A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 467 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour guide - Lis? time to wander the markets, see the lavendar and sunflower fields, wander through ancient streets and see some wonderful panoramas from several vantage points. Highly recommend this tour to anyone who does not want to rent a car but wants to see some of the exceptional towns in Provence in a day. Only thing missing - Les Carrieres des Lumineres in Les Beau en Provence. Found it impossible to get there without a car or a scheduled tour. A good reason to return.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pick up went exactly as planned. Jam-packed itinerary and well worth it. Good driver and guide. No complaints. two years running now with Viator. Will always book with you.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a lovely tour of the lavender fields and surrounding villages. It's such a spectacular sight to see all the lavender in bloom and on one of the lavender stops we were the only people there which was great. The village of Roussillon was very pretty and we had some time to walk round and enjoy it. The guide was great and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Viola! Lavendin was blooming only at this time, but the vibrant fields of purple were just as gorgeous. (lavendin is a hybrid of fine lavender) the museum at the end was a nice touch and the shopping in the village Sault was excellent. Tip: buy lavender goods at the market with cash -- they're just as excellent quality but without the high prices at the museum shop! visited many lovely villages which were also scenic, making it not just a day full of lavender, but Provence in general.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our experience on this trip was fantastic…from booking all the way to the end of the trip…Everything was easy, fun and stress-free. Our driver and guide was wonderful: friendly, helpful, and great company in showing us around Avignon. He even helped us get some great spots for photos with less frequented tourists. Overall, the trip was wonderful and would recommend it to anyone interested in visiting the area. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful tour
I can't imagine missing these sights - book now,,,do not miss this

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very nice day and driver was fun. Lucky to see such splendor at exactly the right time.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Lyle B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour. Had time to buy lunch but having something at a nice winery would have been fun,
Very comprehensive tour though.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Robin was super friendly and informative. He told us stories and background of the towns. We definitely enjoyed our day out with him. One suggestion for improvement...As it was our first time in those towns (Roussillon and Gordes) that we got dropped off, it's probably worth the extra 15 mins to show us around before free time.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Thorough and all as promised in the online materials. The guide herself was lovely but her English was sometimes hard to understand. Sound system in the van didn't work properly in my opinion. Although it was a lot to see in one (VERY HOT) day, it was worth the long day's drive.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see the surrounding towns and sights. Our guide, Marie was very informative and catered for all our various needs/languages.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I love bike tours. Try to do one in every city I visit. This was so fun and educational. Our guide was safety minded and yet fun and informative. The South had such a shameful yet colorful history, it helps to understand why people thought the way they did back then and why things are built as they were. Sara knew all the tidbits, sharing them at the generous number of stops and points of interest. Would do it again as I'm sure we missed something.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Very good tour but we tried for 2 days to get hold of the company to confirm pick up point and the Tourism office in Avignon phoned them in the end to confirm. I would recommend that the 2 and a half hours in Rossouline be shortened with an hour to accommodate a visit to the Abbey in the afternoon.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Far exceeded my expectations. Marie our charming guide was a safe driver and full of information on the various locations we visited. Sunday Antique markets L'Isle sur le Sorgue. At Musee Lavande it was very interesting to learn about planting, harvest and production and lovely products to buy. Roussillon, Gordes and Les Baux all wonderful towns to explore. I would highly recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely tour! The winery piece was not very involved or informative, but the wine was delicious! The olive oil piece was very interesting, and delicious as well! The property was beautiful. It was a lovely day!

Doing what: Les Baux de Provence Tour from Avignon: Provencal Wine and Olive Oil

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message