As well as lavender, the soil of Provence is of course the source of some outstanding wines. Grape cultivation was big business around here even before the Roman Empire came along, and today Provencal wines grace tables the world over. Set out ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is the perfect way to capture the essence of this area of Provence in a day. I had been to the region several times previously, but finally got my wife to come over with me - so decided to give this tour a try. It did not disappoint! In fact, I learned a few things from our guide Remy that I did not know from my previous visits. It's a nice, intimate setting - there were just eight of us in a very comfortable coach. In fact we bonded so well that during the free time on our last stop we all just visited an outdoor cafe and shared drinks - now THAT is how to experience France :- It's a good balance of guided tour and free time - so if you have just the day available this is a great way to pack in a lot of what Provence has to offer.

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Pamela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My guide, Julian was professional, knowledgeable and made the trip greatly enjoyable. All attractions of the area were explained in detail. I had all the time needed to experience the vinyards and olive oil production. He was flexible with some extra time we visited the weekly farmers market.

Doing what: Les Baux de Provence Tour from Avignon: Provencal Wine and Olive Oil

Reynir S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great half day tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Elliott H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Tour of the winery was terrible. Both our guide and the person at the winery seemed bored and eager to end the tour quickly. The trip to Orange to see the Roman ruins was worthwhile.
Our guide was terrible. She even refused to drop us off a few blocks from the center of town.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had a wonderful time at chateaunerf du pape. Both my tour guide and the staff at the wineries but very knowledgable, friendly and good fun! It was a great start to the day. Also the wine is amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

pambetz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guide and visits to small town and vineyards - and of course tastings! Even brought empty! Chateauneuf-du-Pape bottle designed by artist Pere Anselme home - which caused some raised eyebrows at airport security LOL!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was essentially transportation with information along the drive. Cedric was a great guide and we enjoyed his talks. We had enough time to explore and the winery was fantastic -and tasty

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was completely as advertised. We had the right amount of time in Orange and the wine tour was great for a first-time wine tasting. It was a relaxing afternoon but we also saw a great deal. Our guide was very knowledgeable both about the items on the tour and more generally in answering our questions about the Avignon area. She used perfect English and also was very patient in letting us practice our French.

Doing what: Orange and Châteauneuf-du-Pape Small-Group Day Trip

Sohini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A very comprehensive tour of wineries with knowledgeable guides and tasting of excellent wines. Including Pont du Gard, Les Baux and Gordes is a great idea. The tour guide was extremely pleasant and competent

Doing what: Provence Wine Tasting Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon

Giovanna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good! Tour guide very pleasant and informative.

Doing what: Cotes de Provence Wine Tour from Aix-en-Provence

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide was amazing--thoroughly knowledgeable and so helpful. We enjoyed both wineries very much! We were on a Viator tour in 2013 in Epernay which was also wonderful. We will highly recommend Viator to any travelers and look forward to our next Viator experience.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Diana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was wonderfully handled - my tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

surferjoe13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I enjoyed this tour immensely. Our guide, Adeline, was very knowledgeable about wine and the wine-making process. She also was a wealth of information about the history, geography, and meteorology of the surrounding region. The highlight of this tour was a wine tasting class at a winery in Ventoux where Adeline explained how to evaluate and taste wine. We were able to taste seven wines during this class. After lunch we went to a winery in Tavel where we tasted several rose wines which Tavel specializes in comparing wines made from grapes grown in different soils. We ended our day in Chateauneuf-du-Pape at a winery which discussed the specialized wine-making process in that region. We found Adeline to be utterly charming. Her English was impeccable.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Carrie C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The guide at Château Neuf des Pâpes was phenomenol! Great tastings if you are looking for a great wine unique to the Rhône valley.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

A M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I highly recommend this tour. It gives a great overview of the area and the visit to the olive and wine farms were great. What a wonderful surprise was the visit to
Baux de Provence, breathtaking views of Provence. Our tour guide was right on time and made the tour very pleasant. Thank you.

Doing what: Les Baux de Provence Tour from Avignon: Provencal Wine and Olive Oil

Sara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was very nice and I enjoyed the tour. She even spoke in French and English for us, so that we could practice our French. The wine tasting was interesting and fun and the Roman ampitheatre was very cool.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Traian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We have enjoyed this trip very much. It is a half day excursion, just not too long and not too short.
The tour guide was very knowledgeable, new several languages and was a very nice person.
We recommend this tour if you happen to be in Avignon.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Christine I

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Would have liked to taste more wines. Usually the wine tastings we have been at before give you 6-8 samples. You don' t have to drink it all, but at least 2 whites, 2 rose's and 2 reds. We enjoyed the drive and our driver was very passionate and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Sandy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I had a great time on this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and found us easily. I wish we had toured more than one vineyard, but Chateauneuf de Pape was fascinating.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Avignon

Mara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really great tour with a wonderful guide, Julian. Enjoyed all three wineries, and Julian's wonderful commentary about the wine making process, and the region. Julian did a fantastic job, and made everyone feel comfortable while on the tour. The only change I would make is for the tour company not to have others join the tour half way through the day. We had to backtrack to where we started in Avignon just to pick up two people. Wasted part of our tour day having to have Julian do that.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

petered2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great day with our guide Renault. He gave us lots of information, we had enough time in each stop to enjoy ourselves and the scenery was fantastic. The wine testing was informative and tasty, even if the wine was a bit expensive to buy.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Janet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a great day and a wonderful knowledgable guide. The rose wines were refreshing and the sights of the Luberon villages spectacular. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

James M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Overall this was an excellent tour, with a guide who was both knowledgeable and personable, with a sense of humour that gelled with the group. It is a long tour and the stop in Avignon should be used as much to have lunch as to view the city. The small Avignon tourist train is a waste of time and very bumpy over the uneven roads and lanes but the city is interesting. The village of Les Baux is likewise interesting to visit and wander around. As a wine-lover the visit to the Chateauneuf-du-Pape winery was a little deflating in that there were 3 wines on offer with a member of the winery's staff who was coming off a day of doing the same thing multiple times and evidently wanted the group tasting and explanation to be over. Still, some of the commentary was of interest.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Serpil A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It was very good tour. Places were wonderful and tour guide was very helpful..

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message