As well as lavender, the soil of Provence is of course the source of some outstanding wines. Grape cultivation was big business around here even before the Roman Empire came along, and today Provencal wines grace tables the world over. Set out ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sohini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A very comprehensive tour of wineries with knowledgeable guides and tasting of excellent wines. Including Pont du Gard, Les Baux and Gordes is a great idea. The tour guide was extremely pleasant and competent

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Giovanna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good! Tour guide very pleasant and informative.

Doing what: Cotes de Provence Wine Tour from Aix-en-Provence

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide was amazing--thoroughly knowledgeable and so helpful. We enjoyed both wineries very much! We were on a Viator tour in 2013 in Epernay which was also wonderful. We will highly recommend Viator to any travelers and look forward to our next Viator experience.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was wonderfully handled - my tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

surferjoe13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I enjoyed this tour immensely. Our guide, Adeline, was very knowledgeable about wine and the wine-making process. She also was a wealth of information about the history, geography, and meteorology of the surrounding region. The highlight of this tour was a wine tasting class at a winery in Ventoux where Adeline explained how to evaluate and taste wine. We were able to taste seven wines during this class. After lunch we went to a winery in Tavel where we tasted several rose wines which Tavel specializes in comparing wines made from grapes grown in different soils. We ended our day in Chateauneuf-du-Pape at a winery which discussed the specialized wine-making process in that region. We found Adeline to be utterly charming. Her English was impeccable.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Carrie C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The guide at Château Neuf des Pâpes was phenomenol! Great tastings if you are looking for a great wine unique to the Rhône valley.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

A M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I highly recommend this tour. It gives a great overview of the area and the visit to the olive and wine farms were great. What a wonderful surprise was the visit to
Baux de Provence, breathtaking views of Provence. Our tour guide was right on time and made the tour very pleasant. Thank you.

Doing what: Les Baux de Provence Tour from Avignon: Provencal Wine and Olive Oil

Sara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was very nice and I enjoyed the tour. She even spoke in French and English for us, so that we could practice our French. The wine tasting was interesting and fun and the Roman ampitheatre was very cool.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Traian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We have enjoyed this trip very much. It is a half day excursion, just not too long and not too short.
The tour guide was very knowledgeable, new several languages and was a very nice person.
We recommend this tour if you happen to be in Avignon.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Christine I

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Would have liked to taste more wines. Usually the wine tastings we have been at before give you 6-8 samples. You don' t have to drink it all, but at least 2 whites, 2 rose's and 2 reds. We enjoyed the drive and our driver was very passionate and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Sandy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I had a great time on this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and found us easily. I wish we had toured more than one vineyard, but Chateauneuf de Pape was fascinating.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Mara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really great tour with a wonderful guide, Julian. Enjoyed all three wineries, and Julian's wonderful commentary about the wine making process, and the region. Julian did a fantastic job, and made everyone feel comfortable while on the tour. The only change I would make is for the tour company not to have others join the tour half way through the day. We had to backtrack to where we started in Avignon just to pick up two people. Wasted part of our tour day having to have Julian do that.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

petered2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great day with our guide Renault. He gave us lots of information, we had enough time in each stop to enjoy ourselves and the scenery was fantastic. The wine testing was informative and tasty, even if the wine was a bit expensive to buy.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Janet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a great day and a wonderful knowledgable guide. The rose wines were refreshing and the sights of the Luberon villages spectacular. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

James M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Overall this was an excellent tour, with a guide who was both knowledgeable and personable, with a sense of humour that gelled with the group. It is a long tour and the stop in Avignon should be used as much to have lunch as to view the city. The small Avignon tourist train is a waste of time and very bumpy over the uneven roads and lanes but the city is interesting. The village of Les Baux is likewise interesting to visit and wander around. As a wine-lover the visit to the Chateauneuf-du-Pape winery was a little deflating in that there were 3 wines on offer with a member of the winery's staff who was coming off a day of doing the same thing multiple times and evidently wanted the group tasting and explanation to be over. Still, some of the commentary was of interest.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Serpil A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It was very good tour. Places were wonderful and tour guide was very helpful..

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Marlene A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Only visited one winery.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent half day tour, Roman theatre in 'Orange' followed by wine tour Chateau nerve du pape, well worth the money, guide excellent, wine tasting even better. Learnt a lot about wine, as it was our first wine tasting tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Janina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was fun, energetic and very knowledgeable. The only minus was, that during the wine tastings there was no finger foods available. :

Doing what: Cotes de Provence Wine Tour from Aix-en-Provence

jean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really enjoyed our day.Wonderful small towns.,great scenery and a really good guide.Thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Luberon Day Trip from Avignon Including Roussillon Ochre Trail Hiking and Provençal Wine Tasting

Julie W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Due to the festival it was not possible for us to be picked up at our hotel, Hotel de l'Horloge, so we had to walk down to the Hotel Bristol to be collected this would have been fine if we hadn't been kept waiting for 20 minutes in the intense heat we had been told to be there 15 minutes before the set time!
The actual tour was really enjoyable and our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the wine and the area and as we had not hired a car during our stay in Avignon, this tour gave us the opportunity to see some of the countryside on the other side of the Rhone. The drive through the vineyards seeing the different types of soil that the grapes are grown on was really interesting. The wine tasting at Tavel was very enjoyable and we learned a lot. The wine tasting and tour of the Chateauneuf du Pape winery, including the cellars and seeing the range of oak barrels, was also really interesting and we were so glad we had booked this tour. It was just a shame that at the Chateauneuf du Pape vineyard a large party of Chinese tourists objected to our small group of 6 being given a tour by one of the winery representatives they clearly thought that they had exclusive rights to the vineyard and all of its staff and they reduced their tour guide to tears over it - what an unpleasant and unnecessary situation!!!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Sarah A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Great tour guide and great tour stops, but even though the title states wine-tasting day trip, the focus was not wineries or wine tasting. There was one stop out of about 4 tour stops that was at a winery.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Our tour guide Emilie was very informative and sweet. She picked us up from the hotel and we saw Orange and the vineyards of Chateauneuf de Pape and had a very nice wine tasting at one of the wineries. I recommend this tour

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour with an extremely knowledgeable and personable guide!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Eugenia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My best friend and I had an amazing trip with wonderful wine and food pairings. It was definitely worth it for the full day tour. Julien was a great driver, tour guide and teacher! He was charming and very knowledgeable about wines, food and Avignon. I would do it again!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message