A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 524 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Robin did a very good job. He provided a great balance of humour and knowledge of the region.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide on the day was terrific, even pointing out to us where to buy the best lavender icecream. The weather was superb. Would have liked more time in Rousillon and Gorde.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very enthusiastic guide. Loved the tour -- the Sunday market, lavender museum, lovely little Provence towns and the Pont du Gard. He knew his area well, since he was from the area, and had many interesting stories to relate.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic experience. Our guide was friendly and informative. His suggestions on what to see in each town we visited, including answering general questions about the area, helped us enjoy our day in the Luberon even more. This tour experience provides the right blend of guided tour with opportunity to explore each picturesque town on our own. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

One of our favourite excursions. We had a wonderful day visiting the most beautiful villages. Our guide Paco was amazing, giving us the history of the area and was so accommodating and friendly. He stopped at each village giving us an idea of the best places to see and after discussing a time frame, left us to wander at our own pace which we prefer. Without a car this is the best way to experience a large area of the luberon area. We highly recommend!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip through the Luberon took us from one spectacular town or village to another with scenery as beautiful as anywhere we have been. Our guide, Leah, was informative and personable. It was a great day!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wine and antiquity. What a combination! We thought the tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Julien, was very informed about wines, and entertaining as well. Our time together was both educational and entertaining.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour gave an excellent overview of the Provence region, and every town we stopped at had something different and special to offer, and our tour leader provided an excellent and informed commentary. All three key aspects of the tour were very enjoyable and time was available for us to enjoy the features of each, e.g. the Arles market, the Roman amphitheatre in Orange and the beautiful village of Les Baux de Provence.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic cooking class, lunch, and so much more! The day started with guided shopping at Les Halles market with Chef Caroline, who showed us all her favorite stands. Her grandmother passed down the recipes for the traditional, seasonally-driven Pronvecal dishes we made—what a delicious and interesting way to learn about the area’s culture and history!

The dishes were elegantly simple and refined, and Caroline gave expert instruction on cooking techniques, knife skills, and running an efficient home kitchen.

And what a great house too! The owner, Corrine, basically turned large rambling property into a living art studio with many super-interesting, multi-dimensional pieces (even the bathroom was a work of art!). She joined the group for lunch and wine, and the five of us had a wonderful time eating, sipping, and learning about each other’s cultures.

Overall a great value and a top-notch experience, easily the highlight of our trip in Avignon!

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was really fun! The market tour was informative and more extensive than just a shopping trip for our lunch. Our Chef was creative, talented and very fun as well. A great addition to my trip!

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The overall experience was very good and we got a basic class in genuine Provencal
Cooking. There was a small disconnect at the start, as they did not get the booking for our class before we got there, so considering they were not expecting us it went very well. I was hoping to get the recipes
And emailed but so far I have not received or heard anything. The atmosphere
In the maison added a genuine feeling to the overall experience.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent and knowledgeable guide! Never felt rushed and he was fully engaged with every member of the group to answer questions and make sure everyone was satisfied and enjoying themselves!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous tour of the beautiful Luberon Villages - with a wonderful young Guide Lia - we had a great time and would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed this cooking class. Such a buzz at the Les Halles Markets.... Caroline was lovely... I would have loved to have taken the recipes home with me though. The tour of the place with the owner was great, soooo French and quirky.

Doing what: Provençal Cooking Class and Market Tour in Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message