There's a popular saying that the best Roman ruins can be found in France, and as you travel in and around Avignon, you'll understand why. Romans indeed left their architectural mark throughout the country, and today you can travel extensively ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was incredible. The roman arena in nimes is in very good condition. You could imagine all the things that happened there. Then we wento to Uzes a very charming town and the last stop was Point du Gard which was beautiful and serene. Julien was a very good guide. Don't miss it !!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

S and D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour with highly personalised service touring interesting, well preserved and restored historical sites from Roman times as well as an enjoyable wine tasting experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We (a married couple and a female friend, all about 65), did this tour in late May 2013.
I recommend this tour highly. The guide, Veronica? was excellent!
It is hard to believe that some of the sites we saw today are over 2000 years old. The Roman amphitheatre at Nimes is the best preserved Roman amphitheatre in the world, where they shot the movie Gladiator. The weekend just gone was a long weekend and they had their version of the running of the bulls. Then we saw the most impressive building, the Maison Carree, a Roman temple, a huge rectangular building with columns at the front. Then we went on to the pleasant historic town of Uzes, where we had time for a short stroll. The best was to come, the aqueduct the Pont Du Gard. This is an amazing arched structure stretching over the river Gardon. One of the wonders of the ancient world, it was built in 1st century A.D. and is still in good condition.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Marion was a great guide. The amphitheater in Nimes was built a few decades after Rome's and seemed a bit of an afterthought if you've been through the later. The Pont du Gard Roman bridge, though, was stunning, especially in the late afternoon sun, situated over a beautifully blue river in acres of park with the towers of a medieval town in the distance.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This tour was an excellent choice for us as we had limited time in Avignon. Even if we had had a car we would not have been able to see so much ,and parking would have been a problem. Our guide was very helpful and knowledgable and we had enough time at each site. For us the high lights were the Pont du Garde and the Roman
theatre in Orange.
However, it was a long day and in Gordes we settled for a beer instead of a tour of the village.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

My wife and i enjoyed this trip very much. The tour guide Elizabeth was wonderful and we got to see some very interesting and awesome Roman sites. Unfortunately due to roadworks detours and heavy traffic the Pont du Gard site was a bit rushed but our guide extended the trip duration into the evening which was appreciated by all.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

What a show stopper - the Roman cleverness at overcoming adversity is again on spectacular show. This is an excellent trip for those who are attached to special historic sites. Thoroughly recommended and good value for money.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Great tour! I was so happy that I booked this tour rather than the other all day Provence tour because seeing the Roman theater at Orange was the highlight of our trip for my husband. Our tour guide, Elizabeth, was terrific and very well informed about the area. Amazing how much we got to see and do in one day. On top of that, Elizabeth recommended a restaurant that we subsequently went to and enjoyed a fabulous meal thanks to her suggestion. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Great tour! Although a short afternoon tour, we were able to spend time at the Arena in Nimes. The highlight was viewing the Pont du Gard near sunset. Because of the lighting, I was agble to take some great photos. The short time in Uzes allowed a comparison of the scale of Medieval France with that in Roman times. The tour guide was absolutely great with an excellent sense of humor and a great knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

The stone villages of Gordes and Baux de Provence were so beautiful, we couldn't get enough pictures. The Pont du Gard was unbelievably majestic, and my daughter and I were in awe of the genius of the Roman engineers; however, we would have liked a little more time there.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our guide Emily was great! She had a lot of information about the local area as well as general french history. I felt humbled when she informed me that the town of Nimes has had tourists coming to see the roman sites here, since the 1500's. Great day
Cheers Chris and Lisa

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Our guide was willing to provide the guests with all the pieces of information she could get hand on. Roman sites near Avignon, including Pont du Gard, are rather tricky to access, if travelling by public transportion. By joining the day trip. I could enjoy them all while relaxed.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Leslie H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

My only criticism is that a visit to Uzes was included and it is not a Roman site. Otherwise the trip was very enjoyable and well-managed. The quide was admirable.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Great tour guide was so nice and accommodating....the midevial towns were the best and I enjoyed everything except....we shouldn't have to have gone back to avignon in middle of day to pick up more people...we lost time and couldn't really have lunch..I specifically booked a tour that did not have to do this...as a result when we got to the roman acuiduct..we couldn't see anything......would not go o again because of this

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

it was great. guide was good and helpful. there could have been an additional halt at nemis at the old roman tample.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message