Avignon makes the ideal base for exploring the South of France. Whether you head for lavender-laden landscapes, visit the architectural treasures of nearby towns or explore the stunning coast, Provence is your oyster. This region contains ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 457 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roger C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great afternoon in Provence-all the villages were interesting and we had some free time in each one. The highlight was the Pont du Gard an amazing engineering feat! Our guide, Remy, was terrific and our small group of 8 meant we weren't waiting around for people at each stop

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Shu L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My tour was amazing and I highly recommend this tour to everyone looking to see the French countryside. I was travelling alone and did not want to rent a car so this small tour was a perfect way to see St Remy, Les Baux, Pont du Gard, the Lavender Museum, Roussillon, and Gordes. Bring a lunch with you if you do not want to buy lunch at one of the stops. Would recommend bringing a lunch and maybe picnic for a bit at the Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

tauloonh New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

we had an excellent day and saw many beautiful towns that truly reflect what Provence is. The guide/driver Phillipe Hendricks is superb. Very interesting chap that makes the long day very exciting. Highly recommended for those who wants to experience what Provence can offer.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The day was perfect.... The drive was delightful, our guide was knowledgable, friendly, and engaging. His obvious love of the country and the art of Van Gogh, made the trip that much more meaningful.

Doing what: Saint Remy, Les Baux and Pont du Gard Small Group Day Trip

Meredith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Erica did a great job of balancing time in the lavender fields and time in the village market in Gordes. The fields were beautiful and she provided thorough descriptions of the history of the region and of the lavender growing process. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

hebigs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed our day with Maude. She was a great guide and knew so much about the area. It was nice to leave the driving and parking! into the several villages we visited to someone else! This way we could just focus on discovering. The only downside is that there was very little time in Gordes for lunch 45 minutes is not long enough and we probably would have preferred to skip Les Baux de Provence as it is very touristic.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Lindaandmilan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our day tour of the Roman viaduct and three hill towns. We were especially pleased with your tour guide, Jeremy, who went out of his way to accommodate us, even calling in to allow us to be transported back to our hotel in Arles. The only unforeseen glitch was a two hour delay due to an accident on the main highway. We enjoyed every minute of the time, even the waiting in traffic.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Pamela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fantastic tour! Emilie was a wonderful tour guide! She was extremely knowledgeable and was so nice! All sites were awesome and I loved the village visits - Les Baux, Gordes, and Roussillon. Top rate day. I want to go back to Provence! We picked a perfect tour.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Philomena K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip was excellent. We especially enjoyed the stop at Gordes. It is such a beautiful and picturesque village. Pont du Gard was amazing. It is such an engineering feat. Our guide, Emilie, was very good. She interspersed knowledgeable tidbits throughout the drive. We would definitely use your group again.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

DUNG TRI D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide is very nice and give us a lot of interest info relevant to the places that we visit

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Charlotte W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Overall the trip was good and Remy was a pleasant and professional guide, but there were a few problems. The main reason I booked this trip was because I wanted to visit the gorge and maybe go for a swim if time. However, due to the stop at the earthenware factory being far too long and several members of the group not meeting back on time, we had literally 10 minutes by the water. And then a 2 1/2 hour drive back.

Doing what: Small-Group Aix-en-Provence, Verdon Gorge and Moustiers Ste-Marie Day Trip from Avignon

Lotta S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We saw beautiful places on this trip and our guide Jeremy was really good. There were only 3 customers, so almost like a private tour. First we spent an hour in Aix-en-Provence. We walked to the calisson place and then had free time. The city was nice, but an hour was not much. There was a market, but at least the area where they sold clothes and bags etc wasn't very interesting. Most stalls sold the same stuff, that looked like it was brought from China.

Next was Moustiers Ste-Marie, about an hour there too. The village was very beautiful! There's some old place and a good view higher on the mountain. I had lunch here so I didn't have time to climb up, but another person on the trip did and recommended it. You have more time to look around if you bring your own food or just grab something quick. Otherwise you have to eat here or in Aix.

Next stop was a ceramics workshop. It was interesting, but it took an hour which was too long. We drove up higher and stopped to take photos above the lake, the view was beautiful. The canyon we only saw briefly from the car, before we turned back to drive down to the lake. We stopped at a place where the canyon starts and then drove to Sainte-Croix. We had about 30 min by the lake. None of us had swimming suits with us, but there wouldn't have been much time for swimming anyway.

On our way back we stopped by a lavender field, but they were not fully in bloom yet early June. The overview page says that the trip is 9 hours and the info page says 11. For us it was a bit over 10 hours.

I really enjoyed the trip, but I would've changed a few things. I booked it because I wanted to see the river canyon, but we didn't see it very much. I would have liked a possibility to rent a boat and go to the river, but I don't know if that's possible on this kind of tours. Though Aix and the ceramics were interesting, I could have skipped them to have more time in the canyon and Moustiers.

Doing what: Small-Group Aix-en-Provence, Verdon Gorge and Moustiers Ste-Marie Day Trip from Avignon

kandypf

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

7 out of ten. Late being picked up. Driver not very informative. No time in villages. Always pressured to hurry back to van. Would prefer less time at museum and more time in villages.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Brian C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

1. Most importantly we didn and #39;t see ANY lavender fields.

2. Our time for the day was mis-managed and coordinated poorly. We did the least important thing first (tourist trap market).

3. When the driver and later the company were confronted about the above they argued and tried to blame us.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sylvain gave us a wonderful taste of this fantastic area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Alexander L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

3 interesting and different villages, Rousillion, Gordes and Le Baux but maybe cut the time down at each to 30 mins which would give an extra half an hour at the Pont du Gard as we did not have enough time to see the exhibition which looked very interesting.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Fernando

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Got to see at least two medieval cities, most interesting.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great pace! Great sites! Great guide(Julien). My only recommendation would be to swap the lavender museum for a wine tasting or cheese tasting. This tour was exactly what I was looking for. I only had 36 hours in Provence and with work, didn and #39;t have time to research a trip. A taste of Provence.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Evelyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very good and our guide was great. This tour gave the background of the areas. I t allowed me to see more and would be better able to choose one or two spots to revisit.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Violette was knowledgeable friendly and flexible. As we were the only guests in the afternoon she was able to make some changes to eliminate attractions we had already seen, thus increasing our overall enjoyment.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Joan H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our tour, as the amount to see seemed just about right. Yet, did not need to spend so much time at the Lavender museum and store. Violette was a nice tour guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Violet was wonderful, competent, and informative. We would highly recommend this tour especially if you are not traveling with a car.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was completely as advertised. We had the right amount of time in Orange and the wine tour was great for a first-time wine tasting. It was a relaxing afternoon but we also saw a great deal. Our guide was very knowledgeable both about the items on the tour and more generally in answering our questions about the Avignon area. She used perfect English and also was very patient in letting us practice our French.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message