A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 549 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabulous all day tour. Matt was a great tour guide, able to answer all of the guests questions. Lots of walking. Each village had it's own unique charm. Getting out into the countryside was a real treat.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour for experiencing both the Roman sites and learning about Van Gogh. Melanie was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. If you only have a short time in Provence, this tour maximizes use of your time. Each stop was definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We found the town of Arles to be especially interesting because of its Roman ruins as well as the spots frequented by Van Gogh. Our guide Nicolas pointed out many highlights and was full of information. We enjoyed the colorful bright yellow cafe which was the subject of Van Gogh's painting, and also the lovely courtyard of flowers at the place he stayed to restore his health. Town square has noteworthy church and fountain.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Ruins are a must-see, especially Pont de Gard. Guide was informative and helpful.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Roman arch and ancient theater in Orange are wonderfully preserved and important to see. The theater has a very good audio guide that comes with the tour. We enjoyed the tastings at the working winery and also the visit to ruins of the Pope's old chateau. Our guide Julian was excellent, fun, helpful.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a once in a lifetime experience. Our guide was extraordinary. She briefed us on history, and on food and made this walking tour unforgettable.

Doing what: Avignon Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was a highlight of our Paris stay. Linda, our guide was outstanding!!! Well worth the money!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

By pairing our day trip with a person on a half-day trip the trip schedule was changed. Instead of having lunch in one of our visited cities we were dropped off in Avignon and told to pick up something to eat quickly. The trip to the lavender museum was also a disappointment as we were told to leave the movie because it would be in French even though we had headphones that translated to English. Then we were not allowed to enter the shop until we turned in our headphones. The timing for our stops was not well thought out.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was knowledgeable, patient and enjoyable. The sights were all gorgeous--though I wish we'd skipped the lavender museum and its long video to make more time for the other sites.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour packed a lot into one day and gave an excellent of some of the most beautiful towns in Provence. Due to the number of sites we visited we only had about 45 minutes in each but this was sufficient. Melanie, our guide, was very kind and informative.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour - just enough time in each place. The guide was knowledgeable and gave good recommendations. Beautiful part of the world.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was small with only 4 people. The guide Anne was very good and knew a lot about the area. The tastings were good - just enough!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Efficient expedition in Southen France in one day which is not manageable on one own, nice travel group. Roussillon and Pont du Gard recommanded.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good day out with a variety of activities. Well worth the experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was quite interesting. The arena in Nimes is a sight to see, not only for the structure but for its history. I was disappointed not to see the 'Square House'. I thought it was included. Uzes is delightful and our guide was a pleasure to have.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

So many things wrapped up into one day - had a simply jam packed, delightful day. Pont du Gard was breathtaking - to be able to walk the bridge was surreal; Standing in places where Van Gogh actually painted his work was inspirational. Loved this day tour - just brilliant.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Well this tour started off well. The pick up was on-time. Our guide was very nice and took us to two wineries in the morning. Things were well organized and things moved along smoothly. The second half of the trip was a little less smooth. Several of the villages we visited did not have anything open this time of year, something that the guide and Viator should have been aware of. Our guide improvised and did the best that she could and I have to say she definitely gets an "A" for effort. We ended up deviating from the original tour to make things work, however had we followed the original plan I would have found this trip a bit too long. Building in a nice lunch along the way would have been a good idea. Definitely better to take in warmer climes.

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was awesome - visited some amazing places that are not easily accessible without a car and the guided tour of the winery was great.
Our tour guide Caroline was very informative, enthusiastic and warm, and used a lot of her own experiences and knowledge to make it very interesting. Do it!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved it. Driver was very informative. Stopped many times so we could take pictures of the beautiful countryside. Wineries we visited were friendly and we loved the rose at Tavel. Would recommend this tour to wine lovers.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour to Nimes,Uves and Pont du Gard. Our guide who was very good and very knowledgable picked us up at our hotel and provided information about the countryside as well as the sites. Travelled in a van for 8 but only 4 of us that trip,very comfortable.
The tour was brought forward 1/2 hour on account of the short November afternoon.This was a good move- it meant we were just in time to see the Pont du Gard from both sides of the river before the light faded.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The villages of Luberon were incredibly beautiful, even in the down season. Our tour guide, Guile was amazing at answering any questions we had and was very conscientious about the safety when we stopped to take pictures along the ledge. I would recommend this trip, but suggest if possible to visit when the weather is warmer so the villages will be more lively.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Great tour guide was so nice and accommodating....the midevial towns were the best and I enjoyed everything except....we shouldn't have to have gone back to avignon in middle of day to pick up more people...we lost time and couldn't really have lunch..I specifically booked a tour that did not have to do this...as a result when we got to the roman acuiduct..we couldn't see anything......would not go o again because of this

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was good, and the tour guide quite helpful. I really would have preferred to have a wine tasting at several wineries in Chateauneuf du Pape, but that was not an option.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message