Avignon makes the ideal base for exploring the South of France. Whether you head for lavender-laden landscapes, visit the architectural treasures of nearby towns or explore the stunning coast, Provence is your oyster. This region contains ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 334 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was really fun. It was a good group and a very good guide. The sights were wonderful.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Roman arch and ancient theater in Orange are wonderfully preserved and important to see. The theater has a very good audio guide that comes with the tour. We enjoyed the tastings at the working winery and also the visit to ruins of the Pope's old chateau. Our guide Julian was excellent, fun, helpful.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our best day in Avignon was this tour of the small outlying villages. Be sure to include Rousillon in your itinerary--beautiful orange and yellow ochre stone, charming village, and lavender ice cream. Gordes is so picturesque you could spend a whole day there, though we just had an hour visit. Our favorite village was Les Baux with its medieval chateau, impressive bauxite rock formations, and caves. We went back after the tour to see the art and light show in the caves -- wonderful! Our guide was Nicolas, who was so friendly and informative and helpful!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

By pairing our day trip with a person on a half-day trip the trip schedule was changed. Instead of having lunch in one of our visited cities we were dropped off in Avignon and told to pick up something to eat quickly. The trip to the lavender museum was also a disappointment as we were told to leave the movie because it would be in French even though we had headphones that translated to English. Then we were not allowed to enter the shop until we turned in our headphones. The timing for our stops was not well thought out.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was knowledgeable, patient and enjoyable. The sights were all gorgeous--though I wish we'd skipped the lavender museum and its long video to make more time for the other sites.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour packed a lot into one day and gave an excellent of some of the most beautiful towns in Provence. Due to the number of sites we visited we only had about 45 minutes in each but this was sufficient. Melanie, our guide, was very kind and informative.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour - just enough time in each place. The guide was knowledgeable and gave good recommendations. Beautiful part of the world.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Efficient expedition in Southen France in one day which is not manageable on one own, nice travel group. Roussillon and Pont du Gard recommanded.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Enjoyed every village and especially the commentary from out tour guide. Great value for money.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It is highly recommended, Elody our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. It's a winter tour but we enjoyed it.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

So many things wrapped up into one day - had a simply jam packed, delightful day. Pont du Gard was breathtaking - to be able to walk the bridge was surreal; Standing in places where Van Gogh actually painted his work was inspirational. Loved this day tour - just brilliant.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Guide was okay but was more of a driver not a guide.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Well this tour started off well. The pick up was on-time. Our guide was very nice and took us to two wineries in the morning. Things were well organized and things moved along smoothly. The second half of the trip was a little less smooth. Several of the villages we visited did not have anything open this time of year, something that the guide and Viator should have been aware of. Our guide improvised and did the best that she could and I have to say she definitely gets an "A" for effort. We ended up deviating from the original tour to make things work, however had we followed the original plan I would have found this trip a bit too long. Building in a nice lunch along the way would have been a good idea. Definitely better to take in warmer climes.

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent guide and great places visited. Only problem was it got dark by the time we got to the last village. A shame the start time could not have been brought forward once the clocks had gone back the previous weekend.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was good, and the tour guide quite helpful. I really would have preferred to have a wine tasting at several wineries in Chateauneuf du Pape, but that was not an option.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Robin did a very good job. He provided a great balance of humour and knowledge of the region.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Carol, our tour guide and drive, was terrific and she made sure I made it to Avignon TGV that same evening for my train back to Paris which was the last one from Avignon. The three villages were the best I have ever been too in Provence and the Pont du Gard was spectacular. Worth every minute of the tour!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Overall, the half-day trip was great. Our guide was good and knowledgable of the region. He spoke excellent english. I would recommend this half-day trip for anyone staying in Avignon who would like to see some of the sights in surrounding Provence. It would have been nice to have more time in Les Baux en Provence so we could have explored the castle ruins longer. Overall, a great side trip and well worth the cost!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide on the day was terrific, even pointing out to us where to buy the best lavender icecream. The weather was superb. Would have liked more time in Rousillon and Gorde.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very enthusiastic guide. Loved the tour -- the Sunday market, lavender museum, lovely little Provence towns and the Pont du Gard. He knew his area well, since he was from the area, and had many interesting stories to relate.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wine and antiquity. What a combination! We thought the tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We have a lovely afternoon i this tour...the guide is a littlte bit late..but she is responsible for everything in the tour, and we saw a lot of great town and scenery...but it seemed every location is just too little time to explore...that is the downside if you want to join a tour..overall..it;s lovely and worth it

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were picked up about 15 minutes late from our hotel for this trip, but it was nice to have a smallish van with just enough people for us to all meet and talk to each other as we travelled. We travelled through lots of delightful villages as our tour guide chatted to us, and stopped at the Pont du Gard, Les Baux des Provence and Gordes. We had just the right amount of time at the Pont du Gard and Gordes but nowhere near enough time at Les Baux des Provence, it is such a gorgeous village with beautiful shops but also a fort at the top of the hill which we never even had time to see. I would recommend more time in this village, half an hour simply is not enough. Apart from that, it was well worth the time doing this tour, we fitted a lot of sightseeing into a short amount of time.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable, great guide and covered lots of interesting Provence villages in one day

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We were able to see the sights, but felt rushed. At Pont du Gard, we were not given the information that the aqueduct was not accessible. So some of us hiked to where the opening of the aqueduct and the entrance to walk across was closed. We proceeded to hike to the other side, and ran up the hill due to limited time and discovered that it was closed too.

Florin, our tourist guide, although look tire, was helpful and trying her best to give us information about the places while driving to the places at a fast speed. At Les Baux, one either see the palace or have lunch, one cannot do both. No personal stories or connection to each of the passenger. However, if you just want to see the places because the distance is itself too far, this is 3 star tour.

Doing what: Saint Remy, Les Baux and Pont du Gard Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message