A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 609 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed our afternoon tour of the lavender fields and pretty Provencal villages. Our guide was very good and informative.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The lavender tour was great! Our driver (Sarah) was very nice. Rousillon and Gordes were picturesque.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very good and we had a very friendly and patient tour guide Sara. We enjoyed the day and highly recommend the tour and tour guide.
Asanga and Sangetha

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was great. She was so knowledegable about history and had a great sense of humor in how she expressed things. It's a wonderful tour to introduce you to Avignon.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. Had plenty of time at each stop and guide was pleasant.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a nice tour and allowed us to see the lavender fields and the museum. Our guide was open to suggestions, we all wanted to visit the fields first because of weather (it was suppose to rain later in the day). The air wasn't working in the car.
Thank you

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Roman Theater in Orange is really spectacular. Wine tasting at a Chateauneuf winery was fun owing to the reputation of the area. Our guide was not as good as we expected. She sent us in to the Roman Theater in Orange and left us for 1 1/2 hrs on our own. It would have been so much better to have heard from her about the history and events. The audio guide was OK, but you can't ask it questions and you can't adapt it for the interest of those on the tour. Same thing at Chateauneuf - she could have added greatly to the tour by being there instead of leaving us.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Very disappointed! The pick up was late for 30mins with no prior notification. Second, the tour guide didn't tell us the itinerary of the day at all. Third, we were taken to 1 lavender field only, instead of "fields" as stated. Last, we spent 3 hours out of 5 in traffic. Totally not worth 136USD.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour and guide, Ms. Issabelle.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was wonderful! We got to see so many of the surrounding villages near Aix; the tour was the right amount of history and narration by our lovely guide as well as alone time to explore the various stops along the way. Highly recommend for anyone that has a day to spare in the region.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour! The guide was very helpful and told us a lot about the region. The villages are the MUSTS to see!

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: Luberon Villages and Lavender Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour including Roman ruins in Orange and Arles, and the unique hill top city of Les Baux. Enough free time to roam about and take in all the history.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Saw many interesting sites, including the mental hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed for a while and the actual areas and scenes where he painted many pictures, the hilltop cities of Gordes and Les Baux, and the Roman aqueduct called Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nicolas was knowledgeable with interesting facts to share. We had sufficent time at all 3 sites. The van was comfortable.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful, we traveled to many places in one day with the freedom to see the countryside with a guide that new so many facts. We never would have seen as many important and interesting sights and seen the wonderful Provence area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of our best trips.

The fascinating village of Les Baux perched on a steep mountain side was a highlight, fully supported by the wine and olive oil producers we visited.

In the afternoon, the Roman and mediaeval remains of Nimes were well worth visiting, though I found the Arena a bit underwhelming. The well-preserved mediaval town of Uzès was fascinating to explore. A pity the Pont du Gard was right at the end, when we we were somewhat weary - but it was nevertheless a real highlight.

Excellent driver.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide, great trip. I wish we could have visited the abbey at Senanque.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jeremy picked us up right on schedule and we toured the Rhone Valley on our way to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape. We had many questions and he answered them plus added local flavor about the area. We stopped for photos and even toured the town of Tavel since we were a bit early for the wine tasting. It was a very satisfying experience for all four of us! Thank you Jeremy and Viator.

Doing what: Private Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hilltop villages, lavender, enough free time to look around and enjoy, what a great day! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great day, for the price you couldn't go wrong, the chef Jean Claude was terrific and very entertaining... Drank wine all day along with cocktails and ate and helped achieve a wonderful dinner... Highly highly recommend this trip... The market tour was fantastic as well.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a highlight of our trip to France. Carole was an amazing guide! She is really an historian, not simply a guide - add knowledge to great driving skills. We would HIGHLY recommend this trip!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour had a lot to offer and the tour guide Marc was awesome. Loved the Lavender tour. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour - Nicolas gave lots of interesting and useful information, helpful maps and then left us to explore - perfect!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message