Ayers Rock ATTRACTIONS See all

Ayers Rock (Uluru)

Uluru - or Ayers Rock - is Australia's proud symbol, and site of spiritual significance for the Anangu people. Like an iceberg, it's believed that only a third of the big red rock lies above ground. What we can see measures 3.6 km (2.5 miles) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 309 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Howard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Led by a guide from SEIT, we were a group of 8. Our guide, Ronaldo sp?, explained the various implications of Uluru to the aboriginal peoples from the area he explained its history, geology, several legends associated with features on the geographical feature. The walk of about 12.5K lasted 4-1/2 hours starting at 5:00am and taking in an unforgettable sunrise and a break for a picnic breakfast. This is the experience of a lifetime.

Sure, you could do the walk without a guide, bit having a SEIT professional there made all the difference.

Doing what: Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was the best way to get to Uluru from Alice Springs! The bus was comfortable and our guides were great. The dinner was delicious and we were well fed all day! We loved hearing the legends and stories about Uluru.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Kerri F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had the absolute best time on this tour and would highly recommend to anyone else looking for an Uluru Tour. The Tour guides was so much fun and the mixed group of the bus were so friendly. We loved the BBQ and champers!! Thank you so much for an amazing day and experience.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

ChambeWA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was excellent. Would highly recommend it. It is a long bus ride but well worth it. Uluru Ayers Rock was fantastic. One of the highlights of our visit to Australia.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Shelby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We went with SE IT not AATkings and it was awesome because it was such a small group of us! AATkings is absolutely amazing and we went with them for almost all of our other tours but were glad we didn't for this one because those groups are so big! This one was very personalized and our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly, funny and enthusiastic about the history and science behind Uluru. I didn't realize how much there is to see and discuss at the rock. You typically only see the postcard version of Ayer's Rock but once you get closer, you see many caves and sacred places with many fascinating stories behind them. This was a really amazing opportunity to learn all about it. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise

Shelby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely phenomenal experience! The staff were so friendly and attentive! The food was delicious and our wine glasses kept full. The view of Uluru and Kata Tjuta at sunset was gorgeous! We had indigenous entertainment a didgeridoo player and some aboriginal dancing as well as a star gazing session. It is absolutely beautiful out there at night and the company is great! It was really cool to sit at a table with a handful of people you never met and walk away good friends! You meet people from all over the world! A truly great experience. It is a bit pricey but I'm only 20 and I was willing to take the stretch and spend a bit more....and I'm glad I did. You won't regret it!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great afternoon tour. It is certainly worth visiting Kata Tjuta and this tour offers a comprehensive guide and visit with an interesting walk. This is topped by the memorable sunset viewpoint experience at Uluru.

Doing what: Uluru Sunset and Kata Tjuta Tour with Optional Outback Barbecue Dinner

Sylvia M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Stunning view of Uluru during dinner, the food, wine and service was five stars, highly recommended.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The camels are so much fun. Had a great ride. The snack was the best food we had in Ayers Rock.

Doing what: Uluru Camel Express, Sunrise or Sunset Tours

Jason R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour, the guides and drivers were excellent and full of information. The tour meant that we got to see a lot in a small amount of time which was great and we even managed to squeeze in a helicopter trip over Uluru which I would highly recommend as well. We chose the First class option and thought all the accommodation was just that, first class very clean and comfortable. They were an exceptional tour company and would highly recommend to anyone looking to tour NT.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

anthony h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

One of the highlights of our Australia holiday, lucky enough to see some kangaroos at the base, sunrise change in colour of Uluru amazing.

Doing what: Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a must do tour. Being at the base of Uluru as the sun rises is a wonderful experience. You can see the rock start to glow red as the sunlight begins to strike it. The walk around the base was flat. Even though we traveled 12km total there was always something to view and the time went quickly. Our guide Lauren did a super job of pointing out various features of Uluru and relating Aboriginal stories behind those. Very worthwhile adventure.

Doing what: Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise

Robert T Green G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even though this tour had an early start, it was a very special experience and worth the effort. This tour is a good way to get up close to Uluru in a respectful way and to learn about some of the Aborigines' stories and sacred sites around the rock. A breakfast and water is provided. The walk itself is just over 12K, but is flat and easy walking. Be sure to dress in layers as it can be quite chilly and windy before the sun comes up. Note that there is only one restroom during the entire walk about the half way point.

Doing what: Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise

Robert T Green G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Riding a camel, while watching the sun set on Uluru, was one of the highlights of our trip. Our guides were safety concious, well organized and informative. The camels were well behaved and are well treated, each with their own custom made saddle. The wine and nibbles afterward were tasty, especially the freshly baked damper bread. An experience not to be missed!

Doing what: Uluru Camel Express, Sunrise or Sunset Tours

rungnad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Most important - if you are concerned, like we were, about the long bus trip to and from Uluru, you need not to be. Time passes by reasonably quickly with the changing sceenery, great informative and very enternaing commentary from Dave and John and the several stops on the way at least 3 or 4. Also the Coach bus is very comfortable.
John and Dave really made a great effort to make the whole trip a very enjoyable experience - I'd say much, much more than you would normally expect - outstanding! Many thanks to you guys!!!
Maybe some small interesting details: on the way to Uluru there was one stop for breakfast egg rolls, coffe, juice and one for morning tea coockies, lemmings, coffee, at noon lunch with samdwhich burgers and a very nice sunset bbq dinner with saussages, kamgaroonsteaks, champagne etc. We were travelling with our teens who also much enjoyed the trip. For them the bus trips were a bit long but they managed with reading and - of course - their smartphones.
I am not commenting the tour content, this can be taken from the tour operator website. But it is fantastic!

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Penelope R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

a must do when at Uluru!

Doing what: Uluru Sunrise, Base Walk and Harley Davidson Tour

Penelope R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

very knowledgeable guide great bbq and a great lecture on the stars so much easier to detect at Uluru than in Sydney

Doing what: Uluru Sunset and Kata Tjuta Tour with Optional Outback Barbecue Dinner

STEWART F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was avery long day, but full of interest, the guides were excelent and very informative. However the sunset at Uluru was disapointing, just a chanching brown colour.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

herbie2448 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great for a short time line. We had limited time and this was a great way to see both Kata Tjuta and enjoy the Uluru sunset.
We went back for the sunrise ourselves the following morning.
The tour guide helped us understand for both. Good value.

Doing what: Uluru Sunset and Kata Tjuta Tour with Optional Outback Barbecue Dinner

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Was a great experience . !! Well organised and very professionally done .

The grandchildren tried kangaroo meat /

One could not ask for a great experience than to see Uluru and the stars at night .

Thank you for such a fabulous time.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The sounds of silence dinner was great. The dinner, the entertainment and the star gazing session made this our best stop while at Ayers Rock. Also the people who served the drinks and dinner were outstanding in their service to us. Truly a great experience, which my family will always remember. Thanks.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Ashley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip into the Outback, with great tour guides and lots of stories. Awesome views of the Uluru and Kata Tjuta. Highly recommend taking this tour!

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Wendy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was well worth doing. We were picked up from our resort on time and taken to the helicopter. The 30 minute flight was fabulous and gave a wonderful view of the landscape, Ayers Rock and the Olgas. I would highly recommend this if you visit this area. This was a birthday gift to my partner and he also loved every minute.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Peter J New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved the base walk around Uluru, our tour guide was very knowledgable and we learnt heaps about the rock, we enjoyed the light breakfast included in the fee and we felt this tour was the highlight of our visit to the Red Centre

Doing what: Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise

Charles D. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved our stay in Ayers Rock at the Sounds of Silence and the restaurant was wonderful . The buffet dinner was amazingly delicious with a huge array of healthy and delictable choices. This is one of the best meals that we had during our travels in Australia and New Zealand.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message