• USD ($)
  • English

Ayers Rock ATTRACTIONS See all

The Olgas (Kata Tjuta)

The 36 domed red rocks known as the Olgas - or Kata Tjuta - dotting the desert are of huge cultural and spiritual significance to the Anangu people. Meaning 'many heads,' the huge rocks are separated by steep-sided gorges and valleys. Walking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was Amazing. We had a particularly excellent tour leader, driver, cook, info guide extraordinaire! I have both led and assisted in leading groups in other continents and traveled in many settings ways so know what it takes.
We slept under the stars, if preferred, I did, stayed in a bush camp, just our group. I think we lucked-out with a good group and perhaps, as another in the group said - it pays not to take the cheapest tour! In booking, I was looking for a way to get from Uluru [where I stayed 3 nights beforehand at Sails including xmas day, hired a car and did stacks of walking [and swimming] and this subsequent 4WD trip lived up to my expectations and more. I didn't want to do hotel stays and couldn't have done the back roads, which I love to do, in regular hire vehicle. I also wanted to get local info, a bit of other company yet smaller group, so this was a perfect way to feel 'outback' and maximise walk experiences - returning to walks I had done at Uluru and Kata Tjuta at other times of the day before joining this trip. The Red Centre is truly magical and so old and we given lots of wide-ranging information lots Brilliant, thank you, XJ

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the highlight of my holiday. Uluru was breathtaking. It looks so big in photos but in real life it is enormous. Just beautiful. The Olgas were just as beautiful. Just amazing, one minute you are driving along with nothing but desert then suddenly here are these perfect little mountains. The tour guides were great. They told us about the aboriginal myths which were very interesting. Dinner was great and watching Uluru change colour at sunset was fabulous.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really small group tour, because there were only two people, me and my guide (Jess)!! haha She was extremely friendly, and made me feel at home. Although I was more than 30 minutes late (sorry Jess...), she was very kind and welcoming. Kata Tjuta itself was plain amazing as well. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Kata Tjuta Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Despite the overcast weather - we delayed from morning to afternoon because of rain at the suggestion of the pilot - this was a wonderful trip. Seeing Uluru and Kata Tjuta from the air really gives a great perspective and makes for fabulous photos.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent tour guide and experience. Small group of eleven which ensured personal attention. Very informative trip to our destination including Abroginal culture and their history over the thousands of years in the red centre. Then arriving at Kata Tjuta (Olgas) we were met with a magnificent scene of a harsh landscape and a breathtaking valley within the Katta Tjuta. On our two kilometre walk through the valley the tour guide, Stacey, made her way to every person in the tour discoursing history and answering a multitude of questions. Stacey was also concerned and monitored every one of us as to our health and capacity to walk the journey over the uneven earth along the valley floor. It was most reassuring. We had plenty of photo shoots and plenty of time to absorb the views and significance of the Kata Tjuta. I would reccommend very highly this tour and our tour guide Stacey.

Doing what: Kata Tjuta Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a great way to view Uluru and the Olgas. Schedule a sunrise helicopter ride- the shadows on the monoliths are incredible!!! (Be aware that you won't see the sacred side of Uluru because of agreements with the native people.)
Our pilot was friendly and knowledgable with door-to-door service to and from the hotel. A 30 minute flight is the perfect amount of time in the air- 15 minutes doesn't give you enough time and more than 30 would just be monotonous.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Fantastic, the only way to see Uluru and Kata Tjuta. You can really see that the whole area was covered in water at some time, and Uluru was standing up-right.
Pilot was great, thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A+++++

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We had an excellent tour. Tic and Lynn were great. We stopped often to view Uluru, the olgas, and all care was taken wo we would enjoy our experience. We had a breakfast, lunch, and wine dinner watching the sunset at Uluru. Very knowledgeable tour guides. I would totally recomment this tour.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The trip to Kata Juka and Ayers Rock on the the second day of the tour was wonderful. The Rock is quite a sight and the guide who conducted the tour of the base was outstanding. We enjoyed seeing Kata Juka almost more than Ayers Rock. The King's Canyon tour was equally as interesting and the sights just as awesome. The two hotels (Sails in the Desert and the King's Canyon Lodge) were both as good as described with beautiful rooms and comfortable beds. Unfortunately the area is in the middle of nowhere and, as a result, the food was outrageously expensive though it was good.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

What an amazing experience, the Sunrise at Kata Tjuta was awesome being in a small group made it very special. Trevor the tour leader was so informative and I doubt there are many with as much knowledge on the area as him. It was the perfect sunrise, we arrived at Walpa gorge before any other group, so we saw Kangaroos, the gorge was very windy and the track is bumpy but well worth it. After the walk a great breakfast was served, so we sat eating as massive bus loads of people all went up the gorge together. Size does matter and in this case the small group size was a Huge bonus. Everyone should experience the Kata Tjuta national park at least once in there lives, I gave the trip to Ayres Rock to my Mother In Law for her 80th birthday and she has not stop raving about it. I also found the staff at Viators very helpful.

Doing what: Sunrise Kata Tjuta Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

A little bit scaring, but amaizing! Pilots were so professional and told us very interesting facts about Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Ayers Rock in general

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Absolutely incredible, it's as amazing as all the hype suggests, and the tour guides and service I can't praise enough, incredibly knowledgeable and great fun- a running commentary on the surrounding area during the journeys as well as at Uluru and the Olgas.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great tour, informative staff, fun, had a great time - would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to see The Olgas and Ayers Rock in one day.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This tour was totally sufficient in exploring Uluru and Olgas during dead heat of summer with temps in the 40's and flies sticking to your face and clothing. I would never, never opted for the 3 day tour. Our guides were very helpful and informative. They kept on feeding and feeding us with snacks. And we had the best dinner compared to the other tour buses around!!! Only complaint: There was a mis-communication with the website and actual tour company who was operating it. Make sure you call the number to arrange the pick up from wherever you're staying. Do Not Go To The Bus Station in Alice Springs Because It Is NONEXISTENT!!!!

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We hiked the Valley of the Winds trail and this was SOOO beautiful. We were granted a very nice weather, blue sky and all, and the trail was fantastic. Being an El Nina year, it had rained a lot so it was surprising to see so much green around the valley, but it added to the contrast of the blue sky and red stones. Definitely do the whole trail, it's worth it. You end up being by yourself, it's quiet and peaceful. The Olgas are not as known as Uluru and deserved to be discovered, certainly worth spending a day.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message