Avignon makes the ideal base for exploring the South of France. Whether you head for lavender-laden landscapes, visit the architectural treasures of nearby towns or explore the stunning coast, Provence is your oyster. This region contains ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 433 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Sohini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A very comprehensive tour of wineries with knowledgeable guides and tasting of excellent wines. Including Pont du Gard, Les Baux and Gordes is a great idea. The tour guide was extremely pleasant and competent

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Justin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Pick up was on time. I had a lovely afternoon driving around the Avignon countryside. Great for a snap shot of the country side if you are time constrained.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

xianghong c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we visited the Lavender field on the 12 August which is about the end of the season. Our guide was awesome, he did his best to help us find 2 fields although it was pouring... hope we get back next year and see you again !!! many thanks

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Rhonda T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was very nice tour. Loved the lavender fields and the distillery was very interesting. Would definitely recommend this tour to lavender lovers.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, just pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard when it was too dark to see properly

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour was wonderful, I would highly recommend it. Our guIde Emilie was wonderful, very helpful and full of interesting and knowledgeable information. Pleasure to spend the day with and it was fantastic to be able to visit so many places within the one day with comfortable stops in between. Highly recommend if not for Gorges Verdun alone.

Doing what: Small-Group Aix-en-Provence, Verdon Gorge and Moustiers Ste-Marie Day Trip from Avignon

Nina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was amazing. I met amazing people and my tour guide Melanie was extrotinary. Her smile and personality made the day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Went to beautiful sights in Provence while staying in Avignon. The tour was the highlight.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Bronwyn f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fabulous itinerary. My only suggestion would be to make it a full day tour with more time especially at the castle. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Giovanna G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

We enjoyed the trip, but felt rushed. The driver/guide was great. Would have preferred to skip the lavender museum and spend more time in Gordes. We expected to be out all day, but ended up being combined with others who had only booked half day excursions which meant going back to Avignon for drop off/pick up at noon and grabbing a quick lunch to eat in the car rather than a relaxed lunch in Les Baux as per the itinerary write-up. We were not advised in advance or given an opportunity to change our dates. This was very disappointing!!! The places visited were fantastic - customer service on the part of the tour operator very poor!!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Darren N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to experience Provence in a day!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Philip D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent, well paced and good range of stops.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

GLORY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was excellent and enjoyed it very much,we visited many beautiful small towns, Julien our tour guide and driver is very knowledgeable about the places we visited and even gave us tips about local food still waiting for his grandmother lamb recipe though :. I would have like to see the hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed. than the visit to the lavender museum, one of the lady with us could not go in because she has allergic to perfumes, so she had to wait for us outside. My favourite are Roussillon and the dry-stone village of Gordes, our last stop was in Pont du Gard bridge which is just fantastic and in perfect time. We also visited and enjoyed a little shopping in the market. I highly recommend this tour. We also took the lavender tour with this company and was happy with their service.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Visits to beautiful French villages were very enjoyable.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Rosemary W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Lovely places and guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

EGLAL R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The long walk in the back streets of Aix en Provence to try a piece of calisson was not worth it. Cours Maribeau and Cezanne' studio would have been much more interesting. The rest of the trip was good .
Emelie the driver was very good.

Doing what: Small-Group Aix-en-Provence, Verdon Gorge and Moustiers Ste-Marie Day Trip from Avignon

Josh C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great day trip to see the highlights of Provence in one day. Our guide gave us plenty of information and was friendly. We were disappointed not to see the lavender fields in full bloom but it was the end of the season.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

KG N

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The lavender fields were beautiful, the guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. On the way out, she gave us a good idea of the history and geography of Avignon and surroundings. The visit to Rousillon and Luberon were very interesting. The guide was very helpful telling us what to look out for and what we could buy. However, some of her time on the way back was taken up by the trainee guide who was with her. The vehicle was substandard, only 4 of the 8 seats were comfortable and the AC was not working on a hot day. We did not insist on a change of vehicle since our time in Avignon was short. We definitely did not get our money's worth on the vehicle. The company should not take advantage of tourists who have only a limited time in the place, a better vehicle should have been provided.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Small Group Half-Day Trip

Theresa M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Our guide was running 30 min late for our pick-up and the company called our hotel not the mobile listed on our reservation, so we didn't get the information. The hilltop towns were nice, but it would have been better to have more information on what to see and do. The visit to the Pont du Gard was good, we went later in the afternoon so there were fewer crowds but still plenty of sunlight for good photos.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message