Avignon makes the ideal base for exploring the South of France. Whether you head for lavender-laden landscapes, visit the architectural treasures of nearby towns or explore the stunning coast, Provence is your oyster. This region contains ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 442 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sylvain gave us a wonderful taste of this fantastic area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Alexander L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

3 interesting and different villages, Rousillion, Gordes and Le Baux but maybe cut the time down at each to 30 mins which would give an extra half an hour at the Pont du Gard as we did not have enough time to see the exhibition which looked very interesting.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Fernando

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Got to see at least two medieval cities, most interesting.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great pace! Great sites! Great guide(Julien). My only recommendation would be to swap the lavender museum for a wine tasting or cheese tasting. This tour was exactly what I was looking for. I only had 36 hours in Provence and with work, didn and #39;t have time to research a trip. A taste of Provence.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Evelyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very good and our guide was great. This tour gave the background of the areas. I t allowed me to see more and would be better able to choose one or two spots to revisit.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Violette was knowledgeable friendly and flexible. As we were the only guests in the afternoon she was able to make some changes to eliminate attractions we had already seen, thus increasing our overall enjoyment.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Joan H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our tour, as the amount to see seemed just about right. Yet, did not need to spend so much time at the Lavender museum and store. Violette was a nice tour guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Violet was wonderful, competent, and informative. We would highly recommend this tour especially if you are not traveling with a car.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was completely as advertised. We had the right amount of time in Orange and the wine tour was great for a first-time wine tasting. It was a relaxing afternoon but we also saw a great deal. Our guide was very knowledgeable both about the items on the tour and more generally in answering our questions about the Avignon area. She used perfect English and also was very patient in letting us practice our French.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Gina Huang Taiwan

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Winter is very cold and the store are closed, it's not interesting.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Sohini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A very comprehensive tour of wineries with knowledgeable guides and tasting of excellent wines. Including Pont du Gard, Les Baux and Gordes is a great idea. The tour guide was extremely pleasant and competent

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Justin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Pick up was on time. I had a lovely afternoon driving around the Avignon countryside. Great for a snap shot of the country side if you are time constrained.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

xianghong c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we visited the Lavender field on the 12 August which is about the end of the season. Our guide was awesome, he did his best to help us find 2 fields although it was pouring... hope we get back next year and see you again !!! many thanks

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Rhonda T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was very nice tour. Loved the lavender fields and the distillery was very interesting. Would definitely recommend this tour to lavender lovers.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, just pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard when it was too dark to see properly

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour was wonderful, I would highly recommend it. Our guIde Emilie was wonderful, very helpful and full of interesting and knowledgeable information. Pleasure to spend the day with and it was fantastic to be able to visit so many places within the one day with comfortable stops in between. Highly recommend if not for Gorges Verdun alone.

Doing what: Small-Group Aix-en-Provence, Verdon Gorge and Moustiers Ste-Marie Day Trip from Avignon

Nina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was amazing. I met amazing people and my tour guide Melanie was extrotinary. Her smile and personality made the day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Went to beautiful sights in Provence while staying in Avignon. The tour was the highlight.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Bronwyn f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fabulous itinerary. My only suggestion would be to make it a full day tour with more time especially at the castle. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Giovanna G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

We enjoyed the trip, but felt rushed. The driver/guide was great. Would have preferred to skip the lavender museum and spend more time in Gordes. We expected to be out all day, but ended up being combined with others who had only booked half day excursions which meant going back to Avignon for drop off/pick up at noon and grabbing a quick lunch to eat in the car rather than a relaxed lunch in Les Baux as per the itinerary write-up. We were not advised in advance or given an opportunity to change our dates. This was very disappointing!!! The places visited were fantastic - customer service on the part of the tour operator very poor!!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Darren N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to experience Provence in a day!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message