Avignon makes the ideal base for exploring the South of France. Whether you head for lavender-laden landscapes, visit the architectural treasures of nearby towns or explore the stunning coast, Provence is your oyster. This region contains ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 390 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed our afternoon tour of the lavender fields and pretty Provencal villages. Our guide was very good and informative.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The lavender tour was great! Our driver (Sarah) was very nice. Rousillon and Gordes were picturesque.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very good and we had a very friendly and patient tour guide Sara. We enjoyed the day and highly recommend the tour and tour guide.
Asanga and Sangetha

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. Had plenty of time at each stop and guide was pleasant.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Our tour guide Emilie was very informative and sweet. She picked us up from the hotel and we saw Orange and the vineyards of Chateauneuf de Pape and had a very nice wine tasting at one of the wineries. I recommend this tour

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I took this half-day tour with 8 others in a mini-bus. Our driver and guide, Marc was very informative about Provence and chatted about it on our way to three sites: Pont du Gard, and the delightful villages of Gordes and Les Baux de Provence. For me the highlight was Pont du Gard which I have wanted to see for a long time, built by the Romans as part of the aqueduct serving Nimes. The two villages contrast each other and were memorable. Sufficient time was allowed for us to explore each of the sites and Marc gave us good advice regarding what to see as we independently explored the sites. Our tour was on a Monday so it omitted the village of Rousillon, which was a pity, but I only had the Monday free in Avignon. There is around 1 hour driving between each of the sites but this time was used by Marc to impart knowledge of Provence and to answer questions. This was a good tour, considering the time limit of half a day. The tour left me feeling hungry to see more of Provence, and a full-day tour might have been better if I had had the time but at least I did get the flavour of the place and had a good time. Marc advised us that private tours can be taken and these can be tailored around the wishes of the clients - not a bad idea.
Visited June 2015

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was long but absolutely wonderful. It covered places that we couldn't get to without a car. Thank you to Carol who was very informative and delightful company. We would not hesitate to recommend this tour. Provence is truly spectacular.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

this tour was a full on day that exceeded our expectations. good value for money and gave us a full appreciation of the Provence area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

very good experience. we went two fields and took lots of beautiful pictures. we also had half hour shopping in the town.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice tour! Our guide was able to take us to several beautiful Lavender fields. Enjoy it!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour for people who only have half day to explore Provence.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Really do take you to some lovely lavender fields, (given you go during the season) amazing to see. Tour guide was friendly and helpful, and didn't rush us too much. I have also done a half day tour which was way too rushed. Definitely do a full day tour so you have time to experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Lavender Day Trip from Avignon: Aix-en-Provence, Valensole Plateau and L'Occitane Shop

egrammar
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

There are not enough words to describe the beauty of the lavender fields of Provence. This all day tour took us to many breathtaking spots at which we enjoyed the purples and blues of these beautiful flower fields. As an added treat, we also saw a number of fields of sunflowers - Van Gogh's inspiration. The Lavender Museum is included on the trip. Our informative guide was also a masterful driver those mountain roads are not for faint-of-heart drivers.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a nice tour and allowed us to see the lavender fields and the museum. Our guide was open to suggestions, we all wanted to visit the fields first because of weather (it was suppose to rain later in the day). The air wasn't working in the car.
Thank you

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The guide is friendly and the places that she showed us are very interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Lavender Day Trip from Avignon: Aix-en-Provence, Valensole Plateau and L'Occitane Shop

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent. We enjoyed the lavender fields very much and the guide/driver was very good, well organized , knowledgeable and very pleasant.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great! We went the end of June and the lavender fields were in pretty good bloom. We visited 3 different fields during this tour along with a stop at an old castle town. The lavender fields weren't as large as I imagined I was hoping for huge fields as far as the eye can see. These were smaller, but still nice nonetheless. One thing I wish I knew about the fields was that each lavender bush is like a mini bee hive. There are a ton of bees around and if you're scared of bees like I am, taking pictures in the rows of lavender bushes was quite the feat!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent service by Melanie from Provence Reservation. Understanding, helpful, friendly and informative. I would have given 5 stars if the company could arrange this half day tour to be slightly longer for another 15-30 minutes to go to lavender field. After all, that's what lavender tour is about.

Doing what: Lavender and Villages in Provence Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Roman Theater in Orange is really spectacular. Wine tasting at a Chateauneuf winery was fun owing to the reputation of the area. Our guide was not as good as we expected. She sent us in to the Roman Theater in Orange and left us for 1 1/2 hrs on our own. It would have been so much better to have heard from her about the history and events. The audio guide was OK, but you can't ask it questions and you can't adapt it for the interest of those on the tour. Same thing at Chateauneuf - she could have added greatly to the tour by being there instead of leaving us.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed trip to the Theatre of Orange and the wine tasting at Chateauneuf du Pape. The wine tasting was very professionally conducted and I felt like I learnt a lot more about wines. However, these are places that are easily accessible by car, so if you are in the mood for driving, there may be no need to sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Tour guide pick up wrong person n we hv waited for 30 minutes under 35degree weather, making waste of time on the tour n so rush for everything. Tour guide should verify with voucher instead of pick up any person he saw on the point.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The lavender field is not same as the picture. I think maybe not enough big.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Too much time at the lavender museum partly because of the tour listening to the commentary on lavender oils processing was too long and detailed. Would be good to go to Sault and the hilly areas to see the real lavender and compare with the lavandin/hybrids.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The lavender small group half-day trip was a tour that we could have easily done on our own. The lavender museum stop was not very interesting. Our guide Sara seemed to be distracted. Of all the Viator Tours that our family has taken this one is at the very bottom of our list. Sara was an unenthusiastic guide and seemed almost irritated. The tour was rushed as two members of the group said they had to catch a train. A long hot ride with little reward. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message