A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 476 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour guide - Lis? time to wander the markets, see the lavendar and sunflower fields, wander through ancient streets and see some wonderful panoramas from several vantage points. Highly recommend this tour to anyone who does not want to rent a car but wants to see some of the exceptional towns in Provence in a day. Only thing missing - Les Carrieres des Lumineres in Les Beau en Provence. Found it impossible to get there without a car or a scheduled tour. A good reason to return.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pick up went exactly as planned. Jam-packed itinerary and well worth it. Good driver and guide. No complaints. two years running now with Viator. Will always book with you.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a lovely tour of the lavender fields and surrounding villages. It's such a spectacular sight to see all the lavender in bloom and on one of the lavender stops we were the only people there which was great. The village of Roussillon was very pretty and we had some time to walk round and enjoy it. The guide was great and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This day was an excellent and full day of the Luberon Villages. The guide was excellent - accommodating and informative. We had enough time to walk around the villages and experience the atmosphere. Overall a really good day and well worth doing.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Viola! Lavendin was blooming only at this time, but the vibrant fields of purple were just as gorgeous. (lavendin is a hybrid of fine lavender) the museum at the end was a nice touch and the shopping in the village Sault was excellent. Tip: buy lavender goods at the market with cash -- they're just as excellent quality but without the high prices at the museum shop! visited many lovely villages which were also scenic, making it not just a day full of lavender, but Provence in general.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our experience on this trip was fantastic…from booking all the way to the end of the trip…Everything was easy, fun and stress-free. Our driver and guide was wonderful: friendly, helpful, and great company in showing us around Avignon. He even helped us get some great spots for photos with less frequented tourists. Overall, the trip was wonderful and would recommend it to anyone interested in visiting the area. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful tour
I can't imagine missing these sights - book now,,,do not miss this

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very nice day and driver was fun. Lucky to see such splendor at exactly the right time.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Lyle B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour. Had time to buy lunch but having something at a nice winery would have been fun,
Very comprehensive tour though.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

very organized, efficient and well-thought trip!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It is hard to believe we were gone 10 hours! The tour started promptly for us at 0850 on a hot summer day in Avignon and our group of 6 + Mary (tour guide) headed out to tour the countryside. We were worried that the heat, and the driving, would wear on us but the tour stops were well spaced, the A/C cool (even though we were in the last row of the van), and Mary kept us all quite busy with historical stories and local information. It is amazing to see such grand architecture dating from 50 BC forward, and to better understand the history of the many settled villages and agricultural heritage of the region. The stops allowed plenty of time for snacking and shopping - before we knew it we were back at the hotel. Thank you for rounding out our vacation in France on a high note. Marion and Ben

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is by far my favorite tour I've been on. The scenery was stunning and has me quite literally dreaming of lavender fields and the hillside city of Gordes constantly. Our tour guide Renault was incredibly charasmatic, intelligent and super kind. He made everyone in the group feel very at ease.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was experienced and friendly which made the tour pleasant. Time at each village stop was sufficient to take in the beautiful sights. It would have been great if we had a photo stop at the Pont Julien. It was also a pity that the abbey stop was skipped as the lavender were harvested.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Robin was super friendly and informative. He told us stories and background of the towns. We definitely enjoyed our day out with him. One suggestion for improvement...As it was our first time in those towns (Roussillon and Gordes) that we got dropped off, it's probably worth the extra 15 mins to show us around before free time.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message