A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 718 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Sohini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A very comprehensive tour of wineries with knowledgeable guides and tasting of excellent wines. Including Pont du Gard, Les Baux and Gordes is a great idea. The tour guide was extremely pleasant and competent

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Sally S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A beautiful part of France I had not seen before.
The tour was very well done.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide was amazing--thoroughly knowledgeable and so helpful. We enjoyed both wineries very much! We were on a Viator tour in 2013 in Epernay which was also wonderful. We will highly recommend Viator to any travelers and look forward to our next Viator experience.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

xianghong c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we visited the Lavender field on the 12 August which is about the end of the season. Our guide was awesome, he did his best to help us find 2 fields although it was pouring... hope we get back next year and see you again !!! many thanks

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Rhonda T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was very nice tour. Loved the lavender fields and the distillery was very interesting. Would definitely recommend this tour to lavender lovers.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

surferjoe13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I enjoyed this tour immensely. Our guide, Adeline, was very knowledgeable about wine and the wine-making process. She also was a wealth of information about the history, geography, and meteorology of the surrounding region. The highlight of this tour was a wine tasting class at a winery in Ventoux where Adeline explained how to evaluate and taste wine. We were able to taste seven wines during this class. After lunch we went to a winery in Tavel where we tasted several rose wines which Tavel specializes in comparing wines made from grapes grown in different soils. We ended our day in Chateauneuf-du-Pape at a winery which discussed the specialized wine-making process in that region. We found Adeline to be utterly charming. Her English was impeccable.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Marilyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous!! Very interesting visiting all these lovely little French villages.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Yana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There was a splendid tour, rather informative, and at the same time relaxing and very well organized. How was it possible to visit so many fantastic places within the single day so many impressions, emotions and memories. Thanks to the excellent guide Julien our multinational group was feeling nothing but comfort and relaxing in this trip. Julien is the true professional, ready to answer any question, with very friendly and attentive attitude to each person in his group. I am really thankful to Viator and to Julien for this Grand Day in Provence, - such tours can be definitely strongly recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

cdavies

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We thought the tour was quite good. The one improvement that could be made, is to have the stops guided by the driver. We had Carole who was incredibly knowledgable. She gave us lots of background information while driving but it would have been better while actually touring the sites.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

Carrie C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The guide at Château Neuf des Pâpes was phenomenol! Great tastings if you are looking for a great wine unique to the Rhône valley.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

EDUARDO B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

A nice trip, but I'd suggest to make it different. I think it should start by visiting Nimes and Uzes Nimes is one of the most charming cities I've ever been to, and to finish in the olive and wine tasting. The tasting was good, but at 9 o clock in the morning, it was a little bit weird

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

Joan B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

shops closed at tour time. Needed to be more guided

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, gave us a ticket or pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard too late to see the informational video.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Wiiliam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We did the Lavender tour that included a tour of the lavender museum and side trips to Gordes and Rousilon. Small coach and just eight of us made it great. Excellent tour guide who was right on time and very engaging. We did the Papal Palace on our own, which is a must see.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Independent City Tour

April G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a fabulous day this is! Shopping at the market in Loumarin. Lunch and time to yourself in Rousillon. Photo op on the way to Gordes and time in the village there. Brief stop in Isle sur le Sorgue - almost too brief to make it worthwhile. I am thrilled to have seen these places although the time in each place was completely on your own. All in all, a fabulous day.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

A M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I highly recommend this tour. It gives a great overview of the area and the visit to the olive and wine farms were great. What a wonderful surprise was the visit to
Baux de Provence, breathtaking views of Provence. Our tour guide was right on time and made the tour very pleasant. Thank you.

Doing what: Les Baux de Provence Tour from Avignon: Provencal Wine and Olive Oil

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour was wonderful, I would highly recommend it. Our guIde Emilie was wonderful, very helpful and full of interesting and knowledgeable information. Pleasure to spend the day with and it was fantastic to be able to visit so many places within the one day with comfortable stops in between. Highly recommend if not for Gorges Verdun alone.

Doing what: Small-Group Aix-en-Provence, Verdon Gorge and Moustiers Ste-Marie Day Trip from Avignon

Sara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was very nice and I enjoyed the tour. She even spoke in French and English for us, so that we could practice our French. The wine tasting was interesting and fun and the Roman ampitheatre was very cool.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Will V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the pick up at hotel Carol was a fantastic guide explains all the history . All the stops for us was well worth doing and so glad we did this tour Special stNd out was the Roman Aqua Duct bridge with the sun setting .thanks Carol we loved our tour on our 33 rd anniversary from Carol and Will Australia

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Teck Wah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful! The tour guide is passion and knowledgeable. The whole trip was very well managed and we have a very relax trip.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Traian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We have enjoyed this trip very much. It is a half day excursion, just not too long and not too short.
The tour guide was very knowledgeable, new several languages and was a very nice person.
We recommend this tour if you happen to be in Avignon.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Charles F B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Renauld was an amazing tour guide who made history come alive for us. The villages each had its own character as explained by Renauld. We would never have been able to learn so much about the Luberons and Provence in general if not for this tour.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message