• USD ($)
  • English
If you're traveling through western Provence, no doubt you're going to visit the Pont du Gard, a Roman-era aqueduct that is truly worth seeing. But many see it as simply a monument to Roman times, and lose its context. And that's where a visit to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was incredible. The roman arena in nimes is in very good condition. You could imagine all the things that happened there. Then we wento to Uzes a very charming town and the last stop was Point du Gard which was beautiful and serene. Julien was a very good guide. Don't miss it !!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We (a married couple and a female friend, all about 65), did this tour in late May 2013.
I recommend this tour highly. The guide, Veronica? was excellent!
It is hard to believe that some of the sites we saw today are over 2000 years old. The Roman amphitheatre at Nimes is the best preserved Roman amphitheatre in the world, where they shot the movie Gladiator. The weekend just gone was a long weekend and they had their version of the running of the bulls. Then we saw the most impressive building, the Maison Carree, a Roman temple, a huge rectangular building with columns at the front. Then we went on to the pleasant historic town of Uzes, where we had time for a short stroll. The best was to come, the aqueduct the Pont Du Gard. This is an amazing arched structure stretching over the river Gardon. One of the wonders of the ancient world, it was built in 1st century A.D. and is still in good condition.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Great tour! Although a short afternoon tour, we were able to spend time at the Arena in Nimes. The highlight was viewing the Pont du Gard near sunset. Because of the lighting, I was agble to take some great photos. The short time in Uzes allowed a comparison of the scale of Medieval France with that in Roman times. The tour guide was absolutely great with an excellent sense of humor and a great knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Michael W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was not quite as interesting as our first trip, however Uzes was our favorite town in Provence. Our guide was excellent with a very good knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Avignon was fabulous,the tour of Nimes, Pont gaurd and Uzes was a fantastic experience would never have seen all the fantastic sites without a tour.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Wonderful tour, not to be missed. In Nimes and Uzes, fantastic tour guide, very knowledgeable. Pont du Gard is not to be missed. Thank you for a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Leslie H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

My only criticism is that a visit to Uzes was included and it is not a Roman site. Otherwise the trip was very enjoyable and well-managed. The quide was admirable.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Again, our driver/guide was delightful but we only visited two of the three places listed in the promotion material. We went to Uzes and the Pont du Gard, but not to Nimes. However, the tour was still enjoyable and our driver was very knoweagable.

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: In the Footsteps of the Romans

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Our guide was excellent But really, another amphatheatre? One too many. And Beautiful Uzes? We paid for a guide not a map! She gave us a map of the sites and we were on our own. Frustrating! The guide should have taken us around to the sites herself, not given us a map to find the sites for ourselves. We paid for a guide! Let the guide be a guide! My friend and I did not care for the map handouts. If we had wanted to be on our own with a map in hand, we wouldn't have taken this tour. The guide is not merely a chauffeur, but a guide. Not her fault Viator's fault.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Pros: Comfortable car; small group; friendly guide.
Cons: Felt rushed at the stops, especially at Nimes. If Uzes had been eliminated--not really a Roman place and seemingly nothing more that a tourist venue--we would have had more time at Nimes and Pont du Gard. The guide should do a little more reading on the sights and history of the Provence area.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

We were very disappointed in this trip. In Nimes we were given tickets to the Ampitheatre. We were told to be back at the bus in 75 minutes. We didn't even see Augustus' gate or the Castellum. We drove by Maison Carree without even slowing down. We sped through the ampitheatre so we could go see Maison Carre but it was a race to the finish. We were dropped off in Uzes without even a map. We didn't even know what we should go see as we didn't bring our travel books. We expected the guide to give us all of the info. We were too nervous we'd get lost to really explore as we only had 45 minutes. Pont du Gard was amazing but again we were just dropped off without even a brochure. The staircase to the second level had closed an hour before we got there which was disappointing. The advantage of this tour is you are driven to the Pont du Gard as it isn't the easiest place to get to via public transportation. This tour is basically just a driver with some commentary as you drive from place to place.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2012

When we booked the tour, it was to include 5 roman sites:the Ampitheatre, the Maison Carree, the Augustus's gate, the Castellum, and Pont du Gard. Apparently the tour was changed in the few weeks from booking until we went. At the Ampitheatre, we were given a map to the Maisson Carree but it was the opposite direction from where the tour guide parked and much too far to walk in the time alloted. We did not even drive by it or the Augustus's gate or the Castellum. In Uzes we were dropped off with a map and had to find our way across the area to the pickup point. We spent only a few minutes looking at the sites. Most of the time was spent finding our way. Pont du Gard was nice. Of the 5 Roman sites we expected to see, we saw 2. We thought a few of them would be short photo ops, but we did not even drive by. If you are interested in Roman sites, don't waste your money on this tour.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message