• USD ($)
  • English
As well as lavender, the soil of Provence is of course the source of some outstanding wines. Grape cultivation was big business around here even before the Roman Empire came along, and today Provencal wines grace tables the world over. Set out ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great guide, very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and wine!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed the most amazing day! It was just the two of us with a great and extremely knowledgeable guide who was actually a local. We saw the most beautiful special places around Aix en Provence.
The village of Les Baux was a stand out. Beautiful country and I have the most special photos which I will treasure forever.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved this tour
Our guide Julien was vey knowledgable and made the tour even better than expected
The wines were superb and the knowledge gained was invaluable
This is a must do tour

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Fantastique tour. My only complaint is that we did not have enough time at ease stop

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide picked us up at our hotel and for this tour, it turned out, it was only the two of us and one other person. Our guide, Caroline, was very personable, knowledgeable and enjoyable. She also provided a mini-tour of Avignon as we headed out of town toward the wine country. We first went to a Tavel winery which specializes in Rose wines. We tasted three different wines - a white, a red, and a Rose. All were wonderful. The winery guide provided a lot of interesting information about the Cote-du-Rhone wine region. Very informative. After this visit, we headed to Chateauneuf-du-Pape where we went to another winery. At this winery we received a tour of the winery and the various wine aging areas. After the tour, we tasted 4 or 5 different wines - one white and the rest reds. Also very wonderful. Our winery tour guide was very entertaining and lots of fun. All in all a very enjoyable and worthwhile afternoon. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our trip was fun and informative! Our guide Ann was great!! She was professional and fun!

Doing what: Private Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Mike C
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was cancelled, but instead we went to 2 wineries in Chateauneuf-du-Pape, which was very enjoyable

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were met promptly at 8:45 by Julien, a young man who grew up in Avignon. He was extremely pleasant, spoke very good English and had a wonderful sense of humour. There was six of us on this tour (four in our group) and it was wonderful chatting with the other two ladies. We arrived promptly at the Winery however had to wait for the other tour groups, which was fine as it gave us time to look around ourselves. The tour in the winery was excellent and very worthwhile . The tour guide in the winery was incredibly knowledgeable and showed a passion for wine making. We sampled three wines at Chateauneuf-de-Pape and then went to Brote where Julien our guide described the wines after we went through a small museum of historical wine-making equipment. This was my favourite part of the tour as it was just the six of us along with Julien. We sampled three more wines and were able to talk amongst ourselves about the tastes, etc. rather than in the large group at the first winery ...where of course there are always those people who need to let know how knowledgeable they are! Definitely would go on this tour again, especially if our guide was Julien.

Doing what: Half-Day Wine Tasting Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Virginia was our tour guide and she was WONDERFUL! We loved our experience. Thank you!

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Vanessa, was amazing! Great tour of the area and the wine tastings were fun :)

Doing what: Half-Day Wine Tasting Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A fantastic tour of the Southern Cote du Rhone area near Avignon. The guide was very knowledgeable about wine, the region, the local vintners - what's not to like. If you like wine - and want to learn a lot about French winemaking - don't miss this tour!!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Nice 1/2 day tour of 2 vineyards. Our guide was helpful in pointing out sites along the way.

Doing what: Cotes de Provence Wine Tour from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

julien was a fantasic guide, teaching us lots abouttheregion,and most importantly, the wine! His English was very good and he was very knowledgeable and a great sense of humor. He went above and beyond to ensure our needs were met...especially finding a suitable toilette! We loved the 3 wine tastings and the variety of rose and white and red was also appreciated. Had a lot of fun and would highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Delightful day - Julian was personable, knowledgable and well versed. Our morning wine tasting was exclusive to the three of us and was simply wonderful.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The tour guide was very accommodating We visited 2 wineries and a wine museum and had independent time to visit chateau neuf and walk around. the guide was pleasant but she was not vety knowledgeable but adequate for those who are beginning to learn about wine or who want to enjoiy the scenery

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message