The red sandstone walls of Kings Canyon rise abruptly from tranquil pools and pockets of cycads and vegetation in the middle of the red centre desert. The prized activity here is the 2.5 km (1.5 mile) return Kings Creek Walk around the rim of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Well-planned itinerary which gives good experience of the "red center". Great sunset (wine table) and sunrise viewings. AAT Kings is a well-organized tour operator with comfortable buses and capable driver/guides. Special mention for driver Phil, good English easy to understand, with excellent knowledge of flora, fauna and indigenous customs, the Kings Canyon floor walk was a pleasure.
It isn't clear what "Budget Accomadation" at Kings Canyon means -- shared accomodation is not really shared, it is a room with no facilities, the toilet and washroom is 20meters away in a separate block. Really for backpackers, which the descriptiom doesn't make clear.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour - our guide was Teagan with Brooke under training. Teagan was one of the best guides we've ever had and made the trip interesting and informative. We loved hearing about her life experiences which enhanced our experience and understanding of the culture. Highly recommended despite having to get up at 4am for the walks!

Doing what: 3-Day Ayers Rock, Olgas and Kings Canyon Camping Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The 500 step climb to the rim of the canyon is a challenge but once there it was amazing and well worth the climb. Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. It is a long drive from Urulu but well worth the effort. The walk around the rim of the Canyon is splendid and you get the most amazing views.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long day and an early start - but well worth it. Absolutely stunning. We did the rim walk 6.5km. Would do it again tomorrow. Guides again were fantastic, great breakfast at the station. Even had a camel burger for lunch which was also great. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent organisation and a stunning trip. Wirth the long coach trip.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Flight was late in arriving so we missed part of our first tour to the Olga's but the sunset and sunrise experience at Uluru were absolutely phenomenal. King's Canyon was amazing although I didn't know if I could climb the 500 steps but once at the top I was so glad I had. The guides, drivers etc were all amazing and so knowledgeable and made it very interesting. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fabulous day. A very early start but well worth the trip. Kings Canyon was awesome and doing the rim walk was incredible. Its 500 steps up to start but after that it was quite reasonable going. The views are amazing. My friend did the walk around the bottom of the canyon and said it was an amazing experience.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

this was the best tour ever, our guide " Keith" was full of knowledge, the camping facility was the best, no crawling into a tent but walking into a nice little cabin with 2 single beds with blankets, pillows and towels waiting for us. The food was great. If you want to learn and discover what is central Australia this is the tour you need to take, from Uluru to Kings Canyon and everything in between, you wont regret any minutes. Everything was very well organise, good management of our time. No regret. I Highly recommended this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Ayers Rock, Olgas and Kings Canyon Camping Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic tour and well worth the early start to the day!

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I did the long climb. Very hard ! But I loved it. Steep rock climbing at times but views incredible.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great day and the tour guides where very good in there knowledge

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We did the 3 hour rim walk and the scenery is most wonderful - a must see! After the first 500 steps, the walk actually was not too difficult - We are very glad it's May and the weather was just right for the walk - in summer (Dec - Feb) probably the walk would be close due to the heat, Our guide Nick and Nathan are excellent. After the walk, we relaxed at the resort and have lunch, on the way back, we had the chance to view Mt Currie and the salt lake and a stopover to a station - a 600 km plus round trip of over 12 hours - a very worthy trip - very memorable.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful tour, our guide Filippo really went out of his way to make the tour as enjoyable as possible. Highly recommended!

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A wonderful trip. I read the reviews before and was open minded. This is a great way to see Kings Canyon, the drive is long but the driver was good with updates and I investigated the times before. Everything worked smoothly and was on time, our driver John, helped me arrange an additional helicopter trip and was very accommodating, thanks. A great way to see Oz in comfort and not having to do the driving yourself. The Resort was similar to Ayers Rock with food prices and the trip is clear about inclusions. Yes no live bugs in the room and given that we are in the Outback I was impressed with how clean the room was, on the same standard to Ayers Rock. Very quiet and I felt safe.
I did not realise that Viator were an Agent until afterwards, the trip was the same price as booking direct and I will be using again for other trips.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message