A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 502 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyed this trip. I love wine, but had little knowledge of French wine. This tour helped to educate me, and I walked away with a greater understanding. Plus, the wine was delicious and the area was beautiful. I am very glad I signed up for this.

Doing what: Half-Day Wine Tasting Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The trip was interesting and extremely intensive. It is a pity that the minibus comes back to Avignon in the middle of the trip, for the traffic there is rather heavy. The advertisement does not explain that it is in fact a modular trip changing passengers in the middle of the day. All in all, however, the trip was highly rewarding. The short visit to the mental hospital where Van Gogh stayed during the last year of his life was especially moving.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Wow! This tour certainly packs a punch! A great day and so many wonderful sights that are discovered during the day. If you're in Avignon definitely book this tour as it is well recommended. For all the reviews that complain about getting lunch on the run and then eating it on the go then for his that was preferable as it was more important to see the sights than to waste time trying to organise lunch for a bus load of people. Some if the places were very busy so stopping to eat would have wasted too much time. Our tour guide Marie was superb, allowing just enough time to get a feel for each place visited and to wander around on your own.

As I have already said if in Avignon do this tour! A long day but a remarkable day full of amazing sights.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Breathtaking scenes and a delightful tour guide. We did something unexpected that totally delighted our van--we stopped at a farmer's market table along the road side for the fresh-grown cherries, just off the tree. Roussillon was my favorite town, but frankly, they were all so pretty.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed the day with our guide. It was an amazing day of sight seeing and enabled us to visit a lot of highly recommended places. I would very much recommend this tour to someone who doesn't have a lot of time in Provence and wants to capture the highlights.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful trip which lets you see so many beautiful villages without the hassle of driving and parking yourself!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had an absolutely excellent day on this tour! I was travelling alone, and the group for the tour was 8 people and the tour guide Carol. As the forecast for the day was pouring rain for the afternoon, she rearranged the usual schedule for the day to accommodate this and I think this helped the experience of the day very much as we got to visit Roussillon and Gordes without it pouring down rain on us the whole time. We did catch a little bit of a rain, but no where near as much as we would have had she not changed the order of the day. Carol was knowledgeable and friendly, and approached some awkward situations within our small group regarding meeting times politely and with patience. As the Lavendar field photo stop would be viable since those fields have been closed, she allowed a quick photostop at a smaller Lavendar field and then also showed us another castle on the way to Pont Du Gard. It was certainly a very busy, jam-packed day but all the places we visited were interesting and the three towns were very beautiful. An excellent day trip, would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

LOVED THE WHOLE DAY. TOUR GUIDE VERY GOOD AND WENT TO ALL THE PLACES WE NEEDED TO SEE. COUCH AND DRIVER VERY GOOD.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very nice tour guide! beautiful scene where extremely difficult to go by ourselves. Sault is excellent!!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour including all the centres of interest that we had pre-identified. The tour guide allowed appropriate time at each stop and was very cheerful and helpful - even included a visit to Senanque Abbey on request.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, guide was great, and did a brilliant job, particularly considering she had to drive the mini bus as well as be a tour guide. Very knowledgeable and professional. Enjoyed the entire trip, the Amphitheatre at Nimes, The Maison Carree temple, the walk around the charming town of Uzes, but the highlight of the tour for me was the aqueduct Pont Du Gard at the end of the trip, awesome! Would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a tour guide by the name of elody (spell). She was the best. Can't say enough about how good she was. She knew her stuff from history to wine.
Best guide ever. Bob Hewitt, Ketchikan, Alaska.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The afternoon vineyard tour to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, and the tastings were superb. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Avignon. My only regret was not buying any Tavel or Lirac.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour! Lea, our tour guide was very informative. There was ample time to visit all the cities. The only recommendation to give is that microphone be used while in the car. It was quite difficult at times to hear the guide in the car.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour! Audrey our tour guide was amazing. We visited 3 vineyards in total and had a wonderful afternoon. Would book this tour again!

Doing what: Private Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message