A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 718 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I didn and #39;t end up going on this tour. They called to say that there were no other bookings so I was moved onto another, I was then late for that one due to train delays. I called them and they moved me to the next day. Was a wonderful experience, Remy was an excellent guide. Loved every second of it.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall an excellent tour. Marc was very knowledgeable about Provence and we learned a lot about the region. We were with a nice group which helped make the day very enjoyable. Marc arrived on time, the vehicle was comfortable we were not in back seat though, we got back on time and Marc's English was excellent.
Comments:
Felt a little rushed during day and would have liked more time in a couple of places.
There was one cliuent on a half day tour, the rest of us were full day. Therefore had to return to starting point which may have been the reason we were short on time. Suggest having tour with people who have same schedule.
For a!most 300 kind of expected lunch would have been provided or at least some beverages.
in spite of these comments would highly recommend tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great pace! Great sites! Great guide(Julien). My only recommendation would be to swap the lavender museum for a wine tasting or cheese tasting. This tour was exactly what I was looking for. I only had 36 hours in Provence and with work, didn and #39;t have time to research a trip. A taste of Provence.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

pambetz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guide and visits to small town and vineyards - and of course tastings! Even brought empty! Chateauneuf-du-Pape bottle designed by artist Pere Anselme home - which caused some raised eyebrows at airport security LOL!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots to see and very enjoyable. Good site choice. Friendly, upbeat tour guide, Violet.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Rachel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide. Thoroughly enjoyed the day, saw a lot of interesting things and learnt a lot. Very professional and friendly guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Arles, Camargue and Aigues-Mortes Day Trip from Avignon

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Violette was knowledgeable friendly and flexible. As we were the only guests in the afternoon she was able to make some changes to eliminate attractions we had already seen, thus increasing our overall enjoyment.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was great. He gave us excellent advice about how to spend our time, answered our many questions and offered great background on the sites. Like all tours of this type, it can seem rushed but it is a great way to see these types of interesting places if you don't want to drive yourself and have limited time--the tour makes great use of the time you have.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Lindsay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect. Informative interesting fun and violette our guide was keen for us to enjoy the tour. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Avignon Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to the Pope's Palace

Joan H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our tour, as the amount to see seemed just about right. Yet, did not need to spend so much time at the Lavender museum and store. Violette was a nice tour guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was completely as advertised. We had the right amount of time in Orange and the wine tour was great for a first-time wine tasting. It was a relaxing afternoon but we also saw a great deal. Our guide was very knowledgeable both about the items on the tour and more generally in answering our questions about the Avignon area. She used perfect English and also was very patient in letting us practice our French.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Emanuel gave us an amazing Grand tour of Provance. His knowledge of the places he took us and the surrounding areas was excellent. The weather was beautiful which added to the experience. Overall it was an enjoyable day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see places outside Avignon.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great value for money would recommend this tour

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Sohini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A very comprehensive tour of wineries with knowledgeable guides and tasting of excellent wines. Including Pont du Gard, Les Baux and Gordes is a great idea. The tour guide was extremely pleasant and competent

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Sally S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A beautiful part of France I had not seen before.
The tour was very well done.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide was amazing--thoroughly knowledgeable and so helpful. We enjoyed both wineries very much! We were on a Viator tour in 2013 in Epernay which was also wonderful. We will highly recommend Viator to any travelers and look forward to our next Viator experience.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

xianghong c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we visited the Lavender field on the 12 August which is about the end of the season. Our guide was awesome, he did his best to help us find 2 fields although it was pouring... hope we get back next year and see you again !!! many thanks

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Rhonda T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was very nice tour. Loved the lavender fields and the distillery was very interesting. Would definitely recommend this tour to lavender lovers.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

surferjoe13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I enjoyed this tour immensely. Our guide, Adeline, was very knowledgeable about wine and the wine-making process. She also was a wealth of information about the history, geography, and meteorology of the surrounding region. The highlight of this tour was a wine tasting class at a winery in Ventoux where Adeline explained how to evaluate and taste wine. We were able to taste seven wines during this class. After lunch we went to a winery in Tavel where we tasted several rose wines which Tavel specializes in comparing wines made from grapes grown in different soils. We ended our day in Chateauneuf-du-Pape at a winery which discussed the specialized wine-making process in that region. We found Adeline to be utterly charming. Her English was impeccable.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Marilyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous!! Very interesting visiting all these lovely little French villages.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Yana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There was a splendid tour, rather informative, and at the same time relaxing and very well organized. How was it possible to visit so many fantastic places within the single day so many impressions, emotions and memories. Thanks to the excellent guide Julien our multinational group was feeling nothing but comfort and relaxing in this trip. Julien is the true professional, ready to answer any question, with very friendly and attentive attitude to each person in his group. I am really thankful to Viator and to Julien for this Grand Day in Provence, - such tours can be definitely strongly recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message