A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 604 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed our afternoon tour of the lavender fields and pretty Provencal villages. Our guide was very good and informative.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very good and we had a very friendly and patient tour guide Sara. We enjoyed the day and highly recommend the tour and tour guide.
Asanga and Sangetha

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a nice tour and allowed us to see the lavender fields and the museum. Our guide was open to suggestions, we all wanted to visit the fields first because of weather (it was suppose to rain later in the day). The air wasn't working in the car.
Thank you

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour and guide, Ms. Issabelle.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was wonderful! We got to see so many of the surrounding villages near Aix; the tour was the right amount of history and narration by our lovely guide as well as alone time to explore the various stops along the way. Highly recommend for anyone that has a day to spare in the region.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour! The guide was very helpful and told us a lot about the region. The villages are the MUSTS to see!

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: Luberon Villages and Lavender Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour including Roman ruins in Orange and Arles, and the unique hill top city of Les Baux. Enough free time to roam about and take in all the history.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Saw many interesting sites, including the mental hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed for a while and the actual areas and scenes where he painted many pictures, the hilltop cities of Gordes and Les Baux, and the Roman aqueduct called Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nicolas was knowledgeable with interesting facts to share. We had sufficent time at all 3 sites. The van was comfortable.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful, we traveled to many places in one day with the freedom to see the countryside with a guide that new so many facts. We never would have seen as many important and interesting sights and seen the wonderful Provence area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of our best trips.

The fascinating village of Les Baux perched on a steep mountain side was a highlight, fully supported by the wine and olive oil producers we visited.

In the afternoon, the Roman and mediaeval remains of Nimes were well worth visiting, though I found the Arena a bit underwhelming. The well-preserved mediaval town of Uzès was fascinating to explore. A pity the Pont du Gard was right at the end, when we we were somewhat weary - but it was nevertheless a real highlight.

Excellent driver.

Doing what: Provence Wine and Heritage Tour from Avignon: Les Baux de Provence, Nimes and Uzès

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide, great trip. I wish we could have visited the abbey at Senanque.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jeremy picked us up right on schedule and we toured the Rhone Valley on our way to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape. We had many questions and he answered them plus added local flavor about the area. We stopped for photos and even toured the town of Tavel since we were a bit early for the wine tasting. It was a very satisfying experience for all four of us! Thank you Jeremy and Viator.

Doing what: Private Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hilltop villages, lavender, enough free time to look around and enjoy, what a great day! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great day, for the price you couldn't go wrong, the chef Jean Claude was terrific and very entertaining... Drank wine all day along with cocktails and ate and helped achieve a wonderful dinner... Highly highly recommend this trip... The market tour was fantastic as well.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a highlight of our trip to France. Carole was an amazing guide! She is really an historian, not simply a guide - add knowledge to great driving skills. We would HIGHLY recommend this trip!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour had a lot to offer and the tour guide Marc was awesome. Loved the Lavender tour. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour - Nicolas gave lots of interesting and useful information, helpful maps and then left us to explore - perfect!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

JEB
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Every tour is about the guide. Julien was a superstar. He is a native of Avignon and could answer all our questions. Since we had just arrived the night before, he filled us in on the history as we drove to our first winery. It was just Julien and the 2 of us in the AM which was delightful. In the afternoon, our van was full...Julien 8. Still we had a wonderful time, and know it would not have been the same without Julien. He gets 5 stars. The wines were lovely...we were taught how to properly taste, and we learned a lot about the wonderful grapes and blends of the region. Do it!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really nice! Learned a lot of things at the museum.
Views at Gordes and Sault are absolutely gorgeous!
The guide Sarah was helpful and nice. She was a very responsible person as well. This trip is highly recommended!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour! Perfect size group for the tour. Emilie our tour guide picked us up from the Central train station, on time. She made sure we got the right car seat for our little one, though it meant delaying the trip a bit!!

Emilie is very knowledegeable! She answered every question with a smile.

First we went to the village of Rousillion. The village is very beautiful, all the colourful houses and the narrow streets are very photogenic. Next, Emilie took us to the beautiful lavender fields with full bloom. What a beautiful place that was. We had plenty of time to photograph.

Overall we had a great time, didn't want the trip to end.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day out with a small group. All the villages had their own uniqueness, I doubt if I could have found them all in the 'day' timeframe. Glad I did the full day tour. Excellent driver.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Jim in Lakeside ... 
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lots to see in so little time. This is a two part trip. The first trip occurs in the morning and goes North of Avignon to Lavender country, and several nice towns. then it's back to Avignon to drop off half-day participants and to pick up others. The second trip goes South to more towns, including the mental hospital Van Gogh stayed, and the Pont du Gard.

Most of the stops were rushed, some no more than 20-minutes. As for St-Remy, the Van Gogh stop, you get a quick walk-by a couple of Roman monuments, you look in to the courtyard of the mental hospital, and then hop back in to the van to go to the next stop.

The highlight of the tour was the stop at the Pont du Gard, where we had over an hour to hike up to the overlook of the Roman viaduct. This was a rigorous hike, but the sights and photo opportunities were well worth the effort.

Tip for the traveler - bring a lunch or be prepared to waste the stop at Baux en Provence because you get about a half an hour to eat and hike through the town.

Our suggestion to Viator would be to make this two full day trips, add another stop or two each day, and allot time for lunch. Our tour guide, Jeremy, was well versed in the lore associated with the stops we made, and answered all questions posed to him. He did the best he could within the time constraints.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message