As well as lavender, the soil of Provence is of course the source of some outstanding wines. Grape cultivation was big business around here even before the Roman Empire came along, and today Provencal wines grace tables the world over. Set out ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent half day tour, Roman theatre in 'Orange' followed by wine tour Chateau nerve du pape, well worth the money, guide excellent, wine tasting even better. Learnt a lot about wine, as it was our first wine tasting tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was fun, energetic and very knowledgeable. The only minus was, that during the wine tastings there was no finger foods available. :

Doing what: Cotes de Provence Wine Tour from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Due to the festival it was not possible for us to be picked up at our hotel, Hotel de l'Horloge, so we had to walk down to the Hotel Bristol to be collected this would have been fine if we hadn't been kept waiting for 20 minutes in the intense heat we had been told to be there 15 minutes before the set time!
The actual tour was really enjoyable and our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the wine and the area and as we had not hired a car during our stay in Avignon, this tour gave us the opportunity to see some of the countryside on the other side of the Rhone. The drive through the vineyards seeing the different types of soil that the grapes are grown on was really interesting. The wine tasting at Tavel was very enjoyable and we learned a lot. The wine tasting and tour of the Chateauneuf du Pape winery, including the cellars and seeing the range of oak barrels, was also really interesting and we were so glad we had booked this tour. It was just a shame that at the Chateauneuf du Pape vineyard a large party of Chinese tourists objected to our small group of 6 being given a tour by one of the winery representatives they clearly thought that they had exclusive rights to the vineyard and all of its staff and they reduced their tour guide to tears over it - what an unpleasant and unnecessary situation!!!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Great tour guide and great tour stops, but even though the title states wine-tasting day trip, the focus was not wineries or wine tasting. There was one stop out of about 4 tour stops that was at a winery.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Our tour guide Emilie was very informative and sweet. She picked us up from the hotel and we saw Orange and the vineyards of Chateauneuf de Pape and had a very nice wine tasting at one of the wineries. I recommend this tour

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour with an extremely knowledgeable and personable guide!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My best friend and I had an amazing trip with wonderful wine and food pairings. It was definitely worth it for the full day tour. Julien was a great driver, tour guide and teacher! He was charming and very knowledgeable about wines, food and Avignon. I would do it again!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Roman Theater in Orange is really spectacular. Wine tasting at a Chateauneuf winery was fun owing to the reputation of the area. Our guide was not as good as we expected. She sent us in to the Roman Theater in Orange and left us for 1 1/2 hrs on our own. It would have been so much better to have heard from her about the history and events. The audio guide was OK, but you can't ask it questions and you can't adapt it for the interest of those on the tour. Same thing at Chateauneuf - she could have added greatly to the tour by being there instead of leaving us.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed trip to the Theatre of Orange and the wine tasting at Chateauneuf du Pape. The wine tasting was very professionally conducted and I felt like I learnt a lot more about wines. However, these are places that are easily accessible by car, so if you are in the mood for driving, there may be no need to sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

lovely tour, lovely guide julien, highly recommended - even to those who don't like tours, like me!

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was worth every penny. Saw beautiful scenery, tasted great wines, and had the best person providing us the tour. She was really knowledgable and spoke with so much love about where she was from. Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were the lucky ones, we had the tour to ourselves. The guide / driver was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We were given time at each of our stops to look around and the only thing I would say is that if you really have an interest in the subject the time is too short, the museum at the Pont du Gard is really good and I could have spent at least one more hour just understanding how the canals/ aquaducts was built, same with the palace of the popes, but that said I enjoyed the trip as well as the variety of sightseeing for the day,
Would definitely recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jeremy picked us up right on schedule and we toured the Rhone Valley on our way to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape. We had many questions and he answered them plus added local flavor about the area. We stopped for photos and even toured the town of Tavel since we were a bit early for the wine tasting. It was a very satisfying experience for all four of us! Thank you Jeremy and Viator.

Doing what: Best Private Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

JEB
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Every tour is about the guide. Julien was a superstar. He is a native of Avignon and could answer all our questions. Since we had just arrived the night before, he filled us in on the history as we drove to our first winery. It was just Julien and the 2 of us in the AM which was delightful. In the afternoon, our van was full...Julien 8. Still we had a wonderful time, and know it would not have been the same without Julien. He gets 5 stars. The wines were lovely...we were taught how to properly taste, and we learned a lot about the wonderful grapes and blends of the region. Do it!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful host and had a great time! We had just expected to visit a more countryside-like village area, but still enjoyed walking through the small town.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informative, the guides were knowledgeable and helpful. We got to tour 2 separate wine production facilities 1 at each appellation and had 2 separate tastings 3 roses at Tavel, 3 whites and 2 reds at Chateauneuf-du-Pape. I would definitely recommend to someone who has not done a wine tour before, but I wouldn't personally do again unless you are a true wine buff.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent tour. Very informative, I felt like I learned a lot. It was fascinating to taste wines made from the very same grapes but grown in different soils. I learned a great deal about the process of winemaking, and the two wineries we visited were very different. A very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

To clarify for anyone considering this tour, it really is two tours put together. The wine tasting is in the morning, which is then followed by a return to Aix for lunch and to pick up new people. Then you go see the villages in the afternoon. For some of the other tours through this company we found this format pretty annoying, but for this one in particular it was ok as it didnt add too much time.
The wine tastings were really great. The tours given at the wineries were very informative I personally knew very little about making wine, and left feeling like I had really learned something. The wine itself was very affordable. I hate going to a tour and then not being able to afford to buy anything at the end, but most bottles were around 10 euros.
The Luberon villages part was nice, but perhaps went on a little long. I would have liked more time at Rusillon and less at Lourmarin, given that by the time you get to Lourmarin the palace itself is closed. I will also say that we went in mid-April, and they were already crowded with tourists. I would imagine in summer they are probably crazy.
Overall though this was a nice trip, with some beautiful scenery, and it was a nice way to get out of Aix without driving ourselves.

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

the tour was good, though it was about an hour shorter than advertised. The part of the tour in the chateaunef-du-Pape was very interesting. The lady there taught us about how to taste wine to find out if it will keep well for a few years or should be enjoyed in the same year and how old a wine may be.
The Tavel part however was rather disappointing. The staff there seemed less than interested in having customers.
the main complain of the tour I would have was that there was no choice in the wine's one would like to taste. They were chosen for us even though I personally would rather have a choice in which ones I sample since I would like to taste the ones I want to buy.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour of both winery's was interesting but the Taval winery was not on par with the enthusiasm of the Chateauneuf-Du-Pape winery speaker.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Guide was lazy, uninterested, boring, on her phone, scolding and retuned me to starting point an hour early. No history, no enthusiasm, she seems like she was on auto pilot . Thank goodness for the other guest and also the two winery's staff did a good job.

Doing what: Cotes de Provence Wine Tour from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide,Julien, was friendly, knowledgeable and very professional. We enjoyed learning about terroir, the history as well as the wine tastings themselves. It was a great afternoon and we would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Roman arch and ancient theater in Orange are wonderfully preserved and important to see. The theater has a very good audio guide that comes with the tour. We enjoyed the tastings at the working winery and also the visit to ruins of the Pope's old chateau. Our guide Julian was excellent, fun, helpful.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Peter B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide was excellent, funny and very informative. Well organised relaxed tour. Could benefit by limiting the technical process explanation to just one winery, rather than both. View and tasting was excellent.

Doing what: Cotes de Provence Wine Tour from Aix-en-Provence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message