• USD ($)
  • English
A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 419 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great guide, very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and wine!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very informative tour covering some beautiful Provence towns
The ancient Roman sites were especially good to see with plenty of time to explore on your own

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved this tour
Our guide Julien was vey knowledgable and made the tour even better than expected
The wines were superb and the knowledge gained was invaluable
This is a must do tour

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

professional guided tour,but we didn't have enough time to see more things.The tour lasted only 4 hours/from 9AM to 1PM/-only 40 min for each place.

Doing what: Saint Remy, Les Baux and Pont du Gard Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour. The itinerary was full but we didn't feel we were rushed. The pace was just right. We were only 2 in the van and the guide Caroline was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions, even if it's not covered by the tour I think.. like our questions about Van Gogh's life. I didn't have any trouble with booking and coordinating with the tour operator. Viator even sent numerous email reminders before the trip. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide picked us up at our hotel and for this tour, it turned out, it was only the two of us and one other person. Our guide, Caroline, was very personable, knowledgeable and enjoyable. She also provided a mini-tour of Avignon as we headed out of town toward the wine country. We first went to a Tavel winery which specializes in Rose wines. We tasted three different wines - a white, a red, and a Rose. All were wonderful. The winery guide provided a lot of interesting information about the Cote-du-Rhone wine region. Very informative. After this visit, we headed to Chateauneuf-du-Pape where we went to another winery. At this winery we received a tour of the winery and the various wine aging areas. After the tour, we tasted 4 or 5 different wines - one white and the rest reds. Also very wonderful. Our winery tour guide was very entertaining and lots of fun. All in all a very enjoyable and worthwhile afternoon. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had booked this tour, but were put on the longer Le Grand tour. It was wonderful. Our driver/guide Jessica was terrific. She was very informative, friendly and approachable. We only had two days in Avignon and could never had seen so much in one day on our own. As it was New Years Eve the day was shorter than in summer, and Jessica made sure we saw all there was to see before it got dark. It has certainly made us want to come back to visit the area in summer. All in all, a wonderful tour snd one we would recommend to everyone, especially if you are time poor like we were. The wine tasting, bridges, roman ruins and delightful villages were wonderful.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

S and D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour with highly personalised service touring interesting, well preserved and restored historical sites from Roman times as well as an enjoyable wine tasting experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

At the suggestion of our guide, our tour began half an hour earlier than was previously advertised which turned out to be to our advantage as it enabled us to see all the sites in the daylight. It turned out that we were the only ones on the tour which was wonderful as we were able to decide how long we wanted to stay at each site. Our guide, Sophia, was very knowledgable and spoke excellent English

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had an excellent time with this tour on 10 September 2013. Our guide, Julian (not sure about the exact spelling of his name), made it all worth while. He was prompt, informative, and accommodating in the schedule and the sites we visited in order to insure we got the most of our experience. We especially wanted to maximize out visit to Gordes in order to visit the market day there, and he helped us to do so. He helped us to learn all about the surrounding Avignon area and was especially good at pointing out the "sites" and providing background. We truly enjoyed this and would recommend any other customers to particularly request Julian. Thanks, Julian.

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: Luberon Villages and Lavender Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a very enjoyable trip, lots of variety and heaps to see and do. Solene, our tour guide, was great and helped to make the day interesting and enjoyable

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our trip was fun and informative! Our guide Ann was great!! She was professional and fun!

Doing what: Private Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Mike C
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was cancelled, but instead we went to 2 wineries in Chateauneuf-du-Pape, which was very enjoyable

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better experience. It was a perfect day with ample time at the sights visited, a well informed and pleasant tour guide as well as pick up and drop off at our BandB.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were met promptly at 8:45 by Julien, a young man who grew up in Avignon. He was extremely pleasant, spoke very good English and had a wonderful sense of humour. There was six of us on this tour (four in our group) and it was wonderful chatting with the other two ladies. We arrived promptly at the Winery however had to wait for the other tour groups, which was fine as it gave us time to look around ourselves. The tour in the winery was excellent and very worthwhile . The tour guide in the winery was incredibly knowledgeable and showed a passion for wine making. We sampled three wines at Chateauneuf-de-Pape and then went to Brote where Julien our guide described the wines after we went through a small museum of historical wine-making equipment. This was my favourite part of the tour as it was just the six of us along with Julien. We sampled three more wines and were able to talk amongst ourselves about the tastes, etc. rather than in the large group at the first winery ...where of course there are always those people who need to let know how knowledgeable they are! Definitely would go on this tour again, especially if our guide was Julien.

Doing what: Half-Day Wine Tasting Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message