The Pont du Gard is a 50 kilometer (31 miles) aqueduct that stretches between Uzès and Nîmes. It is located in Vers-Pont-du-Gard commune in the South of France, and UNESCO made the aqueduct a World Heritage Site in 1985. The famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 451 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great value for money would recommend this tour

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Justin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Pick up was on time. I had a lovely afternoon driving around the Avignon countryside. Great for a snap shot of the country side if you are time constrained.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was wonderfully handled - my tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Yana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There was a splendid tour, rather informative, and at the same time relaxing and very well organized. How was it possible to visit so many fantastic places within the single day so many impressions, emotions and memories. Thanks to the excellent guide Julien our multinational group was feeling nothing but comfort and relaxing in this trip. Julien is the true professional, ready to answer any question, with very friendly and attentive attitude to each person in his group. I am really thankful to Viator and to Julien for this Grand Day in Provence, - such tours can be definitely strongly recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Bruce M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good tour and well worth it. We got to see everything we wanted to see. Pick up was no problem and they picked up in another town. Very nice minivan. We enjoyed our trip!

Our 'tour guide' was more of a chauffeur than guide .... He took you locations and arranged pick up times but that was about it. He did have ample opportunity to narrate since he had a microphone in the front. However as he said this was his last tour of the season so.....

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Eric M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, I would say that we were happy with this tour. Highlights for us were the Pont du Gard and the wine tasting at the winery in Chateauneuf-du-Pape which we would not have been able to reach on our own. Our guide was very friendly and informative while at the same time trying to navigate crazy Marseilles traffic. Unfortunately, we had poor weather cold and high winds which detracted from some activities and bad traffic which slightly shortened our day. Due to the shortened hours of sunlight and the considerable travel distances we felt the time spent at each location was quite short. The tour was adjusted for the season so we visited Les Baux de Provence first. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit the castle and most shops were closed for the season. Our time at the Pont du Gard was also quite short - partly due to other people in the group's preference to spend more time in Avignon - but again we felt rushed and missed out on some components. We were very impressed with the bridge itself but were unable to visit the museum or watch the contextual video in the 45 mins allotted. At Avignon we followed the advice of other reviewers and did not go into the Pope's Palace but rather observed it from the exterior and wandered the old streets and had a relaxed lunch. While we liked Avignon, everyone in the group found there wasn't much to do in the off-season and everyone returned to the van early. Finally, the wine tasting was very good with excellent wines and a very funny, relaxed, yet informative tasting guide. By the time we left the winery it was dark and so we were unable to tour the vineyards or visit the very scenic village. Overall, while I think the guide did the best she could to provide the same tour in the off-season, I don't feel like we got the full experience and I would emphasise that you consider what are the key elements of this tour you are looking for and whether they can be met within the limits of the off-season.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, just pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard when it was too dark to see properly

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, gave us a ticket or pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard too late to see the informational video.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Will V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the pick up at hotel Carol was a fantastic guide explains all the history . All the stops for us was well worth doing and so glad we did this tour Special stNd out was the Roman Aqua Duct bridge with the sun setting .thanks Carol we loved our tour on our 33 rd anniversary from Carol and Will Australia

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Nina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was amazing. I met amazing people and my tour guide Melanie was extrotinary. Her smile and personality made the day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Went to beautiful sights in Provence while staying in Avignon. The tour was the highlight.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Bronwyn f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fabulous itinerary. My only suggestion would be to make it a full day tour with more time especially at the castle. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

christopher v

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

good tour..turned up on time, interesting itinery, enough time in each location, really enjoyed the trip

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Giuseppe P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed every aspect of the tour, but it involved a lot of travelling. It became a very long day. It may be better spread over two days with adequate time for a lunch break in one of the pituresque villages.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was lots of fun. We got to see Provence and a lot of the sights.

For some reason, they decided to move the tour 1 hour earlier. We got the message late the evening before. We made it to the earlier time, but the other guest didn't since he didn't get the message. Given an extra hour to waste, the guide took us up to the Notre Dame del la Gard so we got an extra chance to visit it. All-in-all, it wasn't a wasted hour even though I was a bit upset at the late notification that we needed to have an earlier start to our day.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Linda Jean F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour and guide/driver. I would have loved a little more time in Nimes, Uzes, and Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Robert D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I fully expected our guide to guide, to inform us about the sites we would be seeing. But her narration was sparse. The audio guides were helpful, but we had a long drive and I felt she could have done a bit more. One really good aspect was that she did her best to accommodate our desire to see the Maison Carre, so we really appreciated her efforts.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Giovanna G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

We enjoyed the trip, but felt rushed. The driver/guide was great. Would have preferred to skip the lavender museum and spend more time in Gordes. We expected to be out all day, but ended up being combined with others who had only booked half day excursions which meant going back to Avignon for drop off/pick up at noon and grabbing a quick lunch to eat in the car rather than a relaxed lunch in Les Baux as per the itinerary write-up. We were not advised in advance or given an opportunity to change our dates. This was very disappointing!!! The places visited were fantastic - customer service on the part of the tour operator very poor!!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Anthony C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Our particular tour did not cover some of the attractions as listed, in fact the only attraction that we saw in Nimes was the Amphitheater. Too much time was allowed in the Amphitheater and also in Uzes, where we were just left to wander the town after a very brief descriptive overview of the main sights. What we did see was very good and that added to the frustration of not seeing more of the sights in Nimes.
The Pont du Gard, an exceptional engineering feat, was a highlight of the tour.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Darren N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to experience Provence in a day!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message