The Pont du Gard is a 50 kilometer (31 miles) aqueduct that stretches between Uzès and Nîmes. It is located in Vers-Pont-du-Gard commune in the South of France, and UNESCO made the aqueduct a World Heritage Site in 1985. The famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 465 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall an excellent tour. Marc was very knowledgeable about Provence and we learned a lot about the region. We were with a nice group which helped make the day very enjoyable. Marc arrived on time, the vehicle was comfortable we were not in back seat though, we got back on time and Marc's English was excellent.
Comments:
Felt a little rushed during day and would have liked more time in a couple of places.
There was one cliuent on a half day tour, the rest of us were full day. Therefore had to return to starting point which may have been the reason we were short on time. Suggest having tour with people who have same schedule.
For a!most 300 kind of expected lunch would have been provided or at least some beverages.
in spite of these comments would highly recommend tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great pace! Great sites! Great guide(Julien). My only recommendation would be to swap the lavender museum for a wine tasting or cheese tasting. This tour was exactly what I was looking for. I only had 36 hours in Provence and with work, didn and #39;t have time to research a trip. A taste of Provence.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Evelyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very good and our guide was great. This tour gave the background of the areas. I t allowed me to see more and would be better able to choose one or two spots to revisit.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was essentially transportation with information along the drive. Cedric was a great guide and we enjoyed his talks. We had enough time to explore and the winery was fantastic -and tasty

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Violette was knowledgeable friendly and flexible. As we were the only guests in the afternoon she was able to make some changes to eliminate attractions we had already seen, thus increasing our overall enjoyment.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was great. He gave us excellent advice about how to spend our time, answered our many questions and offered great background on the sites. Like all tours of this type, it can seem rushed but it is a great way to see these types of interesting places if you don't want to drive yourself and have limited time--the tour makes great use of the time you have.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Joan H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our tour, as the amount to see seemed just about right. Yet, did not need to spend so much time at the Lavender museum and store. Violette was a nice tour guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Rolando T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

quite a leisurely trip. since its a small group 6 pax, the guide gave us adequate time to explore the area on our own while we gave some history and background on the road to those interesting places. Must do if you're around Marseille.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Rolando T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Quite a leisurely trip. Since we were a small group 6 pax the tour guide allowed us enough time to explore those interesting areas. Must do if you're around Marseille.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Violet was wonderful, competent, and informative. We would highly recommend this tour especially if you are not traveling with a car.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

JP - Memphis, TN United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a 12 hour, fully packed day. Saw an amazing variety of great spots in Provence. Wonderful stop at Les Baux castle was the highlight. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Emanuel gave us an amazing Grand tour of Provance. His knowledge of the places he took us and the surrounding areas was excellent. The weather was beautiful which added to the experience. Overall it was an enjoyable day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see places outside Avignon.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great value for money would recommend this tour

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Gina Huang Taiwan

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Winter is very cold and the store are closed, it's not interesting.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Justin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Pick up was on time. I had a lovely afternoon driving around the Avignon countryside. Great for a snap shot of the country side if you are time constrained.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was wonderfully handled - my tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Yana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There was a splendid tour, rather informative, and at the same time relaxing and very well organized. How was it possible to visit so many fantastic places within the single day so many impressions, emotions and memories. Thanks to the excellent guide Julien our multinational group was feeling nothing but comfort and relaxing in this trip. Julien is the true professional, ready to answer any question, with very friendly and attentive attitude to each person in his group. I am really thankful to Viator and to Julien for this Grand Day in Provence, - such tours can be definitely strongly recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Bruce M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good tour and well worth it. We got to see everything we wanted to see. Pick up was no problem and they picked up in another town. Very nice minivan. We enjoyed our trip!

Our 'tour guide' was more of a chauffeur than guide .... He took you locations and arranged pick up times but that was about it. He did have ample opportunity to narrate since he had a microphone in the front. However as he said this was his last tour of the season so.....

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Eric M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, I would say that we were happy with this tour. Highlights for us were the Pont du Gard and the wine tasting at the winery in Chateauneuf-du-Pape which we would not have been able to reach on our own. Our guide was very friendly and informative while at the same time trying to navigate crazy Marseilles traffic. Unfortunately, we had poor weather cold and high winds which detracted from some activities and bad traffic which slightly shortened our day. Due to the shortened hours of sunlight and the considerable travel distances we felt the time spent at each location was quite short. The tour was adjusted for the season so we visited Les Baux de Provence first. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit the castle and most shops were closed for the season. Our time at the Pont du Gard was also quite short - partly due to other people in the group's preference to spend more time in Avignon - but again we felt rushed and missed out on some components. We were very impressed with the bridge itself but were unable to visit the museum or watch the contextual video in the 45 mins allotted. At Avignon we followed the advice of other reviewers and did not go into the Pope's Palace but rather observed it from the exterior and wandered the old streets and had a relaxed lunch. While we liked Avignon, everyone in the group found there wasn't much to do in the off-season and everyone returned to the van early. Finally, the wine tasting was very good with excellent wines and a very funny, relaxed, yet informative tasting guide. By the time we left the winery it was dark and so we were unable to tour the vineyards or visit the very scenic village. Overall, while I think the guide did the best she could to provide the same tour in the off-season, I don't feel like we got the full experience and I would emphasise that you consider what are the key elements of this tour you are looking for and whether they can be met within the limits of the off-season.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, just pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard when it was too dark to see properly

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message