Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of the Popes (Palais des Papes)

The Palais des Papes (Palace of the Popes) is one of the largest Gothic buildings in all of Europe and was classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1995. Avignon became the residence of the Popes in 1309 during the period of the Avignon ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was wonderfully handled - my tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Bruce M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good tour and well worth it. We got to see everything we wanted to see. Pick up was no problem and they picked up in another town. Very nice minivan. We enjoyed our trip!

Our 'tour guide' was more of a chauffeur than guide .... He took you locations and arranged pick up times but that was about it. He did have ample opportunity to narrate since he had a microphone in the front. However as he said this was his last tour of the season so.....

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Eric M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, I would say that we were happy with this tour. Highlights for us were the Pont du Gard and the wine tasting at the winery in Chateauneuf-du-Pape which we would not have been able to reach on our own. Our guide was very friendly and informative while at the same time trying to navigate crazy Marseilles traffic. Unfortunately, we had poor weather cold and high winds which detracted from some activities and bad traffic which slightly shortened our day. Due to the shortened hours of sunlight and the considerable travel distances we felt the time spent at each location was quite short. The tour was adjusted for the season so we visited Les Baux de Provence first. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit the castle and most shops were closed for the season. Our time at the Pont du Gard was also quite short - partly due to other people in the group's preference to spend more time in Avignon - but again we felt rushed and missed out on some components. We were very impressed with the bridge itself but were unable to visit the museum or watch the contextual video in the 45 mins allotted. At Avignon we followed the advice of other reviewers and did not go into the Pope's Palace but rather observed it from the exterior and wandered the old streets and had a relaxed lunch. While we liked Avignon, everyone in the group found there wasn't much to do in the off-season and everyone returned to the van early. Finally, the wine tasting was very good with excellent wines and a very funny, relaxed, yet informative tasting guide. By the time we left the winery it was dark and so we were unable to tour the vineyards or visit the very scenic village. Overall, while I think the guide did the best she could to provide the same tour in the off-season, I don't feel like we got the full experience and I would emphasise that you consider what are the key elements of this tour you are looking for and whether they can be met within the limits of the off-season.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was lots of fun. We got to see Provence and a lot of the sights.

For some reason, they decided to move the tour 1 hour earlier. We got the message late the evening before. We made it to the earlier time, but the other guest didn't since he didn't get the message. Given an extra hour to waste, the guide took us up to the Notre Dame del la Gard so we got an extra chance to visit it. All-in-all, it wasn't a wasted hour even though I was a bit upset at the late notification that we needed to have an earlier start to our day.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Kev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If you only want to take one tour during your trip, this is the one. Our guide, Renaud, was just great. He kept a van full of 8 people engaged and laughing through a long, amazing day.
Avignon - a great walking tour and the 14th-century Popes' Palace is quite beautiful.
Pont du Gard a Roman aqueduct near Nimes, this UNESCO World Heritage site is quite impressive and inspiring. Pictures do not do it justice and you will want more time here.
Les Baux de Provence - a lovely medieval village. You will want good walking shoes for this one but it's a great stop.
The village of Châteauneuf-du-Pape - the wine tasting was informative and a lot of fun. Bring your euros because you will want to buy some wine while you're there.
The tour is an interesting mix of activities and was worth every minute. It's long ours was a 12-hour day, but we loved every minute. We are still talking about this day and Renaud helped make it perfect. Take this tour! Thank you!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

petered2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great day with our guide Renault. He gave us lots of information, we had enough time in each stop to enjoy ourselves and the scenery was fantastic. The wine testing was informative and tasty, even if the wine was a bit expensive to buy.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

dorothy b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

good for any fitness informative and very well run moved at a good pace but not too quich my husband even enjoyed it

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very informative tour about the history of the area and of course wine tasting of top notch French wine was one for the ages

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Baron Eyhorne United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

James M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Overall this was an excellent tour, with a guide who was both knowledgeable and personable, with a sense of humour that gelled with the group. It is a long tour and the stop in Avignon should be used as much to have lunch as to view the city. The small Avignon tourist train is a waste of time and very bumpy over the uneven roads and lanes but the city is interesting. The village of Les Baux is likewise interesting to visit and wander around. As a wine-lover the visit to the Chateauneuf-du-Pape winery was a little deflating in that there were 3 wines on offer with a member of the winery's staff who was coming off a day of doing the same thing multiple times and evidently wanted the group tasting and explanation to be over. Still, some of the commentary was of interest.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Serpil A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It was very good tour. Places were wonderful and tour guide was very helpful..

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Dick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

With only one free day available on our Paris trip, this tour is worth the time and cost if you want to see a bit of Provence. Up early and nearly 6 hours going and coming on the comfortable, high-speed train, but you get to see quite a bit in a short time in Avignon and the surrounding area. We were very pleased.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

Michelle P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was an interesting tour however I was disappointed that I did not see any lavender fields. The brochure and description/photos of the tour gave you the impression that you would.

This year the lavender fields were harvested early so I do understand that. However, my understanding is that they really didn't have many, if any, lavender fields in the areas that this tour covers. This was a little disappointing but it was still great to see Avignon, the Popes Palace, the Pont du Gard, etc.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

Lawson K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour director Gail was very good. She was friendly and very informative. The tour was very good too. Provence is beautiful and we saw some stunning parts of it. I would definitely take another Viator tour.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

ELIZABETH S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was great. She was so knowledegable about history and had a great sense of humor in how she expressed things. It's a wonderful tour to introduce you to Avignon.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Mario S Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Tour guide/driver Gail was very professional and the places visited are not to be missed. Some really amazing sights.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

candan t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

lovely tour, lovely guide julien, highly recommended - even to those who don't like tours, like me!

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Cary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were the lucky ones, we had the tour to ourselves. The guide / driver was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We were given time at each of our stops to look around and the only thing I would say is that if you really have an interest in the subject the time is too short, the museum at the Pont du Gard is really good and I could have spent at least one more hour just understanding how the canals/ aquaducts was built, same with the palace of the popes, but that said I enjoyed the trip as well as the variety of sightseeing for the day,
Would definitely recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Roger M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Cedric was a great guide. Informative, fun, very concerned for our satisfaction. Above and beyond expectations for our tour. And each location was spectacular and we'll worth the visit. Great value!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Cindy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was amazing. She is very funny and told us a lot about Provence while still driving, and she's a very good driver.
Highly recommend this trip to people who wanna spend a day to see neighboring cities of Marseille.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Elizabeth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My daughter and I had a wonderful day! Interesting and we loved the shops as well!
Our tour bus was cool, clean and comfortable. The guide was great and the driver was as well!
Our guide looked like the pop singer Jewel and was very kind and informative and approachable.
A great memory!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

HING CHEUNG F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The Escort driver is a little dull, not lively in communication.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message