The Pont du Gard is a 50 kilometer (31 miles) aqueduct that stretches between Uzès and Nîmes. It is located in Vers-Pont-du-Gard commune in the South of France, and UNESCO made the aqueduct a World Heritage Site in 1985. The famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour to Nimes,Uves and Pont du Gard. Our guide who was very good and very knowledgable picked us up at our hotel and provided information about the countryside as well as the sites. Travelled in a van for 8 but only 4 of us that trip,very comfortable.
The tour was brought forward 1/2 hour on account of the short November afternoon.This was a good move- it meant we were just in time to see the Pont du Gard from both sides of the river before the light faded.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent guide and great places visited. Only problem was it got dark by the time we got to the last village. A shame the start time could not have been brought forward once the clocks had gone back the previous weekend.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A very well designed tour, paced perfectly to allow enough time to enjoy each site and yet have an overall view of what the South of France has to offer.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Robin did a very good job. He provided a great balance of humour and knowledge of the region.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Carol, our tour guide and drive, was terrific and she made sure I made it to Avignon TGV that same evening for my train back to Paris which was the last one from Avignon. The three villages were the best I have ever been too in Provence and the Pont du Gard was spectacular. Worth every minute of the tour!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Overall, the half-day trip was great. Our guide was good and knowledgable of the region. He spoke excellent english. I would recommend this half-day trip for anyone staying in Avignon who would like to see some of the sights in surrounding Provence. It would have been nice to have more time in Les Baux en Provence so we could have explored the castle ruins longer. Overall, a great side trip and well worth the cost!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide on the day was terrific, even pointing out to us where to buy the best lavender icecream. The weather was superb. Would have liked more time in Rousillon and Gorde.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very enthusiastic guide. Loved the tour -- the Sunday market, lavender museum, lovely little Provence towns and the Pont du Gard. He knew his area well, since he was from the area, and had many interesting stories to relate.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We have a lovely afternoon i this tour...the guide is a littlte bit late..but she is responsible for everything in the tour, and we saw a lot of great town and scenery...but it seemed every location is just too little time to explore...that is the downside if you want to join a tour..overall..it;s lovely and worth it

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were picked up about 15 minutes late from our hotel for this trip, but it was nice to have a smallish van with just enough people for us to all meet and talk to each other as we travelled. We travelled through lots of delightful villages as our tour guide chatted to us, and stopped at the Pont du Gard, Les Baux des Provence and Gordes. We had just the right amount of time at the Pont du Gard and Gordes but nowhere near enough time at Les Baux des Provence, it is such a gorgeous village with beautiful shops but also a fort at the top of the hill which we never even had time to see. I would recommend more time in this village, half an hour simply is not enough. Apart from that, it was well worth the time doing this tour, we fitted a lot of sightseeing into a short amount of time.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable, great guide and covered lots of interesting Provence villages in one day

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We were able to see the sights, but felt rushed. At Pont du Gard, we were not given the information that the aqueduct was not accessible. So some of us hiked to where the opening of the aqueduct and the entrance to walk across was closed. We proceeded to hike to the other side, and ran up the hill due to limited time and discovered that it was closed too.

Florin, our tourist guide, although look tire, was helpful and trying her best to give us information about the places while driving to the places at a fast speed. At Les Baux, one either see the palace or have lunch, one cannot do both. No personal stories or connection to each of the passenger. However, if you just want to see the places because the distance is itself too far, this is 3 star tour.

Doing what: Saint Remy, Les Baux and Pont du Gard Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was only fair. Most of the time was spent driving. The tour guide was knowledgeable, but talked constantly while in route. He didn't actually take us on any tours of the areas mentioned, just described them before we arrived at our destinations. I didn't find it very enjoyable or as interesting as other tours I've taken with Viatour.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This was a small group tour in a comfortable van. They split up a larger group at the visitor center. One group left on time. The driver/guide for our group was 45 minutes late due to traffic so we had to wait. As we met the first group at the last stop time must have been shaved off. The guide we had was knowledgeable and spoke good English. My problem with this tour ,aside from the late start ,was it tried to do too much. Barely enough time to see just the papal palace in Avignon. Just enough time for lunch in Les Baux. Sufficient time in the other places. The wine tasting visit which I thought would be just trying to sell things was not at all and very interesting.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed the day with our guide. It was an amazing day of sight seeing and enabled us to visit a lot of highly recommended places. I would very much recommend this tour to someone who doesn't have a lot of time in Provence and wants to capture the highlights.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message