• USD ($)
  • English

Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of the Popes (Palais des Papes)

The Palais des Papes (Palace of the Popes) is one of the largest Gothic buildings in all of Europe and was classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1995. Avignon became the residence of the Popes in 1309 during the period of the Avignon ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour with great guide. It's too hard to see all these sights on your own, especially if you have limited time. Benoit was friendly, knowledgable, and professional. Truly made for an amazing vacation- I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very good guide and the locations were wonderful. Entrance fees were not included though, so we had to pay for entrance to the pope's palace. If you do go to the pope's palace, go to the very top for a great view of Avignon + countryside.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Loved the minivan tour experience - sites definitely worth seeing; guide excellent. Worth the money.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We do not normally take tours, but after much research I discovered it was nearly impossible to see most of these sites without renting a car or spending all day on a train, and even then seeing the Pont du Gard is nearly impossible. For our first guided tour, we were absolutely delighted. We had plenty of time at all the sites. Our tour guide, Florence, was lovely. I highly recommend this tour. We would have never seen these wonderful sites without this tour.

Our first stop was in Les Baux de Provence. We got there before the rush of tourists. The hill town was lovely. We spent our time walking around in the shops. There is a castle you can visit, but we chose not to.

Next we saw the Pont du Gard. We got to walk over the bridge and had lunch in the food court. There isn not much there to eat, but we did find a crepe shop. There was a restaurant on the drop-off side of the bridge, so I would recommend eating there before you walk over the bridge.

Next was Avignon. We had time to see the Pope's Palace and walk around the town. Avignon is easy to get to, so if we wanted to have more time, we could have visited again on our own, but it was enough time for us.

Finally, we stopped at Chateauneuf-du-Pape. When we first arrived, there were 3 buses of tourists, so we went to the ruin for a photo-op and returned to the winery.The tour guide arranged for a private tasting in the VIP room.

It was a fabulous day. Thank you!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Roxanne V
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Excellent! The places are fantastic. If only the days can stretch out longer, we wouldn't mind staying on each place visited for a couple more hours. My highlight on this tour is Lex Baux de Provence and Pont du Gard.
Our tour assistant, Lia is on time and speaks excellent English. She's very helpful with all the information with regards to the trip, including all the history and tidbits of information about the places we are visiting. Plus, she even went out of her way in offering additional tips on which other places to go after our tour and how to get there. I will definitely book this tour again if time permits.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed the most amazing day! It was just the two of us with a great and extremely knowledgeable guide who was actually a local. We saw the most beautiful special places around Aix en Provence.
The village of Les Baux was a stand out. Beautiful country and I have the most special photos which I will treasure forever.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Super fantastic tour. Each stop had something very special about it and the Pont Du Gard was the best part!

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Fantastique tour. My only complaint is that we did not have enough time at ease stop

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We would highly recommend this day tour. Avignon was fantastic, would have loved to have spent more time there.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A truly wonderful and awe inspiring tour. A MUST if you're in Marseille. Marseille is such a large industrial city with a historical port, so the contrast of visiting the small provincial villages and towns that look like a postcard was the highlight. I highly, highly recommend it. Safe vehicles, friendly and informative guides, easy booking process. Be SURE to reconfirm the tour one day prior because the TIME of your tour could be different than what you originally booked, those changes can occur due to other groups of people being picked up from different locations.
Viator - I would suggest that you consider a more time in Avignon. 1 hour and 15 minutes is not enough time! Perhaps skip Chateauneuf-du-Pape as it was just a wine shop visit of 1 1/2hrs that could have been spent in Avignon.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a wonderfull experiencia. Everything World on time and as expected. Two magnificente guides join us and who was with us form Avignon is a very gol done

Think you

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We were very upset because your local Paris guide made us come in at 6:30 am when our train did not leave till 8:45. We had to sit and wait when our hotel was so close. Also we did not have enough time on our own to explore or shop and I was disappointing that we did not get to see more small towns

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Caroline and Francis were stellar tour guides, making the most of every moment of the day. We saw so much of Provence that could not have been possible otherwise, and the train ride from Paris was fast and pleasant. One of the best features of this tour was the friendly human contact reassuring us every step of the way. We were greeted at Place des Pyramides at the very start of the day, accompanied to Gare de Lyon by a kind guide, and we were greeted in Avignon by another representative from Viator who led us to our guides for the rest of the day. Effortless and anxiety-free, the reassuring presence of qualified, capable guides took the potential stress out of a phenomenal experience. Caroline and Francis were friendly, funny, articulate, and extremely informative in their explanations of all we saw and did. We highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The trip was amazing and our guide was exceptional. It was a great way to see this amazing part of the country. I really had a nice time and highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a great trip. Interesting sights. Good pace.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message