A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 516 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Robin did a very good job. He provided a great balance of humour and knowledge of the region.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide on the day was terrific, even pointing out to us where to buy the best lavender icecream. The weather was superb. Would have liked more time in Rousillon and Gorde.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very enthusiastic guide. Loved the tour -- the Sunday market, lavender museum, lovely little Provence towns and the Pont du Gard. He knew his area well, since he was from the area, and had many interesting stories to relate.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic experience. Our guide was friendly and informative. His suggestions on what to see in each town we visited, including answering general questions about the area, helped us enjoy our day in the Luberon even more. This tour experience provides the right blend of guided tour with opportunity to explore each picturesque town on our own. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

One of our favourite excursions. We had a wonderful day visiting the most beautiful villages. Our guide Paco was amazing, giving us the history of the area and was so accommodating and friendly. He stopped at each village giving us an idea of the best places to see and after discussing a time frame, left us to wander at our own pace which we prefer. Without a car this is the best way to experience a large area of the luberon area. We highly recommend!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The overall experience was very good and we got a basic class in genuine Provencal
Cooking. There was a small disconnect at the start, as they did not get the booking for our class before we got there, so considering they were not expecting us it went very well. I was hoping to get the recipes
And emailed but so far I have not received or heard anything. The atmosphere
In the maison added a genuine feeling to the overall experience.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent and knowledgeable guide! Never felt rushed and he was fully engaged with every member of the group to answer questions and make sure everyone was satisfied and enjoying themselves!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous tour of the beautiful Luberon Villages - with a wonderful young Guide Lia - we had a great time and would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed this cooking class. Such a buzz at the Les Halles Markets.... Caroline was lovely... I would have loved to have taken the recipes home with me though. The tour of the place with the owner was great, soooo French and quirky.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We were able to see the sights, but felt rushed. At Pont du Gard, we were not given the information that the aqueduct was not accessible. So some of us hiked to where the opening of the aqueduct and the entrance to walk across was closed. We proceeded to hike to the other side, and ran up the hill due to limited time and discovered that it was closed too.

Florin, our tourist guide, although look tire, was helpful and trying her best to give us information about the places while driving to the places at a fast speed. At Les Baux, one either see the palace or have lunch, one cannot do both. No personal stories or connection to each of the passenger. However, if you just want to see the places because the distance is itself too far, this is 3 star tour.

Doing what: Saint Remy, Les Baux and Pont du Gard Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyed this trip. I love wine, but had little knowledge of French wine. This tour helped to educate me, and I walked away with a greater understanding. Plus, the wine was delicious and the area was beautiful. I am very glad I signed up for this.

Doing what: Half-Day Wine Tasting Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this tour! Lea was a fabulous tour guide and the villages we visited were gorgeous.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

spectacular! love the class! the venue is located in local classic house. the hostess and the chief are amazing! learnt a lot and had a great time. I am glad i done this!! it's very very good especially for me coming from different culture!

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

it's very good!!!!!!!! i enjoyed a lot! I wish i could have more time to do the one day trip!!

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The trip was interesting and extremely intensive. It is a pity that the minibus comes back to Avignon in the middle of the trip, for the traffic there is rather heavy. The advertisement does not explain that it is in fact a modular trip changing passengers in the middle of the day. All in all, however, the trip was highly rewarding. The short visit to the mental hospital where Van Gogh stayed during the last year of his life was especially moving.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message