A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 662 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour with an excellent guide and we would highly recommend it.. The only suggestion we would like to make is that some provision be made for a lunch break.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent tour, run by Provence Reservations. Anne, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and went out of her way to make sure we got the most of the day. It was a long day, and we covered around 20km, and about 6 main stops, with sufficient time in each. The Cloitre St Paul asylum where Van Gogh stayed was a worthwhile addition to the tour - it was amazing to see the actual scenes Van Gogh painted!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

really fun...and long day! I wish we had more time to swim at Pont Du Gard. The tour guide gives a little history on each place and basically just lets you roam around for a while. Nice!

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Due to the lavender season being early in 2015 a lot of the fields had already been harvested when we were there but our guide, Julien, took us to two fields which were still blooming and beautiful - one of which had a spectacular view of the village of Aurel as a backdrop.
We had a half hour stop in the village of Sault just long enough to buy some lavender based gifts at a better price than we would have found them in Avignon.
As we had not hired a car during our stay in Avignon, this tour gave us the opportunity to see some of the countryside and mountains in the area.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent half day tour, Roman theatre in 'Orange' followed by wine tour Chateau nerve du pape, well worth the money, guide excellent, wine tasting even better. Learnt a lot about wine, as it was our first wine tasting tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An amazing day, Julian was our tour guide extrodinaire. Brilliant. There aren't enough stars provided to rate it highly enough. I'm not usually one for guided tours, preferring to explore on my own, but this is a Must Do tour! Thank you Julian so much for a great day, awesome people to share it with as well

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

cw
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide first of all. The tour covered a lot of places and would recommend if this is your first visit to the area and want a bit of overview of things for future visits. Will definitely book again from the tour company and the guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful medival village

Doing what: Best Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. Amazing tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Daniel was an excellent guide and driver. The villages were more than we had expected. The variety of experiences was fantastic. A group lunch in Asolo was the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was absolutely fantastic. I loved every minute of it. Thank you!!!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Due to the festival it was not possible for us to be picked up at our hotel, Hotel de l'Horloge, so we had to walk down to the Hotel Bristol to be collected this would have been fine if we hadn't been kept waiting for 20 minutes in the intense heat we had been told to be there 15 minutes before the set time!
The actual tour was really enjoyable and our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the wine and the area and as we had not hired a car during our stay in Avignon, this tour gave us the opportunity to see some of the countryside on the other side of the Rhone. The drive through the vineyards seeing the different types of soil that the grapes are grown on was really interesting. The wine tasting at Tavel was very enjoyable and we learned a lot. The wine tasting and tour of the Chateauneuf du Pape winery, including the cellars and seeing the range of oak barrels, was also really interesting and we were so glad we had booked this tour. It was just a shame that at the Chateauneuf du Pape vineyard a large party of Chinese tourists objected to our small group of 6 being given a tour by one of the winery representatives they clearly thought that they had exclusive rights to the vineyard and all of its staff and they reduced their tour guide to tears over it - what an unpleasant and unnecessary situation!!!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I really loved the lavender fields,but our driver Mark was maybe already very tired as he had 2 trips in the morning before our afternoon trip.He was informing a bit about the place but mostly silent during our long driving...he replied when asked.I was not so happy of the places he stopped for taking fotos.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Great tour guide and great tour stops, but even though the title states wine-tasting day trip, the focus was not wineries or wine tasting. There was one stop out of about 4 tour stops that was at a winery.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

cw
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The tour guide is fine but the tour plan is a bit loose. Didn't expect much and certainly didn't get much out of it. Air con on minivan didn't work properly meaning that sitting at the back it's better off to just open the windows.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

The Leader of the group was very in experienced. He was very young and charming but quite unsure of himself! The whole tour felt rushed. Not enough time anywhere we went. Some History was given but again the inexperience was present.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed our afternoon tour of the lavender fields and pretty Provencal villages. Our guide was very good and informative.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The lavender tour was great! Our driver (Sarah) was very nice. Rousillon and Gordes were picturesque.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

a remarkable amazing tour that took me through a stunning views of the old villages of Luberon. I would like to give a special thanks to our tour guide who was very lovely, informative and surprising. Being myslef the first participant from Egypt as told by the guide I am sure I will not be the last after this remarkable journy.

Doing what: Best Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was exceptional from start to finish, Jean Claude the chef was very entertaining and inviting. The owner of the inn was charming and delightful, the visit to the market left my wife envious of French culture and the cooking experience was fantastic. The food in the end was amazing and we were lucky enough to have a really great group of people to share the experience with. if you splurge for 1 tour in Avignon, this is the one to spend your money on.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very good and we had a very friendly and patient tour guide Sara. We enjoyed the day and highly recommend the tour and tour guide.
Asanga and Sangetha

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was great. She was so knowledegable about history and had a great sense of humor in how she expressed things. It's a wonderful tour to introduce you to Avignon.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. Had plenty of time at each stop and guide was pleasant.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message