It’s hard to believe, but there was a time not so long ago when visitors to Provence rarely ventured far from the Côte d’Azur. The inland was chiefly known as the center of France’s fragrance industry and apart from Avignon, was thought largely ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great pace! Great sites! Great guide(Julien). My only recommendation would be to swap the lavender museum for a wine tasting or cheese tasting. This tour was exactly what I was looking for. I only had 36 hours in Provence and with work, didn and #39;t have time to research a trip. A taste of Provence.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Violette was knowledgeable friendly and flexible. As we were the only guests in the afternoon she was able to make some changes to eliminate attractions we had already seen, thus increasing our overall enjoyment.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Joan H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our tour, as the amount to see seemed just about right. Yet, did not need to spend so much time at the Lavender museum and store. Violette was a nice tour guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

xianghong c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we visited the Lavender field on the 12 August which is about the end of the season. Our guide was awesome, he did his best to help us find 2 fields although it was pouring... hope we get back next year and see you again !!! many thanks

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Rhonda T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was very nice tour. Loved the lavender fields and the distillery was very interesting. Would definitely recommend this tour to lavender lovers.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Wiiliam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We did the Lavender tour that included a tour of the lavender museum and side trips to Gordes and Rousilon. Small coach and just eight of us made it great. Excellent tour guide who was right on time and very engaging. We did the Papal Palace on our own, which is a must see.

Doing what: Avignon and Provence Independent City Tour

Nina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was amazing. I met amazing people and my tour guide Melanie was extrotinary. Her smile and personality made the day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Giovanna G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

We enjoyed the trip, but felt rushed. The driver/guide was great. Would have preferred to skip the lavender museum and spend more time in Gordes. We expected to be out all day, but ended up being combined with others who had only booked half day excursions which meant going back to Avignon for drop off/pick up at noon and grabbing a quick lunch to eat in the car rather than a relaxed lunch in Les Baux as per the itinerary write-up. We were not advised in advance or given an opportunity to change our dates. This was very disappointing!!! The places visited were fantastic - customer service on the part of the tour operator very poor!!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Darren N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to experience Provence in a day!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Philip D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent, well paced and good range of stops.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

GLORY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was excellent and enjoyed it very much,we visited many beautiful small towns, Julien our tour guide and driver is very knowledgeable about the places we visited and even gave us tips about local food still waiting for his grandmother lamb recipe though :. I would have like to see the hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed. than the visit to the lavender museum, one of the lady with us could not go in because she has allergic to perfumes, so she had to wait for us outside. My favourite are Roussillon and the dry-stone village of Gordes, our last stop was in Pont du Gard bridge which is just fantastic and in perfect time. We also visited and enjoyed a little shopping in the market. I highly recommend this tour. We also took the lavender tour with this company and was happy with their service.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Visits to beautiful French villages were very enjoyable.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Rosemary W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Lovely places and guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Josh C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great day trip to see the highlights of Provence in one day. Our guide gave us plenty of information and was friendly. We were disappointed not to see the lavender fields in full bloom but it was the end of the season.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

KG N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The lavender fields were beautiful, the guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. On the way out, she gave us a good idea of the history and geography of Avignon and surroundings. The visit to Rousillon and Luberon were very interesting. The guide was very helpful telling us what to look out for and what we could buy. However, some of her time on the way back was taken up by the trainee guide who was with her. The vehicle was substandard, only 4 of the 8 seats were comfortable and the AC was not working on a hot day. We did not insist on a change of vehicle since our time in Avignon was short. We definitely did not get our money's worth on the vehicle. The company should not take advantage of tourists who have only a limited time in the place, a better vehicle should have been provided.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Estrella I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The whole exercise was to visit the lavender fields. I think if the lavender field were already harvested you should have informed us so we could decide if we still wanted the tour. Was very disappointed.

Doing what: Lavender and Villages in Provence Small Group Day Trip

Yury Diana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a must see. Tour guide was excellent and very knowledgable. We will be back some say.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent tour, run by Provence Reservations. Anne, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and went out of her way to make sure we got the most of the day. It was a long day, and we covered around 20km, and about 6 main stops, with sufficient time in each. The Cloitre St Paul asylum where Van Gogh stayed was a worthwhile addition to the tour - it was amazing to see the actual scenes Van Gogh painted!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Due to the lavender season being early in 2015 a lot of the fields had already been harvested when we were there but our guide, Julien, took us to two fields which were still blooming and beautiful - one of which had a spectacular view of the village of Aurel as a backdrop.
We had a half hour stop in the village of Sault just long enough to buy some lavender based gifts at a better price than we would have found them in Avignon.
As we had not hired a car during our stay in Avignon, this tour gave us the opportunity to see some of the countryside and mountains in the area.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Jacqueline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An amazing day, Julian was our tour guide extrodinaire. Brilliant. There aren't enough stars provided to rate it highly enough. I'm not usually one for guided tours, preferring to explore on my own, but this is a Must Do tour! Thank you Julian so much for a great day, awesome people to share it with as well

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

oliviaday2010

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. Amazing tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message