A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 727 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I didn and #39;t end up going on this tour. They called to say that there were no other bookings so I was moved onto another, I was then late for that one due to train delays. I called them and they moved me to the next day. Was a wonderful experience, Remy was an excellent guide. Loved every second of it.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had a wonderful time at chateaunerf du pape. Both my tour guide and the staff at the wineries but very knowledgable, friendly and good fun! It was a great start to the day. Also the wine is amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Denise M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The pick-up at the hotel was on time and our guide, Melanie, was lovely. She was very knowledgeable but did not spend the entire time talking, giving us time to enjoy the countryside as we drove from town to town. I loved seeing all the places we went, but would have liked a little more time exploring. Of course, that would mean cutting out one of the stops. Hard choices!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Susan P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Small group tour gave a great chance to experience this ancient area.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

James C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great guide and great tour to learn about the area,

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Peter O

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Knowledgeable guide to show us all the important parts for people who are interested in this particular history - otherwise this may not be for you.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

chapter.4

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Was disappointed that the company did not have other people interested in this tour. They kindly transferred my booking to the Luberon and Lavender Museum tour. The hilltop towns of Gordes and Roussillon were beautiful and worth the visit.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Fernando

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Got to see at least two medieval cities, most interesting.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall an excellent tour. Marc was very knowledgeable about Provence and we learned a lot about the region. We were with a nice group which helped make the day very enjoyable. Marc arrived on time, the vehicle was comfortable we were not in back seat though, we got back on time and Marc's English was excellent.
Comments:
Felt a little rushed during day and would have liked more time in a couple of places.
There was one cliuent on a half day tour, the rest of us were full day. Therefore had to return to starting point which may have been the reason we were short on time. Suggest having tour with people who have same schedule.
For a!most 300 kind of expected lunch would have been provided or at least some beverages.
in spite of these comments would highly recommend tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great pace! Great sites! Great guide(Julien). My only recommendation would be to swap the lavender museum for a wine tasting or cheese tasting. This tour was exactly what I was looking for. I only had 36 hours in Provence and with work, didn and #39;t have time to research a trip. A taste of Provence.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

pambetz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guide and visits to small town and vineyards - and of course tastings! Even brought empty! Chateauneuf-du-Pape bottle designed by artist Pere Anselme home - which caused some raised eyebrows at airport security LOL!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots to see and very enjoyable. Good site choice. Friendly, upbeat tour guide, Violet.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Rachel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide. Thoroughly enjoyed the day, saw a lot of interesting things and learnt a lot. Very professional and friendly guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Arles, Camargue and Aigues-Mortes Day Trip from Avignon

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Violette was knowledgeable friendly and flexible. As we were the only guests in the afternoon she was able to make some changes to eliminate attractions we had already seen, thus increasing our overall enjoyment.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was great. He gave us excellent advice about how to spend our time, answered our many questions and offered great background on the sites. Like all tours of this type, it can seem rushed but it is a great way to see these types of interesting places if you don't want to drive yourself and have limited time--the tour makes great use of the time you have.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Lindsay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect. Informative interesting fun and violette our guide was keen for us to enjoy the tour. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Joan H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our tour, as the amount to see seemed just about right. Yet, did not need to spend so much time at the Lavender museum and store. Violette was a nice tour guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was completely as advertised. We had the right amount of time in Orange and the wine tour was great for a first-time wine tasting. It was a relaxing afternoon but we also saw a great deal. Our guide was very knowledgeable both about the items on the tour and more generally in answering our questions about the Avignon area. She used perfect English and also was very patient in letting us practice our French.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Emanuel gave us an amazing Grand tour of Provance. His knowledge of the places he took us and the surrounding areas was excellent. The weather was beautiful which added to the experience. Overall it was an enjoyable day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see places outside Avignon.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great value for money would recommend this tour

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Sohini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A very comprehensive tour of wineries with knowledgeable guides and tasting of excellent wines. Including Pont du Gard, Les Baux and Gordes is a great idea. The tour guide was extremely pleasant and competent

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message