The red sandstone walls of Kings Canyon rise abruptly from tranquil pools and pockets of cycads and vegetation in the middle of the red centre desert. The prized activity here is the 2.5 km (1.5 mile) return Kings Creek Walk around the rim of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Susan H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was our first experience of Viator and Wayoutback. The trip was chosen by my husband as a Ruby wedding anniversary trip. I had no expectation but the description and itinerary was certainly accurate. The advice on what to take proved invaluable so we were pretty well prepared. Early morning starts are clearly the norm and essential. In May it's dark so don't forget the torch as there's no light in the tent. Likewise its dark when you arrive at the next campsite. I'd done caravanning and glamping but this was very different. The party size was ideal at 16. We had been to Australia many times but not been in the outback. Life was very different for the whole 4 days. We are fit 60's and this trip involves long days and includes a good deal of walking but the scenery was worth the effort we had to put in. Dan our guide worked really hard and gave us a terrific time. We were living and working in the outback for the 4 days. Relaxation is restricted to the 4WD transfers. I slept in the tent on a bed in a sleeping bag and a good thick blanket all provided of course. Meanwhile my husband took Dan's advice and slept by the campfire in a swag under the night sky which is an amazing sight. If you want a different type of holiday this is it. The experience of our lifetime. We haven't stopped talking about it as we enjoyed ourselves so much. This was largely due to Dan our team leader, guide and mentor. Obviously he is very experienced, extremely enthusiastic and loves the life which he wants everyone to share. He showed us some amazing scenery, was very knowledgeable about the social history, flora, geology and wildlife. If you do nothing else you must do this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very well organised trip. All guides and drivers excellent, friendly and informative.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Terrific way to see all of the major sites in the red center.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Ryan
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour, looks to see and the guide was excellent.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our bus driver , john was very good. Accomodations were excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing!! even though it got up around 40, the walk was stunning as long as you had sufficient water! Beautiful views and Joanna was an amazing tour guide!! well worth every penny spent!! MUST DO the long 6km walk if you're able to physically :) can't wait to come back and do the 22km walk!!

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this hike was awesome, the views were great, the guide was great, and it wasn't too tough. I went during the summer and the weather was hot, but so dry that the temperatures really didn't seem bad at all.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very hot day but all the guides were great and very informative. Highly recommend making the day trip to the canyon.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour itself is great. The tour operator (one of the few in the area) was great. It seems Viator changed their description between booking time and tour time. It was also my mistake that I did not check the tour operator's website for more information after I received my confirmation.

I went on this tour with the expectation that I would board a bus day 1 and be on that same bus through day 3.

This tour is really a series of tours. You must call and confirm before your arrival. Have a pen and paper ready to write down the details. Not everyone in your group is on this tour. You will also need 3 liters of water per person for the Kings Canyon tour; a Camelbak is recommended. Also wear appropriate clothing and footwear for walking.

The scenery is very nice and I would go on it again. I highly recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Experience tour guide, comfortable coach, Highly recommended!

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

These guys are great. Went on the 4wd 4-day tour. Lucked out and got two very experienced guides for our 15 person group normally, its just one. Jason and KT were amazing. Always felt very safe in their care. They were always very positive and patience with the group. Always very willing to answer any question in detail. They obviously had a great passion for the land, plants, wildlife and especially the aboriginal people. You will learn a ton on this tour and come away with an appreciation of the Outback and its billions year old history.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Magical. The staff on the tour were knowledgeable and well organised. The helicopter ride was excellent. One of the highlights of my trip

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed this unique experience. Our guide/driver/cook was amazing. (We will certainly remember his chocolate cake cooked over the campfire!) This tour was comfortable enough for the 70 yr old and exciting enough for the younger members of the party and enabled us to see parts of the outback inaccessible to the hotel based tours.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everthing went very smoothly. always on time,and guides and bus drivers very good.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

the guides Timmi and Mandy were very very busy - gave good informations, friendly, awsome cookers,
I enjoyed my time with them and in the whole red center very much.
The weather was extremely raining but also very very interesting - all in all.
Thanks a lot for all :-)

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and fully recommend it.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Well-planned itinerary which gives good experience of the "red center". Great sunset (wine table) and sunrise viewings. AAT Kings is a well-organized tour operator with comfortable buses and capable driver/guides. Special mention for driver Phil, good English easy to understand, with excellent knowledge of flora, fauna and indigenous customs, the Kings Canyon floor walk was a pleasure.
It isn't clear what "Budget Accomadation" at Kings Canyon means -- shared accomodation is not really shared, it is a room with no facilities, the toilet and washroom is 20meters away in a separate block. Really for backpackers, which the descriptiom doesn't make clear.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour - our guide was Teagan with Brooke under training. Teagan was one of the best guides we've ever had and made the trip interesting and informative. We loved hearing about her life experiences which enhanced our experience and understanding of the culture. Highly recommended despite having to get up at 4am for the walks!

Doing what: 3-Day Ayers Rock, Olgas and Kings Canyon Camping Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The 500 step climb to the rim of the canyon is a challenge but once there it was amazing and well worth the climb. Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. It is a long drive from Urulu but well worth the effort. The walk around the rim of the Canyon is splendid and you get the most amazing views.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long day and an early start - but well worth it. Absolutely stunning. We did the rim walk 6.5km. Would do it again tomorrow. Guides again were fantastic, great breakfast at the station. Even had a camel burger for lunch which was also great. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent organisation and a stunning trip. Wirth the long coach trip.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Flight was late in arriving so we missed part of our first tour to the Olga's but the sunset and sunrise experience at Uluru were absolutely phenomenal. King's Canyon was amazing although I didn't know if I could climb the 500 steps but once at the top I was so glad I had. The guides, drivers etc were all amazing and so knowledgeable and made it very interesting. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fabulous day. A very early start but well worth the trip. Kings Canyon was awesome and doing the rim walk was incredible. Its 500 steps up to start but after that it was quite reasonable going. The views are amazing. My friend did the walk around the bottom of the canyon and said it was an amazing experience.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

this was the best tour ever, our guide " Keith" was full of knowledge, the camping facility was the best, no crawling into a tent but walking into a nice little cabin with 2 single beds with blankets, pillows and towels waiting for us. The food was great. If you want to learn and discover what is central Australia this is the tour you need to take, from Uluru to Kings Canyon and everything in between, you wont regret any minutes. Everything was very well organise, good management of our time. No regret. I Highly recommended this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Ayers Rock, Olgas and Kings Canyon Camping Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message