As well as lavender, the soil of Provence is of course the source of some outstanding wines. Grape cultivation was big business around here even before the Roman Empire came along, and today Provencal wines grace tables the world over. Set out ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved it. Driver was very informative. Stopped many times so we could take pictures of the beautiful countryside. Wineries we visited were friendly and we loved the rose at Tavel. Would recommend this tour to wine lovers.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was good, and the tour guide quite helpful. I really would have preferred to have a wine tasting at several wineries in Chateauneuf du Pape, but that was not an option.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A very well designed tour, paced perfectly to allow enough time to enjoy each site and yet have an overall view of what the South of France has to offer.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful day with a wonderful guide (Leah). She provided lots of historical and current info on the villages we visited, most interesting. She is friendly, gracious and efficient. We would seek her out in the future for more touring.
The wine tours also were excellent. Interesting and informative.
Viator's tour was outstanding.

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Nice compact tour experience. Tour guide was patient and helpful. She answered our questions on the local area and the local wine making traditions with the right level of detail for our tour group. Vehicle was comfortable and clean. The wineries we visited provided interesting and insightful descriptions of their business and traditions. Scenery was beautiful, we thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Cotes de Provence Wine Tour from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wine and antiquity. What a combination! We thought the tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Julien, was very informed about wines, and entertaining as well. Our time together was both educational and entertaining.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent and knowledgeable guide! Never felt rushed and he was fully engaged with every member of the group to answer questions and make sure everyone was satisfied and enjoying themselves!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

These are actually two half-day trips put together. I found that out when I was told, in the morning, that the Luberon region afternoon trip might be cancelled since, so far, I was the only passenger. I got really upset at first, for they could have told me that earlier (it was my third tour with the same company). I live in another continent and I don't have many opportunities to travel to Aix-en-Provence (also it was my last day there). But fortunately a few more people ended up booking the same tour and it was back on!
The stress of that last minute almost-cancellation is the only reason I don't give the tour five stars. Other than that, I highly recommend it. The wine- tasting sessions were great (the explanations, the wine, the scenery!), as well as the afternoon in the Luberon region!

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This was a small group tour in a comfortable van. They split up a larger group at the visitor center. One group left on time. The driver/guide for our group was 45 minutes late due to traffic so we had to wait. As we met the first group at the last stop time must have been shaved off. The guide we had was knowledgeable and spoke good English. My problem with this tour ,aside from the late start ,was it tried to do too much. Barely enough time to see just the papal palace in Avignon. Just enough time for lunch in Les Baux. Sufficient time in the other places. The wine tasting visit which I thought would be just trying to sell things was not at all and very interesting.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The forum in Orange was great and the wine tasting was even better and educational.
Avignon city tour was too quick and very short.

Doing what: Orange and Chateauneuf du Pape Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyed this trip. I love wine, but had little knowledge of French wine. This tour helped to educate me, and I walked away with a greater understanding. Plus, the wine was delicious and the area was beautiful. I am very glad I signed up for this.

Doing what: Half-Day Wine Tasting Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

First, awesome tour guide Lea who has a great personality and really knows the local area. She's also well travelled person herself which I think helps in a very big way because she understands the point of view us, tourists. Second, well planned itinerary. Third, excellent value for money.

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a tour guide by the name of elody (spell). She was the best. Can't say enough about how good she was. She knew her stuff from history to wine.
Best guide ever. Bob Hewitt, Ketchikan, Alaska.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The afternoon vineyard tour to Tavel and Chateauneuf du Pape was excellent. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, and the tastings were superb. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Avignon. My only regret was not buying any Tavel or Lirac.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message