• USD ($)
  • English

Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of the Popes (Palais des Papes)

The Palais des Papes (Palace of the Popes) is one of the largest Gothic buildings in all of Europe and was classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1995. Avignon became the residence of the Popes in 1309 during the period of the Avignon ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed the most amazing day! It was just the two of us with a great and extremely knowledgeable guide who was actually a local. We saw the most beautiful special places around Aix en Provence.
The village of Les Baux was a stand out. Beautiful country and I have the most special photos which I will treasure forever.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Fantastique tour. My only complaint is that we did not have enough time at ease stop

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We would highly recommend this day tour. Avignon was fantastic, would have loved to have spent more time there.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A truly wonderful and awe inspiring tour. A MUST if you're in Marseille. Marseille is such a large industrial city with a historical port, so the contrast of visiting the small provincial villages and towns that look like a postcard was the highlight. I highly, highly recommend it. Safe vehicles, friendly and informative guides, easy booking process. Be SURE to reconfirm the tour one day prior because the TIME of your tour could be different than what you originally booked, those changes can occur due to other groups of people being picked up from different locations.
Viator - I would suggest that you consider a more time in Avignon. 1 hour and 15 minutes is not enough time! Perhaps skip Chateauneuf-du-Pape as it was just a wine shop visit of 1 1/2hrs that could have been spent in Avignon.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a wonderfull experiencia. Everything World on time and as expected. Two magnificente guides join us and who was with us form Avignon is a very gol done

Think you

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We were very upset because your local Paris guide made us come in at 6:30 am when our train did not leave till 8:45. We had to sit and wait when our hotel was so close. Also we did not have enough time on our own to explore or shop and I was disappointing that we did not get to see more small towns

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Caroline and Francis were stellar tour guides, making the most of every moment of the day. We saw so much of Provence that could not have been possible otherwise, and the train ride from Paris was fast and pleasant. One of the best features of this tour was the friendly human contact reassuring us every step of the way. We were greeted at Place des Pyramides at the very start of the day, accompanied to Gare de Lyon by a kind guide, and we were greeted in Avignon by another representative from Viator who led us to our guides for the rest of the day. Effortless and anxiety-free, the reassuring presence of qualified, capable guides took the potential stress out of a phenomenal experience. Caroline and Francis were friendly, funny, articulate, and extremely informative in their explanations of all we saw and did. We highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The trip was amazing and our guide was exceptional. It was a great way to see this amazing part of the country. I really had a nice time and highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a great trip. Interesting sights. Good pace.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great value for money, certainly recommended. The tour leader was excellent.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Well to begin with the tour company could have asked us to meet at a later time instead of 6.30am, as the train only left at 8.50 am. We were at train station by 7am! We were left mostly on our own at each site to do things at our own pace.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

There were too many destinations on a one day tour allowing very minimal time to explore at any one location at length. Most of the time spent was in transit (train/car). There was no tours through the locations when the group arrived simply a taxi service. Expected more for the cost.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was an excellent tour. The guide, Julian, did a great job of explaining the sites. There was plenty of time to spend at each location visited.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Delightful day, with transportation to and from the train station both ways. Avignon Palace gorgeous-this is a self guided tour. So are the other stops but they are delightful to explore on one's own. Recommended.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message