A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 553 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide,Julien, was friendly, knowledgeable and very professional. We enjoyed learning about terroir, the history as well as the wine tastings themselves. It was a great afternoon and we would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fabulous all day tour. Matt was a great tour guide, able to answer all of the guests questions. Lots of walking. Each village had it's own unique charm. Getting out into the countryside was a real treat.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour for experiencing both the Roman sites and learning about Van Gogh. Melanie was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. If you only have a short time in Provence, this tour maximizes use of your time. Each stop was definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We found the town of Arles to be especially interesting because of its Roman ruins as well as the spots frequented by Van Gogh. Our guide Nicolas pointed out many highlights and was full of information. We enjoyed the colorful bright yellow cafe which was the subject of Van Gogh's painting, and also the lovely courtyard of flowers at the place he stayed to restore his health. Town square has noteworthy church and fountain.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Ruins are a must-see, especially Pont de Gard. Guide was informative and helpful.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Roman arch and ancient theater in Orange are wonderfully preserved and important to see. The theater has a very good audio guide that comes with the tour. We enjoyed the tastings at the working winery and also the visit to ruins of the Pope's old chateau. Our guide Julian was excellent, fun, helpful.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a once in a lifetime experience. Our guide was extraordinary. She briefed us on history, and on food and made this walking tour unforgettable.

Doing what: Avignon Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was a highlight of our Paris stay. Linda, our guide was outstanding!!! Well worth the money!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Lots of fun with Jean-Claude! Still waiting for the recipes though.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

Peter B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide was excellent, funny and very informative. Well organised tour with a lot covered in a day and regular free-time included.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We had an excellent guide who was able to drive the van and give running commentaries in French, English and Spanish at the same time. The day packed a lot in with plenty of variety. My only negative comment is that the Lavender Museum was a waste of time. Why not incorporate a walk through lavender fields with the possibility of tea or coffee at the end? That would have made a better addition than lots of detail about the distillation process.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I enjoyed the class overall. Jean Claude was charming, the food was delicious. But I'm only giving three stars because this class is priced higher than similar classes I've taken and offered less.

Our time at the market was a little chaotic. We got no real tour or information about the market or the food, other than answers to our individual questions.

The kitchen is lovely, but most of the time the chef prepared the food with his back to us and we were struggling to see. The only really new information for me was how to clean a squid, but I couldn't really see what was being done and didn't get a chance to try it myself, so I didn't learn much.

I had a nice afternoon and a good meal, I liked Jean Claude very much, and I especially enjoyed visiting with the other guests in the garden. But this was an expensive class and it could have been better organized and more informative.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

By pairing our day trip with a person on a half-day trip the trip schedule was changed. Instead of having lunch in one of our visited cities we were dropped off in Avignon and told to pick up something to eat quickly. The trip to the lavender museum was also a disappointment as we were told to leave the movie because it would be in French even though we had headphones that translated to English. Then we were not allowed to enter the shop until we turned in our headphones. The timing for our stops was not well thought out.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Very disappointing, operator was running very late so we guess that is why we did not get to see everything we thought we paid for.
Nimes amphitheater - yes, Maison Carree temple and Augustuss Gate - no
Unesco-protected Pont du Gard aqueduct -yes
Palaces, cathedral and tower in the nearby town of Uzes - only from a distance, once close to the town we got caught in traffic so were dropped at edge of time to walk the streets, with no map, or guide we did not find the cathedral, tower or palace.
We felt sort changed.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was knowledgeable, patient and enjoyable. The sights were all gorgeous--though I wish we'd skipped the lavender museum and its long video to make more time for the other sites.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour packed a lot into one day and gave an excellent of some of the most beautiful towns in Provence. Due to the number of sites we visited we only had about 45 minutes in each but this was sufficient. Melanie, our guide, was very kind and informative.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour - just enough time in each place. The guide was knowledgeable and gave good recommendations. Beautiful part of the world.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was small with only 4 people. The guide Anne was very good and knew a lot about the area. The tastings were good - just enough!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Efficient expedition in Southen France in one day which is not manageable on one own, nice travel group. Roussillon and Pont du Gard recommanded.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good day out with a variety of activities. Well worth the experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was quite interesting. The arena in Nimes is a sight to see, not only for the structure but for its history. I was disappointed not to see the 'Square House'. I thought it was included. Uzes is delightful and our guide was a pleasure to have.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

So many things wrapped up into one day - had a simply jam packed, delightful day. Pont du Gard was breathtaking - to be able to walk the bridge was surreal; Standing in places where Van Gogh actually painted his work was inspirational. Loved this day tour - just brilliant.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Well this tour started off well. The pick up was on-time. Our guide was very nice and took us to two wineries in the morning. Things were well organized and things moved along smoothly. The second half of the trip was a little less smooth. Several of the villages we visited did not have anything open this time of year, something that the guide and Viator should have been aware of. Our guide improvised and did the best that she could and I have to say she definitely gets an "A" for effort. We ended up deviating from the original tour to make things work, however had we followed the original plan I would have found this trip a bit too long. Building in a nice lunch along the way would have been a good idea. Definitely better to take in warmer climes.

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message