Ayers Rock ATTRACTIONS See all

Uluru-Kata Tjuta Cultural Centre

The drone of a didgeridoo, the chanting of the indigenous Anangu people, and the clapping sticks that drive their chanting and dancing can be heard as you approach the Tjukurpa Tunnel. This is your welcome to the Uluru-Kata Tjuta Cultural Centre.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had an excellent guide in Andrew, he's funny, lovely and very informative of Uluru stories. We had a morning tea before the sunrise, plenty of time at a great location to watch and photo the sunrise. After sunrise, we had a pleasant walk around the base, Uluru climb was close due to wind but we enjoyed the walk and the visit to cultural centre to finish the morning is great.

Doing what: Uluru Sunrise Tour from Ayers Rock

Jason W
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Sunrise, sunset or anytime of the day, both Kata Tjuta and Ayers Rock are beautiful sights to behold.

We enjoyed the nibbles before dinner, as well as the BBQ dinner and the breakfast at the Cultural Centre very much. There was more than sufficient food and they taste great.

Our guide was very good too and he proved knowledgable as we were star-gazing after the dinner.

My first suggestion would be for the guide to warn that the hike up Kata Tjuta would not be easy for the elderly. He had said that even the old should not find the walk difficult but the walk was filled with slopes, rocks and stones and there were not hand railings for those who may need them.

My second suggestion would be for the company to provide fly nettings as some of us joined the sunset tour immediately upon arrival and did not have the time to buy the net nor the information on where to get it.

Doing what: Ayers Rock Super Saver: Uluru Sunrise Indigenous Experience plus Kata Tjuta Tour and BBQ Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

great tours. everything was organized well. Both experiences worthwhile and we were very impressed tha the information on the tours did not include any duplication. Your site was awesome as we saved, and got great value. We even had time in the cultural center.

Doing what: Ayers Rock Super Saver: Uluru Sunrise Indigenous Experience plus Kata Tjuta Tour and BBQ Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was definitely one of the highlights of our 3 weeks in central Australia. We got to view Uluru at dawn with a nice warm cuppa. Breakfast at the Cultural Centre with views to Uluru and the desert surrounds was very special. Then a small group experience with a senior Aboriginal woman showing us men's and women's tools and how they are made, how food is prepared. She spoke in her own dialect with an indigenous interpreter. Our base walk was really illuminating. A local woman, with interpreter told us an ancestor story which unfolded as we were observing the actual physical features we could see in front of us. In an informal manner we were able to have many questions sensitively answered about culture, art and bush foods by these gracoius, humble women.

Doing what: Sunrise Over Uluru (Ayers Rock) and Base Walk with Indigenous Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We set of for the Ayers rock viewing site in the dark, very early in the morning. It was also quite cold , as it is in the outback this time of year even though it can reach very high temperatures in the middle of the day. When we arrived at the viewing area we were given coffee and biscuits then we waited for the sunrise. It was a magnificent site as the sun came up but not at it's best due to some light cloud cover. After we were taken to the cultural centre for a very good breakfast. Then we were met by an aboriginal guide and an interpreter who showed us many interesting things to do with the aboriginal way of life. This was followed by a walk round part of the base of the rock, again with lots of information . We really enjoyed the morning and would certainly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Sunrise Over Uluru (Ayers Rock) and Base Walk with Indigenous Guide

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Well worth waking up before sunrise to experience Ayers Rock as it comes alive in the morning light. The breakfast at the cultural center was very good and the guides were interesting and informative. Only the flies were a bummer, they are everywhere. The short walk around part of the base allowed time to hear interesting cultural stories and the drive around the base gave time to really see it close up. The Olgas walk was long, but you could turn back at any point. Great views. The sunset view of Ayers Rock was quite nice, but the BBQ dinner and stargazing was excellent, a real highlight. Wonderful food, drink, a fun atmosphere and the stars...amazing!

Doing what: Ayers Rock Super Saver: Uluru Sunrise Indigenous Experience plus Kata Tjuta Tour and BBQ Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

I had a great time, visiting in May 2013. The tour was very well organized and the guide knowledgeable, but you don't necessarily stay with the same guide the whole tour. I was a little nervous when I arrived as I wasn't sure about the schedule or confident that I was being picked up at the airport. But the tour company met the plane and it was easy to get bussed to the hotel. Once at the hotel, the hotel called the company to confirm my schedule. Once I had the schedule, I was set. Day One included a walk around Olga (watch out for the flies, they are out in force!) and a sunset viewing of Uluru. One thing, there is an evening dinner in Uluru park that wasn't included as part of this tour. I added it on and it was worth it. Seeing the stars at night in the desert was an experience. Next morning, up early to see Uluru at sunset and then walk around the base, finishing at a cultural center. Then I was off to King's Canyon, arriving in the evening. Next morning, walk around King's Canyon. You can choose to walk the rim, more difficult and longer, or the base. I chose the base walk. I added on a 15 minute helicopter tour which was great. Finally, the bus headed off to Alice Springs. In retrospect, I wouldn't have gone ton to Alice Springs. It's a long way on a bus and there's little to do there. Note, if you want to return to Uluru, it should be possible as the bus stops to exchange passengers, some go on to Alice springs and some return to Uluru. All my friends have asked me if it was worth the trip to Uluru and I say very much so. Yes, you can only take so many pictures of a big rock in the desert, but the views and landscape are amazing, and the overall experience of being in the remote desert and understanding the importance of Uluru to the aboriginal people really made my trip to Australia complete.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

It was not a small group tour. We were picked up from the hotel with about 40 other people in a full size tour bus and delivered to Uluru sunrise viewing area with the masses. We then had to drop some of the other people at their various destinations before moving on to the cultural centre for a very ordinary breakfast, some items ran out within minutes. Our group was definitely more than 20.. The time with Anangu guide was very interesting and the short guided walk was nice but not worth what we paid.

Doing what: Sunrise Over Uluru (Ayers Rock) and Base Walk with Indigenous Guide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message