The nightly Sounds of Silence experience is hosted by the Ayers Rock Resort at Yulara. A gourmet meal is served under the stars, combining with red center hospitality, outback tales and stargazing for an unforgettable evening in the Australian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The sounds of silence dinner was great. The dinner, the entertainment and the star gazing session made this our best stop while at Ayers Rock. Also the people who served the drinks and dinner were outstanding in their service to us. Truly a great experience, which my family will always remember. Thanks.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved our stay in Ayers Rock at the Sounds of Silence and the restaurant was wonderful . The buffet dinner was amazingly delicious with a huge array of healthy and delictable choices. This is one of the best meals that we had during our travels in Australia and New Zealand.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The Sounds of Silence dinner was fantastic !!! Great good, great service and unlimited wine. Oh, and the view of Ayers Rock was nice too. This is a don't miss.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Despite initial reservations about the Sounds of Silence dinner after reading many reviews, I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The food was plentiful and wine flowed freely. Although a cloudy evening, the star talk was still informative.
Yes there are some cheesy statements, and the aboriginal dancing during the welcome canapés a bit staged, but we were lucky to have a great crowd on our table (didn't know any of them before) and had great conversation throughout the evening.
Overall a great evening - helped by good company and wine!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were lucky enough to usher in 2014 at the Sounds of Silence. The experience was a true highlight of our trip to the Red Centre. We overheard some negative comments about the quality of the food, but both my husband and I thought it was fantastic, especially given that one is in the middle of nowhere. The Barramundi filets were very tasty as were the fresh veggies. Wine flowed freely although the red was hot (as was the climate!), the white was chilled. The best part of the evening for me was the Star Gazer. One has never experienced stars and blackness and....silence...as we experienced that night.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the Sounds of Silence Dinner and show. The food was great and the Astronomer's presentation of the constellations under the Southern Night Sky was great. The view through the telescopes (including the ability to see the rings around Saturn) was fantastic.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This is where I checked off "seeing the Southern Cross" from my bucket list! We had such an enjoyable evening and recommend that if you make it as far as Ayers Rock, then you absolutely must book the Sounds of Silence dinner. I am a bit picky with what I will eat so Kangaroo and Crocodile were avoided but there was plenty to drink and eat of all sorts; however, you do not attend this dinner for the food. Make plans to attend if you have a desire to see stars and a part of the universe you can not normally see if you live in the northern hemisphere or in any city where there is simply too much light. The astronomers were informative and we learned how to find land (sky)marks in the southern sky. There is a good telescope to see things up close once the lecture is over. On our remaining nights in Australia and New Zealand, we were able to find the stars, galaxies, and planets that we learned about at the dinner. This is a MUST DO on your visit to Ayers Rock.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The Sounds of Silence Restaurant was a wonderful experience. Highly recommended. The location in the desert with a view of Ulura, the great food and wines, and also the lovely people who were at the table we joined, all made it a memorable evening. The astronomer's talk and the viewing of Saturn through his telescope capped off a great event. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

The sounds of silence dinner was amazing and a really nice way to finish our holiday. We met some really great people. The views of Uluru were awesome - so glad I took my camera! Dinner once again was great. The canapes at the beginning gave us a chance to try some things that we never had before. I would highly recommend this dinner.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

The experience was amazing!

Given that we were in the middle of nowhere and the Sounds of Silence people have a bit of a monopoly, I was anticipating the food and service to be mediocre. However, both were top notch. The food and wine were DELICIOUS (with more-than-generous portion sizes), and the service was as good as any top end restaurant in Sydney. The waitstaff were incredibly friendly, and the other 'performers' (the digeridoo player and star-talker) both put on excellent dinnertime entertainment.

And of course the views, sunset and AMAZING stars were all breathtaking - we had a view of both Uluru and the Olgas for the sunset, so could not have asked for anything more. In terms of the stars, not only were were they shown to us in an interesting and straightforward manner but the telescopes that were provided made a great added bonus.

Finally, my two friends and I missed the transportation provided from the resort to the restaurant site due to pure disorganization. When we arrived at reception, almost 10 minutes late, the person at the resort simply rang someone up who promptly picked us up in a 4x4 to take us to the site - no fuss, no complaints, no stress and (if you can believe it) with a smile. Honestly - you wouldn't get that kind of service in Sydney!

The overall experience was, without question, my favorite part of my trip to the Red Centre. I couldn't be more satisfied with the service provided.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Fantastic!! A must for anyone ataying at Ayers Rock Resort. Location is perfect - views of Uluru on one side and Kata Tjuta on the other. We watched the sun set with a glass of champagne and the didgeridoo in the background. As the sun disappeared behind Kata Tjuta, we had a fantastic meal with dishes to suit all tastes. Then a local astronomer took us on a journet across the night sky - no light polution so it was a breathtaking sight. You even get chance to look through telescopes and binoculars. Given to current AUD/GBP exchange rate, it seems quite pricey for an evening out ... but rest assured it is well worth every penny and more. If you do one thing at Uluru, make sure it's Sounds of Silence.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Martin K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Any visit to Uluru really should include the Sounds of Silence dinner. It is very well organised and the service is impeccable. Food and drinks are of high quality, and the location of course is unique. The experience may seem pricey but it is well worth it.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The Sounds of Silence was an AMAZING experience. My fiance and I went to Australia for our Honeymoon and this is a must do!! The night started with Champagne, appetizers, and the sunset.T he sunset was beautiful over both Uluru and Kata Tjuta. The food at the buffet was great, we had a lot of champage and wine all included, and we had so many choices for food and dessert. The experience of eating out in the Outback was unreal! After dinner we listened to the digeridoo and stargazed. The stargazing was amazing. I have never seen such a wide open sky. The view was better than in a planetarium. I have never seen such a thing!! The actual sound of silence was beautiful and a little scary. You are out in the middle of nowhere surrounded by nothing but desert and nature. A truely amazing experience!!!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Andrew D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Sounds of Silence. The company we were placed with were very friendly. The food was very good and the glasses were always full. The talk on the stars was very interesting and the service staff were very friendly. I can't think that there was any negatives on this experience, even the sand in the shoes was OK.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Mrs L N N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was a beautiful experience! I have waited 20 years to see The Rock and to enjoy the banquet while listening to the Sounds of Silence in our wonderful red desert, it was something I will always remember! Thank you for a grand experience.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Malcolm R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

The Uluru night time observatory star gazing was out of this world, literally fantastic. The sunrise and aboriginal tour had mind blowing sights, culture, and people. The Sounds of Silence Tour was amazing, but you really have to see and listen for yourself.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

Sounds of Silence lived up to its reputation. We went on this excursion mid-August and the weather at night, though nippy, was as clear as anyone could hope to get. The astronomer pointed out the Southern Cross and every other viewable constellation in the southern hemisphere. What a treat! Food was plentiful, and the staff was extremely friendly. We were the only Americans: my husband, 13-year-old son, and myself, and the Australians seated with us were SO kind and friendly, especially to our son. It will be a memory none of us will ever forget. I highly recommend this excursion. Dress warmly if you're going during the Australian winter.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Sounds of Silence was wonderful. The food was excellent, the setting was stunning. It's expensive, to be sure, but I think it's certainly worth the money. Great value when you consider the overall experience.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

The Sounds of Silence dinner was the highlight of our Ayers Rock experience. Don't visit Ayers Rock without going to this restaurant!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The sounds of silence dinner was wonderful and definitely a must do.
Hotel was very nice and tours very well organised.

Doing what: 3-Day Ultimate Ayers Rock Experience: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Sounds of Silence Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Good food, plenty to drink, wonderful company - didn't know anyone at the table beside my husband but they were the kind of people I wished I had asked for their address. One of the main reasons I signed up for the Sounds of Silence was for the star talk. We are big sky watchers. The talk was most disappointing. First and most important, they young lady walked around constantly and you could NOT hear what she was saying. Second - there are much more effective pointers than what she was using. Except for the Southern Cross, the constellations she pointed out were the same ones as we see in the Northern Hemisphere - I was to add to my knowledge and this didn't happen. Service, timing, food, drink - all great.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

We were very happy with the Sounds of Silence dinner I would only recommend that the food be a little better and they said there would be port at the end of dinner but it never appeared. Sky watching made everything worthwhile.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

We arrived in torrential rain and were worried that our sounds of silence experience might not happen - it was cancelled for that night so we elected for another night . We enjoyed the food wine and merry company while enjoying the tranquility of the desert while dining under the night sky It was great to have the stars identified and to hear the haunting sounds of a didgeridoo. A night to remember!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Ayers Rock was definitely worthwhile, and don't miss the Sounds of Silence.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The Sounds of Silence was worth doing - BUT - don't expect to be anywhere near Uluru! Or to have much, if any, entertainment from Indigenous Australians. We were taken to a location further AWAY from Uluru than our resort (Sails). The pre-dinner canapés had a view of the rock - dinner did NOT.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message