• USD ($)
  • English
The nightly Sounds of Silence experience is hosted by the Ayers Rock Resort at Yulara. A gourmet meal is served under the stars, combining with red center hospitality, outback tales and stargazing for an unforgettable evening in the Australian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Magical experience having dinner overlooking Uluru. Enjoyed the presentations of the aboriginal dancers and astronomer. Good variety of food.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Dinner under the stars anytime is always wonderful.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was a balmy warm evening when we arrived at the pre dinner drinks area. We had time for photos including a dingo skirting around us and were accompanied by a didgeridoo player which created a wonderful "outback" feeling. The colours at dusk are amazing. We were seated considerately; a few aboriginal men all painted up wandered about in the semi-darkness and spooked us a bit. The buffet dinner was copious and to a good standard considering the remote location. It was great to have a little talk about the southern night sky to add to the evening's enjoyment and meaningfulness. I don't think anyone was happy to leave that place!.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Despite initial reservations about the Sounds of Silence dinner after reading many reviews, I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The food was plentiful and wine flowed freely. Although a cloudy evening, the star talk was still informative.
Yes there are some cheesy statements, and the aboriginal dancing during the welcome canapés a bit staged, but we were lucky to have a great crowd on our table (didn't know any of them before) and had great conversation throughout the evening.
Overall a great evening - helped by good company and wine!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were lucky enough to usher in 2014 at the Sounds of Silence. The experience was a true highlight of our trip to the Red Centre. We overheard some negative comments about the quality of the food, but both my husband and I thought it was fantastic, especially given that one is in the middle of nowhere. The Barramundi filets were very tasty as were the fresh veggies. Wine flowed freely although the red was hot (as was the climate!), the white was chilled. The best part of the evening for me was the Star Gazer. One has never experienced stars and blackness and....silence...as we experienced that night.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic! This is a once in a life time experience. Beautiful sunset from the Uluru. Exciting welcome champagne. Delicious dinner star talk guide was expertise on the orbit, planet and galaxy. The deegeridoo
playing in the background. I would love to re-visit on my next trip. Again, thanks Viator's tour arrangement.
Carol Yu from Richardson,Texas

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The sense of occasion grows as the sun sets on Uluru, the didgeridoo playing commences and the secrets of the night sky are revealed. A wonderful evening awaits you, from the generosity of drink to the amazingly different and delicious buffet - don't miss this gem in the desert.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the Sounds of Silence Dinner and show. The food was great and the Astronomer's presentation of the constellations under the Southern Night Sky was great. The view through the telescopes (including the ability to see the rings around Saturn) was fantastic.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a great event. Very professionally done. Although there were a lot of fellow tourist at this event I never ever thought I was not being attended to personally. We were well informed of the sequence of the night as we travelled to our destination. Arriving we first were served chilled champagne and canapes and given plenty of time to watch and photograph the sunset and changing colours of Uluru. We then made our way to our beautiffully presented tables within a clearing in the middle of the red dirt desert. Although cold there was sufficient heaters to keep us warm. With Uluru in the background we were served a plentiful and gourmet meal together all the refreshments we could drink. Personal waiters at the tables made it a special and very enjoyable meal. Although we had some cloud cover we also had an equal amount of brillant stars. Due to the professionalism, care and commitment of the staff it was a very memorable experience I will never forget. Highly reccomended.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Outstanding. The atmosphere is so serene and the nighttime sky is absolutely amazing. Don't miss this chance to commune with the desert. Worth every single penny. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Anyone who spends the time and money to travel to Uluru and does not go to this dinner will have missed a truly wonderful experience. The service, the food, the social experience and most of all the emotional aspect of this dinner all combine to make it a delightful evening. Do not miss it!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This is where I checked off "seeing the Southern Cross" from my bucket list! We had such an enjoyable evening and recommend that if you make it as far as Ayers Rock, then you absolutely must book the Sounds of Silence dinner. I am a bit picky with what I will eat so Kangaroo and Crocodile were avoided but there was plenty to drink and eat of all sorts; however, you do not attend this dinner for the food. Make plans to attend if you have a desire to see stars and a part of the universe you can not normally see if you live in the northern hemisphere or in any city where there is simply too much light. The astronomers were informative and we learned how to find land (sky)marks in the southern sky. There is a good telescope to see things up close once the lecture is over. On our remaining nights in Australia and New Zealand, we were able to find the stars, galaxies, and planets that we learned about at the dinner. This is a MUST DO on your visit to Ayers Rock.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Staggeringly beautiful surroundings in which to dine! We will never forget this experience. Sunset over the Olgas was magic and Uluru was awesome, even in the distance. The meal itself was delicious; the hosts were great; service was great (my wine glass was never empty) and we LOVED it- thank you!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The experience was amazing. We had a great dinner and entertainment ,the number of stars was amazing, we would book again next time we go back. The staff were fun and wonderful. Thank you for making our trip the best ever.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

sound of silence was amazing. Excellent food and wine. We enjoyed the company at our table especially the two German teenagers who were travelling with their parents they were very interesting to talk with. We would recommend dinner under the stars

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message