It’s hard to believe, but there was a time not so long ago when visitors to Provence rarely ventured far from the Côte d’Azur. The inland was chiefly known as the center of France’s fragrance industry and apart from Avignon, was thought largely ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 258 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed our afternoon tour of the lavender fields and pretty Provencal villages. Our guide was very good and informative.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very good and we had a very friendly and patient tour guide Sara. We enjoyed the day and highly recommend the tour and tour guide.
Asanga and Sangetha

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a nice tour and allowed us to see the lavender fields and the museum. Our guide was open to suggestions, we all wanted to visit the fields first because of weather (it was suppose to rain later in the day). The air wasn't working in the car.
Thank you

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour! The guide was very helpful and told us a lot about the region. The villages are the MUSTS to see!

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: Luberon Villages and Lavender Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Saw many interesting sites, including the mental hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed for a while and the actual areas and scenes where he painted many pictures, the hilltop cities of Gordes and Les Baux, and the Roman aqueduct called Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful, we traveled to many places in one day with the freedom to see the countryside with a guide that new so many facts. We never would have seen as many important and interesting sights and seen the wonderful Provence area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hilltop villages, lavender, enough free time to look around and enjoy, what a great day! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour had a lot to offer and the tour guide Marc was awesome. Loved the Lavender tour. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really nice! Learned a lot of things at the museum.
Views at Gordes and Sault are absolutely gorgeous!
The guide Sarah was helpful and nice. She was a very responsible person as well. This trip is highly recommended!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour! Perfect size group for the tour. Emilie our tour guide picked us up from the Central train station, on time. She made sure we got the right car seat for our little one, though it meant delaying the trip a bit!!

Emilie is very knowledegeable! She answered every question with a smile.

First we went to the village of Rousillion. The village is very beautiful, all the colourful houses and the narrow streets are very photogenic. Next, Emilie took us to the beautiful lavender fields with full bloom. What a beautiful place that was. We had plenty of time to photograph.

Overall we had a great time, didn't want the trip to end.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Jim in Lakeside ... 
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lots to see in so little time. This is a two part trip. The first trip occurs in the morning and goes North of Avignon to Lavender country, and several nice towns. then it's back to Avignon to drop off half-day participants and to pick up others. The second trip goes South to more towns, including the mental hospital Van Gogh stayed, and the Pont du Gard.

Most of the stops were rushed, some no more than 20-minutes. As for St-Remy, the Van Gogh stop, you get a quick walk-by a couple of Roman monuments, you look in to the courtyard of the mental hospital, and then hop back in to the van to go to the next stop.

The highlight of the tour was the stop at the Pont du Gard, where we had over an hour to hike up to the overlook of the Roman viaduct. This was a rigorous hike, but the sights and photo opportunities were well worth the effort.

Tip for the traveler - bring a lunch or be prepared to waste the stop at Baux en Provence because you get about a half an hour to eat and hike through the town.

Our suggestion to Viator would be to make this two full day trips, add another stop or two each day, and allot time for lunch. Our tour guide, Jeremy, was well versed in the lore associated with the stops we made, and answered all questions posed to him. He did the best he could within the time constraints.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a very nice trip, our guide Ann was very nice and she knew lot of things about the sites we visited the only minus was that we didn't have time to eat, but we survived...I recommend this tour to everybody

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was very nice, the driver was very informative and helpful. My only issue was that the coach did not have any A/C for people sitting in the last row. It was extremely hot and uncomfortable.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the day, felt rushed at the Les Baux village in the morning and too much time at villages in the afternoon......wasn't impressed with coming back to Avignon to drop half day passengers off and pick up more...left in van in very hot conditions......Emily our Guide very informative and friendly

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great day spent seeing the sights, maybe a little more time in each place in the morning would have been better

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide and driver Carol was very helpful and knowledgable. Stopped many times at various lavender fields for us to take pictures. The only doenside that day was the aircon of the van. Highly recommend this tour to tourists without a car.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour is a lot for one day. I know I chose it, but it was because the shorter ones say visit Gordes OR Roussion and I wanted both, or at least Roussion. The problem is you only get about 20-30 minutes to explore each village so we didn't get to see much due to stress of getting back in time.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The car inside is too hot!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The village of Roussillon is fantastic, lots of mediaeval buildings. We would have really loved to have more time there.
The village of Gordes was also great, and we would have loved more time there too especially as the wqeekly market was operating that day.
The tour of the Lavender Museum was interesting, but too long - better to allocate more time to Roussillon and Gordes and cut back on the time allocated to the lavender museum.

Doing what: Lavender and Villages in Provence Small Group Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Enjoyed the destination of the tour! Beautiful lavender fields and spectacular views of the villages! However, the tour guide could be more knowledgeable and felt quite a bit unsafe when driving (overtaking another car on a bend)!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent trip.
Anne??, our guide, was very knowledgeable and helped us with answering all the questions as well as suggestions of where to go for the next day's tour.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We had an excellent guide who was able to drive the van and give running commentaries in French, English and Spanish at the same time. The day packed a lot in with plenty of variety. My only negative comment is that the Lavender Museum was a waste of time. Why not incorporate a walk through lavender fields with the possibility of tea or coffee at the end? That would have made a better addition than lots of detail about the distillation process.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

By pairing our day trip with a person on a half-day trip the trip schedule was changed. Instead of having lunch in one of our visited cities we were dropped off in Avignon and told to pick up something to eat quickly. The trip to the lavender museum was also a disappointment as we were told to leave the movie because it would be in French even though we had headphones that translated to English. Then we were not allowed to enter the shop until we turned in our headphones. The timing for our stops was not well thought out.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was knowledgeable, patient and enjoyable. The sights were all gorgeous--though I wish we'd skipped the lavender museum and its long video to make more time for the other sites.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour packed a lot into one day and gave an excellent of some of the most beautiful towns in Provence. Due to the number of sites we visited we only had about 45 minutes in each but this was sufficient. Melanie, our guide, was very kind and informative.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message