The red sandstone walls of Kings Canyon rise abruptly from tranquil pools and pockets of cycads and vegetation in the middle of the red centre desert. The prized activity here is the 2.5 km (1.5 mile) return Kings Creek Walk around the rim of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour itself is great. The tour operator (one of the few in the area) was great. It seems Viator changed their description between booking time and tour time. It was also my mistake that I did not check the tour operator's website for more information after I received my confirmation.

I went on this tour with the expectation that I would board a bus day 1 and be on that same bus through day 3.

This tour is really a series of tours. You must call and confirm before your arrival. Have a pen and paper ready to write down the details. Not everyone in your group is on this tour. You will also need 3 liters of water per person for the Kings Canyon tour; a Camelbak is recommended. Also wear appropriate clothing and footwear for walking.

The scenery is very nice and I would go on it again. I highly recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fabulous day. A very early start but well worth the trip. Kings Canyon was awesome and doing the rim walk was incredible. Its 500 steps up to start but after that it was quite reasonable going. The views are amazing. My friend did the walk around the bottom of the canyon and said it was an amazing experience.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A wonderful trip. I read the reviews before and was open minded. This is a great way to see Kings Canyon, the drive is long but the driver was good with updates and I investigated the times before. Everything worked smoothly and was on time, our driver John, helped me arrange an additional helicopter trip and was very accommodating, thanks. A great way to see Oz in comfort and not having to do the driving yourself. The Resort was similar to Ayers Rock with food prices and the trip is clear about inclusions. Yes no live bugs in the room and given that we are in the Outback I was impressed with how clean the room was, on the same standard to Ayers Rock. Very quiet and I felt safe.
I did not realise that Viator were an Agent until afterwards, the trip was the same price as booking direct and I will be using again for other trips.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was everything we wanted and gave us the opportunity to see Uluru at sunset and sunrise, The Kings canyon (The rim edge walk is a must!) and get to Alice Springs in time for a sunset on Anzac Hill and the Royal Flying Doctor Museum the following day (not included in tour price). The tours guides are great and provided just enough info upfront with opportunity to ask for more later. The only comment I would make is that the tour ended in Alice on the evening of the 3rd day but bizarrely did not include a hotel that night. No problem for us but perhaps puts people off this otherwise excellent tour

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour including Uluru, Kings Canyon and Alice Springs on a lovely big and comfortable coach. Very informative and friendly driver (John) and guides throughout. We had the choice to join in some group activities or do our own thing. We stayed in the deluxe accommodation at Uluru and Kings Canyon and enjoyed all the amenities. Staff, food and lodging all very good. Try the kangaroo skewers and the camel burgers.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Excellent tour starting with a meet and greet at the airport with a personalised programme. We were three days with our guide Michael and he was outstanding. With hindsight we should have selected a hotel a grade above the Desrt Garde..
Our walk around the Kings Canyon rim was superb in no small measure due to our guide, Rowan, who was absolutely outstanding.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Jason B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Fantastic tour. We chose the deluxe option and the hotels were good, especially the Kings Canyon Resort. We enjoyed the spectacular views of Uluru and Kings Canyon. Be aware that there is a lot of coach travel involved, but the guide we had made it very enjoyable and added to the experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Perfect way to get to Alice Spring AND see Kings Canyon without having to do all the driving. Breakfast and cold water was provided which was super helpful.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was well organized and we got to do enough hiking to get a feel for the Uluru and Kings Canyon area. The accommodations were satisfactory.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A long hot day but but we were rewarded with a beautiful view as we hiked around Kings Canyon. Our guide was friendly and informative. Lots to see and do.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This is a rush. You are off on tour when you arrive in Ayers Rock and do not get a late check out for the early morning sunrise tour the next AM, so no chance to come back to your room in the morning for a shower and change of clothes etc after going out at 5:15 AM so you have to have your bags all packed before going on the 5:15 Am sunrise tour, before you leave to on the bus to Kings Canyon. Would be better if you have two nights in Ayers Rock. Arrive in Kings Canyon late afternoonThe canyon walk through the valley in the morning is easy. Did not try the 7KM climb and walk along the top

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tours and guides were exceptional. We particularly enjoyed the Kings Canyon rim walk and the guide for this was superb. We opted for budget accommodation which was better than expected at Ayers Rock Resort but decidedly tatty at Kings Canyon, however as we were only in the room for a short period of time it was of little consequence. It would be useful to know in advance, the need to carry 3 litres of water each to do Kings Canyon rim walk as we struggled to obtain enough containers and we only had one rucksack between us. In all this was an amazing memorable trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Great tour guide and driver but avoid Alice Springs as the locals are drunk and violent! Ayers rock resort and kings canyon resort are very expensive for food.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Pioneer was mediocre. the Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge was Fantastic, great food exceptional service and the Staff were very knowledgable about the area. Great Time , Would Highly Recommend this to all travellers.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Ian P
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Ayers Rock was great, being able to run your hand over pictures hundreds of years old, now wish I had walked on the rock. Many people were walking to the summit. Cattle ranch was amazing. Kings Canyon was also very good, but I never did the rim walk & later regretted it. There is no time limit, take your time & go for it. Dropped off at hotel in Alice Springs, which was a bit of a letdown. We were on the bus anyway, would it have hurt to do a 1 hour tour of Alice Springs before the drop off? Our driver was very informative & funny.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour guide Boris was really friendly and nice and gave lots of info. The bus was really comfortable and on time and service was good.Kings canyon was a bit of a disappointment as we could not climb the canyon.The accommodation was good and clean but I think the tour was too expensive for what we got. Lots of tours provide meals for this price and when it was mentioned lunch and afternoon tea can be purchased on third day-- it was misleading and confusing as it gave the impression that other meals were provided.( just going by the description of the tour).

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message