour and predictably, he lost his way. We spent one hour making a detour! He was more interested to talk to the group members sitting in front in the van about their other tour experiences rather than explaining the sights on our itinerary. We did not even know his name as he did not introduce himself. Very disappointing and a waste of money.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very informative tour covering some beautiful Provence towns
The ancient Roman sites were especially good to see with plenty of time to explore on your own

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

S and D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour with highly personalised service touring interesting, well preserved and restored historical sites from Roman times as well as an enjoyable wine tasting experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a very enjoyable trip, lots of variety and heaps to see and do. Solene, our tour guide, was great and helped to make the day interesting and enjoyable

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Caroline was wonderful and full of information about the areas visited and more. She turned an initially rainy day into a fun adventure. We had plenty of time to explore independently.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the day trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very nice, friendly and very informative.
it was such a great memorable day. I really recommend it.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message