Avignon ATTRACTIONS See all

Rhone Valley Region

The lands on either side of the Rhone River in western Provence have some of the most fertile terroir in France, giving rise to the prestige of the Rhone Valley Region of over 1,000 vineyards. If you're visiting France and want to explore a wine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide,Julien, was friendly, knowledgeable and very professional. We enjoyed learning about terroir, the history as well as the wine tastings themselves. It was a great afternoon and we would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved it. Driver was very informative. Stopped many times so we could take pictures of the beautiful countryside. Wineries we visited were friendly and we loved the rose at Tavel. Would recommend this tour to wine lovers.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A very well designed tour, paced perfectly to allow enough time to enjoy each site and yet have an overall view of what the South of France has to offer.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Julien, was very informed about wines, and entertaining as well. Our time together was both educational and entertaining.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The afternoon vineyard tour to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, and the tastings were superb. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Avignon. My only regret was not buying any Tavel or Lirac.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a tour guide by the name of elody (spell). She was the best. Can't say enough about how good she was. She knew her stuff from history to wine.
Best guide ever. Bob Hewitt, Ketchikan, Alaska.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

wonderful trip. I have a lot of memories about the history, the arts, the wine, the people. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Anne was WONDERFUL. We had a fabulous time with some of the best wine in the world and we learned a lot! Totally worth it...we wish we did the full day tour!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour with great guide. It's too hard to see all these sights on your own, especially if you have limited time. Benoit was friendly, knowledgable, and professional. Truly made for an amazing vacation- I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We do not normally take tours, but after much research I discovered it was nearly impossible to see most of these sites without renting a car or spending all day on a train, and even then seeing the Pont du Gard is nearly impossible. For our first guided tour, we were absolutely delighted. We had plenty of time at all the sites. Our tour guide, Florence, was lovely. I highly recommend this tour. We would have never seen these wonderful sites without this tour.

Our first stop was in Les Baux de Provence. We got there before the rush of tourists. The hill town was lovely. We spent our time walking around in the shops. There is a castle you can visit, but we chose not to.

Next we saw the Pont du Gard. We got to walk over the bridge and had lunch in the food court. There isn not much there to eat, but we did find a crepe shop. There was a restaurant on the drop-off side of the bridge, so I would recommend eating there before you walk over the bridge.

Next was Avignon. We had time to see the Pope's Palace and walk around the town. Avignon is easy to get to, so if we wanted to have more time, we could have visited again on our own, but it was enough time for us.

Finally, we stopped at Chateauneuf-du-Pape. When we first arrived, there were 3 buses of tourists, so we went to the ruin for a photo-op and returned to the winery.The tour guide arranged for a private tasting in the VIP room.

It was a fabulous day. Thank you!

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Super fantastic tour. Each stop had something very special about it and the Pont Du Gard was the best part!

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved this tour
Our guide Julien was vey knowledgable and made the tour even better than expected
The wines were superb and the knowledge gained was invaluable
This is a must do tour

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed the most amazing day! It was just the two of us with a great and extremely knowledgeable guide who was actually a local. We saw the most beautiful special places around Aix en Provence.
The village of Les Baux was a stand out. Beautiful country and I have the most special photos which I will treasure forever.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great guide, very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and wine!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide picked us up at our hotel and for this tour, it turned out, it was only the two of us and one other person. Our guide, Caroline, was very personable, knowledgeable and enjoyable. She also provided a mini-tour of Avignon as we headed out of town toward the wine country. We first went to a Tavel winery which specializes in Rose wines. We tasted three different wines - a white, a red, and a Rose. All were wonderful. The winery guide provided a lot of interesting information about the Cote-du-Rhone wine region. Very informative. After this visit, we headed to Chateauneuf-du-Pape where we went to another winery. At this winery we received a tour of the winery and the various wine aging areas. After the tour, we tasted 4 or 5 different wines - one white and the rest reds. Also very wonderful. Our winery tour guide was very entertaining and lots of fun. All in all a very enjoyable and worthwhile afternoon. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A truly wonderful and awe inspiring tour. A MUST if you're in Marseille. Marseille is such a large industrial city with a historical port, so the contrast of visiting the small provincial villages and towns that look like a postcard was the highlight. I highly, highly recommend it. Safe vehicles, friendly and informative guides, easy booking process. Be SURE to reconfirm the tour one day prior because the TIME of your tour could be different than what you originally booked, those changes can occur due to other groups of people being picked up from different locations.
Viator - I would suggest that you consider a more time in Avignon. 1 hour and 15 minutes is not enough time! Perhaps skip Chateauneuf-du-Pape as it was just a wine shop visit of 1 1/2hrs that could have been spent in Avignon.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

Mike C
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was cancelled, but instead we went to 2 wineries in Chateauneuf-du-Pape, which was very enjoyable

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A fantastic tour of the Southern Cote du Rhone area near Avignon. The guide was very knowledgeable about wine, the region, the local vintners - what's not to like. If you like wine - and want to learn a lot about French winemaking - don't miss this tour!!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Delightful day - Julian was personable, knowledgable and well versed. Our morning wine tasting was exclusive to the three of us and was simply wonderful.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

julien was a fantasic guide, teaching us lots abouttheregion,and most importantly, the wine! His English was very good and he was very knowledgeable and a great sense of humor. He went above and beyond to ensure our needs were met...especially finding a suitable toilette! We loved the 3 wine tastings and the variety of rose and white and red was also appreciated. Had a lot of fun and would highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was fantastic! Julien, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and personable. Since he grew up in Avignon, we left feeling like we got the "insiders" tour of this great wine region. We could not have been more pleased with this tour. It exceeded out expectations.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The trip was amazing and our guide was exceptional. It was a great way to see this amazing part of the country. I really had a nice time and highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great value for money, certainly recommended. The tour leader was excellent.

Doing what: Best of Provence Day Trip from Marseille: Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Les Baux de Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This wasn't actually the trip we went on as we were asked if we minded changing our date to the next day. This wasn't a problem for us and we went to Orange and Chateauneuf-du-Pape instead. Our tour guide Anna was prompt and very informative. Orange was lovely, well worth a visit.The wine tasting was a good experience. We thought it was good value for money.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message