Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of the Popes (Palais des Papes)

The Palais des Papes (Palace of the Popes) is one of the largest Gothic buildings in all of Europe and was classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1995. Avignon became the residence of the Popes in 1309 during the period of the Avignon ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour director Gail was very good. She was friendly and very informative. The tour was very good too. Provence is beautiful and we saw some stunning parts of it. I would definitely take another Viator tour.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was great. She was so knowledegable about history and had a great sense of humor in how she expressed things. It's a wonderful tour to introduce you to Avignon.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Tour guide/driver Gail was very professional and the places visited are not to be missed. Some really amazing sights.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

lovely tour, lovely guide julien, highly recommended - even to those who don't like tours, like me!

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were the lucky ones, we had the tour to ourselves. The guide / driver was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We were given time at each of our stops to look around and the only thing I would say is that if you really have an interest in the subject the time is too short, the museum at the Pont du Gard is really good and I could have spent at least one more hour just understanding how the canals/ aquaducts was built, same with the palace of the popes, but that said I enjoyed the trip as well as the variety of sightseeing for the day,
Would definitely recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Cedric was a great guide. Informative, fun, very concerned for our satisfaction. Above and beyond expectations for our tour. And each location was spectacular and we'll worth the visit. Great value!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was amazing. She is very funny and told us a lot about Provence while still driving, and she's a very good driver.
Highly recommend this trip to people who wanna spend a day to see neighboring cities of Marseille.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My daughter and I had a wonderful day! Interesting and we loved the shops as well!
Our tour bus was cool, clean and comfortable. The guide was great and the driver was as well!
Our guide looked like the pop singer Jewel and was very kind and informative and approachable.
A great memory!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The Escort driver is a little dull, not lively in communication.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The trip was fantastic. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Sufficient time were provided to explore the various attractions on our own. It was really value for money.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A very well designed tour, paced perfectly to allow enough time to enjoy each site and yet have an overall view of what the South of France has to offer.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was only fair. Most of the time was spent driving. The tour guide was knowledgeable, but talked constantly while in route. He didn't actually take us on any tours of the areas mentioned, just described them before we arrived at our destinations. I didn't find it very enjoyable or as interesting as other tours I've taken with Viatour.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This was a small group tour in a comfortable van. They split up a larger group at the visitor center. One group left on time. The driver/guide for our group was 45 minutes late due to traffic so we had to wait. As we met the first group at the last stop time must have been shaved off. The guide we had was knowledgeable and spoke good English. My problem with this tour ,aside from the late start ,was it tried to do too much. Barely enough time to see just the papal palace in Avignon. Just enough time for lunch in Les Baux. Sufficient time in the other places. The wine tasting visit which I thought would be just trying to sell things was not at all and very interesting.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

wonderful trip. I have a lot of memories about the history, the arts, the wine, the people. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

ideally one would be able to spend a few days in provence and explore Avignon, however you have a limited amount of time this is a good introduction to the region. There was nearly 2 hours between the meeting time at the tourist office and the train departure. if at all possible there might better use of the time if they could book an earlier train so that there were be more time to explore in Avignon.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was beautifully organized and the guide, Renault, was terrific. Although we were a little rushed experiencing this amazing country, we enjoyed just the right amount of organized and free time. We highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour with great guide. It's too hard to see all these sights on your own, especially if you have limited time. Benoit was friendly, knowledgable, and professional. Truly made for an amazing vacation- I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very good guide and the locations were wonderful. Entrance fees were not included though, so we had to pay for entrance to the pope's palace. If you do go to the pope's palace, go to the very top for a great view of Avignon + countryside.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Loved the minivan tour experience - sites definitely worth seeing; guide excellent. Worth the money.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We do not normally take tours, but after much research I discovered it was nearly impossible to see most of these sites without renting a car or spending all day on a train, and even then seeing the Pont du Gard is nearly impossible. For our first guided tour, we were absolutely delighted. We had plenty of time at all the sites. Our tour guide, Florence, was lovely. I highly recommend this tour. We would have never seen these wonderful sites without this tour.

Our first stop was in Les Baux de Provence. We got there before the rush of tourists. The hill town was lovely. We spent our time walking around in the shops. There is a castle you can visit, but we chose not to.

Next we saw the Pont du Gard. We got to walk over the bridge and had lunch in the food court. There isn not much there to eat, but we did find a crepe shop. There was a restaurant on the drop-off side of the bridge, so I would recommend eating there before you walk over the bridge.

Next was Avignon. We had time to see the Pope's Palace and walk around the town. Avignon is easy to get to, so if we wanted to have more time, we could have visited again on our own, but it was enough time for us.

Finally, we stopped at Chateauneuf-du-Pape. When we first arrived, there were 3 buses of tourists, so we went to the ruin for a photo-op and returned to the winery.The tour guide arranged for a private tasting in the VIP room.

It was a fabulous day. Thank you!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Roxanne V
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Excellent! The places are fantastic. If only the days can stretch out longer, we wouldn't mind staying on each place visited for a couple more hours. My highlight on this tour is Lex Baux de Provence and Pont du Gard.
Our tour assistant, Lia is on time and speaks excellent English. She's very helpful with all the information with regards to the trip, including all the history and tidbits of information about the places we are visiting. Plus, she even went out of her way in offering additional tips on which other places to go after our tour and how to get there. I will definitely book this tour again if time permits.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message