It’s hard to believe, but there was a time not so long ago when visitors to Provence rarely ventured far from the Côte d’Azur. The inland was chiefly known as the center of France’s fragrance industry and apart from Avignon, was thought largely ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 221 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A multi-sensory experience: color, the sounds of bees and the smell of lavender. Truly, a "bucket-list" tour. My only problem was that the AC in the van was not working well as we began our trip. I would encourage the tour operator to make sure the vans are in good working order and that the tour guides know how to operate all aspects of the van. It got pretty tense when the air was stifling, but the tour operator pulled out the auto guide and was able to finagle the AC to begin cooling.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed the day with our guide. It was an amazing day of sight seeing and enabled us to visit a lot of highly recommended places. I would very much recommend this tour to someone who doesn't have a lot of time in Provence and wants to capture the highlights.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour including all the centres of interest that we had pre-identified. The tour guide allowed appropriate time at each stop and was very cheerful and helpful - even included a visit to Senanque Abbey on request.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Sorry for delay in review. Great tour great day. Francoise (sp?) was lovely and did a good job - felt sorry for her having to try talk over 2 very rude constantly talking guests in the front seat which meant it was difficult for the others of us to hear Francoise talking. Felt the day was just a little bit rushed, however there was a lot to fit in and we had to keep on the move. Pick-up was exactly on time and the vehicle was perfect for our sized group. No complaints (except for rudeness and lateness of several of the other travellers which is outside Viator's control!!)

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I wanted to give this tour 5 stars, and it was very good, the guide Melani went out of her way to ensure we visited some great lavender fields. However, for me personally there was a very big disappointment, that we didn't visit the Senanque Abbey, as per the iconic picture on the website, and as per the itinerary. I had actually been spurred on to book the holiday to Provence, at the early part of July, and take this tour, in order that I would be able to see this specific, beautiful vista. When I booked via the website, the tour info was very specific about the dates that they would visit the Senanque Abbey, 15th June to 15th July only so I booked within that period. When I got on the tour and specifically asked when we would be going to Senanque Abbey, the guide told me that the lavender had been pulled up this year in front of the Abbey, so, if I insisted on going she would take us, but that actually there was nothing to see in the way of lavender there! I had to agree that there was no point, and no on else wanted to go under those circumstances either. I felt that knowing this was the case, the local tour company should not have used this iconic picture on the Viator website, and it should not have been in the itinerary that it was to be visited. Very misleading and for me personally very disappointing. But you cannot take away from the beauty of the lavender, and the sunflowers. That was worth seeing.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pick up went exactly as planned. Jam-packed itinerary and well worth it. Good driver and guide. No complaints. two years running now with Viator. Will always book with you.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a lovely tour of the lavender fields and surrounding villages. It's such a spectacular sight to see all the lavender in bloom and on one of the lavender stops we were the only people there which was great. The village of Roussillon was very pretty and we had some time to walk round and enjoy it. The guide was great and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Viola! Lavendin was blooming only at this time, but the vibrant fields of purple were just as gorgeous. (lavendin is a hybrid of fine lavender) the museum at the end was a nice touch and the shopping in the village Sault was excellent. Tip: buy lavender goods at the market with cash -- they're just as excellent quality but without the high prices at the museum shop! visited many lovely villages which were also scenic, making it not just a day full of lavender, but Provence in general.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Actually, i was a little bit disappointed about lavender. But the lake and Moustiers town gave me a big surprise. The town is the kind of place that i always want to go: peaceful, lovely, relaxing. And the lake is amazing! The color of that lake is a kind of pure blue.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our experience on this trip was fantastic…from booking all the way to the end of the trip…Everything was easy, fun and stress-free. Our driver and guide was wonderful: friendly, helpful, and great company in showing us around Avignon. He even helped us get some great spots for photos with less frequented tourists. Overall, the trip was wonderful and would recommend it to anyone interested in visiting the area. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful tour
I can't imagine missing these sights - book now,,,do not miss this

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very nice day and driver was fun. Lucky to see such splendor at exactly the right time.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A lot of post-card-views of best time blossoming lavender fields, Verdon and lakes. A lot of thanks to Florence - our guide, with her very gentle and kind attitide to tourist constantly loosing themselves in the lavender beauty!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It is hard to believe we were gone 10 hours! The tour started promptly for us at 0850 on a hot summer day in Avignon and our group of 6 + Mary (tour guide) headed out to tour the countryside. We were worried that the heat, and the driving, would wear on us but the tour stops were well spaced, the A/C cool (even though we were in the last row of the van), and Mary kept us all quite busy with historical stories and local information. It is amazing to see such grand architecture dating from 50 BC forward, and to better understand the history of the many settled villages and agricultural heritage of the region. The stops allowed plenty of time for snacking and shopping - before we knew it we were back at the hotel. Thank you for rounding out our vacation in France on a high note. Marion and Ben

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Robin was super friendly and informative. He told us stories and background of the towns. We definitely enjoyed our day out with him. One suggestion for improvement...As it was our first time in those towns (Roussillon and Gordes) that we got dropped off, it's probably worth the extra 15 mins to show us around before free time.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message