A world-famous arts festival, an ever-thriving wine trade and a lively student population ensure Avignon isn’t just a showcase of medieval architecture, but a buzzing Provencal center as well.   Day 1: Pont and Palace  Start at the Palais ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 501 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Breathtaking scenes and a delightful tour guide. We did something unexpected that totally delighted our van--we stopped at a farmer's market table along the road side for the fresh-grown cherries, just off the tree. Roussillon was my favorite town, but frankly, they were all so pretty.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed the day with our guide. It was an amazing day of sight seeing and enabled us to visit a lot of highly recommended places. I would very much recommend this tour to someone who doesn't have a lot of time in Provence and wants to capture the highlights.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful trip which lets you see so many beautiful villages without the hassle of driving and parking yourself!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had an absolutely excellent day on this tour! I was travelling alone, and the group for the tour was 8 people and the tour guide Carol. As the forecast for the day was pouring rain for the afternoon, she rearranged the usual schedule for the day to accommodate this and I think this helped the experience of the day very much as we got to visit Roussillon and Gordes without it pouring down rain on us the whole time. We did catch a little bit of a rain, but no where near as much as we would have had she not changed the order of the day. Carol was knowledgeable and friendly, and approached some awkward situations within our small group regarding meeting times politely and with patience. As the Lavendar field photo stop would be viable since those fields have been closed, she allowed a quick photostop at a smaller Lavendar field and then also showed us another castle on the way to Pont Du Gard. It was certainly a very busy, jam-packed day but all the places we visited were interesting and the three towns were very beautiful. An excellent day trip, would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

LOVED THE WHOLE DAY. TOUR GUIDE VERY GOOD AND WENT TO ALL THE PLACES WE NEEDED TO SEE. COUCH AND DRIVER VERY GOOD.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very nice tour guide! beautiful scene where extremely difficult to go by ourselves. Sault is excellent!!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour including all the centres of interest that we had pre-identified. The tour guide allowed appropriate time at each stop and was very cheerful and helpful - even included a visit to Senanque Abbey on request.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, guide was great, and did a brilliant job, particularly considering she had to drive the mini bus as well as be a tour guide. Very knowledgeable and professional. Enjoyed the entire trip, the Amphitheatre at Nimes, The Maison Carree temple, the walk around the charming town of Uzes, but the highlight of the tour for me was the aqueduct Pont Du Gard at the end of the trip, awesome! Would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a tour guide by the name of elody (spell). She was the best. Can't say enough about how good she was. She knew her stuff from history to wine.
Best guide ever. Bob Hewitt, Ketchikan, Alaska.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The afternoon vineyard tour to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, and the tastings were superb. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Avignon. My only regret was not buying any Tavel or Lirac.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour! Lea, our tour guide was very informative. There was ample time to visit all the cities. The only recommendation to give is that microphone be used while in the car. It was quite difficult at times to hear the guide in the car.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour! Audrey our tour guide was amazing. We visited 3 vineyards in total and had a wonderful afternoon. Would book this tour again!

Doing what: Private Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Julien was wonderful and we enjoyed the tour so much! It was just my husband and I for the tour. The car was comfortable and air conditioned. We learned a lot and had fun at the same time. Wine was great and we got some dinner recommendations too! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a fantastic trip. Our tour guide-Maria is very informational and professional. Highly recommended !!!!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message